Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Hidden Valley Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Ilfracombe > Hidden Valley Park Reviews

Hidden Valley Park
West Down
Ilfracombe
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX34 8NU
Tel: 01271 813837
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 131 Reviews
                8/10 from 131 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jadsett 48 reviews from this member

 We were booked on this site for 4 nights but unfortunately had to cut our visit short because of an emergency back home.

We received a warm welcome on arrival and were directed to our pitch, which had fresh water, drainage and a TV connection at a very reasonable price. We arrived mid-afternoon and had a late lunch in the restaurant, which was well cooked and good value. Site facilities were more than adequate and kept very clean.

When sitting out we noticed road noise from the nearby A361 but it wasn't intrusive and certainly didn't disturb us at night.

There is a bus stop at the site entrance with regular services to Ilfracombe, Barnstaple and beyond. We used the bus for a trip into Barnstaple.

This is a site to which we will definitely be returning 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Wilko124 37 reviews from this member

 Second time we have stayed here

Nice site

Bit of road noise but don't notice it sat outside in the sun and read

Had a day out in illfracombe, had a lovely carvery at the pub on the harbour, hubby had fish and chips, good prices and plenty to eat.

Walked and sat on harbour had a lovely ice cream. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Acornis 27 reviews from this member

 As the name suggests the site is located in a valley and is on several levels. The grass areas were kept cut and tidy the tree lined banks were left looking more natural which I think adds to the look of the site.

There’s a stream running through the site and a woodland walk of about a mile. A midday drink on the veranda of the restaurant was just the ticket. The facilities were very good and the staff first class.

We were on the top part of the site nearest the road which at times was noisy, another time I would try to book a pitch lower in the valley.

Braunton is a few miles away and there is a supermarket within a few miles in either direction of the site. 


Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: MrsRys 11 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from this site, having spent a week here for Christmas. The restaurant was not open during this time, so can't comment on that. But the rest of the site was great! The facilities were always clean, the walks through the woods and along the river were fantastic for the dog.

Fully serviced pitch with water, electric and aerial connection was great. On our pitch we could hear the road noise - but to be fair the campsite is situated alongside the A361, so you can't complain. And it didn't keep us awake!

We thoroughly enjoyed the stay here and would definitely come back (we're already thinking about booking for next Christmas!). 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mark-Gill66 1 review from this member

 A very good, generally quiet site, can hear traffic noise on the A361.

Excellent cream teas and meals at the on site restaurant. Only downside was that smokers were allowed to smoke on the decking outside the restaurant, as it was a hot summers night the smoke was blowing inside. A separate smoking area should be established around the corner. Very enjoyable homemade food. 


Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Linda Dyrda 2 reviews from this member

 This site is a hidden gem that was great for a Christmas break to see family. We had a great 4 days with a warm welcome great facilities.

Toilet block was a bit of a walk from our pitch especially if it is raining. A peaceful site with good walks for our two dogs. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Le Boon 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site arrived slightly earlier than the arrival time which can be an issue at some sites. But not here! Staff were friendly and wanted to help with anything and everything.

The Site itself is set in the woods, with streams either side and lovely walks to keep the kids entertained. Dam building is now a family favourite!

The facilities were clean at all hours and the camp shop was well stocked only running out of bread on one day.

We arrived after a heavy week of rain which continued into our holiday, the ground had taken a lot of water but was still ok.

Overall, VERY VERY satisfied with this campsite and can't wait to go back! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tintent1 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed on the kingfisher meadow part of the site and yes like other people have mentioned the road(trackway) is not very smooth and you do have to take a lot of due care and attention to these dips and large bumps especially when you are towing a caravan as you will scrape the bottom of your car.

We were met by the warden at the bottom of road and taken to our pitch (nice touch) first impression was a muddy and not a level pitch. You can't do anything about the weather but the lie of the land meant we couldn't use our waste pipe as the caravan pitch was lower than drain supplied on our serviced pitch so we had to use a waste bottle instead !

Once set up we had a look around the site and the toilet blocks are first class, very modern clean with excellent showers.

Plenty for children to do with a nice park on the edge of the woods and a nice shallow stream for them to mess about in and a large grassed field for playing football etc.

The pub/restaurant is very nice and easy going with a pool table, football table and dogs are allowed in.

On a whole a very nice site but make sure you take plenty length of mains water pipe and carry waste bottles even on serviced pitches. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Klongman66 1 review from this member

 This site was recommended in a free booklet with a Practical Caravan magazine that we bought, so we decided to try it, we took our 15 year old daughter, & we have 2 little dogs, so thought the setting would be ideal. It's set in a lovely valley, with a river running through it, & it did take a day or 2 to get used to the noise from this. It also took a couple of nights to get used to the traffic noise from the road that runs alongside the park, but by the third night this didn't really bother us, although I'm a light sleeper, so I was affected the most by it.

Whilst setting up we were bothered a bit by a dog roaming around on its own, which we found to be owned by the young couple in the pitch beside us, but they left the next day. The owners were very helpful & cheerful which is always nice! Our pitch was very close to the dog exercise area, which was fine for us, although we were very disappointed to find there were some other dog owners on site who seemed incapable of clearing up after their dogs, & this also applied through the lovely woodland walks sadly, which ruined it a bit, even though there were plenty of bins provided!

We decided to try the takeaway service provided in the restaurant on our last night, as we'd seen fish & chips advertised on the board outside reception, & were really looking forward to it, but were very disappointed to be told they don't get very many requests for takeaways, & we also couldn't have the fish as this was 'reserved' for people who wanted to eat in the restaurant. We were told that if we brought our own plates down, we could have something from the main menu to takeaway, but didn't fancy walking back to our caravan with 3 plates of food. The lady behind the bar tried persuading us to eat in the restaurant, which wasn't what we wanted, especially with 2 bouncy little dogs, so much to our disappointment we left empty handed.

Be aware the Dogs Trust is situated just up the road from the site, & we did occasionally hear a bit of barking, but not excessive until the Saturday morning before we left, when there was a huge amount of noise.

We can't comment on the shower facilities as we didn't use them, we have everything in our caravan.

There were plenty of supermarkets, we used Tesco at Ilfracombe, & also just down the road in Braunton. During our stay we visited Saunton Sands, the Valley of the Rocks, Tarr Steps on Exmoor, & Hartland Point, so there's plenty to do during your holiday, even if you don't want to travel far.

All in all we had a lovely stay, & it was a well maintained site, just a shame about the amount of dog mess you had to keep an eye out for, which is down to a few inconsiderate people, & not the fault of the owners. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Doggies On Tour 28 reviews from this member

 Mixed thoughts on arrival, seemed nice although building looked a bit dated, everything was modern and clean. However, mix up re our booking as we hadn't been clear about our specifics so the lady was a bit off, but when the younger guys turned up he sorted everything out and we were able to pitch on a smaller, cheaper site, although no offer of a refund for the difference! Once we had got over the initial hiccups, the site is actually really nice, hidden in the valley makes it very sheltered although you can hear the road noise. The stream that runs through is pretty although overgrown in places. I know wildlife need some overgrown areas, but overgrown brambles by your pitch isn't the best. The pitches are spacious yet closely sited. You have a tap and grey emptying point on the pitch and the toilets were clean, although I do wish some other campers wouldn't leave the toilets so dirty. You wouldn't do it in your own home, so why do it at a campsite and let other people clean your mess up for you. It does infuriate me! Rant over! The location is set down from the main road, and a few miles in either direction gets you to the most amazing beaches, either Woolacombe or Saunton. Dog friendly bar in Woolacombe Hotel was most inviting. The floor in the dog section has underfloor heating and the staff were so accommodating which was nice, considering the rest of the hotel was a no dog zone. We had a lovely meal there. Croyde bay has a nice walk round to Baggy Point and there are good sized tescos in both Ilfracombe and Braunton, both only a few miles away. Overall, I think the site is just about perfect for a winter get away, summer may be different as sitting outside with the road noise and being close to neighbours maybe a bit off putting, but then we are more used to small sites in the middle of nowhere. We will be returning over the winter months as the beaches are beautiful and plenty of open sand for the dogs to play on. 


Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hidden Valley Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hidden Valley Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hidden Valley Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ilfracombe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2579 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020