Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Castle Brake Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Woodbury > Castle Brake Holiday Park Reviews

Castle Brake Holiday Park
Castle Lane
Woodbury
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX5 1HA
Tel: 01395 232431
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: March 13th - November 4th

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 29 Reviews
                8/10 from 29 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 5inaroweboat 1 review from this member

 This is our third visit to Castle Brake in Woodbury, Devon. Once again the site is very clean and well managed.

Staff in the reception are always happy to help and are very welcoming. We camped with our tent this time and even thou outside of allowed size (tent being 9m x 9m) we were able to rent 2 pitches which suited us just fine. (2nd pitch half price)

Our teenage children were able to join us for the weekend before returning to work Monday. We were placed in the tent only section but that was fine, even though it was right next to the children's play area. (This was also clean and well maintained)

The shower block was extremely hot this year as the underfloor heating was still on continually, even though we are having a sweltering summer. Having said that they are always spotlessly clean and the toilets too. I have no qualms about using these. There is also a family room with bath, toilet and shower. Again, spotlessly clean.

I haven't used the bar so can't rate that. Although Hubby and friend did watch World cup there one night.

The site is on the outskirts of beautiful Woodbury Village and close by is Exmouth etc. Exeter city is only a short drive away and has much to visit historically.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will probably be back for the Jehovah's Witnesses Convention of 2019. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Carken 4 reviews from this member

 Staying at the site whilst writing this review so an up to date one. I'm on a hardstanding fully serviced pitch in The Orchard.

I totally agree about the condition of the roads/paths here, there are a lot of loose stones and holes. Especially on the road between the orchard field and the facilities. Also the hardstanding pitches here have a lot of very large stones mixed in with the small gravel which I've found quite difficult to dodge when walking.

As with other sites dogs are supposed to be on a lead at all times but we have a very large alsation not restrained on the grassed area next to ours. I went to the facility block around two in the morning and was followed by it and found it quite unnerving and also had it charge around a corner barking when I walked my small dog. My dog was terrified. The owner walks around the site and the dog follows everywhere, again not tethered.

The facilities are good but could benefit from more indoor lights as it's quite dark in them. Also the entrance light is in dire need of cleaning as it seems to be full of dead insects.

This is my first visit and I have to say that I won't be returning. I thought it would be better after reading the reviews and I hope Castle Brake read them and pick up on the issues, especially the one about the dog as it's very frightening. I'm a dog lover and very used to them, large and small, but someone with a fear of dogs would be traumatized by it.

I haven't used the bar/restaurant yet so can't comment on them. 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chicgal 8 reviews from this member

 Great 9 day break. The touring field was very quiet, although some road noise, cars travel very fast down this road. The staff were welcoming and friendly. There was a bar/ bistro on site, we didn't use it but seemed to be used by others using the seasonal and static pitches. I have been told that the Sunday roast is good value for money. There was a lovely nature/ woodland walk and a lot of effort had been put into signage to explain the wild life. There was a small play park for children. There was a wash up area with laundry facilities within the shower block area. The shower block was lovely and clean and warm, my only criticism would have been that the shower area leaked into the changing area of the cubicle and into the main corridor, there were complaints from those people who have a seasonal pitch, who said it was always like that. It was a short drive to Exmouth, Budleigh Salterton and Sidmouth. You would definitely need a car. There was an excellent fish and chip shop/ take away in Woodbury and the food was tasty. Altogether a lovely peaceful break with great weather for the time of the year. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chris5mph 31 reviews from this member

 This site is mainly static vans and seasonals, with two small areas for touring. It is well maintained attractive, with excellent facilities. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the food in the bistro was excellent (the steak deal on Mondays was superb). There is much to do and enjoy in the area (the House of Marbles at Bovey Tracey is a must). The only downside is that the pitches are rather small - it is difficult to maintain the 6 metre safety gap and impossible if too many put up awnings. Excellent special offers on fees outside the main season. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: LisaP84 1 review from this member

 Arrived late out of the blue and rang the emergency phone to which it was promptly answered and the young lady Hannah came down to check us in. Very quick and efficient and very polite and helpful, showed us where to go. Our pitch was a fully serviced hard standing in the top field and was lovely and quiet of an evening.

The washrooms were very clean and the same lady along with another one seemed to always be in there cleaning the toilets and showers. The shop offers papers in the morning and the essentials if caught short, both friendly receptionists and helpful too.

The bistro was lovely and food was great quality and a decent portion.

Overall quite a nice site, the roads could do with some up keep but the staff definitely make the site. All staff were friendly always acknowledging us either a wave, smile or a hello which was lovely and made us feel so welcome. The site makes a great base for exploring and was perfect for us. My only criticism would be that the cleaner seemed lazy as I caught her a couple of times hanging around the shower block not doing anything and once was sat on the vanity unit in the female block. Also for families with older children they would need to be entertained in the day as there is only a small play park on site. Would come back later in the year for another longer stay. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Joe blog 8 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from staying on this site, which was well looked after, we stayed in the orchard field which was well laid out and flat, however in the evening it could benefit from some lighting on the field as it was very dark. The on site restaurant was dog friendly but not brilliant, mediocre food and slow service we found they often ran out of items on the theme nights such as naan breads on curry night, wasn't overly busy either. Although they did have theme nights ie steak night curry night etc.

Brilliant staff and location for site seeing. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: HANSELL 4 reviews from this member

 Visited end of june 2014 reception very friendly as were all the staff, great views from site overlooking the estuary towards exeter, toilets were very clean with plenty of room in showers to hang clothes, the only criticism would be that the roads needed to be improved a lot of loose stones, otherwise a great site well situated for touring east devon 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mickeyb 17 reviews from this member

 Lovely site in a delightful area. Totally quiet and peaceful.

Having said that, the best thing was the price. Being of the 'Grey Nomad' brigade our caravanning is confined to term time and with the various discounts it was 70 for the week for a hardstanding fully serviced pitch.

Site is beautifully kept and each pitch is absolutely level although the site is set into the hillside. Never got to see inside the service block as we use onboard facilities.

Had a nice meal and a pint in the on site Bistro.

Found the reception staff very pleasant and helpful.

Children's playground but no shop on site. All the big supermarkets in nearby Exeter or Exmouth. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Karen Sayers 2 reviews from this member

 Our first experience of using our campervan and it was a wonderful experience for a first time. Very friendly site, I rang very last minute and asked if we could travel down that day, the girl on the phone was so helpful and friendly even telling me the weather for that day locally. We arrived using the site directions and although it is a bit off the beaten track, we found it easily. A quiet homely site that has the most helpful and friendly staff team.

We were placed in the bottom field where we had a few caravans for neighbours. Plenty of room to park the van and pitch the awning and close to the brilliant newly refurbished shower block which was cleaned daily and in excellent condition. Hot water and heated! Next door was a laundry room with washing machines and tumble dryers which were coin operated, also several irons and ironing boards also coin operated. A small freezer for freezing your cooler blocks and a few books and magazines at hand to wait for the washing to be done. This room was also heated. Just outside was a lovely well kept washing up area and around the corner a sluice area.

We had to get into the van to travel anywhere but we were close to Exmouth and other beach areas, this was a small price to pay to have the peace and quiet we wanted from our break. There is a lovely wooden play area for Children in the bottom field and a restaurant on site and also a small shop. We had a lovely weekend and the staff need a pat on the back for their unique and very professional service. We will see you again in 2014. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dodge20 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site situated just outside the village of Woodbury. Typically for Devon the site is accessed from a narrow road so choose your approach carefully if towing. The welcome on arrival was very friendly and efficient. We were given clear directions to our pitch and a map of the site with our pitch highlighted.

Most of the pitches seem reasonably level.

The play area has all the basics and our two boys spent plenty of time there with the other kids on site.

As far as the on site amenities go, the shower block was always clean, and consumables such as loo roll and liquid soap in dispensers were always well stocked, and the showers are free. We used the bistro on our first night there as we arrived on site around tea time and couldn't be bothered cooking after setting up. The food was good quality and at a reasonable price, anything off the main menu can also be ordered as a take away.

We had the misfortune to experience disruptive campers whilst there, but the wardens and management dealt with the issues quickly and efficiently.

On the whole I would recommend this site as a really good value base to explore the surrounding area, however due to the site's location you will need to use your car. 


Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castle Brake Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castle Brake Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Castle Brake Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Woodbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1293 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December