Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Nettwood Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Bristol > Nettwood Farm Certificated Site Reviews

Nettwood Farm Certificated Site
East Harptree
Smithams Hill
Bristol
Somerset   (Browse area)
BS40 6DA
Tel: 01761 221372
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 25 March - 2 October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 10 Reviews
                9/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Pombear 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 2 nights beginning of September. Overall an excellent site which we will visit again.

We were due to stay in lakeview but then had friends book who couldnít get into lakeview so we asked to move to woodland. We are glad we did as it is much flatter than lakeview and less busy.

It was mostly family groups on-site for the weekend, each group made up of 3-4 families. Friday night was quite loud but most noise finished by midnight.

On Fridays during the summer they have a pizza van on site, which is what we planned to have. We wished we hadnít as the site had been let down but not told anyone so lots of families were ordering pizzas and I assume it was the owners older children who were cooking them! We did order but had to wait 3 hours for our orders as they were waiting for pizza bases to be delivered! Then when we did collect they didnít have enough bases and so we could only have half our order or wait another hour (it was 8. 45pm already)! There were people due to collect pizzas after us who had to wait, I hope they didnít have small children!

Facilities in lakeview better than woodland. Woodland has 2 ladies toilets and 1 shower and menís has 1 toilet, a urinal and a shower.

The boiler for this block had broken this weekend so we had to use the showers on lakeview.

Play area by woodland much better than lakeview. Both the park and den building area have access out onto the campsite drive so small children must be supervised. There are signs which warn of children crossing etc and to drive slowly but these signs didnít seem to apply to the owners or people who visited the farm house as they drove up and down the track at 30mph.

We will definitely stay at this campsite again as itís only 30 mins from us and feels like you are far away! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Coogee 5 reviews from this member

 This is one of the best campsites we have ever stayed at (and that's a lot!). The weather was mainly lousy - high winds and pouring rain for a lot of it, but the campsite withheld the storm well.

We stayed on the Lakeview Field, which as it says, has a lovely view of the lake and surrounding area. The field was large and we had loads of space. It also drained well, amazing given the rainfall we had.

The toilets and showers are lovely. Free and with plenty of hot water. The toilet block was equally well maintained as were the washing up areas. There is plenty of space for children (and adults) to run about in, including a den building area and some play equipment.

The owners are very friendly and helpful. They genuinely seemed to get pleasure from seeing their camping guests happy which showed in the site. There are even sheep and alpacas! The fire pit and logs were good value for money.

The area is great for walking and also has plenty of attractions for children and adults - out and indoors. The local pubs were friendly and child friendly too. The meal we had in the local was great and not too expensive. If you wish to go a bit further, Longleat Safari Park is also worth going to (note that many of the attractions around here accept Tesco vouchers if you have them).

So 10/10 all round from us. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Silver Plated Spork 19 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely, small site which has wonderful views of the Chew Valley Lake and surrounding area. There are 2 fields to pitch, the woodland field is flatter and better suited for anything that needs levelling, or the lake field which has glorious views but you will be on a slope and possibly rather exposed when windy. There is a mixture of EHU and non EHU on both fields.

The facilities in the lake field are excellent- 5 beautiful shower rooms- two with their own loo, but more loos are in the block next door. The facilities in the Woodland field are adequate in comparison- for each sex there are 2 loos and an older type shower which has less privacy.

We preferred to head up to the lake showers which were only a few minutes away. Both fields had a campers fridge-freezer and under cover washing up. Fire pits and well priced logs are available. There is no shop on site, or a washing machine. I found 2 launderettes available in Wells and Cheddar, we used the one in Wells when visiting there for the day. There are a choice of supermarkets in Wells and another in Cheddar.

The campsite is well suited for younger children, there are 2 different play areas and my youngest loved the wooded play area with den making. It's set back in the woods from pitches which gives children a bit of independence. There were a few groups there when we went, all well behaved and it was lovely and quiet at night. Most campers stayed for just a few nights rather than longer.

We used the site as a good base to visit lots in the ares- Cheddar Gorge, Wells, Glastonbury, the seaside resorts of Clevedon and Weston Super Mare, Bath and Bristol (tip- research and use the park and ride schemes). 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jamandpaint 2 reviews from this member

 We had a wonderful stay at Nettwood Farm Campsite. The site is immaculate and has great facilities. You can choose where you want to pitch and as we arrived on a Sunday there was loads of choice.

The play areas for the kids are great and gave our kids a real sense of freedom. The view is incredible and we could even see balloons at the Bristol Balloon Fiesta from our tent.

The owner Debbie was really helpful and friendly, supplied a fire pit and logs and gave us lots of advice about places to visit locally.

The nearest pub, the Castle of Comfort, was a great place to eat and has a fantastic garden for the kids. It is walkable but down a fairly narrow road which we didn't want to risk with young children.

Loads of things to do and places to go. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ukhornet 1 review from this member

 Just back from a 4 nights stay over the Whitsun bank holiday. First thing to say about this site is wow, what a view. The two camping fields are on a gentle slope, with the Farm itself at the top of a quiet country lane. We didn't have electric hook up but we were able to charge camera batteries in the wash up area (two sinks and a shared small fridge with a ice compartment that we used to keep our ice packs frozen).

The three showers were adequate but they did tend to be constantly soaked on the floor (maybe a mop left in there would of meant people could have mopped up after using) and the toilets were clean and well stocked with paper and such. When the site was busy it could of done with a couple more showers, and would have been nice to have the toilets in a separate block from the washing up area. Two small hand basins in the toilet area were fine for washing your hands but a bit small for a morning wash and shave.

The site enabled us to visit Bath, Cheddar Gorge, Weston-Super-Mare and Glastonbury without having to travel too far. We also visited Wells which was a great day out and close by. Nice little play area for children in the other field from us, but kids being kids, can be a bit noisy till about 10/11 pm. Overall though, very impressed with the site, good value for money & I would definitely have no hesitation in going back in the future. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crystaltipps1234 3 reviews from this member

 We chose this site as we meet our friend's from Cornwall half way. This was perfect. Lovely small site. Excellent sized pitches. There are two fields, we chose the one with the small park so the children could play whilst we relaxed. 2 female/2 male toilets both including one shower. Always clean and hot water. Only one washing up area but we never queued so it wasn't a problem. Beautiful location, stunning views and excellent labelled walks. Campfires allowed. Huge hit for the children, along with being able to build dens/camps in the woods.

We had a problem with our tent which occurred when the lovely owners were on holiday, one phone call and it was sorted.

Would definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Philb69 2 reviews from this member

 We were looking for campsite to split our long journey from Cornwall and Nettwood Farm was chosen in a rush.

But we hit jackpot, what a gorgeous site with stunning views.

The facilities were fantastic, my kids loved the playground and quickly made friends.

We didn't have much time to explore, but we did have a great day out in Weston super mare.

Id love to camp here again next summer and see more the area has to offer. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crawfie 7 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite, great location and fab being able to have real campfires with woods to rummage around in. Was worried about there being only one female shower but never had to queue and they have units recently arrived yet to be plumbed in which will provide more toilets and showers. Definitely will return and recommend to others. Friendly helpful owners :) 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Berf 3 reviews from this member

 Just back from 3 nights over the easter weekend great campsite and nice couple running it. Only one problem even though it advertises wi fi it doesn't actually have it. But apart from that nice site. Also the sat nav luckily found the way as there's no campsite signs at all (even on the entrance). But over all very pleasant site 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hankisunshine 3 reviews from this member

 Just back from a lovely stay at Nettwood Farm. We were a group of two families with 4 children between us staying in two large tents and one small one. The children had a ball.

There is a play area but also lots of space to explore in the woods. The site is on a slope so check before you pitch your tent! There is a toilet block which was cleaned daily. The is one shower and two loos for females and the same for males. The wash up is indoors too. A summerhouse also houses a fridge freezer which was really handy (the summer house did have a bit of a pong but the fridge/freezer was clean).

Being able to have a campfire is always top of our list when choosing a campsite. Nettwood provides large fire pits and we had a fire every night. We bought logs (from the garage in wells) but there were lots lying around in the woods on the site too, although a little damp after the rain, but they soon dried out!

Highly recommend Wookey Hole for a day out, also went to Cheddar Gorge and did lots of walking. Smitham chimney is not far to walk to. Only problem we found was that some of the access through the gates on public footpaths were blocked but not sure there is anything the campsite can do about that.

We only ate out once at Waldegrave Arms in East Harptree. There was an offer on for fish and chips and a drink for £6, however we arrived 5 mins after it opened and they only had two left as the others had been booked. The food was nice but expensive, we only went in for tea because of the fish and chip offer! There was a problem with one of the children's desserts and to be honest the customer service was pretty poor. But it did have a lovely garden for the children to play in.

We would recommend Nettwood Farm lovely site, reasonable pitch prices, with clean and comfortable facilities. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Nettwood Farm Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Nettwood Farm Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Nettwood Farm Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bristol      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3601 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement