Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Channel View Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Lynton > Channel View Caravan Park Reviews

Channel View Caravan Park
Manor Farm
Barbrook
Lynton
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX35 6LD
Tel: 01598 753349
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 110
Open: 15th March - 15th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 66 Reviews
                8/10 from 66 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  66 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mikebs 5 reviews from this member

Wanting to walk some more of the SW coastal path and enjoying some of the stunning scenery the south west has to offer we decided to stay at the Channel View Camp Site. We found road access to the site to be reasonable and the site itself easy to find. Once on site there are some goods views to be had of the countryside and sea.

The pitches are spread between two main fields and mainly grass. Our pitch was in the lower field to left of reception. Our pitch had EHU (16 amp) and water supplied. We did use our levelling blocks. The site has a nice relaxed laid back feel about it.

The shower block is like the site, functional but would benefit from some TLC. Tiles were missing from the shower cubicle and if you are not a fan of spiders and webs probably best not to look. Showers are free and water is hot.

Within the reception building is a shop stocking the essentials. A short walk past the site entrance is a pub.

We used the site as our base for walking in the local area. From site we were able to walk to Lynton and Lynmouth. The coastal walk to the Valley of rocks is recommended. Another area visited was Watersmeet with its steep sided valley views and river walks. I donít think there is a bus stop close to site but that didnít effect us.

We thought the price paid for our pitch was very reasonable.

EE mobile phone signal strong. Wi-Fi available.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Vanish9876 1 review from this member

A nice site. Facilities need some TLC, they look old and need painting and tidying up. Decent site shop. Nice pub with good food on site. Playground is advertised, but there is only a broken swing and a rusty basket ball hoop, which I'm annoyed about as we booked this item on the basis it has a play area. A big let down.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Robin91 19 reviews from this member

Just had 8 nights here. 1st time here. Was good. Got a sea view pitch, not flat. Caravan pitches were fully serviced, with water and drainage and electric. Very reasonable price at low season. £17 per night. Showers free. Toilets and showers ( 1 central block )were very old and tired, but clean, and mens had 6 toilets and 6 showers. Ladies the same. Laundrette etc. All the usual. The area itself is not very inspiring. As you have to drive a fair way to see anything, along very narrow roads. Good walking country. Did not find any decent fish and chips. ! Quiet and relaxing.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Polly275 5 reviews from this member

Another lovely, long weekend at Channel View, we have been coming here for several years as we are drawn back to this campsite several times every summer with our tent. The location is fantastic and the owners and staff are always warm, friendly and welcoming. To wake up on a sunny morning and have the wonderful and ever-changing sea view is wonderful. This site is peaceful and relaxing and very laid back. The facilities are clean and I have never had to queue for a shower which is always a bonus! The Beggars Roost pub next door is really good but you need to book as it is very popular. If you love the North Devon coast and Exmoor then this campsite is highly recommended.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jrtonks 8 reviews from this member

Camped here while backpacking along the coast. I can't fault the site. Amazing views, friendly staff, clean toilet and washing facilities and there is an excellent pub next door. Very reasonable prices for backpackers too.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: KarennColin 1 review from this member

We have just got back from a weeks holiday at this fantastic campsite. The owner and staff are so helpful and friendly. The facilities are perfect even a proper bathroom so you can have a nice hot bath after climbing all the hills. The campsite is in a central location for walks to Watersmeet, the Valley of the Rocks and down into Lynmouth where you can get the cliff railway up into Lynton. There is a small shop on site that sells all the essentials and more. A pub next door that serves delicious food and it is advisable to book they are very popular. It's the little extras that puts this site on top for us. There is a large clean covered washing up area. The chemical waste disposal is an actual toilet with a hose so empty swirl round and flush away also in a covered area. There is a motor home service point, drive on open your waste taps empty and drive off. Large pitches with electric hook up and most have their own water tap. Not forgetting the fantastic views. Thank you Channel view for a perfect holiday.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Maxt46 53 reviews from this member

This is a really nice site, if you want quiet with great views, this is for you.

The toilets and showers were always clean even though we visited very late in the season, and unusually there were enough to serve campers even when site is busy.

The lady owner was very helpful and friendly, and the shop seemed to stock most things you may need, and good news no charge for dogs.

The pub next door is very popular with great food, not the cheapest but you get what you pay for, good idea to book, and it's very dog friendly.

Just remember this area is called little Switzerland and some of the walking is quite strenuous, but worth it.

Only downside, no bus stop nearby, which is a pain for us lazy m/homers who don't like to move.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Magmar 22 reviews from this member

We came to Channel view as our chosen site was not able to take us. £18 per night (2 Adults with a dog, no EHU) in the camping fields, )Pitch where you like) Very strong ground pegs required as ground is very stony. The field is also fairly exposed as well as being high up. We unfortunately had some wind and very cloudy weather which caused us to spend some nights in the pub next door to the site. The campsite has a shop selling basics, maps etc as well as both Calor & Camping Gas Exchange. The facilities, WC's Showers, Wash basins etc were very good as was the W/U area. However it does need a little TLC overall. From what we saw the caravan and EHU Tent pitches looked a good size with more wind protection than in the fields where we were. Very good walks from the site, but the climb up from Lynmouth to West Lynn is very steep.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Johnaerial 3 reviews from this member

Not much to add to the previous reviews except to mention that there is A VERY NICE PUB AND RESTAURANT NEXT DOOR!

Great joy as so often we are looking for pubs with campsites or vice versa and here is a gem, 'Beggars Roost'.

The pub has been closed but is now under new ownership and serves good beer and food.

Free WiFi is available from both the pub and the campsite.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Martyn-wendy 4 reviews from this member

We have just had 4 nights on this site and found it very relaxing,

The walking in the area is very good but you do need to be quite fit to walk down to Lynmouth, its quite steep! The views over the channel are quite stunning.

The pub next door, the Beggars Roost has just reopened and has a good range of Ales.

The grounds are very well kept and the toilet and shower areas are very clean, there is also a laundrette on site but we didn't use it so cant comment on the cost etc.

The facilities are very good, the only very small gripe would be that the showers only have about 15 seconds on the push button!

Previous     66 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4152 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019