Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sandaway Beach Holiday Park John Fowler Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Ilfracombe > Sandaway Beach Holiday Park John Fowler Holidays Reviews

Sandaway Beach Holiday Park John Fowler Holidays
Combe Martin
Ilfracombe
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX34 9ST
Tel: 01271 866766
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 25
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 10 Reviews
                6/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. We don't have toilets. We don't have showers. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hydrotec78 2 reviews from this member

 Worst site we have ever stayed on.

Location was great, the beaches were fantastic.

Toilet blocks are horrid!

Pitches are uneven and are used as a football pitch by everybody staying in a static van !

The pitches are not marked and the staff that we spoke to for help really couldn't care less, they only were interested in the static van guests.

Be very careful when walking down to the private beach, the steps are uneven and the hand rail has been broken for years, but it's worth the walk as the beach is great. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sam h 2 reviews from this member

 This site is definitely not for tourers. The pitches are not marked out, it's just a piece of grass in front of the shop. People checking in to statics were using it as a car park if they had arrived to early. The grass needed cut and was very uneven. The toilet block was like a brick out building with the door lying open and not very clean, the shower was push style which only lasted 7seconds at a time. The site is in a good location with a nice outdoor swimming pool. But don't think that justifies that price of the touring pitches. Was booked for 2 nights but left after 1. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Sl2-watts 7 reviews from this member

 Location, location. Amazing sea views. Stayed Monday to Friday on the first Easter holiday week in a new wooden camping pod with lights and electric. My two kids age 11 and 8 and I stayed in Pod number 1. It was fabulous. The view was really nice, could hear the waves at night and first thing in the morning. The pod was comfy and warm (we took an electric fan heater). The nearest toilet block was very clean and being out of season it was hardly used. However in the summer months there could be a queue for the loo as there was only one for each sex. However there was another block just up the hill. All of the staff were exceptionally friendly, even my kids commented on this. The outdoor pool was open in March and was warm, so much so that they could go in even though the air temp was only about 9 degrees. The food in the evening was also excellent value for money, with kids meals at 2. 95 and adult meals starting at 3, 95. The club house is small and sometimes there was quite a queue for the bar, but we didn't stay there other than to eat. The site is a short walk from combe martin where there is plenty of cafes for breakfast, ice cream shops etc and an excellent beach. Will def return again, the views of the sea are lovely! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rogers@co 8 reviews from this member

 GOOD POINTS:

Well situated site, pretty location and not far from Ilfracombe, woolacombe beach.

Good play area next to the camping area (EHU area) where the kids were kept amused and made friends easily)

Pool is a nice bonus and the lifeguard was very attentive - whilst we were there made a dash into the pool to pull out a little boy!

The little private beach is nice but quite rocky and obviously disappears when the tide is in. Be prepared for some very steep steps back up though.

Dog field provided, sloping but our dog enjoyed it.

Food in the bar was cheap and did the job.

Staff were very nice and helpful in the club/reception - we asked to stay another night and they juggled it to enable us to.

The foxy club for kids in the evening was fun but if you want a table in the evening it is better to get up there early as the club is very small.

BAD POINTS:

Shop well equipped but very expensive. For example 2litre bottle of pop - 2. 60 so better to go into combe martin to stock up!

Showers/toilets accessed by a key which is a good point as everyone else cannot use it but you just have to remember to take it with you!

Showers were quite grubby and were not always warm to be honest. The cleaning time for them was 8-8:30 which we thought was a bit crazy when that is often when you would want to use them but we found that whilst we were there they were not always done at this time/that day.

We feel that the shower/toilet block needs a bit of an upgrade and perhaps is not given the attention as most of their revenue is likely to be from the statics!

Some of the pitches in the EHU camp area are quite slopng so we would not have been happy if pitched there so may be worth asking about this on booking!

Free WIFI here at site - they said accessible in the club house but I found I could use internet by pool and at our camping pitch which was a bonus!

Think we would visit again 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Sylvie 10 reviews from this member

 Staff very helpful and let us get in our caravan a few hours early. Caravan basic but better than expected with the bonus of a sea view. Pool and playground looked nice.

Site shop very expensive,better to walk down the lane 5 mins to Combe Martin - nice shops & tearooms but pubs a bit dreary and so quiet for 1st week of Sept. H

ad a look at camping field with a view to camping next year but looked very muddy and though sheltered for wind the sun couldn't get through the trees so I wouldn't camp there. Shame as the location is lovely.

Ilfracombe is 5 miles away,but Woolacombe 10 miles away is far better with a beautiful beach and a bit more going on. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Melandrew 11 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a week at this site. Great site but would only camp here if using EHU as the camping fields (fields No 1 & 2) was at the end of the park on a slope. They are quite far away from the clubhouse, play area and pool. We stayed in the touring field which was at the entrance to the holiday park and only a short walk from the pool, shop and club house.

The shower and toilet block were accessible by key so showers were never busy. There was plenty of hot water but you couldn't change the temperature. There is about 70 steps to the beach and it is not worth the walk unless you want to look in the rock pools. There is a path outside the main gates which takes you straight into Combe Martin (about 5 mins walk) which is better. The entertainment in clubhouse was ok. Didn't try the food but looked okay. Would stay here again as it is central to a lot of places to visit locally. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MAP139 5 reviews from this member

 Camped for 8 nights in camping field No. 2 - disappointed with the field - steepish slope and hadn't been mown for some time (apparently bloke who normally mows the fields was on paternity leave but don't know why someone else couldn't have done it). Only level area was under trees which wasn't ideal but better than rolling round in the tent - got a very sticky tent now though!
Field No. 1 was in same condition with a slope and very muddy as drainage wasn't as good as field No. 2. These two camping fields were right away from the clubhouse, play area and pool whilst the main touring area with EHU's was situated right at the entrance to the holiday park and was crowded with loads of tents, motorhomes and caravans jostling for space - so was glad we weren't on that one!

Unisex building with two toilets and wash up area was very close to camping field and was dedicated to campers as you had to have a key to get in. A short walk away was the main shower and toilet block which was also only accessible by key so showers were never packed (on other sites usually find that showers are hogged by owners of statics which is annoying). There were two large shower cubicles in the Ladies which were free and plenty of hot water - only downside there was no temperature control so showers very hot but upside was there were free hairdryers!

Steps down to beach were located at the side of camping fields which was great for the kids. They loved clambering over all the rocks on the beach - better than the play area and we got quite a good workout walking up and down those steps twice a day :)

Staff around the park very friendly, entertainment in clubhouse was good, didn't try the food but looked okay. A big thumbs up is that freezer packs are frozen for free! Swimming pool was freezing as the boiler had packed up and they were waiting for parts but they hadn't arrived by the time we left.

10 minutes walk along a safe coastal path to Combe Martin - lovely beach and loads of rocks for the kids to climb, quite a few ice cream shops, couple of cafes, fish & chip shop (best fish & chips I've tasted in a long time) and a couple of nice pubs.

Went to the Big Sheep about 45 mins away and had a great day out with lots of things for kids and adults to do - we usually leave theme parks early because boredom kicks in but we stayed right to the end here and were virtually the last the leave! Loads of other attractions in the area - just didn't have time to visit them!

Overall really undecided whether we would go here again - didn't like the camping field but weighing that up with the location and the fact that the kids loved it and had a great holiday then we might just find ourselves here again next year :) 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Rob and tracey 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a week at this site and thought I should share my views. We stayed in an apartment with a view to camping later in the year. Our party consisted of myself and wife both in our forties my mother and 3 year old twins. The apartment was fabulous, good sized kitchen, good sized bathroom with shower and three bedrooms. The lounge was huge -plenty of room for my kids to race around without getting under your feet. The bedrooms were also spacious, can easily accommodate 2 adults getting dressed without getting in each others way. I've stayed in lots of caravans and after using this apartment would think twice about using a caravan again - certainly spoilt for space. The double bed was a little on the small side. Fabulous views from the windows.

The shop was well equipped for camper or caravanner although it did shut early 7pm, not good if you arrive late evening. The kids loved the soft play area and the outside playground. The bar was ok but entertainment area was a little crowded.

The site appealed to me as it has it's own private beach but I wouldn't recommend visiting it with young kids as there's a long walk down lots of steps and its a clamber over rocks when you get there, forget trying to carry lilos, windbreaks etc. Unless you're a mountain goat.

Had a good look at the camping facilities as we normally stay in a large tent but was a little disappointed at what was on offer. The main camping area was full of camper vans or caravans and anyone in a tent may have felt over crowded. The other non electric pitches were in fields used by dog walkers but turned over to camping at the start of the May bank holiday weekend. Both fields were very steep sloping and at the top of cliffs.

The toilets were unisex and couldn't find any washing up area but didn't really look as this is certainly not a site I will consider camping on.

The outdoor swimming pool was great, very surprised at water temperature it's heated didn't expect to be able to swim outside in April.

We visited some of the local attractions. Exmoor zoo is brilliant, Watermouth castle is ok, lots of walking, but once in the kids could ride the rides as many times as they liked without having to keep dipping your hands in your pockets. Wildlife and Dinosaur park was great if you like hill walking. Lots of animals to see and feed but Dinosaur exhibits operated hourly and not much to see - only 6 or 7 models. We didn't use the on-site restaurant but it did have a good menu at reasonable prices.

We will definitely be coming back but certainly not bringing our tent, possibly caravan but apartment is my first choice here. Hope I may have been of help to some of you. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Madcampers 6 reviews from this member

 Camping fields very steep slopes and very muddy and poorly maintained. Small camping fields, caravan touring field overcrowded. The rest of the site was ok around static vans.
Toilets and showers were clean and lots of hot water. Shop was good but expensive. Club was good for a drink did not try food.
Walk to combe martin was 5mins longer coming back due to hill and the excessive amount of drink. Chip shop in combe martin was good as was the food in the Pack O Cards.
Views on site were good as was private beach. The fields are just no good for camping and would be better for sheep or goats. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Slicer05 6 reviews from this member

 Very nice site,Very clean, with a well stocked shop and nice bar with reasonable prices.Ideal base for Exmoor,Woolacombe and Ilfracombe within 10-15 drive.Combe Martin itself,5 mins walk,a lovely village with great food in local pubs(Foc'S'Le Inn).Overall 8/10 would visit again. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sandaway Beach Holiday Park John Fowler Holidays child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sandaway Beach Holiday Park John Fowler Holidays?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sandaway Beach Holiday Park John Fowler Holidays dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ilfracombe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1330 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement