Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Stowford Farm Meadows

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Site Reviews

Stowford Farm Meadows
Berry Down
Combe Martin
Ilfracombe
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX34 0PW
Tel: 01271 882476
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 710
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 174 Reviews
                8/10 from 174 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  174 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Islandboy 4 reviews from this member

We've been to this site 3 times now, once in Low season and twice in High season. It is a very large site with a lot of Seasonal caravans but as it is spread over 5 fields it doesn't feel too big.

It has every facility you can think of - bars, restaurant, fish 'n chip/Pizza shop, grocery shop, swimming pool, caravan sales, repairs and accessories shop, dedicated dog walk, woodland trails, petorama, and a small golf course. The toilet blocks are immaculate and are cleaned every day. The showers are hot and are included in the price as is the EHU.

The site does a lot of recycling so check out what you can and can't recycle.

The site does slope so you do need blocks for your steadies.

As has been said before, there is no security barrier so anybody can come and go as they please but as the site is about 1/2 mile from the main road it is quiet.

Ilfracombe has all the shops/supermarkets you could need and Barnstaple has even more!

This site is a good base for all of North Devon/North Cornwall. The harbour @ Ilfracombe is a very nice spot for a Cream Tea or Ice-cream.

We love this area and will definitely be back for more.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sarahh56 47 reviews from this member

Great site, it's a big place but because it's divided into several fields, it doesn't feel too big.

A big, well equipped reasonably priced shop, several places to eat and drink ( but not too big and impersonal). We didn't use the swimming pool so cannot comment on that.

The showers were clean and the water, nice and hot. They also offer free wifi which was patchy for us, but no bad thing!

Only thing I would comment on is the site vehicles towing caravans in and out of storage were travelling much faster than the recommended 10 MPH and there were a lot of children playing.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Heather2 3 reviews from this member

Spotlessly clean ample washrooms. Large pitches. Quiet with no road noise. Good shop, bar and food. Plenty of lovely dog walks. Friendly staff, indoor heated pool, there is even a caravan sales and repair shop on site. Highly recommend

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Billy Boland 5 reviews from this member

I have been to Stowford Farm Meadows many times, brilliant site, loads to see and do, the staff are helpful and do what ever it take to make your stay at Stowford a memorable one. The toilets and shower blocks are always immaculate, (are you listening NHS) there is plenty of room between you and your fellow caravanner. The mini market supplies most of what you may need, other than that, Tesco's just a couple of miles away by car near Ilfracombe. The indoor swimming pool is great as is the 'Petorama' for the children, they serve a cracking breakfast in the cafe, so all in all probably the best caravan park in the whole of Devon. Ideal as a base.

Take a trip to 'Squires' fish and chip shop in Braunton on the A 361 by the traffic lights just outside Barnstaple, this meal you will remember for many years to come. Also another treat is to sit on the harbour wall at Ilfracombe just as the sun is going down with a portion of fish and chips, such a beautiful place is hard to find. Barnstaple Pannier Market is another treat to be had. For the best seafood and steaks go to 'The Boathouse' in Instow, just the other side of the river near Bideford, Whilst in Bideford near the quay side car park, look out for the 'Hockings' ice cream van, they are about if you know where to look, there is always one also on the seafront at Westward Ho! (lived there for 3 years so this is how I have such local knowledge) this is the 'Creme de la Creme of ice cream, especially if you have a dollop of clotted dream on top, probably a million calories but 'hey ho' you are on holiday.

(Missing Barnstaple) I have driven this route at least 4 times with a caravan in tow, with no problems what so ever, this will save you going all the way around Barnstaple probably adding between at least half to one hour to your journey time, more if it is rush hour. Come off the A361 at the roundabout, taking the A339 towards Combe Martin then take the A3123 this will miss all the traffic and bring you straight to Stowford. Hope you enjoy your holiday there as much as I have.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ghart386 30 reviews from this member

Very large site. Given very poor directions to get to my pitch resulting in taking a dead end turn on a map highlighted by a very young girl! Brand new caravan nearly sustaining avoidable damage!

Facilities excellent and very clean. A bit too sloping for my liking having a twin axle van. Shop very good. Bars OK during the day but weren't too impressed with the restaurant when we visited. The staff on that evening left a lot to be desired. I think we would have been better served in the main bar.

Well placed for touring north devon but I doubt we will return.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: IzzieB 9 reviews from this member

Have stayed at Stowford many times and as always our visit this time did not disappoint. Fantastic pitch with plenty of space around, great clean facilities and the staff, especially the lovely cleaning lady was very friendly, cheerful and helpful. The re-routing of traffic away from the swimming pool area was a great idea and made for a much easier and safer route to our pitch. There are a number of activities on site like Petorama, Swimming and horse riding which were all chargeable but provided pretty good value for money. The site is large but still has a lovely rustic charm about it that we love. Will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Janetjen 3 reviews from this member

We have stayed here several times the site is very well maintained especially the toilet blocks, but we are aware that there doesn't seem to be any security on site, anyone could enter the site day or night! And vehicles were driving round day and night too! We went to the fish restaurant on the Sunday evening as there was a notice saying carvery available but when we arrived we were told they had run out! But There was no apology ! I won't be coming back !

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lucylego 1 review from this member

What can I say about Stowford Farm Meadows? fantastic site, clean hot (free) showers, loads of well looked after facilities, especially for the kids including a petorama, kiddie cars, crazy golf, indoor pool, loads of play areas, soft play, entertainment (we didn't go to any so I can't comment on that) horse riding, tennis, acres of private woodland to explore! Excellent on site takeaway, a large well priced shop, two restaurants, two bars a caravan sales area and shop, varying size pitches, ours was huge! Plenty of room for our large tunnel tent and gazebo (no extra charge for this) free EHU and free wifi, though this was a bit iffy due to the amount of people accessing it, staff were friendly and helpful too!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Morris2andabit 6 reviews from this member

Our 4th visit here and the site is still as lovely as the first year.

Improvements have been made to the road by blocking vehicle access past the swimming pool, making it much safer for kids and giving more room for outdoor seating outside the bar / restaurant. Food in the pub was very nice as it always is, however the food in the chip shop leaves a lot to be desired, considering it is cooked fresh to order, it's just not making the grade.

The site facilities are always clean and tidy, with music and heating on throughout the night so no chilly loos here.

The shop is reasonable, and the bakery area couldn't keep up with the demand for their lovely warm croissants first thing in a morning! Definitely a winner.

The sheepdog display is always a hit both with the kids and the adults.

There are plenty of areas to walk with (or without) your dogs, and if you want a doggy free day and you get to the stables early enough, you could leave them there for the day- but they do only have 6 kennels so be there at 9am or you may be too late.

My only real concern was the petarama, I was not convinced that the animals were being really looked after, and I did send a message back to the site on our return, which hasn't yet been resolved.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rds2002 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for a week. The site is kept beautifully clean and the toilet/shower blocks are exceptional. The best I have ever seen. There are plenty of places to go but some of the roads can be quite interesting (single track with passing places). Do not use the A399 to approach the site if towing (Ignore sat nav direction). The best route I found from the M5, if towing Is follow the A361 to Braunton then continue on A361 twds Ilfracombe, at roundabout take 3rd exit to A3123 at crossroads go straight on sign posted Comb Martin. Site is 1. 5 miles on the right.

We stayed on field 5 where all the pitches are sloping and you have to pitch your van facing down the hill which means putting it on the. Pitch tow hitch first. Some pitches require you to pull the van up over the kerb to gain access to the pitch. Blocks will be required, something that is not mentioned in the site brochure. There is a accessory shop and caravan/motorhome workshop on site as well as various restaurants and a swimming pool. During low season there is only entertainment at weekends e. G. Bingo, vocalist etc.

There are well signposted woodland walks and there is also a caravan sales area where you can buy the caravan of your dreams. On Saturdays they give away free doughnuts and coffee at the sales area. Prices in low season are very good 74. 00 approx for 7 nights, hard standing with electric.

Would visit again but be better prepared next time

Previous     174 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


747 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019