Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Parkland Caravan & Camping Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Parkland Caravan & Camping Site
Churchstow
Salcombe
Kingsbridge
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ7 4AF
Tel: 01548 852723  or  07968222008
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 37 Reviews
                7/10 from 37 Reviews

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chiennoir 4 reviews from this member

The best thing about this site is its location in terms of easy access to all the attractions in the area. After that I'm afraid it goes a bit downhill. There is nothing dreadfully wrong with the site, it just does not live up to the expectation of a 40 per night camping experience.

The camping paddock is very small for the number of pitches on it and some pitches are smaller than others. There is very little space for vehicles to negotiate the area when leaving or returning and almost no suitable space for children to play in a central part of the paddock without inconveniencing their neighbours. Most families were very considerate during our stay and children were well supervised on the whole.

The shop does not keep to advertised opening times and as this is the central point of contact for checking in, site information, local information, complaints & queries and of course, purchases, be aware that you may not be able to access these in a timely fashion. We resorted to the local tourist information centre and other local stores for some of our needs but could have dealt with most things on site had we been prepared to wait around indefinitely for the owner to appear. There is a phone number for urgent matters however and you can knock on the house door for attention also though I'm not sure how effective this is likely to be.

The toilets, showers, washing up areas close to the entrance are all very clean and though there aren't a lot of them we never had to queue. The ones we used had 3 separate areas each containing a toilet, shower and tiny hand basin for the ladies and similar for the gents. There is also a hairdryer and hand dryer. Unfortunately these are positioned directly in the way of pedestrian access to the block. The showers are decent in that they give a good spray and can be easily adjusted, that said, do be careful as several times I found that the temperature increased without warning such that I had to step out of it to avoid being scalded.

It is quite a noisy area we found. Agricultural vehicles naturally have to go about their business and as part of the site borders a busy road this may well be off-putting to some.

I'm inclined to agree with a previous reviewer who says that customers are tolerated rather than truly welcomed. It's something to do with attitude and I found it quite hard to pinpoint. Nevertheless, we didn't feel particularly welcome and on occasion I felt like I was being a nuisance.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: JAS55 5 reviews from this member

Lovely site with views across open field to Salcombe. Toilet and showers are good, very clean with hot water and privacy. Toilet, basin and shower all in one unit. There weren't many showers/toilets on the site but there was no queue for any facilities. Plenty of hot water for washing up. Friendly greeting on arrival, but had to wait a few minutes for the owner who was busy doing something on the site. The shop was well stocked with local food as well as a range of tinned and packet goods, but was undergoing some restoration so was in a temporary location. There was work going on on-site but this wasn't noticeable other than a few stacks of bricks near the work, so wasn't intrusive. We got a good hardstanding pitch very close to the toilets with hook up, but people on the grass pitches seemed to have a fair walk to the toilet. Didn't notice children's play area although there was a room with a pool table. Good location close to Salcombe, Kingbridge, Totnes and Dartmouth so plenty to do and see. Many beautiful sandy beaches to go to, but generally down lanes away from the main roads. Blackpool Sands is fine grit, but beautiful with good cafe and takeaway. Slapton Sands, shingle but stunning to see. DDay landings were practised here. Fabulous fish and chips available. Would come here again

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rachaella 2 reviews from this member

Just come back from this lovely site. We have camped and caravaned for years and this site is one of the best. Nice size with areas within camping fields so has a small feel but space for the kids to kick a ball.

The owners keep the whole site extremely tidy and clean. Yes you have to pay for Disposal bags for your rubbish - we used 3 in 2 weeks for our family of 4 - but there is plenty of free hot water and no push button showers.

Showers and toilets were clean apart from once when the grass had just been cut and once when someone took half of Blackpool sands in with them (I presume they washed their wet suit out even thought there is a dedicated shower area for this!)

You can walk from the site down to Kingsbridge (Food, drinks and crabbing a plenty) down a narrow lane and across a field.

It's quite central so you can easily go to Salcombe, Plymouth, Paington, Dartmoor and Bantham/Bigbury beaches are brilliant for surfing body boarding, bbqing, floating down the estuary when the tides going out, exploring Burgh Island.

James recommended beaches, restaurants, takeaways, golf courses, pony trekking stables, all good.

Playground is quite near the road so probably not safe for smaller children to play on their own. But for 9 and 13 year olds fine. There is a pool table and table football as well as rabbits to stroke and a summer house to sit in and have tea and a clotted cream scone.

The shop pretty much has anything you need including fresh local farmshop offerings and no dearer than the supermarkets.

My husband tells me that the waste disposal area was very well thought out with a sink and hand sanitizing soap(defo not my job!)

We would definitely return to this site.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Thompsons in Devon 2 reviews from this member

Flower gardens greet your arrival. The facilities are excellent and the owners take pride in their business. The site was very quiet in May, which pleased us as we usually use smaller sites. A new security barrier was being installed while we were there as part of their ongoing maintenance.

We had a very enjoyable holiday.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mrs Brian the Snail 3 reviews from this member

We chose this site because it claimed to have 5 AA Pennants, but have absolutely no idea how or why it gained them, or how it could possibly keep them. We booked a Super Pitch for 23. 50 a night, but it was disappointing, to say the least. All the other 'Super Pitches' we've rolled into have been just that - Super; Parkland's are not, they're just. Pitches. A Super Pitch should have a power supply within easy reach, a tap for fresh water and an appropriately-sized grey waste disposal point. The power supply for our pitch was on the other side of a prickly hedge, so we had to throw the cable over, walk around the site to the other side of the hedge and plug it in to a wobbly post. The tap (they were the same across the site) was mounted on a cowboy-built breeze block. Thing (which'll collapse before long to match one which had already fallen over - and which was carrying power) and the grey waste disposal was a 4 or 5-inch outlet, which needed cleaning and unblocking. The point of a Super Pitch, apart from being Super (!) is that it's supposed to offer a degree of privacy. Parkland's SP's don't. At all.

Site Overall:

Disorganised and far from user-friendly. When we were there we had to negotiate our way through builders' rubble, wheelbarrows to walk out of the site, get to to the shop or the toilet block. It was awful. Apparently not the site-owners' fault (?) but they still charged us full rate for our stay. Being told to 'be careful, because you might get a nail in your foot' isn't that reassuring. Very windy site, but it's on a hill.

Toilet block:

Only used it twice, didn't use the showers (we have a motorhome) but the loos are tiny and in bad condition, almost unfinished, with scrappy tiles and dodgy taps. And smelly;

Wi-fi:

The site promises free wi-fi, but it isn't. They charge 1 a day PER DEVICE, and this money is apparently donated to charity, but there was no evidence of the charity they claim to support, nor any evidence of previous contributions. Rip-off;

Security barrier:

This is really horrendous. It's raised at 7am and closed at 10pm, after which you can't drive back to your pitch or leave early in the morning. Really, really unacceptable. Every one of the other sites we've stayed at which have a security barrier or gate allow card or PIN access after hours;

Shop:

Great when it's open, but wasn't open once during our 5-day stay when it was supposed to be. Lots of bell-ringing and mobile phone calls eventually raised someone;

Rubbish:

Why doesn't this site provide recycling bins for campers as all the other sites do? They require you to pay 1 for a 'Green Bag' - which is not very big; a family could easily use 2 or 3 of these a day - and it's the only waste facility available, apparently subject to a 'private contract';

The local area is beautiful, but without a car it costs about 6. 00 for a taxi into Kingsbridge, the nearest town. Buses from there to Salcombe are frequent, but don't kid yourself that Kingsbridge is within easy walking distance as the site claims - it isn't! Plenty of stuff to see in both towns, and eateries by the dozen. The River Maid ferry from Kingsbridge to Salcombe (and back) operates from May to. Whenever - really wonderful!

All in all, this site seems to being run purely for the amusement of the owners; they're not running a business. More attention is being paid to putting up huge Tavistock stone monoliths at the front of the property and alongside the driveway into the site (beware. They'll take the side out of your vehicle!) than is paid to the facilities they claim to offer. We got the impression that their visitors were a nuisance.

Would we stay here again? No.

Would we recommend it to others? No.

Does the AA need to review its 5 Pennant rating? Yes.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pamax 2 reviews from this member

This site is grossly overpriced and really not worthy of the AA 5 Pennant award.

The entrance is very tight with little room to manoeuvre when towing a caravan and for being placed in the first field.

The facilities are really not fit for purpose, although they might photograph well, the shower/ wet rooms are very small and cheaply finished with no filler around the windows.

The fully serviced pitch did have electric hook up and waste water drain but no fresh water tap.

When we visited, there were constant queues for the toilets and showers.

Several times people were locked in the toilet/ shower/ wet room as the fittings are not really up to the job.

The only positive, was the shop and the polite young ladies who worked there.

The only recycling facility available on site is for glass, you also have to pay 1. 00 for a green bag for your refuse every time you need one.

One day, the owner tried to place a motorhome between our outfit and the caravan next door leaving approx. 1 metre clearance, until he was informed about minimum clearance/s required between outfits.

We definitely WILL NOT be staying here again.

The surrounding area though is definitely worth a visit with plenty to see and do.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Swift 480 2 reviews from this member

An over rated caravan park next to a very busy main road, small cramped pitches, with a very tight access into and leaving the site, facilities are just about basic, a charge of 1 for a rubbish bag is a scandal, wouldn't go there again if it was free of charge. If you do visit this site we were not warned about the extra charges for certain things, and the pitches next to the busy road make sleeping impossible.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shelly100 3 reviews from this member

We stayed at this fabulous site for 5 nights - arriving at the start of the glorious sunny weather. I would highly recommend this site if you want peace and quiet. Its lovely with fantastic views. Its a small site but also very spacious. We have a pretty big tent with a side extension and we also took a large gazebo and we had plenty of room. There are plenty of electric hook up points and the site is very flat and very well looked after. Wherever you are at the site, both the amenity blocks, water etc are all so close by ! No having to walk miles to take a shower. On that point, the two shower blocks were great. There is a new block which in the ladies had 3 individual shower rooms, with a toilet and sink in each. I was delighted that there was no push button shower that trickled out but a lovely powerful shower that you turned on and off (very rare nowadays). The old shower block was just as good with the powerful showers. There were two large family rooms as well, which I sometimes used to myself when there was nobody else there! There are also very good disabled facilities. There is are washing and drying facilities and use of a large fridge and freezer.

The little shop had fresh bread/rolls etc delivered every day and plenty of fresh produce all at very reasonable prices. I would highly recommend this site and we fully intend using it again.

It's in a very convenient location, not far from lots of different beautiful places to visit, not to mention a Tesco and Morrisons just over a mile away !

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AndyR0 1 review from this member

Friendly welcome & great price for full service pitch.

Good sized pitch & site is very clean & tidy.

Showers were great, had a door rather than curtain. Plenty of free hot water & good pressure with moveable rather than fixed shower head made washing kids easier. Toilets & showers always clean & there are family wash rooms with shower & toilet together.

Shop stocks most things you may have forgotten (sleeping bags, tent pegs etc) as well as great local produce & essentials.

Owners friendly & helpful throughout our stay.

Charge for rubbish disposal 1 for a large bag (we only needed 2 bags for a week & there were 5 of us) all rubbish then gets recycled.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: D K Thompson 1 review from this member

We recently spent two weeks at this site (may half term into June) with our three young children. From when we arrived until we left the owners made us very welcome and both were very informative and approachable at all times. They have opened a shop on site with very good local produce. My wife as given a tour of the soon to be opened new toilet block, the existing ones are already great with temperature control of showers to keep the kids happy and the new ones look better!. Our children enjoyed the playarea and games room, the site was safe for them to use their bikes etc.

There are plenty of good beaches nearby, some very good pubs in Kingsbridge and Salcombe and a few take away's that deliver to the site.

This is a site to use if you like the personal touch and we shall return again soon

Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2321 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019