Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bryn Awel Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Bala > Bryn Awel Certificated Site Reviews

Bryn Awel Certificated Site
Llanuwchllyn
Bala
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL23 7DD
Tel: 07805 122771
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 Vans
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 12 Reviews
                9/10 from 12 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kazwin 1 review from this member

 What a lovely site this is the owners are very friendly and helpful and the views are amazing,

The toilet and showers are not open but that wasn't a problem,

We really enjoyed our stay and will return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Annemarr 12 reviews from this member

 An excellent site with an outstanding location. Fabulous views of the mountains and surrounding countryside from all pitches. Easily accessible with a bit of care.

Village easily walkable for a pub meal (though we didn't try as a result of Covid restrictions), and of course the Bala railway. Supermarket in nearby Bala town.

Very conveniently placed for tourism in the area as it's on the doorstep of Snowdonia and within easy reach of the coast. Fabulous walks from the site.

Owners very friendly, and couldn't be more helpful.

Shower and toilet facilities closed due to Covid but water/waste facilities fine.

Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Lesbosh19 1 review from this member

 A lovely little gem of a site tucked away in the stunning countryside of Llanuwchllyn, Gwynedd, overlooking lake Bala.

The owners were extremely helpful and friendly and made us very welcome.

The site itself is very quiet (no kids) and the views over mountain are to die for. It was such a pleasure to come back to after a busy day exploring the area.

The toilet and showers were clean and at £13 a night inc electric you couldn’t ask for more. The nearest town is Bala which has a busy high street and all the shops you could possibly need.

A visit to the lake is heartily recommended, and there is even a train that goes from one end of the lake to the other catching glorious scenery en route.

This site is most definitely on our visit again list if we are ever to come to this area again.

Top marks for this one. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Katgriff 1 review from this member

 Met by owners who were very helpful and friendly. Absolutley stunning views, by far the best we have seen for a long time. Pitches however not the best, size was good but when it came to try and level the motorhome it took a lot of doing. All the pitches are sloping but some better than others.

There is one toilet/shower which was in a small breeze block building at the back of their property. Whilst it was clean there was no tiling on the walls or floor but worse than that was no heating and as it was -1° during our stay it really was very unpleasant. I'm sure a simple wall heater would make this so much better. Its a shame as this let our stay down massively 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Georget64 40 reviews from this member

 A great site with views over the mountains, backed by Snowdon and Moel Siabod on the skyline.

We had a great welcome from the owners, who could not have been more helpful. Approach best from A494 through Llanwchllyn village, the final bit being a quite steep hill. Because of this we did not visit the pub, which also does not appear to have a car park suitable for motorhomes. As a result we used the motorhome for Local transport, but found parking in Bala ok. There is a 2 hourly bus within 300 yards, to Wrexham or Dolgellau.

Great value for money. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Janetandpaul 22 reviews from this member

 This is a lovley site with friendly owners Roy and Joan,

We were booked to stay 4 nights but stayed 6.

We were welcomed with a pack full of information on where to go and what to see also walks.

We were shown on arrival the facilities Toilet and shower what was always clean, One toilet and shower with a wash basin the site was full but did not have a problem waiting for a shower,

We were shown were the bins were, elsan point and water,

Some of the pitches are sloping but we didn't have a problem

Roy and Joan were on site if anyone had a problem,

There were chickens in pens and you can buy the eggs,

The views are amazing.

5 mins walk to the railway station.

About 3 or 4 mile to Bala.

We had a lovely stay and would recommend this site,

(It is a Adult only site) 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Winnieone 18 reviews from this member

 Great site, up on the side of the valley at the head of Bala lake.

16 amp electrics, all caravan and motorhome pitches are well spaced and hard standing and level on the side plane but may need some blocks for the nose on some. (Supplied if needed).

This is a quiet site with fantastic views and sunsets, we saw a amazing painted sunset while we were there. These cannot be guaranteed if the weather is bad. :) We were met by Roy and Joan who gave us a welcome pack which contained loads of information you might need while staying, including a selection of walks in the area.

There is recycling on site. Also for sale, fresh eggs from the chickens on site. (Kept in pen and no noisy cockerels)

Note the shower and toilet are in the same room both were immaculate along with a wash basin and with a single solid locking door.

Also note, the grass is kept short and clippings collected. There's a good phone and tv signal, though the free-view channels are somewhat limited.

The Bala lake Train station is just below the site, in the village. You can hear it, s whistle occasionally. There are low flying fast jets using the valley and surrounding area's and though they can be noisy again it's only occasionally and only in working hours. Not weekends ( It's the RAF ). I enjoyed watching them and even got a wave from a low fly Hercules, they're the big quiet ones.

Too eat, there's the Eagles Inn in the village, though we never got chance to try it, and there are various pubs and cafes in Bala. Cost at the time of writing was £15 with electric. Worth every penny.

Access is easy if you use the A494 through Bala and come through the village of Llanuwchllyn onto the B4403, instead of the sat nav's first choice, which is the back route along the lake of the B4403. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tonytt 6 reviews from this member

 Our first visit to beautiful Snowdonia made all the more enjoyable by site owners Joan & Roy who offer a warm welcome and a relaxed and ordered environment. Shower and toilet facilities were always pristine and recycling facilities clearly identified. Bryn Awel offers panoramic views of the surrounding mountains and Lake Bala and is well situated for easy access to Snowdon and all that North Wales has to offer.

The village pub, the Eagle Inn doubles up as a local store for essentials but Bala is only a few miles away and has a Co-op amongst its range of shops. We will be going back to Snowdonia and back to Bryn Awel. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Axonj 1 review from this member

 This was our first time on a certified site. We were therefore wondering what to expect on a site which offered basic facilities according to the publication on the internet. Knowing the area, where we were staying, even if the site did not live up to our hopes we were confident we could fill our time there. We arrived in the rain on a Sunday afternoon. We climbed the fairly steep hill and drive to the camping area and were greeted by the owners! They made every effort to help but not overpower us on arrival and I fact for the rest of our stay.

The views were stunning the only noise was the animals birds and through the day the miniature train tooting at the station in the village below. Oh and for plane spotters the aircraft which put on a superb display now and again.

This is a must return to site with a new toilet and free hot shower and a must recommend to others site. Thank you Joan and Roy for a peaceful break. See you again for definite. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: C1nna 3 reviews from this member

 Visited this site for Easter got a fabulous welcome and able to pick our pitch with fantastic views. The owner shown us amenities and made us and our son very welcome showing us all the fantastic views and pointing out things for our son to see. Later the other owner came over when she got back to introduce herself and give us welcome pack with all walks and visitor attractions nearby. They both made the whole of our stay lovely with little chats and gave us ideas of things to do. Gem of a site already booked to return in May 


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bryn Awel Certificated Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bryn Awel Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Bryn Awel Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bala      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3339 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement