Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Southview Caravan & Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Church Stretton > Southview Caravan & Camping Reviews

Southview Caravan & Camping
Wall Under Heywood
Church Stretton
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY6 7DP
Tel: 07970 192046  or  07971005443
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 9 HARDSTANDING ,TENTS
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 18 Reviews
                10/10 from 18 Reviews

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rads 13 reviews from this member

Spent four nights here over half term. All nine pitches were taken, six appeared to be seasonal or long term and three as touring pitches. No matter, there were only four units that were occupied including ourselves.

There is a portacabin that houses one combined toilet and shower each for the boys and girls, an outdoor washing-up area and a camping pod. The site slopes towards the main entrance but Merv provides breeze blocks and wood to help levelling. I thought I always carried enough. The shower is at a cost of 20p per minute and it takes 20p's and £1 coins. The only minor niggle is that you can't regulate the temperature. That said, the shower/toilet facilities were always faultlessly clean.

The site allows easy acces to Ironbridge, Long Mynd and Shrewsbury. Church Stretton is a short drive away with mostly independent shops. We went to Jemima's Kitchen for lunch and the Jaipur Lounge on the Wednesday evening for the "All you can eat" buffet. Both are recommended, but make sure to book at the Indian as it was packed.

Merv and family are really laid back and friendly. We didn't see anyone until our third day which, for us, is fine. During the start and the end of the day there is a bit of road noise from the main road but otherwise all we heard were birds and sheep.

Rates have remained at £15 per night which, I think, is really good value. Having this site less than two hours from home will mean we will return!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: EmmaP1504 11 reviews from this member

Can't fault this site.

Small but perfectly formed, spotless facilities and beautiful views.

We were surrounded by red kites, buzzards and ravens and the lovely village was just 5 minutes away.

Fantastic site at a bargain price.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SueChrisL 1 review from this member

What a wonderful site! Itís high up overlooking a valley with great views. It has EHU and water to each pitch which I really appreciated. Merv, the owner, keeps the toilets and shower spectacularly clean. We appreciated the calm oasis that this is.

The only sounds to be heard were an occasion baa from a sheep in an adjoining field and birds in the trees, just how nature intended. The site has grass and shrubs in the middle with nine pitches surrounding it making this a very pleasant site.

Itís about 30 minutes drive to either Shrewsbury or the famous Iron Bridge and Church Stretton is ten minutes drive. Merv came and introduced himself and we had a wonderful chat telling us the best local pubs to visit for a meal.

This site has everything going for it, with spectacular views and places to visit not too far away. Merv charges £15 per night which for EHU and continuous water is a very reasonable price. We will definitely be back!

Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JCS2212 4 reviews from this member

Used this site for a November long weekend break. What a find! Very well kept. Everywhere neat and tidy. Facilities super clean and lovely and warm. Pitches all hard standing with your own water supply as well as electric.

Superb views across to Wenlock Edge and just a 5 minute drive to Church Stretton and access to Long Mynd for walking and/or cycling. Would highly recommend.

Lovely owners. Very helpful. We'll be back!

Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: RichardT1876 1 review from this member

CAMPING POD!

Recently stayed in their Lovely Pod for 2 nights and couldnít be happier showers and toilets extremely clean and warm!

The Pod itself is brand new and very warm to stay in, couldnít recommend more if I wanted too! A great option if staying in this area! Owners are lovely. Will deffo be returning!

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Robbent 13 reviews from this member

Fantastic little site in a beautiful area, great location, very easy to find and get to, facilities top notch, very quiet and Mervyn the owner is very helpful and friendly.

Lots of nice walks direct from the site or very close by, easy access to Much Wenlock and Church Stretton. Ranks among the best sites we have used and we will definitely be going back!

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alimart 1 review from this member

Had a relaxing long weekend at this lovely site. Showers and toilets immaculate. Merv the owner very friendly and helpful.

Beautiful countryside. Visited Church Stretton and The Long Mynd as well as a day in Ludlow. Really enjoyed our stay and hope to return soon.

Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andy McKay 14 reviews from this member

Fantastic little site for relaxing break in lovely scenery, really excellent hiking location. Details of local walks available in shower facilities. Friendly helpful owner.

We were there when storm Imogen struck so pretty blustery and wet conditions but the pitches all seemed well drained so had no problems.

Only one male and one female toilet & shower room so maybe a bit of a wait if site was full, however they were immaculate and heated.

Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JACRM 31 reviews from this member

Well kept small site, pitches around a centre circle, nice and quiet,

Not far from Church Stretton.

Friendly owner.

Only downside is toilet and shower are combined, 1 for male, 1 for female, so if someone is in the shower you wait for the toilet, although facilities are very clean.

Very good value for money.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dom0190 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic site

Mervyn the owner was fantastic a great host

Toilet facilities are fantastic

Would definitely recommend

Great value for money and very well kept

While we were there we had a very bad thunder storm and mervyn braved the thunder and rain to check we were ok

Will definitely be going back soon

Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Church Stretton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7233 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019