Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bridestowe Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (South) > Okehampton > Bridestowe Caravan Park > Reviews

Bridestowe Caravan Park
Glebe Park
Bridestowe
Okehampton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX20 4ER
Tel: 01837 861261
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 13
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 11 Reviews
                9/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <10 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Webber 1 review from this member

 What a gem we've discovered, perfect site for getting around,

Was able to walk to the pubs for dinner,

Facilities well looked after,

Will definitely go back if theirs space 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Campingmeerkat 10 reviews from this member

 This is a good value stopover site at £13 including electricity and free showers. The warden was very friendly and gave us a choice of pitches as some were rather muddy. The area for tourers is quite small but as a stopover site does the job as it is near to the shower block.

It is a bit dated but very clean with plenty of mirrors. It is in a lovely location near Yes Tor. The village is back down the lane about a leisurely 10 minute walk. We had a lovely meal in the White Hart pub which has a bar and a separate dining area and settees for coffee afterwards.

It served as a convenient stopover on the way to Bodmin and Wenford Steam Railway approx 4 5minutes away. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Singingcavy 23 reviews from this member

 A very friendly site that is mainly for statics but has a row of hookups and shower/washup facilities for touring people like us.

This is a level site with some hardstanding and nicely hedged plots but the view is limited by the hedges around the statics in front of you.

Facilities are basic but good and sufficient. Nice touches like mirrors at different heights, stool and chair in the washing area if you want to perch. Generally kept very clean (there were a number of families there for the Ten Tors event and it was very rainy).

Friendly site manager, Graham, gave us cycle leaflets as he saw we had bikes on our van. Indeed, we had an amazing time cycling the Granite trail and its newly laid smooth path, and walking the Lydford Gorge. A fabulous day not far from Bridestowe.

Very good rates and a pleasant stay. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Patnhel 2 reviews from this member

 Small touring site attached to a static caravan site. Set in beautiful countryside on the edge of the small village of Bridestowe. About a mile from the Granite way cycle route along a quite lane with the Bearslake Inn en route.

A well kept site with basic but fully functional facilities and reasonable nightly rates.

Children's playground not enough to keep two 8 year old nephews amused apparently.

The owners where welcoming and very helpful. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Peajam 17 reviews from this member

 For the area I guess then this is good value for money. However we are a bit used to places a bit more tidier looking. The hedges were slightly over grown with brambles and the trees and hedges seemed to be growing a bit out of hand.

The shower block was alright, free showers etc, but basic more like the pre-fab you get on a farm that has been painted. While we were there wasps descended into the toilets, however I understand that's nature and no ones fault really.

The Static side of the site was much much neater and nicer looking than the touring 6 pitches. 4 were taken up by some very old and dirty looking caravans attached to some rather depressed looking awnings.

The pitch we had was very big but it was big because it was actually 2 pitches but one had about a 3 tonne pile of road gravel tipped on it for the road re-surfacing.

I think in all that this site was OK, however we won't be coming back. The people running it though seemed friendly and if they spent some time on the little things it would become a much more desirable site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Stgeorgesboy 1 review from this member

 Lovely location off the beaten track right on the edge of Dartmoor. 10 minutes sees you on the moor so great walks are close by, run by the most helpful, pleasant and friendly people you could meet. Extremely good value for money.

Its in a great position for Dartmoor, Launceston Tavistock and Okehampton and day trips into Plymouth and Cornwall. Shop and post office in the village plus 2 very good pubs in walking distance the best is the White Hart in the village. Safe for young children.

Great for wildlife Best of all the peaceful and tranquil location. Highly recommended 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Phil crowder 6 reviews from this member

 Dropped on this site with no where else to go.

On our way down to Cornwall when suddenly at 20.50 we realised we had nowhere to stay for the night. Got out the guide book and came across this site & asked them if they have any pitches available for the night & told them we wouldn't be there until around 22.00, but no problem at all. Arrived at around 22.00.

The guy welcomed us & showed us to the pitch & very friendly he was. Toilets & showers were very clean, and we were made to feel most welcome. On leaving the site we drove through the village which was most picturesque with very easy access to the A30. Would definitely use this site again. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bouncing Bob 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for 2 (rainy) weeks in August and it was wonderful - the site didn't flood!, and all the pitches were level

The toilet / shower block was always clean and the laundrette facilities were adequate for our needs. The park grounds were always immaculate.

The village shop (a short walk away) is well stocked with homemade cakes and fresh vegetables, and the pub food is good value for money.

Glebe Park is an ideal (reasonably priced) location to start exploring Dartmoor from. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dorset Bear 6 reviews from this member

 A small and very friendly campsite that is perfect for exploring Dartmoor or cycling along the Granite Way.

The site was a mix of statics and touring pitches with a few electrical hook-ups for those that need them. We were offered a choice of pitches all of which were big enough for a car and large tent with room for table & chairs. High hedges provide shelter from the Dartmoor winds and there was also a small play area for young children.

Although the toilet & shower block was old it has been refurbished and was kept clean and had large enough showers to take the kids in with you. There was a small laundry and the owner had lots of information about the area, as well as fresh milk and basic provisions in the fridge.

There is a choice of nice pubs within a mile or two. The nearest is The White Hart Inn, a friendly village pub where we had good beer and a lovely meal, The Highwayman is about 2 miles away and has to be seen to be believed. The Bearslake Inn also looked nice but we didnít have time to try it out. Oakhampton was about 6 miles away where there is a choice of supermarkets as well as cycle hire.

Great value, great position, definitely one that we would use again. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shimergo 4 reviews from this member

 A small, quiet and tidy site, with a mix of permanent caravans and touring caravan/tent pitches. We've been 3 times, twice out of the main season. But even over the first full weekend of the school holidays it was still quiet. There's a small play area, and immaculately clean but basic loos/showers. And the owners are very helpful and friendly. Also reasonably priced, and a great location! 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bridestowe Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bridestowe Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Bridestowe Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Okehampton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4013 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement