Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Forth House Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews > Forth House Caravan Site Reviews

Forth House Caravan Site
Newburn
Upper Largo
St Andrews
Fife   (Browse area)
KY8 6JE
Tel: 07718788317
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 14 + Tents
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 16 Reviews
                9/10 from 16 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ayrshireman 21 reviews from this member

There is much about this site which is positive - fine location, proximity to many attractions, plenty space between tents, and a friendly welcome.

So why only 7/10?

Facilities, though perfectly acceptable and clean, were not altogether impressive - a couple of converted containers and a converted trailer. The pitch was on a slight slope.

However, my main disappointments are 1) being allocated a pitch rather than having a choice and 2) £20 plus seems rather poor value for a small tent without power.

Especially when there was a further £5 charge for arriving after 6:00 pm.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Momodragon 1 review from this member

What an excellent site, the toilets and showers are kept very clean and tidy.

The owners are very friendly and helpful, and the view is spectacular.

We couldn’t have picked a nicer site and we were very lucky with the weather.

Because we had our grandchildren a playpark would have been nice for the evening, plus a washing machine just to keep up with the clothes. Overall a great site to stay at. We were there from the 21st to 27th July 2018.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Scuzbert 15 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 4 nights during the tail end of one of the tropical storms, so it was quite breezy and pretty rainy once or twice. That, however, did not impair the pleasure of our lovely view from our camper. What did impair our pleasure was the standard of cleanliness of the facilities. I honestly don't mind paying to use showers but I do expect a certain standard for my money. I also don't mind 'dated' or 'tired' facilities but I DO mind historically important gunge in evidence around the shower cubicle base. The write up for the site says the showers are heated - they were not. Yes, there were radiators in the shower rooms but the controls had been removed so there was no way to switch them on. They were also mucky-looking and rusty, not anywhere you'd want to put your towels, or anything else, for that matter. So reading someone's review mentioning the facilities having a high level of cleanliness led us to wonder if a/ the usual cleaner was on holiday or b/ had gone on strike.

On the plus side, the site is well laid out, well-kept, and has spacious pitches with water, electric and a grey water drain. All have a slight slope, nothing major. And as mentioned, all the pitches have great views. St. Andrews is about 20 mins drive away, and well worth a visit. Anstruthers is a lovely little fishing town with a fascinating Fisheries Museum, again, well worth a visit. Great fish and chip shop there, too.

If you are only interested in the standard of the actually pitch/site you will be happy enough with this one. If you think the cleanliness of the facilities matter as well, you may not be so happy. Oh, those grungy corners.

Management response: Hello Scuzbert (assuming username as we do not have this in our diary); As a small, rural, family owned and operated site we take great pride in maintaining our site and facilities to a high level for campers. All toilet and shower facilities are cleaned daily and are checked regularly; signs are displayed advising of this and furthermore we request end users to report any issues experienced for us to rectify. Regarding our facility blocks, these are heated for both comfort and frost protection and operate off fixed thermostats. The ladies toilets were refurbished in 2016/17 and the gents are scheduled for 2017/18. To date most feedback forms on-line and on-site acknowledge and compliment the cleanliness of our site and facility blocks and we can only apologise the conditions did not meet your expectations. As members of Green Tourism we control our heating systems and water usage (hence fixed thermostats to heaters and metered showers) in order to minimise the impact on our shared environment. We are not aware of any local storms recently – we admit that it can become breezy at Forth House on occasion, however that comes naturally with our elevated position which on the plus point provides spectacular views. We do hope you consider staying again despite your experience. Kind regards, David

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Amblingswan 4 reviews from this member

A quiet wee site, bit of road noise at times but mainly just the sheep and the cows to be heard. Tent pitches are very spacious with individual water tap and great views. Ours had a bit of a slope (in 2 directions) which affected our sleep to a degree, but other campers seemed ok. Would definitely return.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lee Russell 1 review from this member

Great campsite, exceptionally clean facilities, friendly efficient service. Nice flat grassy pitches. Peaceful! Exceptional value for money with electric hookup included. Very good paid for wifi, handy for the wet days. We'll be back.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Branty 7 reviews from this member

Great little site. There are beautifully neat and spacious hard standings for vans and a large field for tents with hook ups and water at each well spaced pitch. Pitches can slope slightly but not enough to worry about! Owners were very friendly and helped us by recommending the more sheltered pitches as it was fairly windy when we arrived. The views are lovely - out over Largo Bay and beyond. It is approx 2 miles down to the village and the beach. We took the car as we didn't fancy the walk back up! The bay has a long sweeping beach where we were able to let the dog happily run himself to a standstill. There is also a rougher area of the camping field where you can walk your dogs to quickly splash their paws. (You could even have your dog groomed while you are there as the owners have a dog grooming business!) Toilets and shower blocks were spotless and warm. No freezer facility but a wash-up area with loads of hot water and a hairdryer in the shower block. There are other good beaches further along the coast at Earlsferry and Elie and an exciting looking (?) chain walk that the fitter and braver than me can have a go at.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 94 reviews from this member

We stayed here 3 nights and were charged £12 for the 2 of us in a tent. The weather was good so we were able to pitch on a flat grassy area in front of the main site with fantastic views across the Firth of Forth towards Edinburgh. If windy, there were some more sheltered pitches and hard standings further back. Showers £1 but the cubicles plenty large enough for 2 to share. Only a few loos, but it was quiet. Strangely lacking in basins and mirrors?

Ideal for exploring Fife. Can recommend St Andrews (also Morrisons is here about 10 minutes) and the fishing village of Crail.

Excellent little site if the weather's kind

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dustindusty 1 review from this member

Lovely clean site. Plenty of space for each pitch. Spectacular views over the Firth of Forth. Short drive to sandy beaches. Close to many small villages and large towns.

Ladies toilet block nice and toasty. The men's, nice and cool. Shower cubicles 1 metre square £1 for 10 mins. They also have one very large cubicle suitable for a couple or for showering the kids/grandkids.

Definitely be back.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gracol 5 reviews from this member

Fantastic little site, all hardstanding pitches fully serviced, and all for an amazingly cheap price. Great views and easily located for historic St Andrews or less than an hour to Edinburgh. Site kept to a very high standard.

Will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Spoonbill1970 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site.

Small and quiet.

Lots of thought has gone into the layout of the site and it is very caravan friendly.

Pitches are hard standing, with water and waste at each pitch.

We have an enormous awning and there was plenty of room for it.

Facilities are in adapted containers and are very clean and spacious.

Owner provides slabs if you want to have a BBQ!

Site is very well maintained.

Ideal location for BIRDWATCHING, as many of Fife's hotspots are a short drive away.

St. Andrew's is nearby, as is Dundee.

Lovely views out to the Forth Estuary and beyond towards the Lothians.

Beach is a ten minute drive away.

Owners couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful.

So glad we happened upon this site - have already recommended to friends.

Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near St Andrews      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Fife

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2154 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019