Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Parkland Caravan & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Kingsbridge > Parkland Caravan & Camping Site Reviews

Parkland Caravan & Camping Site
Churchstow
Salcombe
Kingsbridge
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ7 4AF
Tel: 01548 852723  or  07968222008
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 40 Reviews
                7/10 from 40 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Basshunter 1 review from this member

 Lovely site, very clean facilities,

Very busy Road, at site entrance, walked down to the village of Kingsbridge, with extreme care !

Okay once on the public footpath.

Unfortunately the weather was not good, so did not get to visit many areas.

Would visit this site again. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: The Ref 12 reviews from this member

 Beautiful location in the South Hams, near to Kingsbridge and Salcombe, not too far (as the crow flies) to Brixham and Paignton. There is a 24hr honesty shop which seels most of the things that you might need and some you might not have considered, two sets of washrooms which each have a toilet, handbasin and shower. Small, separate, fields mean it's quiet, and lots of the pitches are fully serviced on hard standing as well as it having grass standing pitches.

The site has gone this year to being adult only and dog free which suited us down to the ground!

For those who are not caravan minded, there are also some air B&B type chalets which looked good (from the outside, we didn't see in them).

Lots of beautiful small sandy coves to visit locally as well.

The campsite is just off the road, so the only field that suffers from the little road noise there is, is the first one which are mostly seasonal pitches anyway. The washrooms are just a little on the tight side, but the water is hot and plentiful, and they are serviced / cleaned twice or three times a day.

While the nearest pub is only in Churchstow (exactly 1 mile away), the main route to it is a busy road with no footpath. We were told of a footpath there and another to Kingsbridge, but we didn't make use of them, so it would be a short drive. Food is available at the pub though, under the current C-19 circumstances, the menu is slightly less expansive as it would be, but take aways are available. We know there are Indian and Chinese restaurants which will deliver to site, as well as a pizza parlour, all from Kingsbridge.

So nothing wrong or bad, per se, about the site. A word of warning though. Our sat nav directed us through some narrow laneswhich could have been awkward had the traffic been heavier! Otherwise, there are a couple of pinch points on the main roads as you get close to the site, but only an issue if you're faced with a truck or bus coming the other way. No real issues, but being cautious through those points, as you would, is a must! The area generally has narrow roads, especially those down towards beaches.

There is a shop on-site, open 24/7. Otherwise, supermarkets in Kingsbridge, 3 miles from site. 5

James, Tom and Rob all willing to stop and spend 5 minutes chatting and full of good advice in terms of where to visit, what to do and so on. All good. Tracey was really helpful sorting out the booking too.  


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dludlo 1 review from this member

 We arrived on a wet day and we’re pointed in the direction of our pitch we were not shown where any of the amenities were.

Our pitch was only five feet from a busy road which made it sound like We were trying to sleep in a centre reservation.

This is not a site I intend to visit again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chiennoir 4 reviews from this member

 The best thing about this site is its location in terms of easy access to all the attractions in the area. After that I'm afraid it goes a bit downhill. There is nothing dreadfully wrong with the site, it just does not live up to the expectation of a £40 per night camping experience.

The camping paddock is very small for the number of pitches on it and some pitches are smaller than others. There is very little space for vehicles to negotiate the area when leaving or returning and almost no suitable space for children to play in a central part of the paddock without inconveniencing their neighbours. Most families were very considerate during our stay and children were well supervised on the whole.

The shop does not keep to advertised opening times and as this is the central point of contact for checking in, site information, local information, complaints & queries and of course, purchases, be aware that you may not be able to access these in a timely fashion. We resorted to the local tourist information centre and other local stores for some of our needs but could have dealt with most things on site had we been prepared to wait around indefinitely for the owner to appear. There is a phone number for urgent matters however and you can knock on the house door for attention also though I'm not sure how effective this is likely to be.

The toilets, showers, washing up areas close to the entrance are all very clean and though there aren't a lot of them we never had to queue. The ones we used had 3 separate areas each containing a toilet, shower and tiny hand basin for the ladies and similar for the gents. There is also a hairdryer and hand dryer. Unfortunately these are positioned directly in the way of pedestrian access to the block. The showers are decent in that they give a good spray and can be easily adjusted, that said, do be careful as several times I found that the temperature increased without warning such that I had to step out of it to avoid being scalded.

It is quite a noisy area we found. Agricultural vehicles naturally have to go about their business and as part of the site borders a busy road this may well be off-putting to some.

I'm inclined to agree with a previous reviewer who says that customers are tolerated rather than truly welcomed. It's something to do with attitude and I found it quite hard to pinpoint. Nevertheless, we didn't feel particularly welcome and on occasion I felt like I was being a nuisance. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: JAS55 6 reviews from this member

 Lovely site with views across open field to Salcombe. Toilet and showers are good, very clean with hot water and privacy. Toilet, basin and shower all in one unit. There weren't many showers/toilets on the site but there was no queue for any facilities. Plenty of hot water for washing up. Friendly greeting on arrival, but had to wait a few minutes for the owner who was busy doing something on the site. The shop was well stocked with local food as well as a range of tinned and packet goods, but was undergoing some restoration so was in a temporary location. There was work going on on-site but this wasn't noticeable other than a few stacks of bricks near the work, so wasn't intrusive. We got a good hardstanding pitch very close to the toilets with hook up, but people on the grass pitches seemed to have a fair walk to the toilet. Didn't notice children's play area although there was a room with a pool table. Good location close to Salcombe, Kingbridge, Totnes and Dartmouth so plenty to do and see. Many beautiful sandy beaches to go to, but generally down lanes away from the main roads. Blackpool Sands is fine grit, but beautiful with good cafe and takeaway. Slapton Sands, shingle but stunning to see. DDay landings were practised here. Fabulous fish and chips available. Would come here again 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rachaella 2 reviews from this member

 Just come back from this lovely site. We have camped and caravaned for years and this site is one of the best. Nice size with areas within camping fields so has a small feel but space for the kids to kick a ball.

The owners keep the whole site extremely tidy and clean. Yes you have to pay for Disposal bags for your rubbish - we used 3 in 2 weeks for our family of 4 - but there is plenty of free hot water and no push button showers.

Showers and toilets were clean apart from once when the grass had just been cut and once when someone took half of Blackpool sands in with them (I presume they washed their wet suit out even thought there is a dedicated shower area for this!)

You can walk from the site down to Kingsbridge (Food, drinks and crabbing a plenty) down a narrow lane and across a field.

It's quite central so you can easily go to Salcombe, Plymouth, Paington, Dartmoor and Bantham/Bigbury beaches are brilliant for surfing body boarding, bbqing, floating down the estuary when the tides going out, exploring Burgh Island.

James recommended beaches, restaurants, takeaways, golf courses, pony trekking stables, all good.

Playground is quite near the road so probably not safe for smaller children to play on their own. But for 9 and 13 year olds fine. There is a pool table and table football as well as rabbits to stroke and a summer house to sit in and have tea and a clotted cream scone.

The shop pretty much has anything you need including fresh local farmshop offerings and no dearer than the supermarkets.

My husband tells me that the waste disposal area was very well thought out with a sink and hand sanitizing soap(defo not my job!)

We would definitely return to this site. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Thompsons in Devon 2 reviews from this member

 Flower gardens greet your arrival. The facilities are excellent and the owners take pride in their business. The site was very quiet in May, which pleased us as we usually use smaller sites. A new security barrier was being installed while we were there as part of their ongoing maintenance.

We had a very enjoyable holiday. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mrs Brian the Snail 3 reviews from this member

 We chose this site because it claimed to have 5 AA Pennants, but have absolutely no idea how or why it gained them, or how it could possibly keep them. We booked a Super Pitch for £23. 50 a night, but it was disappointing, to say the least. All the other 'Super Pitches' we've rolled into have been just that - Super; Parkland's are not, they're just. Pitches. A Super Pitch should have a power supply within easy reach, a tap for fresh water and an appropriately-sized grey waste disposal point. The power supply for our pitch was on the other side of a prickly hedge, so we had to throw the cable over, walk around the site to the other side of the hedge and plug it in to a wobbly post. The tap (they were the same across the site) was mounted on a cowboy-built breeze block. Thing (which'll collapse before long to match one which had already fallen over - and which was carrying power) and the grey waste disposal was a 4 or 5-inch outlet, which needed cleaning and unblocking. The point of a Super Pitch, apart from being Super (!) is that it's supposed to offer a degree of privacy. Parkland's SP's don't. At all.

Site Overall:

Disorganised and far from user-friendly. When we were there we had to negotiate our way through builders' rubble, wheelbarrows to walk out of the site, get to to the shop or the toilet block. It was awful. Apparently not the site-owners' fault (?) but they still charged us full rate for our stay. Being told to 'be careful, because you might get a nail in your foot' isn't that reassuring. Very windy site, but it's on a hill.

Toilet block:

Only used it twice, didn't use the showers (we have a motorhome) but the loos are tiny and in bad condition, almost unfinished, with scrappy tiles and dodgy taps. And smelly;

Wi-fi:

The site promises free wi-fi, but it isn't. They charge £1 a day PER DEVICE, and this money is apparently donated to charity, but there was no evidence of the charity they claim to support, nor any evidence of previous contributions. Rip-off;

Security barrier:

This is really horrendous. It's raised at 7am and closed at 10pm, after which you can't drive back to your pitch or leave early in the morning. Really, really unacceptable. Every one of the other sites we've stayed at which have a security barrier or gate allow card or PIN access after hours;

Shop:

Great when it's open, but wasn't open once during our 5-day stay when it was supposed to be. Lots of bell-ringing and mobile phone calls eventually raised someone;

Rubbish:

Why doesn't this site provide recycling bins for campers as all the other sites do? They require you to pay £1 for a 'Green Bag' - which is not very big; a family could easily use 2 or 3 of these a day - and it's the only waste facility available, apparently subject to a 'private contract';

The local area is beautiful, but without a car it costs about £6. 00 for a taxi into Kingsbridge, the nearest town. Buses from there to Salcombe are frequent, but don't kid yourself that Kingsbridge is within easy walking distance as the site claims - it isn't! Plenty of stuff to see in both towns, and eateries by the dozen. The River Maid ferry from Kingsbridge to Salcombe (and back) operates from May to. Whenever - really wonderful!

All in all, this site seems to being run purely for the amusement of the owners; they're not running a business. More attention is being paid to putting up huge Tavistock stone monoliths at the front of the property and alongside the driveway into the site (beware. They'll take the side out of your vehicle!) than is paid to the facilities they claim to offer. We got the impression that their visitors were a nuisance.

Would we stay here again? No.

Would we recommend it to others? No.

Does the AA need to review its 5 Pennant rating? Yes. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pamax 2 reviews from this member

 This site is grossly overpriced and really not worthy of the AA 5 Pennant award.

The entrance is very tight with little room to manoeuvre when towing a caravan and for being placed in the first field.

The facilities are really not fit for purpose, although they might photograph well, the shower/ wet rooms are very small and cheaply finished with no filler around the windows.

The fully serviced pitch did have electric hook up and waste water drain but no fresh water tap.

When we visited, there were constant queues for the toilets and showers.

Several times people were locked in the toilet/ shower/ wet room as the fittings are not really up to the job.

The only positive, was the shop and the polite young ladies who worked there.

The only recycling facility available on site is for glass, you also have to pay £1. 00 for a green bag for your refuse every time you need one.

One day, the owner tried to place a motorhome between our outfit and the caravan next door leaving approx. 1 metre clearance, until he was informed about minimum clearance/s required between outfits.

We definitely WILL NOT be staying here again.

The surrounding area though is definitely worth a visit with plenty to see and do. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Swift 480 2 reviews from this member

 An over rated caravan park next to a very busy main road, small cramped pitches, with a very tight access into and leaving the site, facilities are just about basic, a charge of £1 for a rubbish bag is a scandal, wouldn't go there again if it was free of charge. If you do visit this site we were not warned about the extra charges for certain things, and the pitches next to the busy road make sleeping impossible. 


Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Parkland Caravan & Camping Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Parkland Caravan & Camping Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Parkland Caravan & Camping Site dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kingsbridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2854 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Open Today's Window