Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Naturist Foundation

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Kent > Orpington > The Naturist Foundation > Reviews

The Naturist Foundation
Brocken Hurst
Sheepcote Lane
Orpington
Kent   (Browse area)
BR5 4ET
Tel: 01689 871200
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 40
Open: 28/03/2024 to 13/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 10 Reviews
                9/10 from 10 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:
This is a Naturist site, please contact them further details.

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Camel campers 58 reviews from this member

 Another lovely stay at this site,

The volunteers who run things are all so friendly and helpful.

The pool is always warm and inviting. Getting to the site can be tricky especially with larger vehicles as the lane is quite narrow. 


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Johnt6 1 review from this member

 First experience on a Naturist campsite and loved. A very friendly welcome on a well equipped site.

It was a stopover on my way to Dover and I’ll be staying again on my way back.

The site is very secure with gated entrance and the freedom to walk around the woodland path is liberating. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Camel campers 58 reviews from this member

 We have just come back from a weekend at the Naturist Foundation in our motorhome.

What a great place, love the pool and the tea pot cafe, and while the weather was not what we would have liked, the facilities made the stay very enjoyable.

The staff were excellent on arrival and showed us to our pitch and explained where everything was.

All the toilet and shower blocks were clean and well maintained.

The bar in the evening was well priced and well stocked, and everyone whether, seasonal pitch holders or visitors were friendly.

The food in the cafe was of great quality and the staff could not do enough to make your visit pleasant.

The field does have a very big slope so you will need large chocks or something else to accommodate this. 5amp electricity which was ample for us.

The roads to access the site are very narrow, so follow the directions from their website, we did and our MH is 7. 5m long and 2. 3m wide and we made it ok,

We enjoyed it so much we have already booked our next stay. 


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Robert 1 review from this member

 Beautifully situated, surrounded by their own woodland,

This site features well maintained permanent caravan pitches, as well as a casual-use camping / caravanning field.

Great sporting facilities. Spotless, modern bathroom facilities. Sensible covid protocols.

Everyone friendly and welcoming. 5/5 Stars. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Patric 1 review from this member

 Hi. Yes very friendly site, its a shame that we are in this pandemic as there would have been a lot more to do but we had good weather so that was a plus,

Showers clean and toilets very good

So overall excellent, hope to visit again.

Only thing I will say is the lane is very small and not very wide for motorhomes and caravan but site very good. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smarksmith 27 reviews from this member

 Booking - Booking via the web site is quite unique in the fact that it shows a running availability on their booking calendar so we knew it was going to be a quiet weekend before we arrived. Communication was excellent as I got prompt responses from the emails I sent to them.

Location - This site really is in the sticks even though its inside the M25, however, this does lead to the fact that the approach roads are very very tight and drivers within the M25 are not renowned for their slow or careful driving and we came head to head with many cars on the last couple of miles to the site where you really do have to keep your nerve. There are 3 roads to the site all are very narrow we would recommend using their recommended route (Through Hockenden, down Hockenden Lane). Something we did find was that fly tipping is a major issue. We’re not talking about a little unwanted waste at the side of the road, we’re talking roads blocked and verging on impassable, as in several areas it looked like flat bed tipper trucks have just tipped their load of rubbish onto the road obstructing up to 60% of the road.

Site - On arrival you do need to pull up tight to the gate to ensure your outfit isn’t hanging out onto the lane. When you pull into the site and head to the main car park leave your outfit clear of the road as a lot of people seem to be coming and going and the reception/office is a fair walk from the car park. This proved interesting for us, as arriving on Friday afternoon, the car park was very full, and there wasn’t space to leave the van. We therefore had to park on the roadway to go to reception, and were unceremoniously asked to move by someone who could not wait the few minutes it took to book in. It may be an idea that the site signpost a parking\ booking in area (as with caravan and motorhome club sites) if people are in such a rush to leave the site.

We were greeted by Jackie who being a fellow northerner was exceptionally polite and helpful and showed us up to the ‘Camping Meadow’ and answered all our questions and concerns as it had been exceptionally wet for weeks up to our arrival.

The ‘Camping Meadow’ is set up with 30+ power points (5amp) spread across a field with a single straight road up the middle, the field slopes down towards the entrance as such you will need significant wheel levelling ramps to get your van level. Water points are at the top and bottom of the field, There are several toilet blocks around the site with the closest ones also at the bottom of the field. Bins are also at the bottom of the field, there is only glass recycling here everything else goes into one bin. One thing to note is that the bin was removed on Thursday morning for emptying, and as I write this on Friday afternoon, it’s still not back. So you either keep hold of your rubbish, or walk to the other side of the site for a bin.

There is a railway line that runs a few hundred yards away from the site and although most of the trains are not that noticeable they can be heard, however, they didn’t appear to run during the night. You’re also on the main flight paths into the London airports, so if you like plane spotting, this is the place for you.

The facilities - The Toilets and Showers look like they have had a significant refurbishment recently and were very nice and clean. It’s worth noting the showers take 20p for 3 minutes of hot water. Whilst this was sufficient time for me, my partner struggled to shower and wash her hair in 3 minutes, so not sure how this would work with children/families.

Outside areas had loads of ‘Things’ to do several Petanque courts, tennis, kids area, exercise kit and not forgetting a very nice covered pool and sauna. The pool is similar to those in France where it is heated and cover with a glass roof which can be pulled back to let air in. As we happened to stay on the hottest week of the year, it would have been nice for the cover to have been pulled back, as it would have been refreshing to have a swim, to get out of the heat. As it was, with the cover firmly in situe, it was more like a greenhouse and not pleasurable. The pool is also in need of some TLC as there is pitting in the floor, which makes it look dirty.

One thing that really let the site down, and could have been easily rectified, was the Elsan emptying point. To put no finer point on it it was minging, it really just needed a good scrub the bring it back to the white porcelain and then quick clean over every few days but it didn’t look like it had been cleaned in years let alone months which wasn’t a good reflection on the cleanliness of the rest of the site. We reported this to the office, (Wednesday Morning) when adding additional nights onto our stay, and they apologised and advised the ground staff should have cleaned it, however when we left it still hadn’t been done and that was Sunday.

Local information - we had no problem with getting a TV signal, and although not strong Three and O2 signals were able to stream video in 4g. There is WiFi across the site which was free however slow would be an understatement (0. 5mbps) BT are supposed to be upgrading the local feed by the end of March (As its nearly May, BT seem to be keeping their promise). There are several rail stations around if you want to go into London for the day, we found Orpington was the best option with a decent car park (£6. 90 for the day) and line went straight into Canon Street station in the city of London. There are plenty of supermarkets within a couple of miles such as Asda and Lidl

Would we stop again, I would say probably not. There are some issues that need to be worked on, as the site needs to be more ‘polished’. It’s great that they cover off the legal stuff, such as testing fire alarms, but they also need to work on the little things, like the Elsan point, and advising just what the roads are like, close to the site, as this would make the last few miles not so daunting. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Yy2mack 3 reviews from this member

 We visited back in July during the school holidays after having been here for a weekend the year before.

We stayed on the camping meadow and although gently sloping it is possible to get a nice spacious flat pitch at the top of the meadow. The camping meadow is well signposted and we were met as we arrived on the meadow and were allowed to choose where we wished to pitch. The camping wardens were very helpful and always available.

The facilities are fantastic and at the bottom of the meadow is a recently refurbished shower block with separate toilet facilities, a mixed shower room and a laundry room. To the rear of the block is a crock wash with hot water. The showers provide 2 minutes for 20p so be prepared and start collecting.

The leisure facilities are in abundance with a number of table tennis tables in the 'cow shed' beside the ablutions block.

A number of badminton and boules courts separate the cow shed from the large covered and heated swimming pool which sits alongside the pavilion and main complex.

3PM on a Sunday sees all the families attending a dedicated kiddies splashtime run by the local lifeguard members and is a firm favourite for all the kids with the pool covered in floats / boats and toys. This is an event that is not to be missed.

With a toddlers play area with outdoor toys and an older kids newly refurbished play park with slides, frames and swings our kids love to disappear in a safe environment and play for hours, only seeing them when they are hungry or thirsty.

There is a second ablutions block, again 20p is required for the showers, and this houses the sauna which looked popular but we never got round to using it.

There is a number of outdoor exercise equipment set in the grounds leading down to a number of miniten courts which are regularly used for competitions in the nice weather.

The main complex hosts the office with a very helpful individual named Jackie who always seems available to assist. The pavilion has a wonderful café with a good offering of hot and cold food and very reasonable prices and there is a hot drinks machine (at a small cost) and water dispenser for when the café is closed.

But then there is the bar. This is small and very popular and offers a fantastic environment to meet the locals (members with year round plots) and they were all very friendly. The bar offers a number of guest ales as well as the usual offerings and we thought the prices very reasonable. There is regular entertainment and visiting the bar is the best way to break the ice and get to know what is going on around the site.

A great place for families with so much to do on site we can spend days without even leaving the site.

We all had such a good time and felt so welcomed that we have now joined the club and taken a seasonal pitch and cannot wait for next season.

The friendliest site with the best facilities we have seen in the UK.  


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JOSHNEY 1 review from this member

 We loved this site, the camping meadow was slightly sloping but the pitch sizes were excellent and the hook up points were well positioned. The facilities are great. The showers need 20p and the ones by the pool are definitely superior although the other block is perfectly good as well. The pool is excellent and was never busy, there are plenty of table tennis tables and the club house is good and friendly. Our first night poured hard and so we had a nice meal at the clubhouse for £5 each.

The couple who looked after the meadow were cheery and always waved as they passed, but were ready to help if you needed it. We had a day out to Bromley but chose to stay on the site to take advantage of the peace quiet and the pool. Would recommend hightly 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yy2mack 3 reviews from this member

 A lovely bank holiday weekend at one of the best sites we have ever stayed in.

The camping meadow was slightly sloping but was reasonably empty so we found a lovely flat area in the bluebells. The electric points are well distributed and so easy to reach throughout the meadow.

The toilet block at the meadow is large and clean with separate toilet areas for genders and then a decent sized mixed open plan shower room. Unfortunately the water was cold even at 20p for 3 minutes. We were advised this would be the case but the main block beside the heated, covered swimming pool had lovely hot water and includes a sauna available for use.

With plenty of various games courts, outdoor fitness equipment, children's play area and club house containing a cafe and bar this has to be one of the best equipped campsites we have ever stayed at.

The kids made friends quickly and there were plenty of young children for them to play with. They especially enjoyed the pool splash time mid afternoon and we stayed behind later than intended just to allow them to partake. Absolutely fantastic.

A great friendly place with a good age range of members and fantastic facilities. Well worth a revisit. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smallone365 1 review from this member

 The site is a great site with very friendly people. There are many things to do there, too many too mention ! But ok I will try ! Walking around the ground is the top of our things to do as is the badminton courts, but 2nd and no means least is the swimming pool which is very spacious given for those who like to swim lengths or just relax with their family. After all that a drink in the bar and a meal in the cafe is a great way to finish the day. The site has a no singles policy which works well and is upheld. 



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Naturist Foundation child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does The Naturist Foundation have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Naturist Foundation?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Naturist Foundation dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Orpington      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


45823 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement