Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Paultons Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Romsey > Paultons Certificated Site Reviews

Paultons Certificated Site
Wade Park Farm
Ower
Romsey
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO51 6AF
Tel: 07768 110456
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5 Vans + 10 Tents
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 16 Reviews
                9/10 from 16 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jennifer H 4 reviews from this member

Well, what can I say - surprise is the only word I can think, and pleasant, both go together nicely to describe this site. Yes, it is close to the M27/M3, but that can be a bonus of course, as location is excellent. We stayed, myself, my two adult daughters and grand daughter for three nights, for the purpose of visiting Paultons Theme Park, which is virtually across the road from the site. We did however use the car to visit Paultons, as the theme park driveway is quite long, we were glad we did this, as you spend a lot of time on your feet at Paultons theme park! Now this campsite is excellent. John and Dawn are the owners, and whilst I only spoke to Dawn on the phone, they obviously are very proud of their site, and it shows. They have thought of lots of little touches to ensure that their visitors want for nothing. As well as the hard standing pitches, they have pitches for tents, also two tippee's and a pod, both of which we were shown around. John is a very social character, and has and does work very hard to make sure that his guests are well catered for. Yes, whilst the toilets and showers are alike to 'festival portacabins' they are very clean and tidy, and the water temperature was perfect. There were plenty of ride on toys for the children, as well as a net for football, which was in use, due to the fact that England were in the quarter final of the 2018 World Cup. John also opened up the pod on the afternoon of the England game on the Saturday, to enable football fans to watch the match, what a star. It was a pleasure to stay on this site, and one which I would highly recommend, not just for the purpose of visiting the theme park, but for the location to the New Forest, and surrounding areas. Also, as the gate is kept shut at all time, the little children are perfectly safe. I would like to wish John, Dawn and their families my very best wishes for their exceptional efforts. Also, Poppa Smurf! Thank you for your consideration and help.

Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Macarw 17 reviews from this member

Stayed on this site for a couple of nights before Christmas whilst visiting family in the area for a Christmas get together. The booking process was easy and very friendly. I telephoned to check availability and spoke to the owner who was very friendly and chatty and made me aware that wasn't a 'quiet and peaceful site' due to the proximity of the motorway. I then followed up my telephone enquiry with an email which was replied to promptly. Nearer the time I sent a further email double checking what time we were allowed to arrive and was told as they weren't busy we could arrive when we liked and to choose any available hard standing pitch. It was £34 a night for 2 adults, 2 children, a dog and an electric hook up.

The site was very easily accessible just off the motorway. There was a large pub within walking distance, and also a Petrol station with a McDonalds very close by. The site was set next to a couple of commercial units, but everywhere was very neat and tidy. The driveway up to the site had passing places - handy if another unit comes the other way - or for stopping to let the person that jumped out of the car to shut the gate to the site get back into the car.

First impressions were that the site small but immaculate and very well cared for. There were about 6 hard standings, 2 of which were in use, a pod, and the ribs of a teepee (obviously for use in better weather) and some grass pitches. It had been carefully fenced - we kept our dog on a lead on on the site, but had she got off there was chicken wire around the wooden fences which would have prevented her getting out. The grassy areas although a bit muddy due to the time of year were mowed and tidy, and the pitches large with enough space on the hard standing for the caravan and the car. The pitch was pretty level especially from side to side with just some adjustment needed from front to back. Each pitch had a grassy area with large sturdy picnic bench, (which was handy to tie the dog lead onto! - It was a bit chilly for alfresco dining!) and the pitches were separated by what will be small hedges once they are fully grown.

My heart sank when I saw that the toilet block and showers were portakabins, however when I went in I was pleasantly surprised to find that they were immaculately clean and scrupulously well kept just like the rest of the site. There was a gravelled area next to the building which had a covered washing up area, a freezer, water and waste disposal and bins including a separate dog waste bin, and plenty of information about the site and the local area. This also included things you could hire during your stay such as fire pits and bbq's, and even a dog sitting service - it seems the owners have thought about just about everything! There were also some ride on toys for small children to play with. There was a dog walking field across the driveway immediately opposite the site (although there was no signage indicating this). We pitched up and headed off as our plan was to spend our days with family and we were just using the site to sleep at.

Arriving back late in the evening (around midnight) we settled quickly to sleep and I didn't notice the nearby motorway at all. However upon waking at about 5am I was very aware of the noise then and did struggle to get back to sleep - although the rest of the family were unaffected by it. Later that morning when taking the dog out to do her business with a sinking heart I realised that I'd used the last dog bag on the roll - eek! However in the little box that contained local information I discovered to my relief there was a supply of spare bags in there - a really useful touch!

On the second night again getting to sleep wasn't a problem, and we had to wake our boys up in the morning so the motorway noise clearly didn't affect them! On our final morning we were starting to pack up ready to leave by 11am when the owner arrived, and asked us if everything was ok, and told us not to rush to leave but to leave when we wanted to as they weren't busy. He explained that the hard standings had recently been re-done, and was checking with us how level the pitch was, and told us that they have a fleet of tourers that they take to sites and pitch up for people wanting a caravan holiday and not wanting to tow - what a great idea! I got the impression that he took great pride in the site and was keen for guests to have a good stay.

In summary a great site, a perfect stopover if you are on your way across to the Isle of Wight, or if you are visiting some of the many attractions in the area such as Paultons Park or Marwell Zoo, and perfect for us for visiting family in the area. I gave the location a 7/10 and an overall 9/10 because of the proximity of the motorway which can be noisy, but for some people that could be a plus! I'm sure we'll definitely be back.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Parrylewis 1 review from this member

Stayed on site for 3 nights lovely individual pitches with your own picnic bench. Very clean toilets and showers. Grounds very well kept. Kids toys and paddling pools all available. Lovely owners. Directly opposite paultons park which is perfect. Would highly recommend staying on this site.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lizgwynn 8 reviews from this member

Stayed 3 nights at paulton campsite with family and 3 grandchildren.

On arrival raining heavily but greeted by owner with smile. Were given a large plot and owners even checked tent was secure-very impressed.

The toilets and showers very clean even hairdryer in toilet.

Covered are for washing up.

Secure small field with toys supplied for children.

Grandchildren enjoyed playing with other children. The 4yr. Old even made a girlfriend.

Campsite very close to peppa pig world also visited Beaulieu car museum and lymington.

Had great holiday especially due to relaxed and friendly attitude of site owners.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ajbs 1 review from this member

Chose this site as close to peppa pig world but would happily stay again! It's a great stop over site!

The welcome you get from the owners is amazing, they cannot do enough to help! Even arranged dog sitting for one set of campers!

The site is small and clean, the first night the noise from the road was quite loud (not overwhelming just there!) the second night could hardly hear it at all so must be dependent on which way the wind blows!

The toilets and showers are in two separate porta cabins, the showers are a fixed temperature but two showers are set cooler for the kids and two hotter! Mine was lovely and warm! Both were clean!

Other facilities are basic and clean, added touches are the bbq you can borrow, freezer and kids toys / bikes!

There is no motor home service point.

Would definitely recommend this site it made our visit to peppa pig world! And the pub opposite does lovely food but book your evening table if you walked like us all those that drove beat you to the pub as it closes!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Beautifulsoup 5 reviews from this member

We stayed on this site at the beginning of our annual two week touring holiday. We chose it purely because of its proximity to Peppa Pig World but were all pleasantly surprised at how nice it is!

The owners are very friendly and very relaxed and due to the small number of pitches we were pretty much left to our own devices which was fab. The pitches are a lovely size and the whole site is compact and enclosed so great for kids. There are some lovely touches such as freezer blocks, picnic tables and BBQ's to borrow as well as a load of communal toys including little tykes cars - something you'd never ever travel but got loads of use from our two toddlers.

The site is bordered by the M27 so you can hear traffic 24 hours a day but it didn't bother us. Peppa Pig World is directly opposite but do take a pushchair as the driveway is quite long. Nice pub literally 2 mins away too. There is another pub with a soft play 15 minutes walk away but it's down a very busy road so not that pleasant to get to.

The showers and toilets were clean and pleasant and just about big enough for a family shower although the temperature was a little unpredictable. (one of the showers is marked 'better for kids' but we didn't see this until it was too late)

All in all a fantastic site with owners who really understand what campers need - we'll definitely stay here when we next visit Peppa Pig!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Worthy123 1 review from this member

Arrived at the campsite on Friday afternoon, first impressions, lovely small, clean site. We pitched up, had a look at the facilities, clean toilet block, clean shower block, even had cooler showers for children, which was great. There was a fridge for your ice packs etc. Lots of cars, bikes, bats& balls ect for the kids which I thought was a great idea, because not everyone had room to bring stuff with them, and kids like ' different stuff to play with. There was lots of information, & leaflets. Toilet waste, bins etc. Loads of picnic benches, which was great, because we didn't bring our table this year. Also another great thing, was bbqs which you can use while you stay. The owners who don't live on site arrived a bit later, and they were both very chatty and friendly, showed us around, and anything you wanted, they would try and do for you. Road traffic was no issue for us, as I had seen a few people say that the noise from road had disturbed them, but didn't bother us at all, couldn't really hear a lot. We came here because we were going into paultons park for my boys 4 th birthday, so it was ideal, it's literally across the road, 5/10 minute walk. Would highly recommend, very clean & friendly site. 10/10. Thankyou for our enjoyable stay. They have great rent a tents here too, and they said they are getting a pod too very soon.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Boggers 1 review from this member

Lovely small campsite, very clean and tidy. Toilets and showers clean and well lit.

Friendly owners, nice to chat to, supply kids play cars, games, balls and bats on site.

Undercover wash up areas.

Pub a 2 min walk away and peppa pig world a short walk away too.

The whole site is enclosed so great for kids, football goals at the far end ball supplied!

Overall the site is really nice but very close to the motor way and the noise kept me awake at night, some people have said you can't notice it but I really could, we only stayed for 2 nights when visiting peppa pig world, I don't think I could manage anymore because of the motor way noise but if this wouldn't bother you then you can't go wrong with this site.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Squibbler 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for one night to visit Peppa Pig World the following day. Site is easy to find just opposite the entrance to Paultons Park. The owners weren't there when we arrived so we had a walk around and I called Dawn while my 3 year old played on the ride-ons provided for children on the site. I was told we could park on any pitch on the right side of the field where the grass pitches are. We were the only ones on that side and like a numpty I pitched across two pitches because I only noticed the mown grass dividers after I'd unhitched and set up a bit. As it was just me and my 3 year old I carried on setting up while worrying I'd get told off! When John arrived I apologised straight away and he couldn't have been nicer and told me not to worry as they weren't busy. He helped me to set up a bit and showed me around. Facilities are good, and I was impressed by the bespoke shower trailer - it even had a notice on the door stating which shower was cooler and therefore better for children. Everything was spotless with lots of info put up on walls. Also impressed by the CD point which is a proper toilet sunk into concrete complete with flush. I had to tell my 3 year old not to sit on it as she was looking intrigued!

It is very near the M27 but there is a huge hedge between that and the site and I realised the next day that I hadn't even noticed the low 'hum' from it.

Dawn and John let me leave the camper on site while we were at PPW and when we came to collect it at 4pm I was having a bit of difficulty hitching up when John appeared, sorted us out and waved us off. He even invited us back at any time to help set up our massive awning that I've been to scared to get out of the bag. All in all, lovely people and I can't fault the site.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sparky2 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for the Bank Holiday weekend as a last minute booking when we received an email from Dawn to say someone had cancelled, great news for us. Main purpose of visit was for

Paultons Park. Arrived on site with no difficulties, clearly signposted on the main road. The gate was shut and remains shut at all times, good for keeping the children in. The site was full for the weekend with lots of families. The facilities on site being hard standing with electric hook up, showers and toilets, washing up facilities, drinking water and chemical waste disposal, all the things you would expect. All were spotlessly clean and I would rate these 10/10. The toilets and showers are in portacabin style units and this is not a temporary measure. I would prefer a 'proper' building but that is just a personal preference.

John and Dawn came to see us shortly after we pitched. Very friendly, gave us a quick tour of site facilities and made sure we could contact them if we had any problems whatsoever. We went out the following day and I foolishly hadn't pegged the awning, the wind picked up and the inevitable happened. A big thank you to John who pegged it down with his own pegs in our absence. Lesson learned!

Some hedging has been planted between the pitches and this will certainly be very nice screening once it has grown sufficiently. You can expect to hear road noise day and night, if you are a light sleeper and sensitive to this sort of disturbance I would look to stay elsewhere. It is a small site and there isn't a children's play area except for a grass area adjacent to the gate but that suited us.

As stated by other reviews, there is a pub across the road and another further down the road where we chose to eat as it was cheaper. The food was just 'ok' and I would rush to eat there again given the choice. We visited Longdown farm and the New Forest Activity Centre in one day, the children enjoyed both which are a stones throw apart and about 15 minutes from the site, and of course Paultons which is opposite. Had a great day there.

I would recommend this site and would definitely stay here again. It is only two years old and will only improve as the site matures. John and Dawn seem to have the right aspirations for the site and the right attitude toward their paying guests to make this site a success. I wish them well and look forward to seeing them next time round.

Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3246 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019