Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Bryn Awel Certificated Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Bryn Awel Certificated Site
Llanuwchllyn
Bala
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL23 7DD
Tel: 07805 122771
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5 Vans + Tents
Open: 1st March - 31st Oct

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 8 Reviews
                10/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Georget64 30 reviews from this member

A great site with views over the mountains, backed by Snowdon and Moel Siabod on the skyline.

We had a great welcome from the owners, who could not have been more helpful. Approach best from A494 through Llanwchllyn village, the final bit being a quite steep hill. Because of this we did not visit the pub, which also does not appear to have a car park suitable for motorhomes. As a result we used the motorhome for Local transport, but found parking in Bala ok. There is a 2 hourly bus within 300 yards, to Wrexham or Dolgellau.

Great value for money.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Janetandpaul 21 reviews from this member

This is a lovley site with friendly owners Roy and Joan,

We were booked to stay 4 nights but stayed 6.

We were welcomed with a pack full of information on where to go and what to see also walks.

We were shown on arrival the facilities Toilet and shower what was always clean, One toilet and shower with a wash basin the site was full but did not have a problem waiting for a shower,

We were shown were the bins were, elsan point and water,

Some of the pitches are sloping but we didn't have a problem

Roy and Joan were on site if anyone had a problem,

There were chickens in pens and you can buy the eggs,

The views are amazing.

5 mins walk to the railway station.

About 3 or 4 mile to Bala.

We had a lovely stay and would recommend this site,

(It is a Adult only site)

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Winnieone 18 reviews from this member

Great site, up on the side of the valley at the head of Bala lake.

16 amp electrics, all caravan and motorhome pitches are well spaced and hard standing and level on the side plane but may need some blocks for the nose on some. (Supplied if needed).

This is a quiet site with fantastic views and sunsets, we saw a amazing painted sunset while we were there. These cannot be guaranteed if the weather is bad. :) We were met by Roy and Joan who gave us a welcome pack which contained loads of information you might need while staying, including a selection of walks in the area.

There is recycling on site. Also for sale, fresh eggs from the chickens on site. (Kept in pen and no noisy cockerels)

Note the shower and toilet are in the same room both were immaculate along with a wash basin and with a single solid locking door.

Also note, the grass is kept short and clippings collected. There's a good phone and tv signal, though the free-view channels are somewhat limited.

The Bala lake Train station is just below the site, in the village. You can hear it, s whistle occasionally. There are low flying fast jets using the valley and surrounding area's and though they can be noisy again it's only occasionally and only in working hours. Not weekends ( It's the RAF ). I enjoyed watching them and even got a wave from a low fly Hercules, they're the big quiet ones.

Too eat, there's the Eagles Inn in the village, though we never got chance to try it, and there are various pubs and cafes in Bala. Cost at the time of writing was 15 with electric. Worth every penny.

Access is easy if you use the A494 through Bala and come through the village of Llanuwchllyn onto the B4403, instead of the sat nav's first choice, which is the back route along the lake of the B4403.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tonytt 5 reviews from this member

Our first visit to beautiful Snowdonia made all the more enjoyable by site owners Joan & Roy who offer a warm welcome and a relaxed and ordered environment. Shower and toilet facilities were always pristine and recycling facilities clearly identified. Bryn Awel offers panoramic views of the surrounding mountains and Lake Bala and is well situated for easy access to Snowdon and all that North Wales has to offer.

The village pub, the Eagle Inn doubles up as a local store for essentials but Bala is only a few miles away and has a Co-op amongst its range of shops. We will be going back to Snowdonia and back to Bryn Awel.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Axonj 1 review from this member

This was our first time on a certified site. We were therefore wondering what to expect on a site which offered basic facilities according to the publication on the internet. Knowing the area, where we were staying, even if the site did not live up to our hopes we were confident we could fill our time there. We arrived in the rain on a Sunday afternoon. We climbed the fairly steep hill and drive to the camping area and were greeted by the owners! They made every effort to help but not overpower us on arrival and I fact for the rest of our stay. The views were stunning the only noise was the animals birds and through the day the miniature train tooting at the station in the village below. Oh and for plane spotters the aircraft which put on a superb display now and again. This is a must return to site with a new toilet and free hot shower and a must recommend to others site. Thank you Joan and Roy for a peaceful break. See you again for definite.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: C1nna 3 reviews from this member

Visited this site for Easter got a fabulous welcome and able to pick our pitch with fantastic views. The owner shown us amenities and made us and our son very welcome showing us all the fantastic views and pointing out things for our son to see. Later the other owner came over when she got back to introduce herself and give us welcome pack with all walks and visitor attractions nearby. They both made the whole of our stay lovely with little chats and gave us ideas of things to do. Gem of a site already booked to return in May

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Thedanman81 4 reviews from this member

Booked for Easter bank holiday weekend - from first contact to final departure the hosts Joan and Roy were incredibly welcoming, and helpful. The hard standing pitches were large, pretty level, and well spaced with wonderful views. The toilet/shower was spotlessly clean and a great addition for those with no facilities. The hosts were fantastic with our two preschool children allowing our four year old to pet their rabbits. It was lovely to be able walk to the Bala Lake railway from the site and not have to take the car out for the day. We will be certain to return;a great find!

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BadBoyBushy 15 reviews from this member

Beautiful little site with views to die for.

On arrival we received our very warm welcome from the site owners who showed us where everything was (water, toilet etc).

The site was very well kept with short, clean and flat grass, and a number of hard standings for caravans. We didn't use the sites toilet or shower so I can't comment, but it was clean and welcoming when I was shown where it was.

Locally Bala town has a small Co-op for your shopping or essentials are available from the pub in the village, which also happens to serve the best Steak and Ale pie I have ever tasted. A pint of purple moose is also something not to be missed if you enjoy real ales.

Bala lake railway is only a 5min walk (you can see the station from the site), and with the whole Snowdonia National park on your door step, there is lots to see and do.

We found a good mobile (EE) 3G signal on the site, and a basic range of freeview channels available, but due to the trees and mountains I doubt a satellite signal will be available.

The site has full 16A supply so no having to boil the kettle on the cooker.

Unfortunately the site is too small for older children to play ball games, but that is about the only negative I could find.

We will definitely return due to the friendly nature of the owners, the views, as we found it an ideal base for exploring North Wales


Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2944 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019