Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Napps Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Ilfracombe > Napps Caravan Site Reviews

Napps Caravan Site
Old Coast Road
Berrynarbor
Ilfracombe
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX34 9SW
Tel: 01271 882557
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 250
Open: 01/03/2020 to 30/11/2020
           01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 51 Reviews
                7/10 from 51 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding On Site   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  51 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Sjlloyd 1 review from this member

 Just got back from 4 nights at Napps. We were at the very top which, although the view was superb, it was a little bit cramped in that you couldn't really sit out because you are encroaching on your neighbour's pitch.

The washrooms were dirty and often crowded and it would have been nice to have had shelves to put clothes, etc, on. Hand wash would have been nice too as I felt constantly grubby. It would have been helpful to have had separate toilets rather than all in one cubicle.

We couldn't find the children's play area or football pitch so I can't comment on that but was told that the swimming pool was really cold so that put me off so we didn't bother with that.

The bar was nice but drinks were expensive as was the hot dogs. My 7 year old ordered one and it was absolutely enormous. It could have been half the size and half the price.

There were no bins on site for some reason which meant that we had to take a smelly bag home with us or until we could find a bin somewhere en route.

Having said all this, the site was in a great location to beaches and we were very lucky to have had lovely weather. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zeezee123 1 review from this member

 Wow just wow. The views here are out of this world. Opening the flap on the tent to the breath taking views of the sea are something else. Kids loved it.

There are however a few things that on being improved would definitely make people's stays better. The top shower and wash block was ok but hand soap and a place to put down your toiletries are needed also a shelter over the sinks where you wash up outside.

I got drenched when it rained. The 5 aside pitch at the bottom is not safe and the ball flies down the edge of a grass verge if not careful which leads to a barbed wire fence at the bottom.

On deciding to try the 10. 00 pizzas on site and ordering 2 for 4 of us I nearly fainted at the size wow they were not worth 10. 00 each.

The kids play room was ok and there was an entertainer on for small kids which they enjoyed. Overall this campsite is good but the views were outstanding 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: 5thscale 1 review from this member

 Our first stay at Napps; whilst the site is in an exceptional position of natural beauty with very good sea views from our pitch and lots of places of interest in the local area - regrettably what affected our stay mostly were the basic poor hygiene standards in the toilet and shower facilities.

No hand soap available (not even a wall mounted dispenser) for the duration of our 10 day stay and generally quite grubby needing a deep clean (only saw cleaner once). Also the pitch layout and size on the service pitches is small because you park your unit (for us a motorhome) in the centre on hard standing with your awning to your left and car to your right.

This meant your neighbours car is directly next to your awning leaving practically no area to sit. For us in a motorhome - and therefore we did not use the space designated for a car to our right we found our neighbours used this space for their car and own convenience resulting in ourselves feeling hemmed in like a 'car park'.

It would be helpful if the pitches are clearly marked out; even reconsidered i. E. Caravan/awning/car as opposed to car/caravan/awning providing a more effective personal useable space for all which after all is what you have paid for.

On a more positive note, the grass and paved areas were well kept, the pool was cold but clean and we found it not too busy even with the bank holiday. The small bar and games room were adequate for us and the hospitality was extremely good; however menu pizzas only.

Broadsands beach very quaint but used by lots of non-residents with their cars parked in the small muddy lane. The steps very steep and in certain places poor condition which if carrying beach items could be dangerous if with small children.

The coastal path to Combe Martin has outstanding views with a hotel/bar enroute open to non-residents. There is also a lovely pub serving a good selection of food and drinks at the bottom of the site driveway entrance (signposted 1/4 mile). The site shop was poorly stocked however some caravan spares/accessories available.

The key question is would we return? Husband says yes but wife says no unless basic hygiene standards improve. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cryan 13 reviews from this member

 We have just spent a week here, our third holiday here, with our last being 6 years ago. Not much has changed, except my expectations. Views, location and the surrounding bits of uncommercialised coast are outstanding! Beautiful scenery and fantastic walks and coves to explore. Campsites beach, Broadsamds is now much busier with the addition of yet more camping sites in the close vicinity which is a shame. Still beautiful and quieter than tourist beaches in the area but sadly now busy with non nature lovers and a lot of dogs.

The campsite has not changed much, showers are basic, grubby and cold; water pressure is low and family washrooms get busy and very muddy due to lazy singles using them instead of walking to the other block. (And the site was probably only about half full this week) There were a lot of rowdy groups, although most were quiet after 10 and most other campers annoyingly seemed to be smoking everywhere and so there wasn't a lot of 'fresh air' to be had.

Wind and rain are unrelenting on this site but that is to be expected with such a great position above the cliffs. I wouldn't attempt with a 'cheap' tent!, even our steel poles creaked at times.

Pool can get busy and is very cold but if you're lucky and it's not full of big children jumping everywhere( including the paddling pool) then make the most of it! It's in a sheltered spot if you get a nice sunny quiet day.

If you're looking for a holiday park on a budget then you will love it, there's evening entertainment, bar, pizza takeaway, older children's play area and games room. Nothing safe for smaller children, even the pool due to unsupervised older kids. Sadly, we were hoping to return to the lovely camping site with facilities that we had visited before. The clientele seemed to totally ruin our experience this time;

Sadly it felt like a poor holiday park and not the beautiful camping site it could be.

Shop was poorly stocked ( but had a lot of caravan accessories). We tried the cafe on the last morning, at 30 for 5 of us and a 45 minute wait for uncooked eggs in our breakfast I would advise you not to bother!

If we return it will be out of the school holidays, when hopefully the noisy, dirty crowds and smokers are not around so we can enjoy what used to be a beautiful quiet site with fantastic views at its best! 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BRIANTURNER66 3 reviews from this member

 Visited this site in July 2017. Although the site has lovely views the owners don't seem to care about the campers. It is advertised with a shop, a cafe, free Wi-Fi, and a pub that serves food. The shop and the cafe did not open at all for the 2 weeks that we were there. The pub only opened from Wednesday to Sunday and only served things like pizza (no chips). The toilets were not cleaned regularly and the toilet bowl had the same poo marks on it 2 days in a row. No toilet brush. No soap for hand washing after using the toilets 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andyck 1 review from this member

 We visited this site in late July /early August 2016 for ten days. On arrival we were greeted by Sue and booked in by Mike who are husband & wife and own the site. We were directed to our pitch on the top terrace, the views were spectacular. The pitches are well set out and there is space for car, caravan and awning. The site is very well maintained and the shower and toilet facilities are cleaned at least three times daily. The shop is quite well stocked with all the essentials. There is a small but adequate swimming pool and the on-site pubis homely and friendly. The beach is well worth the 220 steps down to it as it is stunning, but the climb back up is lung-busting. There some lovely walks along the coast, it is quite central for drives to Ilfracombe and the surrounding areas. All in all, would recommend this site and would definitely visit again. Am currently contenplating a seasonal pitch. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: T07zombie 20 reviews from this member

 Just had a week at napps.

What a site this is. Overlooks the sea, all pitches have sea views.

We arrived about 5pm after a hard journey on M5 as it was school holidays, but once at the site we could see it was well looked after and maintained well. We booked in with no problems and pitched up on the terrace over looking the shop and the sea. Beautiful. I can understand some comments about the owners as they can be stand off ish but to be honest they where fine with us. Just talk to them say hello. All they want is for you to enjoy your holiday but at the same time abide by the rules. They love what they do and have a great site.

The site is perfect, pitches are ok and on terrace.

Swimming pool, bar, shop, children s play area which is bang on. Walk to the beach takes 10 mins down steep steps, but when you get there. Wow is all I'm going to say.

Dogs are welcome but keep them on a lead and walk them on the path next to site. They are also welcome in the pub.

Not so good points: shop needs to be open more often, bar needs to be open in afternoon. Cant think of anything else. Top site loved it and yes id go back tomorrow. Brilliant holiday with plenty to do in walking distance to water mouth cove or coombe martin all within walking distance along coast path. What more do you need. Breath relax enjoy. Facilities are brilliant and clean, like I said abide by the rules and enjoy. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clairemoxey 1 review from this member

 Just back from here, will not return. Although views lovely, location great and park could be excellent. Firstly not very welcoming on arrival, showers dirty all day, no handsoap in any blocks, and family shower block has no hand dryer or hair dryer and are cold. No lighting to and from showers either. Not much choice of food in restaurant or shop. Disappointing as could be great place. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chriska1111 15 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at Napps many times over the years in tents and our caravan. Each time has always been fantastic.

This is our favourite site in north Devon, we are looking forward to Easter 2016 to return with our tent as we no longer have the caravan.

See you all soon! 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fencer 1 review from this member

 We pre-booked a 2 week holiday at Napps on an All Service Pitch, this was a hardstand with electric, waste and water connections. The pitch allocated was perfect for our large twin axle, with a superb view over the harbour. The site itself is lovely, well maintained, terraced, which means everyone gets to see the views. Facilities are first class and spotless, the bar has a great atmosphere, but no entertainment (unless you count quiz and bingo), which suited us fine, food menu is small but very good. We have 2 young children and they loved the pool and the adventure play area, they also spent many hours exploring the woods. One problem we had was with the dog that was constantly off a lead a couple of pitches away, the park owners and reception lady dealt with it as best they could, but some people think rules are for everyone except them.

This little part of North Devon is so pretty, we did not leave the site very much, but did walk to Combe Martin one day which has a nice beach, Berrynarbor village is nearest, about half a mile and is picture postcard with a lovely old village pub. Combe Martin dinosaur Park and Watermouth Castle were both hits with the kids.

We were made very welcome, had a lovely holiday and would definitely return. 


Previous     51 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Napps Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Napps Caravan Site have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Napps Caravan Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Napps Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ilfracombe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1467 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December