Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Birches Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Bedfordshire > Wyboston > The Birches Certificated Site Reviews

The Birches Certificated Site
43 Rookery Road
Wyboston
Bedfordshire   (Browse area)
MK44 3AX
Tel: 07986 880498  or  01480 219646
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 Vans + Tents
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 6 Reviews
                10/10 from 6 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. We don't have toilets. We don't have showers. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Funky 18 reviews from this member

 We be looked this site because the St Neots C&cc site was full. So glad we did. The site is immaculate. Although close to the A1 the traffic noise is minimal.

Facilities are basic. Electric, water and CDU. Electric pitch is £13 on at time of writing.

If you like a quiet, no frills site, then this is for you. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Jacobs 1 review from this member

 Brilliant peaceful site

The owner is so helpful he even sent his son out to help me when my caravan got stuck (i had taken a wrong road) so big thank you.

Its also a beautiful area

I loved my stay and will be going back asap 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Spiderchimp 2 reviews from this member

 We visited this site for one night so we could get used to our caravan (it was close to home).

The site is secure, safe for children, and the owners gave us loads of help with our awning (which turned out to be too big for the caravan).

As a result of this very positive visit, we are now keen caravaners. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dugie 1 review from this member

 Great little site why so little reviews.

Will Definitely make a visit again. The road noise you can hardly hear.

The small thing but not a great problem no toilet facilities. The site owners top notch.

Thanks again. 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mrscairnnut 56 reviews from this member

 JTQU has written a very comprehensive review of this site.

We have to agree with what has been written.

Having booked on a Caravan Club rally, when the venue of that rally changed to this site, we cancelled, worried about the issue of the road noise. Then we thought about it again and read JTQU's review. As a result we booked onto the rally and we were very pleased that we did so.

The site is lovely, well maintained, very friendly owners, and yes you can hear the road but nothing how I thought it would be (I do moan about road noise)It is easy to get into Eaton Socon. Turn right out of the site (on foot or bike this is). At the end of the road turn right again and then follow the track until you get to the underpass.

Walking down the main road (The Great North Road) there are pubs, a small Tesco, further down, if you turn right onto School Lane, you can walk to the River Mill pub, which is a lovely place to walk to, and have a nice walk along the river followed by a quick pint (or two). There is also a KFC and Brewers Fayre pub, a garage (you can get a paper there). There is also a chocolate factory outlet just near the underpass.

We will definitely try and get back here, either on another rally or just by booking onto the CS. Highly recommended for just a stopover or a longer break. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JTQU 6 reviews from this member

 Used Thursday 11th July 2013 for 4 nights, with a caravan.

The Birches is a new Certificated Site, a CS, operating under the five van exemption certificate of the Camping and Caravanning Club for exclusive use of members. It is located to the western side of the A1 north of the “Black Cat” roundabout in Wyboston [near St Neots]. The Black Cat is where the Milton Keynes Cambridge road A421/428 crosses the A1. Its location makes it ideal for overnight on route stops however the area has sufficient of its own charms for longer stays. Bedford and St Neots for the attractive river Ouse, Old Warden Aircraft museum and both Milton Keynes and Cambridge are readily accessible. The site entrance is at coordinates 52 12 16, - 0 18 16 [degrees minutes seconds]

Its location quite physically close to the A1, with potential noise issues, was of concern on booking. It would be wrong to say noise was not evident but true to say it was far less in reality than we feared and we chose to be at the end closest to the A1. The depth of the field means you can significantly move away from road but even where we were the noise was evident but not intrusive. The noise varies with wind direction and we noticed changes with the “climate”. However the normal prevailing SW should minimise things more that was the case during our visit. Unless you are abnormally sensitive to noise we feel it will not be an issue.

It is huge site of an estimated 600 feet depth by 200 feet width of beautifully close mowed grass with a central concrete access road. The ground we are told is of gravel; driving our rock pegs in rather confirmed this. However such solid ground and the concrete service road should prove valuable in damp weather making it a viable winter site for even front wheel drive motorhomes. It is presently not listed for winter use but the owner is considering extending to this and with the features it has we consider it would be viable.

The site has 7 widely spaced electrical bollards sporting in total 20 EHUs each of the full 16 amp rating. So the five vans can be well separated and you can choose privacy or close camping as needed together with the owner being able to best manage grass damage.

To us a big plus was the excellent site security. The entrance has a motorised sliding gate, requiring a code. For a modest returnable deposit you can “hire” a remote control fob for your stay duration or opt to enter the requisite code manually. The site owners Brian and Wendy Spiers, very welcoming, helpful and friendly, will in August move to reside in the house at the entrance further improving the security the site offers. They are very attentive to what is going on and we felt at ease leaving our lone unit all day.

They have provided well-appointed very neat chemical and grey water disposal facilities with its own dedicated water supply, and of course totally separate drinking water taps. There are no toilets showers but a Tourist Info shed.

From the site you can cycle north up Rookery Road to access a cycleway that takes you into Eaton Socon crossing the A1 via an underpass. That accesses a roadside cycleway for going further into St Neots, an overall distance of 2. 75 miles from the site gate.

There is a large Tesco [with fuel] out on the A428 Cambridge road and a Tesco “Express” with cash dispenser, opposite the Church in Eaton Socon [1. 4 miles on bike or foot] plus nearby McD and KFC.

Eaton Socon from its origins as a coaching halt on the A1 has an over dose of Pubs; not tested.

On site we got a strong Three mobile 3G data signal to remain on the internet, and reportedly there are good signals for both Vodafone and Orange. As said up the road A1 there is the McD where no doubt the usual WiFi facility is provided.

For those with small children we should mention there is a small shallow but tempting wild life pond at the very far end of the site that might be of concern. However the site depth allows you to pitch well clear of it and the open views afford sighting of children long before they might creep away.

The site offers excellent potential for rallies due to its size, good connection to major roads, the provision of EHUs, concrete service road and firm gravel substrate. There is plenty of area to sub divide off a five-van section. The village hall is a short walk [0. 46 mile] away for those meets requiring that facility.

In all we found this new site excellent and as we need a “location” in Bedfordshire for family visits this has gone to the top of our list for those stays.

At the time of writing the site is too new to feature in the C&CC’s big sites book. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Birches Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Birches Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Birches Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wyboston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Bedfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1341 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement