Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Hollies Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Warwickshire > Coventry > The Hollies Certificated Site > Reviews

The Hollies Certificated Site
22 Kenilworth Road
Balsall Common
Coventry
Warwickshire   (Browse area)
CV7 7EY
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 Vans + Tents
Open: 01/04/2024 to 01/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 12 Reviews
                9/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Juleslim 2 reviews from this member

 My partner and I stayed here at the weekend, we have a new tent and wanted to visit my daughter and try the tent out!

My adult children are in Kenilworth, so the location is perfect for us.

The site is a nice size

The pitches are all laid out well

Good access to water, bins etc

The toilet and sink are clean, may benefit from paper towels to dry hands rather than a towel, or change towel regularly throughout the day.

The location of the site is great, very easy access to Kenilworth, Solihull, and the NEC.

The site is next to a busy main road, but didn’t affect our sleep. The horse’s in the next field are lovely to see, being in the Country brings some lovely walks too!

Linda the Owner is great, very friendly and helpful, and send good clear instructions of how to get there.

Balsall Common is a couple of minutes from the campsite, and has small Sainsburys (with fuel), Tesco, COOP, and takeaways!

Warwickshire, Solihull and beyond has some great historical sites and places to visit, there are great parks and leisure facilities, and plenty of places to eat out - both near and far from the campsite.

There is always something going on in the local area and further afield during the season’s - fetes, festivals, outdoor markets, music gigs etc

Would we return - absolutely!

Would we recommend - absolutely!

Would we change anything - nope … maybe just a tad more shade in the hot sun would be a wish!

This for me is an easy overall 10/10 *rating 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Whatmo 1 review from this member

 Lovely peaceful site - made to feel very welcome by the owner.

Definitely come back again.

Basic facilities- toilet only no showers. But price reflects that. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Watson 1 review from this member

 Nothing to dislike!

One night to visit relatives in Balsall Common, so very handy, on way home from Yorkshire dales. Good description, emailed to me by Linda, to find it.

Quiet, clean, friendly reception, facilities one needs, plus electric hook up.

We noticed very tidy stable yard. 


Date of Visit: February 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bobgal 1 review from this member

 Good place to stay for Birmingham NEC, stayed there night before I went to show plus the night after the show.

Owner warned me about road work and give new directions on the day of my stay. 


Date of Visit: December 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Helenl 1 review from this member

 Exactly as described: a great, small, simple site. Very friendly and helpful owners.

Temporary access (due to roadworks beyond control of owners) required detour along narrow country lane. However, roadworks are temporary and normal access looked extremely easy from road.

We shall be returning! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Brian5 1 review from this member

 Well kept site with basic facilities, but probably not for caravanning aficionados who like all mod cons. HS2 is currently having an impact with noise and lights close by but they appear to stop around 11pm.

We were visiting friends in Balsall Common so the site was ideally located and BC was well within easy walking distance though we used the longer Wootton Green Lane route to avoid the A452 dual carriageway currently being tortured by HS2 construction.

It is also close to Kenilworth which we adore and close to many of the attractions in the Midlands and Cotswolds. But for HS2 it would be an ideal base for touring the area.

Balsall Common isn't one of the attractions however, being a commuter suburb of Coventry but Freddie (our cockapoo) enjoyed both the Lavender Hill park and the Common.

There are a few local pubs and restaurants but the only one we tried was for a takeaway from Costa and we headed to Kenilworth for our days out.

Thoroughly enjoyable few days though. 


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Judith 1 review from this member

 A lovely little certified site on a small holding. Plenty of room around the pitch and views of the horses in the fields. It is beside a busy road but because of the hedges and trees the noise if the traffic is not obtrusive. The entrance to the site is off a quiet country lane.

Our host was very welcoming, friendly and accommodating.

As you would expect for a certified site the facilities are basic, the toilet was very clean and well maintained.

We were staying to visit family in Balsall Common so it was ideally located for us. It is a short walk 5 mins to a Sainsbury’s and local pub and a wee bit further but still within walking distance to the centre of the village with shops, takeaways and restaurants.

The railway station is a 15 min walk and is on the mainline to Birmingham and Coventry. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ricardo457 1 review from this member

 Lovely small site within walking distance of Balsall Common.

Hard standing pitches with mains electric.

Very helpful site owner Easy access from main road and convenient for the NEC 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 369 reviews from this member

 A nice little CS, easy enough to find. From the M42, get on the A45 and then the A452 towards Leamington. At the edge of Balsall Common, at the roundabout by the Beefeater, come back on yourself. There is a small lane immediately past the railway bridge, left off this and there is a wrought iron gateway to the site.

The site has hardstandings but a bit of levelling will be needed. Sky tv signal is very easy to find.

There is a small Sainsburys with fuel just down the main road; the best way to get to this is to go towards the motorway for a couple of hundred yards and turn right, then you turn left. There is also a doggy walk just down this lane.

We would use this site again as a stopover, good email communication but the owner was away. We had to leave the reasonable £12 per night in the postbox outside the loo (down an alleyway very small envelopes in the loo, not literally). 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Reevco 5 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from this site after just using it as a local meet up with friends

Took 3 units Two twin axle caravans and a motor home and stayed 3 nights

Nice wide access no problems getting on or leaving site.

Field was nice and level, we too had the chickens running around but proved no problem even though they teased the dog.

Campsite was very basic a field marked out with up to 8 pitches but I think only about 3 had EHU, owners did go out of their way and run some cables from the garage for us, owners were nice and pleasant and helpful.

We always use our own toilet and shower even if the site has them so this was no problem, the owners let us have a fire as long as it was raised off the ground and didn't mark or damage the grass and we sat out at night talking and drinking beer and wine around the fire.

In all very good value for money

What do you get for your £12 a night EHU or £10 no EHU (Prices as of end of April 2017)

No showers

One toilet

An old toilet converted in to an Elsan point

A drain for grey waste and grey waste tap

Fresh water tap

I must just point out you do get a fair bit road noise and noise from the airport but this stopped later in to the night the cockerel didn't wake us to early and didn't give us any problems in fact gave to the illusion that this farm was even deeper in to the countryside than it really was.

Now the negative bit

Only one thing really and that was the carwash backing on to the field I could live with the airport and the road noise but I feel the whole camp site is wrecked by just one thing the owners have no control over and I feel sorry for them as it must really affect their business and could be avoided if the carwash gave any thought to other folk, the noise made was really bad with the messing around soaking each other having water fights and one morning shouting fire fire fire. The owners did go and have a word with them but this made little difference.

Would we stay again.

YES. Would especially recommend as very good place for a cheap overnight stop over and it has a pub within half a mile.

Finding the site was no problem, but could easily be over shot as you pass the roundabout there is a pub/Travelodge, the farm house is directly after the garage converted into a carwash, there is an un-official gravel lay-by you can pull up in to get off the main road, but for the camping field you need to drive on a couple of hundred yards and turn left then left again and the gates are just 40/50m on your left. 


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Hollies Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Hollies Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Hollies Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Coventry      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Warwickshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


59093 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement