Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - By The Way Hostel And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Tyndrum > By The Way Hostel And Campsite Reviews

By The Way Hostel And Campsite
Lower Station Road
Tyndrum
Stirlingshire   (Browse area)
FK20 8RY
Tel: 01838 400333
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 15
Open: Mid March To End October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 9 Reviews
                9/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Louissa 9 reviews from this member

Nice, tidy site, right on the West Highlands Way.

They cater for various visitors: they have pods, slightly bigger lodges, and a hostel, as well as the usual motorhomes and tents (though small tents only). The motorhomes were all on hardstanding (gravel) and came with optional EHUs.

We ended up staying there twice - at the start and end of a road trip around the Highlands & Islands. The first night, we reserved a couple of days in advance but there was plenty of space; the second night, we just turned up and there was no problem. (Reception shuts at 8pm). Staff were all very friendly/chatty.

The shower block was decent - though it had possibly the noisiest and least effective handdryers I've ever met! (I just took a towel after the first time. ) In the ladies, there were two showers and two toilet cubicles. I expect the mens was the same, and there were two additional shower/toilet rooms. There was also a drying room and a very nice pot wash area, with a microwave, hotplate and washer/dryer facilities (tokens from reception).

Dogs are welcome on site and there are some amazing walks just off the site - the Cattle Creep Trail is a fairly gentle mile or so, along the stream then into the woods (or into the village), or if you cross the railway, the woods are a lot of fun.

There are a handful of essentials sold at the reception but it's less than 5mins into Tyndrum itself - there are a few shops etc there. The Real Food Cafe, just back on the main road, is great - it serves good food (including vegan & GF options) from breakfast until 9pm.

It's probably not a site to spend a week at - unless you've got a lot of activities planned nearby - but it's absolutely ideal as a location for a night or two, or on the way elsewhere.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Aliciasnan 2 reviews from this member

I booked ahead so was expected. I arrived with my 2 grandchildren and we were immediately welcomed. The staff were fantastic and found time to ensure we were comfortable.

Great spaces for motor homes.

Good facilities

The surroundings were great. Lots for the children to do and I will definitely be back

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

The site is signposted on the main road, follow the road down and towards the end the road bears right and you see another sin for the camp (we thought we had missed a turning).

Campervan pitches are well spaced, level and hard standing with ehu. Loos and showers clean if old, water is hot and pressure good. Water fill is well placed and there is a grey drain but not a drive-over empty. Wifi is included in the price as is a tv socket.

There is an under-cover area with benches for campers to use and several hobbit type huts as well as plenty of room for tents to pitch.

It's a 5 minute walk into Tyndrum where there are several places to eat and a couple of shops. For us its a place to pass throuh but can see the attraction of using it as a base as well placed for many attractions that are an hour away by train or car.

We paid £20 for 2 adults incl ehu, wifi and showers.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Skyeblue 7 reviews from this member

Intended one night on way up west coast, stayed for three.

Facilities are really good, and the site is just a nice size, and a five minute walk into village.

The owners are very helpful and encourage a lovely quiet and peaceful atmosphere. For those with tents everything is there for them, two lovely grassed areas. For motorhomes, hard standing with a grassed area, and electric hookups, also Free Wiffi, which you do not get with club sites.

For those with dogs, lots of good walks from site, also near train station for either Fort William or Oban.

We will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chris5448 32 reviews from this member

We booked this site for one night as we're travelling up to the Hebrides. Within an hour we decided that we must come back for much longer! The pitches are well spaced and hard standing bordered by well kept grass. The site has huts, pods and tents but all placed very considerately so everybody has privacy. The facilities are very good and the small shop is well stocked. The site is situated on the West Highland Way and near to bus and train links. The train goes past the site but only a few times a day and not late at night. It's actually very quiet as if it tiptoes past the site so as not to disturb anybody. A fab site. We are already planning our return.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Walkerof theWay 3 reviews from this member

This could be an excellent walkers campsite, which seems to be who they are marketing to with their name, facilities, location and restrictions on tent sizes.

The pitches are pretty good - level and not too bumpy. The ground is very stony though, so don't bring bendy tent pegs!

The facilities include a small kitchen with kettle and a small 2 ring hob, washer and tumble drier (£5 for a wash and 20 min dry). There is also a drying room for your rain soaked clothes and boots. This is a rare and very welcome feature.

However, in an area that boasts 280 days of rain a year, there is nowhere sheltered to sit and eat. Regarding the previous review that states there is a table and chairs - this used to be the case, but they have been removed. Given that they only allow tiny tents - this is a major problem and forced our group to eat at the excellent Tyndrum fish and chip shop followed by a pint at the pub and an early night.

If rowdy campers really are a problem (as the manager claims) then why not lock the kitchen and power down at 10 or 11 pm? Most walker/campers would have no problem with that as we're generally tired and wanting a good night's sleep before the next day of hiking.

The owners also like the site cleared early - by 10 am. If you use Travel Lite they claim the pick up is at 9-30 am. This is nonsense as the van leaves Milngavie at 9-45. It's a Transit, not a Tardis! Why lie about this other than to make your customers feel unwelcome?

Overall a good site, spoiled by the fact that you feel you are inconveniencing them by camping there!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lostagain4 2 reviews from this member

We booked in for one night but stayed for 3 we loved it that much, quiet away from the busy village road. It is in a great location for walks, low and high level. Small shop on site and really helpful staff. The motorhome pitches are a recent addition to the campsite/ bunkhouse. Very well thought out with all facilities, little touches like doors and curtains in the showers ( which were very very clean ). Small camping kitchen with microwave, two ring hob sinks and seating. The hobbit houses looked fun if you want a change from the tent or van. We have booked in for 3 more days in winter ( open all year). Wifi around the site and analogue tv hook up. This is a great site for those wanting peace and quiet, they only take small tents so no party goers.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ChrissieT 16 reviews from this member

Facilities at this site are excellent, with good showers and loos, and a kitchen with dining tables.

It is ideally set up for walkers, and they will only take Very Small tents. The man who booked me in was extremely helpful on the phone, but when we arrived the lady was reluctant to accept our small three man tent, until she realised that I had already had the discussion with the man. This made us feel rather awkward. However the managers were very pleasant the rest of the time.

The village has a pub, eatery, shop and well stocked garage shop.

Lovely setting just below the station running to Oban.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jimfer 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a great weekend at this site, the new motorhome park is excellent, very reasonably priced and spotlessly clean.

The railway station is right next to the sight so trips to oban are easy without moving the motorhome.

The showers are hot and very clean and the owners are really helpful and friendly. Site shop sells milk, juice and sweets etc and further provisions can be bought in the village. Cash machine in village too and the real food cafe is worth a visit for fish and Chips.

We can't praise this site enough and will definitely return in the near future.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Stirlingshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2965 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019