Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sallochy Campsite Woodland Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Loch Lomond > Sallochy Campsite Woodland Camping Reviews

Sallochy Campsite Woodland Camping
Sallochy Bay
Rowardennan
Loch Lomond
Stirlingshire   (Browse area)
G63 0AW
Tel: 07826 935016
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20 Tents Only
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 9 Reviews
                10/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Zarya 3 reviews from this member

 Stopped here for a night to break up a longer trip home from Islay.

Arrived in the dark making things a pain and almost missed the site entrance but soon let myself in and found my pitch on the shore :) Midge repellent is a must! And beware, if you’re easily spooked overnight, the forest sounds include a range of animals! And unlike at home, the water lapping at the loch shore doesn’t come with a volume control ;)

Location wise, Heading up the eastern shore takes you a little away from the main tourist areas, and through some picturesque villages, but the site places you directly on the west highland way, so if you’re after some walking or indeed an overnight pit stop en route, Sallochy is spot on :)

Facilities are ok (nothing fancy, absolutely adequate, and what I’d expect for this kind of site!) 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: MishaShayter 2 reviews from this member

 We've been in this amazing camping during the coronavirus pandemia. We booked it in advance and we had pitch place N4 - near the lake. Amazing spot. If you want to be more isolated take pace N2.

They offer firepits and wood to burn. £5 each per night or per sack. You can get repellent from midges as well.

Very friendly staff. It were a lot of families with young children, but a lot of hikers from Glasgow as well.

Absolutely pleasant experience. We will be back! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Lannbot 1 review from this member

 This campsite is a fabulous back to basics campsite in a stunning location.

Perfect base camp for us doing walking and geocaching.

Good price for what the site is. Toilets are clean.

Will be visiting again 


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nirikina 3 reviews from this member

 Sallochy is a basic tents only campsite on the shore of Loch Lomond. It's main attraction is the beautiful location and the wild camping experience. This was my second stay here so I knew what to expect. I chose a camping pitch right by the shore a short walk along the path from the car park.

You're surrounded by trees with no close neighbors so it's really private and idyllic. There is composting toilets and cold running water on site which is all you need for a couple of days. The entrance gate is locked at night to stop random folk turning up, only those who have booked get the code so you can come and go as you please.

I drove down to the nearby village of Balloch for dinner at the Oak Tree Inn. I hired a firepit and bought a bag of logs from the friendly wardens and sat out round my wee fire on the beach as the sun went down. Then in the morning I woke to the sight of the must riding over the loch. Absolutely stunning.

There are also picnic tables by the car park with metal plates for putting your BBQ on. Sallochy is ideal for those wanting a quiet basic site in a beautiful location. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HannahsMenagerie 17 reviews from this member

 Chose this site for a one night stopover as home to final destination was too far for one day's travel.

Booked and paid online, all very easy and efficient and the email with confirmation also included details of how to access the site should I be delayed and arrive after the warden had gone home (I didn't).

The things that some people might think are disadvantages. There are only two toilets (composting - an experience if you have never come across them before) and only cold running water. For me these are not problems just part of getting away from everything.

The furthest pitch is still only a short stones-throw from the loch and the views are stunning. There is also plenty of walking in and around the area and a scattering of picnic benches if you don't fancy a cook-out on the shore.

It had rained quite a lot in the run up to my visit so I had to walk around the site a bit to find a place to pitch the tent (no marked pitches in the centre, only on the shore) that wasn't too soggy.

If you want lots of facilities and everything to be on-hand then this is not the place for you. If you want peace, quiet, scenery, wildlife and to be just one step away from wild camping then this site should be on your list of places to go. It has certainly made my re-visit list. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Susan-J 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed in a lochside pitch at Sallochy on the last weekend in July. Glorious isolation and pretty much our own private little bit of loch shore. The West Highland Way ran directly behind us, but we were rarely disturbed. The main camping on the clearing at the centre of the site was a little more busy, but everyone appeared to have easily enough room. The facilities are basic but good; three composting toilets and a large sink with washing up facilities and drinking water. Firepit loan was £20, with wood, of which we got a tenner back. The wardens were never less than cheery, friendly and helpful. You're not far from Balhama for a good hot meal and beautifully placed for all manner of walking through woods, round lochs, on hills. All in all a lovely, isolated and peaceful spot, like wild camping but with loos. Take your Smidge/Deet/Citron candles. Like you would for anywhere in Scotland, by a loch, in July. Also, at £10 per night for both us, really good value. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Broic 16 reviews from this member

 Firstly, I will definitely visit here again!

Spectacular views of the loch. Pitches at loch side or in camp field (which is about 10m from loch!) Located on the west highland way so ideal to stop off at for walkers.

This is a wild campsite so no showers available. Compost toilets were cleaner than some other campsites we visited! Tap water and sink for washing up.

The Loch is cold but well worth a dip in!

Moira the warden was very friendly and positive despite the rain in July!

Only £5 per person. BBQs/campfires allowed once they are off the ground.

The walk to Balhala village and the walk up to the view point behind the campsite are worth a visit.

Lovely atmosphere, very chilled. Ideal for a 'real' camping experience. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mojomcn 5 reviews from this member

 Environmentally sound camping with a wild camping feel. Flat, firm area for tents in a fenced area in the woodland or a pitch loch side next to the West Highland Way. Ideal for campers who are wild camping whilst doing the West Highland Way but need to stop overnight in the restricted area on the East side of the Loch or great for one or two nights spent camping next to the beach. Whole campsite was clean and tidy and on the edge of the beach. Composting toilets, unusual to some but thoughtfully explained using information boards. Dish washing area and drinking water available. No showers or shop but if a wild camping experience is wanted this site is ideal. Friendly and welcoming Forestry Wardens. Online booking only. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Slawcbr 2 reviews from this member

 A beautiful location and great views. The campsite is very basic, but don't let it put you off.

You can book your pitch online (5 pound/tent) and pay with paypal-nice, safe and easy.

The warden was a friendly bloke wearing a funny hat with a net, however, the closer to the evening the more we became aware what was the reason behind the hat- the midges! Get a spray and you should be fine. Should, because our sprays didn't help, hahhaha.

If you want a campfire you can hire a firepit and buy some firewood from the warden.

Overall, basic, but very good and would recommend to a friend. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sallochy Campsite Woodland Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sallochy Campsite Woodland Camping?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Sallochy Campsite Woodland Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Loch Lomond      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Stirlingshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3718 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement