Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hidden Valley Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Ilfracombe > Hidden Valley Park Reviews

Hidden Valley Park
West Down
Ilfracombe
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX34 8NU
Tel: 01271 813837
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 137 Reviews
                8/10 from 137 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  137 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sidecutter 14 reviews from this member

 We loved this site, nice bar/restaurant, a little road noise but nothing to worry about,

Showers/toilets clean.

All the roads around the site could do with attention.

We will be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Scarle 1 review from this member

 Managed to get a last minute booking here for Aug Bank Holiday (stayed Sat-Wed). Itís a really lovely site in a beautiful setting with the little stream running through, which our daughter loved paddling in.

We had a large pitch for our big 6 man tent and it was ample, with room for the car, trailer and area around to sit, tether the dog etc. Handy dog walk up into the woods with poo bin. Nicely laid out site. 2 play parks for kids (we only used the one at our end).

Toilet/shower facilities are great, we loved having the radio playing night and day and they were generally pretty clean. Most importantly nice HOT showers with controls and NO time out so no need to keep pushing a button over and over! SO good! Block has a waste point, wetsuit wash and washing up area.

Also liked the family room. Site is well maintained. Yes it is by the road and yes you can hear some road noise but it didnít bother us at all and itís only sometimes itís noticeable. Certainly didnít disturb us at night.

Didnít utilise the Lakeside restaurant/bar but convenient to have on site, although we would have used it except itĎs closed Mon & Tues and we thought that during the summer hols you would expect it to be open every day? (not a complaint, just observation). Didnít really encounter staff as no need, but had a friendly helpful welcome upon check in.

A freezer for re-freezing blocks would be a nice touch. Handy location and overall we had a lovely break here and would happily visit again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Jadsett 51 reviews from this member

 Our review of September 2019 vowed that we "would be back". This time with a daughter and two teenage granddaughters in tow. None of us were disappointed.

A generous-sized level pitch with EHU, fresh and grey water facilities and a TV point. During what was probably the hottest week of the year we were grateful for all the natural shade that the site's location offered.

Having read comments about traffic noise in other reviews, we are rather mystified. The only complaints from those sleeping in the awning was disturbance from otters frolicking in the nearby stream!

On-site facilities were kept spotless. Our only minor issue was that the on site restaurant was closed due to covid restrictions.

Out and about, we loved Wildersmouth Beach at Ilfracombe (evenings were best), but avoided the rip-off that is the parking charges at Woolacombe, Saunton is a better option. Apart from Ilfracombe we also enjoyed Croyde, Combe Martin, Bideford and Barnstaple.

I am already being pestered for a return visit "soon". 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sandpi 1 review from this member

 Only stayed here for two nights but found Hidden Valley a pleasant well run and friendly site.

Very reasonably priced with good facilities. Only downside is traffic noise from the A361 which to be honest wasn't too bad during the late evening and night.

Would definitely stay again, a good base for the area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Anniebrock 3 reviews from this member

 Started amused as the young man on reception explained we needed to wear a mask in shower block but could remove it to clean teeth, wash face, shower and then lectured me on using green toilet fluid rather than blue.

Site needs some TLC and Covid measures have not really been thought through. To go into shower block you have to take one of 4 batons which are in a tub of disinfectant but only half submerged so you are touching the half that hasnít been disinfected to get it out. Alternate showers and toilets are closed but all sinks useable.

One of the toilet locks is missing so thereís only one available toilet and that takes eternity to fill for a flush.

We had friends stopping at the other end of the site which is a long walk and there are no road lights.

There is no where to walk or cycle safely from the site. Having said all that each pitch has its own water waste and EHU and good sized pitch.

So actually good value for money from that perspective. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jadsett 51 reviews from this member

 We were booked on this site for 4 nights but unfortunately had to cut our visit short because of an emergency back home.

We received a warm welcome on arrival and were directed to our pitch, which had fresh water, drainage and a TV connection at a very reasonable price. We arrived mid-afternoon and had a late lunch in the restaurant, which was well cooked and good value. Site facilities were more than adequate and kept very clean.

When sitting out we noticed road noise from the nearby A361 but it wasn't intrusive and certainly didn't disturb us at night.

There is a bus stop at the site entrance with regular services to Ilfracombe, Barnstaple and beyond. We used the bus for a trip into Barnstaple.

This is a site to which we will definitely be returning 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Wilko124 39 reviews from this member

 Second time we have stayed here

Nice site

Bit of road noise but don't notice it sat outside in the sun and read

Had a day out in illfracombe, had a lovely carvery at the pub on the harbour, hubby had fish and chips, good prices and plenty to eat.

Walked and sat on harbour had a lovely ice cream. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Acornis 28 reviews from this member

 As the name suggests the site is located in a valley and is on several levels. The grass areas were kept cut and tidy the tree lined banks were left looking more natural which I think adds to the look of the site.

Thereís a stream running through the site and a woodland walk of about a mile. A midday drink on the veranda of the restaurant was just the ticket. The facilities were very good and the staff first class.

We were on the top part of the site nearest the road which at times was noisy, another time I would try to book a pitch lower in the valley.

Braunton is a few miles away and there is a supermarket within a few miles in either direction of the site. 


Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: MrsRys 11 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from this site, having spent a week here for Christmas. The restaurant was not open during this time, so can't comment on that. But the rest of the site was great! The facilities were always clean, the walks through the woods and along the river were fantastic for the dog.

Fully serviced pitch with water, electric and aerial connection was great. On our pitch we could hear the road noise - but to be fair the campsite is situated alongside the A361, so you can't complain. And it didn't keep us awake!

We thoroughly enjoyed the stay here and would definitely come back (we're already thinking about booking for next Christmas!). 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mark-Gill66 1 review from this member

 A very good, generally quiet site, can hear traffic noise on the A361.

Excellent cream teas and meals at the on site restaurant. Only downside was that smokers were allowed to smoke on the decking outside the restaurant, as it was a hot summers night the smoke was blowing inside. A separate smoking area should be established around the corner. Very enjoyable homemade food. 


Previous     137 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hidden Valley Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hidden Valley Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hidden Valley Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ilfracombe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3626 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement