Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Barn At Beal

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Berwick Upon Tweed > The Barn At Beal Reviews

The Barn At Beal
Beal
Berwick Upon Tweed
Northumberland   (Browse area)
TD15 2PB
Tel: 01289 540044
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 12 tent and 9+ caravan/motorhome
Open: 360 Days Of e Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 23 Reviews
                8/10 from 23 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: November 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Janemr2 1 review from this member

 Lovely site but a bit pricy for what's there is here. £63 for 2 adults and a dog for 2 nights.

Bar not open and cafe/ restaurant limited opening with coffee and cakes.

Toilets clean. A little disappointed. Had planned to stay longer but chose not to because of cost. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 597 reviews from this member

 Brilliant site, overlooking Holy Island. Large, level hard standing pitches and decent facilities.

Excellent bothy bar and cafe on site.

Short drive to Holy Island, Berwick, Bamburgh and Eyemouth.

Lindisfarne Inn, 1 mile away, does good food abs drink. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sdowson 4 reviews from this member

 Beautiful views across the bay to Lindisfarne and surrounding area. Spotless facilities on a code access. As previous reviewers have said, the hard standings are very close together and both nights we had neighbours who liked their radio on quite loud even at 7am.

Information about the area and where we could walk was sadly lacking. We had to take a chance and hope we werenít trespassing when we walked down to the causeway and circled back up to the site.

The restaurant looked good but the menu was very limited and the bar is only open at weekends.

A beautiful, well cared for and presented site but lacking any personal touch. We had no contact with anyone throughout our stay. I know COVID restrictions are still in place but a word of welcome or a check to see if we were ok would have been appreciated especially as this was the most expensive site we stayed on during a two week trip which included Edinburgh.

Check in is 3pm which is much later than anywhere else we have stayed and we had to waste several hours before our arrival. Irritatingly, whilst we were there, other people were turning up from around 1pm.

Iím not sure we would go back but the views make it well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Spiritburner 20 reviews from this member

 Quite an expensive pitch for £25 (plus £3 for the 2 dogs) but you do have a great location with views over to Lindisfarne & Bamburgh castle with chance of a spectacular sunrise.

We'd go back. Vans all get a concrete hard standing with grass to the side & all have hookup included in the cost whether you need it or not.

Facilities were spotless & on a keycode. Fresh water & waste disposal in the van area. It was mid week mid October & there was 1 tent & 12 vans on site.

No noise or rowdiness as mentioned in early reviews. Very peaceful. We had breakfast in the restaurant & it was excellent.

Covid-19 measures were exceptional, including a contactless temperature test on entry to the restaurant. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dave140161 1 review from this member

 A lovely site, perfectly positioned for views of Holy Island & the coast. Lovely, adequate facilities & also a lovely Bistro too.

The site is small but lovely.

However it seriously needs a warden.

The curfew or quiet time is 11pm but drinking, noise, music and even a fire etc. Was going on into the early hours.

People with little or no regard for others.

I asked my female neighbour to please be quiet at 2am!

Only to be told to F++k Off!

Not good.

I did report this to the campsite managers the next day - as no-one is there at night, and they immediately blacklisted this poor excuse for a person.

However, if there was a warden or a manager present after hours / at night - this sort of thing would not occur.

Having said all the above - it is a lovely, perfectly positioned site with a lot to offer. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: January 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 597 reviews from this member

 We spent New Year at Beal and itís a great little site.

Itís been updated with modern showers etc.

Closest site for access to Holy Island. Views from the site are excellent.

Bothy Bar and cafe are lovely. Lindisfarne Inn, 20 minutes walk away, is also a great pub. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paul Hindle1 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site with great views overlooking holy island. The road can get a little busy depending on tide times. (Manuel) kept the showers toilets and area round the pitches spotless. Great location for exploring Northumberland coast. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sheffield Davs 18 reviews from this member

 One of the best situated sites in the UK!

A new site that has had plenty of money spent on it in a thoughtful way.

You can walk alongside the road to the start of the Holy Island causeway and you are behind a hedge, so out of the traffic. It is approx. 1 mile to the start of the causeway and then around 2. 5 miles into the village itself but unfortunately this part has to be shared with the traffic, which is generally very considerate of pedestrians. The site is dog friendly as is the ĎBothy Barí offering good pub style food and a well-kept cask ale. The toilets/showers are new and professionally done with good attention to detail. Pitches are small but adequate and access onto the site is very easy. The whole site has large steel gates which are closed overnight and seems secure, with a key code to use the facilities. There is no dog walk on site, but the route to Holy Island starts just outside the gates and this is well surfaced with grass verges.

During the day the restaurant doubles as a cafť and there are many picnic benches on the patio with glorious views across to Lindisfarne.

The owners were happy for us to vacate pitches early and leave our vans in their large car park. It took around 1. 5 hours to walk from the site into Lindisfarne and then we took the shorter ĎPilgrims Wayí path across the bay. Obviously you have to check the safe crossing times. We walked barefoot, as in places it was almost like quicksand and boots would have been soaked. The way is well marked with posts along the route and itís fantastic to think you are following a route thatís been used for the best part of 2, 000 years!

A lovely atmospheric site with a magical location that we will certainly return to. 


Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ashbash 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely location with fantastic views from every pitch and excellent shower facilities. However, we would only visit in low season as we felt it would feel very claustrophobic if the site was full. The pitches are far too close to each other and you would struggle to get an awning up on most of them. Your pitch is allocated so if you want to face onto Lindisfarne ask for pitches 11-14. When we arrived on a Thursday afternoon the place was empty, so it was fabulous. However, on Friday afternoon another three units arrived and we were all allocated pitches alongside each other so were all on top of each other. There are 14 pitches in total and it would be much better if there were only 10, with more space between them. Or even if the layout was changed. The footprint is massive but all the pitches are crammed together with a huge space in the middle.

If this doesn't bother you then you'll be more than happy with the site as we had nothing else to complain about! 


Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chris5448 34 reviews from this member

 Spent a few days here. Lovely campsite with fab views (weather permitting). The Barn does lovely food but isnít dog friendly. The Bothy Bar is but only open at weekends this time of year. It looks a lovely bar though. The site is spotless and the staff friendly. We will be back. 


Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Barn At Beal child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Barn At Beal?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Barn At Beal dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Berwick Upon Tweed      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2453 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement