Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Forth House Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews > Forth House Caravan Site > Reviews

Forth House Caravan Site
Newburn
Upper Largo
St Andrews
Fife   (Browse area)
KY8 6JE
Tel: 07718788317
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 14 + Tents
Open: 01/04/2024 to 30/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 22 Reviews
                8/10 from 22 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Martin 2 reviews from this member

 Was a very quiet site

Staff were very friendly

Showers & toilets were very clean

Will definitely use this site again

Also plenty of places to walk our dog 


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Aldo1877 22 reviews from this member

 Very quiet site which is quite remote. There is a pub in the nearest village which is approximately 2. 5 miles away, but there are no footpaths for most of it.

Good layout with fully serviced pitches and a camping field with good views. There are plenty of water/ waste points dotted about.

The toilets/ showers are underwhelming and showers are charged.

Being coastal and on a hill it can be quite exposed to the wind. St Andrews is about a 20 minute drive, with Anstruther about the same.

Many of the fish and chip shops have frequently won awards. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: DDean 1 review from this member

 Generally good facilities which crucially were cleaned regularly.

Perhaps an extra shower would have been welcome.

Very easy to book and hassle-free check in.

The value for money rating below reflects the increased price because of the Open Golf at St Andrews.

I understand rates are generally lower. 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mattjaneking 5 reviews from this member

 A very peaceful site with great views over the Firth of Forth (when the cloud lifted!) Good sized, well spaced, serviced pitches.

It's in a good area for exploring Fife with its beautiful little coastal villages.

We did not use the facilities so cannot comment (so the star rating does not reflect knowledge, the review insists I put something)

We recommend the Upper Largo Hotel for a really good evening meal.

The Ardros Farm Shop just outside St. Monans is excellent, especially for fresh veg.

The Anstruther Fish Bar is a must and well worth the queue.

And if golf is your thing, there are over 50 courses in Fife. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Journo 14 reviews from this member

 Great views. Spacious pitches. Quiet rural setting. Helpful and friendly owners.

Toilets and showers closed because of COVID so can’t report on their condition. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ayrshireman 22 reviews from this member

 There is much about this site which is positive - fine location, proximity to many attractions, plenty space between tents, and a friendly welcome.

So why only 7/10?

Facilities, though perfectly acceptable and clean, were not altogether impressive - a couple of converted containers and a converted trailer. The pitch was on a slight slope.

However, my main disappointments are 1) being allocated a pitch rather than having a choice and 2) £20 plus seems rather poor value for a small tent without power.

Especially when there was a further £5 charge for arriving after 6:00 pm. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Momodragon 1 review from this member

 What an excellent site, the toilets and showers are kept very clean and tidy.

The owners are very friendly and helpful, and the view is spectacular.

We couldn’t have picked a nicer site and we were very lucky with the weather.

Because we had our grandchildren a playpark would have been nice for the evening, plus a washing machine just to keep up with the clothes. Overall a great site to stay at. We were there from the 21st to 27th July 2018. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Scuzbert 16 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 4 nights during the tail end of one of the tropical storms, so it was quite breezy and pretty rainy once or twice. That, however, did not impair the pleasure of our lovely view from our camper. What did impair our pleasure was the standard of cleanliness of the facilities. I honestly don't mind paying to use showers but I do expect a certain standard for my money. I also don't mind 'dated' or 'tired' facilities but I DO mind historically important gunge in evidence around the shower cubicle base. The write up for the site says the showers are heated - they were not. Yes, there were radiators in the shower rooms but the controls had been removed so there was no way to switch them on. They were also mucky-looking and rusty, not anywhere you'd want to put your towels, or anything else, for that matter. So reading someone's review mentioning the facilities having a high level of cleanliness led us to wonder if a/ the usual cleaner was on holiday or b/ had gone on strike.

On the plus side, the site is well laid out, well-kept, and has spacious pitches with water, electric and a grey water drain. All have a slight slope, nothing major. And as mentioned, all the pitches have great views. St. Andrews is about 20 mins drive away, and well worth a visit. Anstruthers is a lovely little fishing town with a fascinating Fisheries Museum, again, well worth a visit. Great fish and chip shop there, too.

If you are only interested in the standard of the actually pitch/site you will be happy enough with this one. If you think the cleanliness of the facilities matter as well, you may not be so happy. Oh, those grungy corners. 
Management response: Hello Scuzbert (assuming username as we do not have this in our diary); As a small, rural, family owned and operated site we take great pride in maintaining our site and facilities to a high level for campers. All toilet and shower facilities are cleaned daily and are checked regularly; signs are displayed advising of this and furthermore we request end users to report any issues experienced for us to rectify. Regarding our facility blocks, these are heated for both comfort and frost protection and operate off fixed thermostats. The ladies toilets were refurbished in 2016/17 and the gents are scheduled for 2017/18. To date most feedback forms on-line and on-site acknowledge and compliment the cleanliness of our site and facility blocks and we can only apologise the conditions did not meet your expectations. As members of Green Tourism we control our heating systems and water usage (hence fixed thermostats to heaters and metered showers) in order to minimise the impact on our shared environment. We are not aware of any local storms recently – we admit that it can become breezy at Forth House on occasion, however that comes naturally with our elevated position which on the plus point provides spectacular views. We do hope you consider staying again despite your experience. Kind regards, David


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Amblingswan 4 reviews from this member

 A quiet wee site, bit of road noise at times but mainly just the sheep and the cows to be heard. Tent pitches are very spacious with individual water tap and great views. Ours had a bit of a slope (in 2 directions) which affected our sleep to a degree, but other campers seemed ok. Would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lee Russell 1 review from this member

 Great campsite, exceptionally clean facilities, friendly efficient service. Nice flat grassy pitches. Peaceful! Exceptional value for money with electric hookup included. Very good paid for wifi, handy for the wet days. We'll be back. 


Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Forth House Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Forth House Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Forth House Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Andrews      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Fife

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


55255 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement