Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Furnace Moorings Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Northamptonshire > Northampton > Furnace Moorings Certificated Site > Reviews

Furnace Moorings Certificated Site
Wharf Farm, Furnace Lane
Nether Heyford
Northampton
Northamptonshire   (Browse area)
NN7 3JZ
Tel: 07836 504728
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 Vans + Tents
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 13 Reviews
                8/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Canalside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2024 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: George1 2 reviews from this member

 The site price is now £17.

The pub in the village no longer serves food.

The toilet/shower wasn't very clean(no toilet paper)

The shower costs £1.

Train noise is constant.

Having said all of that. The canal is very nice with all the moored barges. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: John4703 21 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for one night as a stopover on a journey to London. I wish we had planned to stay longer as it was a great location.

We were able to relax in our caravan and watch the boats go past on the canal.

We use the facilities in our caravan but I looked into the toilet and shower on site and it looked clean and good.

The owner is friendly and helpful.

We have decided that it was so good that we will go back for a much longer stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Carrie 1 review from this member

 Very peaceful setting by the canal. Not too far from home for us but we wanted a change of scene and a nice walk.

Had dinner in The Narrowboat which was a beautiful evening stroll along the canal.

Site had facilities but we used our own. The railway line was very close but I can honestly say it didnít bother us at all. This may have been due to a reduced service after industrial action the day before.

There is a shop in Nether Heyford that stocks most things. The farmer came to collect our money.

Very nice chap who gave us directions to the pub.

We would stay here again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: RetiredScot 8 reviews from this member

 Good location at the mid point of our journey.

A very quiet site apart from the frequent trains passing very close to the site.

The site us equipped with all the usual services although the toilet could have been in cleaner condition.

Nevertheless we would be happy stop over there again.

Due to the proximity of the canal it may not be suitable for adventurous children. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Andialcock 6 reviews from this member

 Love this site. It's only 20 minutes from our house and we keep coming back time after time.

Right next to the canal looking at the boats chugging by, two pubs in the village, within walking distance as well as a one stop shop which has all you need if you've forgotten anything.

There's a butchers in the village too which is open on a Saturday morning if you want to stock up for the bbq later.

Pleasant walks along the canal either way.

£15 pn per unit so not extras for cars, people, awnings, dogs etc and the owner is lovely. He's watched our boys grow up over the years and the many changes in caravan we have had, lovely owner.

Have another weekend booked already for July 😁 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mand1 17 reviews from this member

 It was all that we expected. We had the most lovely pitch overlooking the canal which was perfect for us as we had a canoe which we wanted to launch.

All very relaxed, easy to find the drinking water, elsan, rubbish and recycling.

Only the one toilet and shower which were both in together but not a problem for us as we we have our own and the pricing reflected this at £15 per night including electric.

A pleasant & short walk to the village for a shop and a couple of pubs. Nicely mowed and a friendly warden 


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bobbybear1 1 review from this member

 Small and basic, tidy, well managed grass pitch site overlooking private moorings and the Grand union canal.

Lockdown visit so no loo or shower available but there is one on site

Within walking distance of village with general store, butchers and possibly a bakery and two pubs. Also about a 45 minutes stroll along the towpath to left and right of the site brings you to other pubs.

We really enjoyed our peaceful stay and the throb of narrowboat engines passing by. There were other couples on site so it could be a popular short break site and booking advised.

The high speed train line runs directly above the site and trains run until after midnight but you quickly get used to them. Site slopes slightly and below pitches 1&2 water puddled after extremely heavy rain. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Knobby1 11 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site ! Straight off the A5 down the lane brings you to the gate of Furnace Marina, open the gate and drive about 20 seconds brings you to the site. Pitches (5) are facing the canal with boaters waving as they go past.

Lovely walk down the towpaths brings you to the Narrow Boat pub, very nice but a little on the expensive side (£9. 55 for a pint of cider and a pint of lager).

Walk down the lane from the campsite and you come into Nether Heyford with 2 pubs and a One Stop shop, very handy.

Couldn't use the site's facilities as closed due to Coronavirus, but looked fine. Fresh water, waste water and Elsan all at end of field, around 30 second walk, very handy.

There are trains going past, but to be honest, don't really bother us, and they seemed to stop a little after 10pm. The owner is lovely, only saw him after we had set up, (working farm), came down to sort out payment (card or cash) and then went back to his farm.

All in all, lovely little site, not too expensive at £15 per night with EHU,

Well recommended. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wilier 3 reviews from this member

 Site situated close to the canal.

Trains not really a issue after a while.

Shower/toilet block okay. Shower requires token.

Easy walking along towpath, well stocked local shop and pubs within walking distance.

We booked the site so we could visit Stoke Bruene camel centre and Bletchley park.

Will revisit again, 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dawnyowl2905 34 reviews from this member

 We needed a site for one night as we had booked to take our Motorhome to a nearby garage for a habitation check early the next morning. We had been told to make our way to pitch 5 which we did and set up nicely.

We then walked into the village which had 2 pubs and a shop. The pub landlord was very friendly and chatted for a while. Very pleasant all round.

The site is lovely right by the canal with lots of boats and people on them were waving etc.

The comments about the trains did not put us off although Iím sure I read that they stopped at 2300 hours? Well on this night they definitely did not as both my husband and I heard at least two thunder by at 02. 45 in the morning! This is not a criticism - just an observation.

We did not us the facilities although I understand that a token was needed for the shower.

All in all a lovely canal side spot which was perfect for our needs. 


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Furnace Moorings Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Furnace Moorings Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Furnace Moorings Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Northampton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northamptonshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4053 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement