Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Municipal Courville Sur Eure

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Courville Sur Eure > Camping Municipal Courville Sur Eure > Reviews

Camping Municipal Courville Sur Eure
Avenue Thiers
Courville Sur Eure
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
28190
Tel: 0033 02 37 23 76 38
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 67
Open: 28/04/2024 to 17/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 8 Reviews
                9/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bofs 98 reviews from this member

 The site continues to be as good as described in the previous reviews.

We too stayed here as an alternative to the site in Chartres, as we thought it would be more suitable with our dogs, and were very pleased with our choice - in fact we stayed a couple of nights longer than intended.

We visited Chartres twice by car, using an underground car park where we could safely leave the dogs in the car, for the night time light show (stunning) and in the daytime (we did the road train tour). The cost of parking was much cheaper after 7pm and on Sundays, incidentally.

Courville-sur-Eure has a network of traffic free tarmac cycle/walking paths through the countryside around it, accessible directly from the site, with a path under the road leading to a tree lined fishing lake you can walk round. You can also get directly onto paths by the canal and sports grounds, so it was really good for walking with the dogs.

Just be aware that payment of the very reasonable pitch fees (15 euros 44 per night for a pitch with electricity and 2 adults - dogs free!) was by cash or cheque only (and the right change was much appreciated) and if you want to leave the site by vehicle at any time, you’ll need a gate key for which there is a deposit of 35 euros. The main gate was locked at all times, I imagine as a result of the free camper van aire immediately outside the gates, which looks like it was previously part of the site.

We would happily use this site again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Himwotdus 21 reviews from this member

 Arrived at 2pm but had to wait outside until 2:30pm when the warden opened up.

Friendly welcome and we were able to chose a pitch. Plenty of room and a nice flat open site.

The facilities are old but very clean.

Had a walk into town on Sunday and there was a very lively market/fete going on.

This is a very good value municipal site. 


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Eaglesfans 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely typical municipal site beside river and mill stream, Very spacious pitches and very nice clean facilities. Fishing possible.

Booking was not necessary as very quiet this May and probably get away with showing up at busier times as quite large.

Booking by email or using debatable website was a nightmare so whilst we did eventually confirm I booking (I think) would suggest phoning but be prepared to speak French as staff have very very limited English though tried very hard to understand us and make themselves clear

Stopped here as wished to visit Chartres but not stay in a busy town site. Chartres was very close.

Local village with a few shops even one open on a sunday afternoon late. Local supermarket sizeable with fuel.

This is a very good stopover site with added attraction of Chartres close by. Camper van site just outside main site

We had to wait to check in as arrived at lunchtime. Do please understand it is standard for French campsite receptions to close for lunch it is normal on most all but larger french sites so try and time arrival if not be patient, open a beer and wait. (when in Rome etc ) 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: MrWez 16 reviews from this member

 We stayed here because we wanted to visit nearby Chartres, whilst Chartres has a municipal site itself, this one at Courville sur Eure came highly recommended.

Access was easy, the campsite is signposted and is next to the municipal sports complex. Upon arrival, the reception was closed but the warden was only a phone call away and quickly arrived. He was pleasant and spoke English. We were advised to choose our own pitch, we chose a roomy pitch by the river. Most pitches are in the open and lack shade.

The sanitary block is dated but very clean, the loos include a standard bowl and the hole in the floor type – does anyone still use the latter?

Courville-sur-Eure is a short walk away, it has the usual range of shops – butchers, a couple of boulangerie, bars and a couple of restaurants as well as a Super you supermarket on the outskirts of the village.

The train station was about a 15 minute walk from the campsite, we found the ticket office staffed on a Saturday afternoon however, if it isn’t staffed there’s a machine where you can buy tickets and there’s a separate machine that authorises the ticket, the return ticket for two adults cost €16. The trains are very plush, air conditioned and clean, the journey took about 20 minutes. From Chartres you can catch trains to Paris if you feel so inclined. At the weekend the return trains to Courville-sur-Eure don’t run particularly late.

Chartres is a lovely old city and of course, the main attraction is the stunning gothic cathedral. Entry is free, it has stunning stained glass windows and catacombs as well as ornate carvings and beautiful little chapels.

Chartres itself has plenty of restaurants and shops.

The municipal site at Courville-sur-Eure is a pleasant and friendly place and a site we’d use again if we were in the area. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Franbee 214 reviews from this member

 Reviewers - mature couple with campervan and bikes.

We usually stay at Chartres municipal site, but on this trip we had already stayed there and visited the town, so decided to stay here instead. The site is situated in the town centre next to a park and a sports centre, which currently appears to be being rebuilt. Outside the barrier is a campervan aire. The site is next to a river, an attractive situation. The warden was very friendly, he checked us in quickly and showed us a couple of pitches to choose from. The pitches are large, flat and grassy, ours was divided by hedges.

The sanitary block is dated but clean, separate sex facilities. Washing up is outside under cover, and the water was hot enough. The cleaner was there in the morning, and the warden was around, he stays in a van next to the gates.

We cycled into the town, it's not very interesting, but has a few shops, and there is a supermarket on the outskirts.

It's not that convenient for Chartres if you have to drive in and park, however this site was cheap by comparison to the Chartres municipal and generally in a better condition. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Granville45 7 reviews from this member

 Used this site for a stopover on our way South. Clean, tidy site, large pitches and clean toilet facilities. Very helpful caretaker (we arrived late so he waited up for us)Site secured at night, Excellent value for money (about £12. 00 per night which included 3 people plus electric)Worth considering for a stop over, or if visiting Chartres. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JFD2810 4 reviews from this member

 A delightful small site beside an attractive river (there seem to be several, and a beautiful old mill-wheel) with basic but clean and functional toilet facilities. Also cheap (11 Euros per night for van and two adults with electricity at time of writing. ) Helpful warden who speaks fairly good English. The town is pleasant enough and has direct train connections to both Chartres and Paris. Then there is the cathedral. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Firstclass67 38 reviews from this member

 We found this site a few years ago when we wanted to visit Chartres cathedral, and have used it a few times as a stopover on the way down to the Dordogne. It is a charming, quiet and very cheap municipal site on the edge of a little town. It has a basic but clean sanitary block with sit down loos as well as holes in the floor, and very decent showers. We like to pitch up beside the small river - our dog Toby liked this too! If you are into fishing you can fish on site, or go to the river at the other side of the site.

We haven't eaten out in the town, but I have walked up to find a boulangerie for breakfast. There is a municipal pool next to the site that looks nice on the website, but we haven't been there.

This year I tried the municipal at Chartres, but of the two I definitely prefer and would go back to this one. 



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Camping Municipal Courville Sur Eure child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Municipal Courville Sur Eure?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Camping Municipal Courville Sur Eure dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Courville Sur Eure      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


57671 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement