Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Smithy House Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > West Yorkshire > Halifax > Smithy House Certificated Site Reviews

Smithy House Certificated Site
Ogden Lane
Causeway Foot
Halifax
West Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HX2 8XZ
Tel: 01422 245516
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 Vans + Tents
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 5 Reviews
                9/10 from 5 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Blmcar 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed at the Smithey House for a week from the 13 May until 20th May 2019, as a follow on week’s holiday after the Bronte Gathering, and see my cousins who we found after 50 years three years ago.

Whether you come from Denholme or Illingworth, the road is wide with a fifty miles per hour speed limit, and you are never out of sight of a speed camera Just follow the sign for Ogden water the road is narrow, with a pub on the right, then the Smithey House the entrance is just past the house, it is narrow and steep to get in, as long as you engage first gear before trying to enter you should be ok, not as I did a quick change down into first and spin the gravel in all directions.

We arrived earlier than we said, so we just dropped the van off in the middle of the site and went into Halifax. (Yes speed cameras all the way to Halifax) we were hoping to set up then go to Halifax but just did it the other way round.

The site is set around a small paddock with three pitches along one side, and two on the other all with electric with a spare if tents want one,

The water is half way along one side with chemical toilet emptying on the corner at the top of the slope where you come in, there are no pitches on the road side which makes for a quiet site, having said that the road goes down to Ogden water, and there are some houses along the road, but looking towards the gate there always seemed to be a car or something on the road.

The reservoir you can see from the site is not Ogden water, which is a short walk from the site, you can drive down but you have to go out onto the main road, turn round and come back into Ogden Lane, the same when you come back as the turning is narrow into the site unfortunately it cannot be madelarger.

The side where the taps are overlooks the owners back garden, the side with the three hook-ups backs onto a hedge, with views looking up the hill behind and down the valley the other way over Ogden Lane, the other side is a narrow flower bed with a drystone wall, beyond that is pine forest with a good variety of birds, even if the owl could not make up its mind what time of day it was, as we saw it during the day and heard several at night.

We did not use the pub on the corner as it was not open every day when we were there, but they did let their dogs out several times a day with them barking for up to fifteen minutes at a time. We used google maps on the wife’s phone to get around, which took us along some narrow lanes, but the views were out of this world.

We visited Bingley five rise locks, Keighley, Halifax, Skipton, Sowerby Bridge, Hebden Bridge, plus others. The Keighley and Worth Valley railway was not far but was only running on the last weekend of our visit as it was the Haworth 1940s weekend and the price’s reflected this.

Having said the entrance was narrow the owner was happy to see us out, when leaving the site keep to the middle of the gate way, and hard left just before you hit the wall opposite, do it slow, do as you are told, as there is no way you can back up, as the breaks are on, on your caravan as it is downhill.

Site 10 out of 10, helpfulness of owners 10 out of 10. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MARILYN 47 1 review from this member

 What a delightful little site. Owner was so welcoming and helpful, weather was really awful, but managed a dry spell when we were able to walk round ogden water, shall definitely return. We are from Yorkshire so used as a base for visiting family and friends 


Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TCC Rallyman 10 reviews from this member

 Just arrived back from a very enjoyable visit to Smithy House and I can only agree with the 2 previous reviewers about the site.

On arrival we were greeted by the owner who was very helpful.

Despite being a bit breezy we enjoyed a walk round Ogden Water on Sunday morning before sampling Sunday lunch at the Causeway Foot pub about 75 yds down the lane, the walker & dog friendly pub, serves a good range of food and very good choice of 'Real Ale' beers.

An ideal walking area with Keighley, Halifax & Bradford only a few miles away. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gillibn 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site near excellent pub with great food. Owners could not have been more friendly and helpful. Excellent value for money.

Supermarket nearby. Nice walks around reservoir.

As we live not too far away, would come often for weekends.

Despite being only a 5 van site, there are electric hook-ups available.

Would not hesitate to recommend. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Davidmbell 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed here Easter weekend 2013, in the SNOW! Luckily we don't live too far away and were able to come up the night before to check the lay of the land, or how bad the snow was. The owner came out and met us, and we agreed we'd check what the snow was like the following day. On the day we arrived the snow had melted a bit and the owners had cleared some of it to allow us to get up the hill and to our pitch. We were the only ones daft enough to be out in the terrible weather. Sadly the water to the site froze late afternoon, but during the day was ok. Its a lovely site, on a hillside with decent views. Its close the Ogden Water Nature reserve, which was lovely to walk around in the snow. The pub is so close you can see it from the site, which was ideal for us as we arrived so late once we'd setup we went to the pub for a lovely meal. The site is ideal for those wanting a break, with good views, some good walks and a good pub very close by. Owners were friendly and helpful. There's no facilities, but water, CDP and mains hookup, what else do you need. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Smithy House Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Smithy House Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Smithy House Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Halifax      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


12588 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement