Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Overwater Marina Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Cheshire > Nantwich > Overwater Marina Touring Park > Reviews

Overwater Marina Touring Park
Coole Lane
Newhall
Nantwich
Cheshire   (Browse area)
CW5 8AY
Tel: 01270 812677
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 43 Reviews
                10/10 from 43 Reviews

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Canalside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2024 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mondeocort 65 reviews from this member

 Our 3rd visit in 3 consecutive years and the site was as lovely as ever. Stayed on the CL again and although next to the roadway / access to the site, the view is much better than on the main site in our opinion.

The site didn't appear to be quite as busy this Easter but the ambience was idyllic.

The only negative this time was the grass areas around the pitches and up at the Cafe were boggy at best and completely waterlogged in part. We've had so much rain so understandably, it's going to take time to dry out properly.

The site informed us a couple of days before arriving that there was a local road closure in place that did affect access to the site but gave us directions to follow for the diversion.

We walked along canal towpath into Audlem and enjoyed the hospitality at The Shroppie Fly. Have booked again for next Easter as this is my favourite site and cannot see a time when I won't want to visit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mondeocort 65 reviews from this member

 Our 2nd stay here at Overwater and can't praise the site and its staff and fellow holiday makers enough for the special ambience felt around this site.

We enjoyed a lovely breakfast on site and a few walks around the site looking at the narrow boats and the geese, swans, ducks and other wildfowl, even spotted a heron.

We stayed on the CL, the pitches are more than adequate, long ehu leads required however. The small commercial site was beautifully maintained as were the spotless facilities which are available to use by all staying on site.

There are also electric car charging points and a dog wash. Lots of seating around the marina itself, nothing better than a gentle amble and then a sit down to watch the world go by.

The Audlem Lass boat service was running from the site into the village, all monies go to charity I believe. Well stocked shop at reception and the on site cafe serves fabulous home cooked fayre. We had Sunday lunch at the Bridge Inn in Audlem.

Very pleased with the price, service and quality of our roast dinner. At a time when finances are a little stretched and lots of camp sites increasing pitch fees or charging extra for electric, this site remains very competitively priced and great value for money.

We have already booked again at Overwater Marina for next Easter. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Godzilla 6 reviews from this member

 Pitches where not the best, facilities where good, and kept clean.

The cafe was nice, we had breakfast including a coffee and an orange, £25 a bit on the pricy side.

25 minutes to walk along the towpath into Audlem, two Pubs and a co-op.

Overall worth a visit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Us nmatt 15 reviews from this member

 Have visited many times before, but wow how they've extended. Big new field for seasonal pitches.

First impressions very good and pleasing to the eye but realisticly let down by the fact that they've only installed 2 additional loos/ showers (combined)! And they're right at the top end so the 'original' ones prove the most popular.

Inevitable queues to use them. Not good. Don't mind using our own shower but we expect to use the WC's. Previously they had 4 loos for 10 vans and now 6 for 30 vans.

We won't be returning unless this is improved. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Xteenager 2 reviews from this member

 This is a very well maintained site, the toilet block of 5 cubicles was immaculate.

I would recommend approaching the site from Audlem rather than using Coole lane from the Nantwich end as it was very narrow in a lot of places.

We were on the main site rather than the CL and had a fully serviced pitch at £25/n. Grass banks between some of the pitches were raised making it difficult for an awning.

The footpaths around the marina were copiously covered in bird muck ! Its about a 25 minute walk into Audlem along the canal.

The Lord Combermere pub in Audlem did an excellent Sunday roast. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mondeocort 65 reviews from this member

 We arrived and pitched on our chosen CL pitch 5. Whilst it was perfectly adequate, we have booked again and chosen another pitch as the other 4 are further away from the road and whilst the road isn't busy, on pitch 5 you can hear every car go past and some do exceed the speed limit.

Pitch 5 appeared to be the smallest of the pitches also and slightly sloping so levelling ramps needed. EHU on each pitch but need a long hook up cable if on pitch 5.

A picnic bench is provided for each pitch and there is lots of space in between pitches. Pitch 5, gravel on hard standing was brutal underfoot if you only have thin soles.

The whole site is maintained to the highest standard from the marina itself, to the reception area and cafe as well as the CL and small commercial caravan park.

The facilities were spotless and ample for all users. A big thank you for providing individual washroom /wetroom facilities which incorporated a great sized shower, toilet and sink and plenty of hooks for hanging your belongings.

Sadly, the shower was push button operated but you can't have everything and I do understand why! Plenty of walks within the marina complex and caravan site and easy access onto canal.

Audlem village was quaint, friendly and very useful for shopping if needed. We walked along the canal and it took around 30 mins. We weren't rushing and it was interesting to see narrow boats navigating the locks.

This site within a marina offers the perfect get away for quiet time and opportunity to unwind. The lifestyle of narrow boating and that of caravanning / motorhoming sat beautifully hand in hand on this site and created a lovely ambience.

We have arrived home today after a 3 night stay and have already rebooked. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: David Klyne 257 reviews from this member

 To Find Site:- From Audlem on the A525 Whitchurch road watch out for Overwater Marina sign and take Coole Lane on the right. This lane is narrow in places but there are passing places. In about a mile turn right into lane leading to Overwater Marina.

Overwater Marina is quite a large operation consisting not only of the marina, a campsite and a separate CL. The latter offers five hardstanding pitches on the approach road to the Marina reception. The pitches are long enough for most units but not wide enough to fit a car or awning alongside although there is plenty of room on the adjacent grass.

Each pitch has its own picnic table. Electric points are to the back of the pitches and are rated at 16 amps using blue CEE17 connectors. A long cable may be required for a couple of the pitches.

There is a handy fresh water tap across from the pitches. CL users are invited to empty waste water into the hedge at the rear of the pitches. CL users can share the campsite toilet facilities which consist of a small toilet block consisting of four “bathrooms” containing a toilet, shower and hand basin.

There is a chemical toilet emptying point at the rear of this block and an excellent motorhome service point beyond that. There is site wide WiFi which is free, login details given on arrival. Its generally OK for a bit of browsing and emails but I doubt the signal strength would allow streaming.

Alternatively, I found the 4G pretty good on site. The main site reception which contains a shop and a café, the shop sells some food essentials and camping and boating equipment. The main campsite has railway themed camping pods.

There appear to be no facilities for children. The terms of using the CL, other than CMC membership, is that full payment is taken on booking. A full refund is offered if you cancel before 30 days of your stay. Cancellation up to 14 days before arrival a 50% refund is offered. The price for the CL includes two adults, and unit. Children, over 5, and extra adults are charged extra.

The main attraction of this site is that it is easy to explore the pretty Shropshire union Canal from the site. Be this by walking into the village of Audlem, about a mile along the towpath or exploring further afield. In the main season the site has a ferry service into Audlem at weekends.

The village has several pubs and a Co-Op food store. 


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tyrone 20 reviews from this member

 Our first visit here. We can only describe it as outstanding.

A great welcome from very friendly, helpful staff.

The facilities are modern and kept immaculate.

On site cafe serves nice food and the marina is nice to watch.

There is a small boat which takes you nearly into Audlem (volunteer run, £1 donation to RNLI) otherwise a pleasant 20min stroll on the canal towpath.

Audlem is a gem and we found at least three nice pubs with a collection of interesting shops, including a small Coop supermarket.

We are fully booked up this year so will have wait till next year to return, , , , , can't wait! 


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 684 reviews from this member

 Back for a second visit - even better with amazing weather.

A couple of things to add to previous reviews. You are allowed access to the marina, not to the pontoons. You are given the gate code at check in and you can walk around the marina circuit.

There is a small boat that runs trips to Audelm and back on weekends and bank holidays for those not wanting to walk.

Everything else just as good as last time. An exceptional site that's really well run, highly recommend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: JJ100 30 reviews from this member

 We booked onto the CL site which is just in front on the touring park. Highly rate this site.

The facilities are not ultra modern but spotlessly clean and all you need.

Campsite users can access the marina which is lovely to walk round. Only 1 mile along canal to Audlem however access to tow path not good for prams/bikes (Not the fault of the campsite).

The on-site cafe was lovely and when we asked if we could move pitches as there were high winds and our pitch was quite exposed, the receptionist could not have been more helpful.

Looking forward to a return stay. 
via mobile


Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Overwater Marina Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Overwater Marina Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Overwater Marina Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Nantwich      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


46940 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement