Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Forth House Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Fife > Site Reviews

Forth House Caravan Site
Newburn
Upper Largo
St Andrews
Fife   (Browse area)
KY8 6JE
Tel: 07718788317
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 14 + Tents
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 15 Reviews
                9/10 from 15 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Momodragon 1 review from this member

What an excellent site, the toilets and showers are kept very clean and tidy.

The owners are very friendly and helpful, and the view is spectacular.

We couldn’t have picked a nicer site and we were very lucky with the weather.

Because we had our grandchildren a playpark would have been nice for the evening, plus a washing machine just to keep up with the clothes. Overall a great site to stay at. We were there from the 21st to 27th July 2018.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Scuzbert 15 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 4 nights during the tail end of one of the tropical storms, so it was quite breezy and pretty rainy once or twice. That, however, did not impair the pleasure of our lovely view from our camper. What did impair our pleasure was the standard of cleanliness of the facilities. I honestly don't mind paying to use showers but I do expect a certain standard for my money. I also don't mind 'dated' or 'tired' facilities but I DO mind historically important gunge in evidence around the shower cubicle base. The write up for the site says the showers are heated - they were not. Yes, there were radiators in the shower rooms but the controls had been removed so there was no way to switch them on. They were also mucky-looking and rusty, not anywhere you'd want to put your towels, or anything else, for that matter. So reading someone's review mentioning the facilities having a high level of cleanliness led us to wonder if a/ the usual cleaner was on holiday or b/ had gone on strike.

On the plus side, the site is well laid out, well-kept, and has spacious pitches with water, electric and a grey water drain. All have a slight slope, nothing major. And as mentioned, all the pitches have great views. St. Andrews is about 20 mins drive away, and well worth a visit. Anstruthers is a lovely little fishing town with a fascinating Fisheries Museum, again, well worth a visit. Great fish and chip shop there, too.

If you are only interested in the standard of the actually pitch/site you will be happy enough with this one. If you think the cleanliness of the facilities matter as well, you may not be so happy. Oh, those grungy corners.

Management response: Hello Scuzbert (assuming username as we do not have this in our diary); As a small, rural, family owned and operated site we take great pride in maintaining our site and facilities to a high level for campers. All toilet and shower facilities are cleaned daily and are checked regularly; signs are displayed advising of this and furthermore we request end users to report any issues experienced for us to rectify. Regarding our facility blocks, these are heated for both comfort and frost protection and operate off fixed thermostats. The ladies toilets were refurbished in 2016/17 and the gents are scheduled for 2017/18. To date most feedback forms on-line and on-site acknowledge and compliment the cleanliness of our site and facility blocks and we can only apologise the conditions did not meet your expectations. As members of Green Tourism we control our heating systems and water usage (hence fixed thermostats to heaters and metered showers) in order to minimise the impact on our shared environment. We are not aware of any local storms recently – we admit that it can become breezy at Forth House on occasion, however that comes naturally with our elevated position which on the plus point provides spectacular views. We do hope you consider staying again despite your experience. Kind regards, David

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Amblingswan 4 reviews from this member

A quiet wee site, bit of road noise at times but mainly just the sheep and the cows to be heard. Tent pitches are very spacious with individual water tap and great views. Ours had a bit of a slope (in 2 directions) which affected our sleep to a degree, but other campers seemed ok. Would definitely return.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lee Russell 1 review from this member

Great campsite, exceptionally clean facilities, friendly efficient service. Nice flat grassy pitches. Peaceful! Exceptional value for money with electric hookup included. Very good paid for wifi, handy for the wet days. We'll be back.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Branty 7 reviews from this member

Great little site. There are beautifully neat and spacious hard standings for vans and a large field for tents with hook ups and water at each well spaced pitch. Pitches can slope slightly but not enough to worry about! Owners were very friendly and helped us by recommending the more sheltered pitches as it was fairly windy when we arrived. The views are lovely - out over Largo Bay and beyond. It is approx 2 miles down to the village and the beach. We took the car as we didn't fancy the walk back up! The bay has a long sweeping beach where we were able to let the dog happily run himself to a standstill. There is also a rougher area of the camping field where you can walk your dogs to quickly splash their paws. (You could even have your dog groomed while you are there as the owners have a dog grooming business!) Toilets and shower blocks were spotless and warm. No freezer facility but a wash-up area with loads of hot water and a hairdryer in the shower block. There are other good beaches further along the coast at Earlsferry and Elie and an exciting looking (?) chain walk that the fitter and braver than me can have a go at.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 84 reviews from this member

We stayed here 3 nights and were charged £12 for the 2 of us in a tent. The weather was good so we were able to pitch on a flat grassy area in front of the main site with fantastic views across the Firth of Forth towards Edinburgh. If windy, there were some more sheltered pitches and hard standings further back. Showers £1 but the cubicles plenty large enough for 2 to share. Only a few loos, but it was quiet. Strangely lacking in basins and mirrors?

Ideal for exploring Fife. Can recommend St Andrews (also Morrisons is here about 10 minutes) and the fishing village of Crail.

Excellent little site if the weather's kind

Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Fife   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win Duvulay Luxury Sleeping Bags worth £560!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1934 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £369 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £780

Open Today's Window to reveal Today's Prize





0.0879