Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Piggies Camping Cornwall

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > St Columb > Piggies Camping Cornwall Reviews

Piggies Camping Cornwall
Barns Platts
Ruthvoes
St Columb
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR9 6HU
Tel: 07746525799  or  07731569293
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 12 Reviews
                10/10 from 12 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Marissagreen23 7 reviews from this member

 The owner is cheery and helpful and we received a lovely welcome when we arrived.

The site is quiet and easy to get to and the facilities were clean.

We stayed for two nights and it was a good location to visit Heligan Gardens.

We would stay again. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dollyfudge 1 review from this member

 Had a fantastic time

Peter and Debbie where lovely couldn't do enough for us. Always their to give us a hand oh and to freeze our ice packs every day.

Lovely place. Can't wait to come back jen and Andy (scouse) 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Boxerlew 2 reviews from this member

 Absolutely fantastic Peter and Debbie are brilliant owners that check you're stay is brilliant and constantly make sure the showers and toilets are clean.

I just want to take the time here and say I would fully recommend piggies campsite 100% and WILL be returning again soon in the future. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: HT11 4 reviews from this member

 We arrived late at Plymouth on the evening ferry from Santander, it was dark and raining heavily. As per the booking confirmation, we phoned Peter to tell him where we were and he met us on one of the lanes leading to the campsite. This was much appreciated as we would never have found the site in the dark and Peter led us to the site.

The weather in the UK had been constant rain for some weeks and Peter suggested that rather than try and pitch in the dark and drive onto the muddy field, if we were happy, he would connect to electrics on his drive and we could get on the pitch in the morning. We were very tired and grateful and spent a comfortable and warm night in the van.

Peter even brought us some fresh milk for a much needed cup of tea. There was a tap for fresh water to enable us to make tea, next to the van. The next day Peter helped us to drive onto the pitch and even brought us his fresh free range eggs as a welcome (they are simply the best eggs I've ever tasted. )

The new toilet/shower is almost complete and we were able to use the toilet, which was in effect for our sole use, as no one else was on site. The single shower / toilet facilities in the other unit were kept clean and were warm.

There was no pressure to leave on the day of departure and we could choose a convenient time for us to go.

Customer service was excellent. Peter is probably the nicest owner we have ever met and nothing is too much trouble for him- and he is a mine of information.

The site is quiet, well kept and maintained and has some hardstanding / service pitches. The site is well situated in the area but a car is necessary to visit local villages and tourist attractions. There is a new retail park that has just opened a short drive away.  


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Terry Wyles 1 review from this member

 Had a great visit to this quiet and picturesque site. Although modifications are in hand as new owners have a lot of plans including a great washroom and w/cs under construction.

The site is clean and well kept. We were greeted with a warm reception from hosts Peter and Debbie, nothing is too much trouble to ensure a good visit.

We are looking forward to staying there later in the year. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Butler B 1 review from this member

 Had a great week here, lovely peaceful surroundings, close to some excellent beaches.

Site clean and well kept, owners extremely helpful and friendly. New toilet and shower building being constructed.

Will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Big Sam 1 review from this member

 We’ve just returned from a fantastic week’s camping at Piggies. We’ve been to several different campsites in recent years and this is by far the best one yet!

Peter and Debbie were very welcoming and would do anything to ensure you had a relaxing stay. Peter had very relaxed rules about everything, including arrival and departure times which was really nice as he insisted we stay as long as it took for the tent to dry rather than packing it away wet.

The site it’s self was immaculately kept with lovely big pitches. The new shower, toilet and washing up block is very nearly complete having been set back from the wet winter.

One thing I will say is that there has been no expense spared on upgrading the facilities and when it is complete it really will make the site. We found the location of Piggies perfect being literally minutes away from the A30 and the A39 and within 15 minutes you could be on a lovely beach.

We will definitely be going back again and for a family of 4 with an electric pitch for £18 a night on a site as lovely as Piggies you can’t go far wrong! 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LouiseandDavid 2 reviews from this member

 We arrived about the time that the new owners took over so only had the one night to see the Alpacas as they were collected the next day! Peter and his wife are lovely people and very easy going with regards rules and are not strict although this may have changed now they have expanded.

The site was virtually empty the 12 days we stayed and the one shower and toilet were more or less all ours! The one and only criticism we had was the elsan disposal chute was extremely small as in a pipe but that was inherited from the previous owners so not Peters fault.

I believe he had plans to upgrade this. We are hoping to stay at Piggies again this June if there is room as we did enjoy the time there. There is a railway line close by but not that many trains go by as it's just a branch line and the planes come over 2 or 3 times a day but again wasn't a problem for us.

One thing I would say is don't leave any foodstuffs out in tent awnings etc as we foolishly did. There are a few crows who will come feed if left out! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Allan_1983a 8 reviews from this member

 My wife & me stayed at this site & it was our first camping experience with our 18 month old son (we're sorry it has taken so long. )

The Site is amazing; Sue & Royston couldn't have been more friendly & helpful if they had tried.

There is one toilet and shower - which is not a lot when the site is full but it is kept spotless (and tbh when your toddler gets up at 5am there's never a queue!) we never saw anyone queuing whilst we were there, they have laid foundations for another toilet/shower block so this will improve the site once complete.

The location is perfect, 20 minutes from Newquay & 10 minutes from the A39 so you can get anywhere else in Cornwall fairly easily.

We would not hesitate in going back there when we return to Cornwall - in fact we were astounded this site isn't busier given its location and reasonable prices.

More people should go to this site - although don't as we want to keep it for ourselves! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Claredave 3 reviews from this member

 Fabulous little site. Sue and Royston are very friendly and welcoming, not to mention extremely helpful to us novices. Very quiet and peaceful site.

Only one shower and toilet at the moment, but Sue did say they are starting to build a toilet block.

Only stayed 3 nights but wish it was longer as we really enjoyed it. 


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Piggies Camping Cornwall child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Piggies Camping Cornwall?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Piggies Camping Cornwall dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Columb      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


10896 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement