Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castle Farm Campsite Fotheringhay

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough > Castle Farm Campsite Fotheringhay > Reviews

Castle Farm Campsite Fotheringhay
Fotheringhay
Peterborough
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE8 5HZ
Tel: 07976 958452
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 16 Reviews
                10/10 from 16 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Grabyg 1 review from this member

 We were travelling North and wanted a stop over somewhere near Northants /Peterborough but easy access to A1. Read the reviews on this site and looked good for us.

Our campervan has solar panels and we like wild camping. This site was perfect as having just portaloos was ideal for us.

We had a large field to park anywhere and picked a lovely spot overlooking the river and saw beautiful sunsets.

We have dogs and there is a footpath straight from the site to Warmington village which was about half an hour walk.

The site is used a lot by people utilising the river and if you have paddle boards etc this is an ideal stop for families. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Julcik 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site with friendly stuff.

Plenty space between pitches .

Definitely will be back for short breaks.

Nice wild swimming spot at river Nene.

Only one think I didnít like is toilet. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tallula Frantic 2 reviews from this member

 Excellently situated site close to the centre of the beautiful village of Fotheringhay and within site of the Fotheringhay castle.

The site, in winter, is basically a field but it has lots of flat areas and is fully fenced in with closed gates.

It looks out on open country side in all directions and the River Nene meanders through the bottom half allowing full access for paddling.

The Nene Way passes by the campsite - a beautiful walk which we followed to the nearby village of Warmington.

Both villages have excellent pubs offering good food.

An excellent, relaxing, stay with beautiful walks and quiet solitude. Our dog loved it too. 


Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Leanne 1 review from this member

 We decided to have a last minute night in the van with another family also in their van. Charles was really lovely. Very laid back, although runs the site well- itís not hap dash. But you be respectful and youíre left alone.

The site was really quite with plenty of space. You choose where you pitch. We decided to pitch at the bottom of the site near the entrance to the river. There is a paddle board company that visits daily so you can hire paddle boards on the day of you decide.

Itís a really peaceful camp with basic amenities. Portaloo toilets that are kept clean, a water point. No showers or waste points for caravans but we didnít miss them as we only did one night. Scored 7/10 for this but we wouldnít say it needs to change. Just so others are aware.

In terms of child friendly there is nothing there but space to run and play. We had a game of cricket going. Our kids (5, 7 and 12) had a great time.

We will definitely be back next season as itís a lovely site close to home perfect for last minute getaways. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Sallyr 1 review from this member

 Absolutely fantastic campsite. Quiet, friendly and with great access to the river.

Kaz who manages the site is lovely and always really helpful.

We love that this is a Ďback to basicí site with just portaloos for amenities.

The SUP hire is a great addition to the site.

Weíve had so much fun as an extended family trip that itís now planned as an annual outing.

Couldnít recommended more. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Shirle 2 reviews from this member

 I really cant rave about this site enough! A real gem! Perfect for us, super quiet, rambling land and riverside, nothing here but views and a really well appointed portaloo.

Off ground firepits allowed, Owner is friendly, responsive & relaxed. As near to "wildcamping" as you can get.

Make sure to bring everything you need - no showers and no local facilities as this is a tiny village with no shop and an unfortunately closed pub.

Like I say, perfect for us but not for everyone. However nearby town of Oundle is pretty and well appointed. Chill and enjoy the wildlife here: goslings, ducklings, skylark, heron, cuckoo & sheep grazing.

The backdrop of Fotheringhay castle Mount and the impressive church are a short and lovely walk, wave to passing narrowboats from your tent/ camper.

I almost didn't write a review in case it becomes one of those over popular sites but owner only permits a max of 15 pitches so no danger there. Midweek you have a better chance of pitching riverside. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Scottm 1 review from this member

 Wow just the camping spot I needed. You have a degree of choice over where you pitch your tent, the locations is gorgeous

The church in Fortheringhay can be seen lit up at night the river Nene meanders beautifully through the fields.

I camped in a tent with my 2 little girls and it was perfect.

The facilities are basic just 2 porta loos but it was all we needed. There is a water tap so everything you need if you prepare. Next time I will bring a canoe the river is just perfect of it.

FANTASTIC. I would go there again and again 


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Maila3 1 review from this member

 We rate this site highly due to location. The owner, Charles, is friendly and helpful. There are very limited facilities (water tap) but that is the appeal- if you want a more commercial developed site there are plenty of others.

The area is fabulous for walking, cycling and canoeing (you can launch from the site) and a lot of wildlife.

We had a super stay, it rained a lot and it was that magical we didn't get wet! 


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: VWBus 83 reviews from this member

 Wonderful site, completely basic, no facilities other than a water tap, but lovely location, next to the River Nene.

The campsite is also next to and includes the remains of Fotheringhay castle a large motte and bailey castle, you have free access to wander around the mound.

There are two parts of the site, a five van CL which is fenced in and flat, and large open sloping field which contained sheep when I visited and is the part I used. Probably the best welcome I've ever had to a campsite, when I opened the gate to the field, and the sheep and lambs fearlessly surrounded the campervan, probably thinking it was feeding time. Really nice. You can pitch where you like, although the owner does ask you don't go directly next to the river, to ensure everyone has access to it.

Campfires allowed in the non CL part of the site.

Good footpaths direct from site, off into the countryside, or a short walk into the village of Fotheringhay which was delightful.

£10 a night, one person, one dog, no EHU, excellent. I will definitely return 


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ratty 313 reviews from this member

 I sent a booking enquiry through this site and the owner replied quickly and told me they had space for the two of us, each in a VW, and said we could either gone in the field with the sheep, or in an enclosed area. He advised it would be £10 per unit per night too.

We confirmed and they sent through the rules and the gate codes and told us to turn up, choose our spot and they would be round later to collect the payment.

This is a huge field, therefore it can get exposed, however it is perfect as there is just so much space on offer. We initially pitched right by the River Nene, however a barge turned up and moored 10 feet away from us, so we moved up the hill a bit for some privacy.

The site is by the River Nene and has access and you can kayak, wild swim and splash about in the river, we did not as it was April and far too cold, but what a great appeal for the warmer months.

The site has no facilities other than water tap and you need to take your rubbish home. This adds to the sites appeal. You can have a campfire as long as they are raised from the ground and they do sell wood if you require it.

There are loads of walks directly from the site and there are a couple of pubs within walking distance. We did not visit either, but they looked nice online.

There is a Motte and Bailey and castle mound on the site and you are welcome to walk around. The local village is delightful and very picturesque.

Nothing for kids on site in terms of playgrounds, but it does offer huge open spaces, a river, and a chance for children to entertain themselves in a good old fashioned camping way.

Easy to find and at £10 per night I will be returning and bringing the family for relaxed camping. 


Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Castle Farm Campsite Fotheringhay child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castle Farm Campsite Fotheringhay?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Castle Farm Campsite Fotheringhay dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Peterborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


36458 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement