Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of The Leen Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Leominster > The Leen Caravan Site Reviews

The Leen Caravan Site
Leen Farm
Pembridge
Leominster
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR6 9HN
Tel: 01544 388305
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 10
Open: 28th March - 31st Oct

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 12 Reviews
                9/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cather24445zyk 1 review from this member

Excellent, quiet, well maintained site,

Beautiful area, great for cycling and visiting beautiful black and white villages.

The family are lovely and very welcoming
via mobile

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Music70 4 reviews from this member

We have read the previous review and think we may be the motorhome mentioned in it. We totally agree with the previous reviewer.

The owner and family are very friendly and helpful and we found it to be a most relaxing site and wonderful for nature lovers.

Having pitched immediately by the river we enjoyed the gentle babble as it flowed past and watching the wildlife that called it home, especially the pretty damselflies that we later found out are aptly named 'beautiful demoiselles'.

We also enjoyed the walk into the lovely village of Pembridge with its 'black and white' houses (there is a notice board in the village car park detailing the dendrochronological dates of various houses).

We appreciate not everyone likes cows but watching the 600 plus dairy herd returning to the fields from the milking parlour was a bonus for us.

Our only gripe would be that after mowing, the grass cuttings were left on the field and, after the morning dew, stuck to everything.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Caravanone2012 3 reviews from this member

This was the first time we had used a CL site, always going for the sites with showers/ wc/hard standing. But this site is all grass and right by the river arrow. You have EHU and water shared between two pitches.

No shower block, but a w. C. And washing up point. Sarah and her family are very friendly and polite and just leave you to get on with your camping, pick a pitch and set up, then go up to the farm house and pay.

I did text first to see if there was a pitch, but that wasn't a problem as there was us in our van an a motor home. We had a great relaxing long weekend on our own, it's not always that quiet as Sarah told us the week before was very busy.

Large pitches plenty of space. Lots of foot paths to use, one takes you into Pembridge which has lots going for it cafe, pubs, shop.

A great site we will be going back soon

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Quadey 4 reviews from this member

Just got home from a one week stay. We normally choose CL sites nowadays as we like the peace and quiet that they afford. This site was formally a Caravan and Motorhome Club CL, however now thay are affiliated to the Camping and Caravan Club, this now allows them to have up to 11 units on site.

The field is easily able to host this amount, though for most of our stay there were only 3 of us. Most pitches have electric hook up and it's own water tap. This is a working dairy farm with a herd of about 500 cattle plus a few Herefords thrown in.

Access is easy just drive through the farm main entrance and keep going past the farm buildings and 3 cottages. Very casual arrangements, just choose your pitch and set up! At sometime during your stay visit the farm office fill in the slip on the desk and leave a cheque or cash. This season it's £10 a night or £12 with awning.

The facilities consist of a toilet housed in a wooden building which also has a washing up sink attached. There is no hot water nor elctric light so if visiting in the evening a torch is essential.

The camping field is grassed all over and is very well kept, pitches are extremely generous in size. We were lucky to have a pitch just on the bank of the River Arrow which runs through the farm.

So much wildlife on site and from the van we watched the Sand Martins taking insects out of the air and darting in and out of their nests in the sand bank. The farm is so extensive that you can have a lovely walk around through the fields and tracks for a couple of hours. We saw Kites and Buzzards several times soaring in the sky overhead.

In nearby Pembridge (3 minutes by car) are a couple of pubs, The Red Lion and The New Inn. Both are nice pubs food in the New Inn was good, that pub dates back to the 1400's!

If this site was closer to home (4 hours away for us) I'd spend so many weekends here! Loved it, especially nice to watch the cows grazing and being moved from field to field. I've only given it 5 out of 10 for facilities to alert others, if staying longer than a weekend you'd need your own facilities, this wasn't an issue to us.

The owners are so nice and very approachable.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Flarty 1 review from this member

Hi there Sarah. Good to see you again last week, and another enjoyable holiday with good weather and plenty to do and see, one thing for certain, this site could be recommended to all and sundry and would not disappoint anybody, very friendly people on site, all said the same. Look forward to returning for our next visit shortly. Do me a favour Sarah we have left our motor home registration sign against the rail fence, can you put in a shed until we get back thanks ken field

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 253 reviews from this member

So glad I chose this site, it's absolutely lovely and only £10 per night! Loads of space and no 'dogs on lead' rules which meant that our Harry could run around and swim to his heart's content. Watched him to make sure he was not annoying anyone of course.

The site is probably best suited to self sufficient caravans or motorhomes, there is one loo and small washbasin, and a washing up area.

The local area is beautiful; there is a lovely walk along the river from Pembridge to Eardisland. The shop in Pembridge is not to be missed, just a shame it doesn't sell newspapers. You have to go to Shobdon for these, but it's only a couple of miles away. Fuel is more of a problem, the nearest seems to be at Morrisons in Leominster which is at least 6 miles away.

We have already recommended this site, it's a stunner. Marked down for child friendliness because of the river, but 10/10 for us for sure.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tel1066 3 reviews from this member

If you want a quiet clean campsite to just relax in then this is for you. It does not have any shower facilities but I knew about that before so it was not a shock, the toilet and washing up area are basic and clean and are fine. Staff were very friendly and very helpful it’s not an all singing all dancing campsite it’s a basic, clean, “does what it says on the tin” type of campsite. I loved playing in the river with my children. I will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Alfiesbestmate 1 review from this member

Spent 2 days at this lovely site. It is a small site set in beautiful countryside. When we went there was only ourselves and one other caravan for the latter part of the stay. The site was nicely managed and flat ground etc. Our pitch which you choose yourself, was on the banks of the river Arrow which is fantastic. My daughter and dog absolutely loved paddling in the water for hours.

There is water and electric within easy reach. Toilet block is clean but basic. Everyone one on the farm was very friendly and helpful - especially 'shorty' the farm dog - be warned if you throw him a ball you may regret it! hour later he was still up for chasing it. Kept my daughter entertained!

Pembridge is a short 15 min walk and is picturesque and has village shop.

All in all this site is one of the best I have been to. Its perfect quiet and clean. If you want to get away from it all this is the site. Miles of countryside to walk with the dog. My dog has never felt so free. On previous sites I was always keeping an eye on both child and dog but not here - they seemed perfectly safe. My daughter is 13 so was ok with walking and paddling in the stream. Younger children may need more but there is loads of wildlife and animals. Perfect for dogs though.

Will certainly be coming back.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: John D McC 1 review from this member

The Leen is a wonderful site if you want a quiet site, away from main roads, on a farm which makes room for wildlife. I saw birds here I have not seen in forty years. There were plenty of walks on the farm as well as footpaths leading away from the site, one of which takes you to the village of Pembridge – an easy walk for most people. We had both water and electric at our pitch which was right by the river Arrow. We did not necessarily have to go out of the motorhome to see the wildlife as the motorhome acts as a hide and birds were up and down the river. The people who run the site and the farm were friendly and helpful. It was not entirely clear what the process was on arriving at the site but we just pitched and set up which it seems is the way to do it. So it is all very informal and you can just get on and do your own thing and enjoy this beautiful place.

The village shop in Pembridge is also a tea-shop. They are most kind and friendly, going out of their way to make us feel welcome. We spent a couple of very pleasant mornings there.

Architecturally Pembridge is fascinating with many ancient houses dating back to the 15th century. There is a useful information board in the village car park which describes and illustrates some of the houses and where to find them.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Timmy Lloydy 1 review from this member

A lovely site next to the River Arrow. We have returned here many times. The dog loves the river and the walks. It's a working farm so bring your wellies!

Nice level pitches and plenty of room. There are 14 electric hook ups.

There is plenty of room for kids to play, but they should be closely supervised near the river which is fast flowing in places and deep in others as it meanders through the site.

The facilities are basic but clean. Fine for caravanners but campers may like a bit more.

There is a clean loo but it is a bit dark even in the day so best to have a torch handy.

Pembridge is a lovely village with pubs and tea rooms and is on a bus route. There is also a village shop. Leominster has larger shops and more amenities.

Shobdon airfield is nearby.

Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Leominster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Herefordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4170 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019