Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Little Meadow Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Ilfracombe > Little Meadow Camp Site Reviews

Little Meadow Camp Site
Watermouth
Berrynarbor
Ilfracombe
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX34 9SJ
Tel: 01271 866862
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 45
Open: March 24 - September 30

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 95 Reviews
                9/10 from 95 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  95 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Whiskywhiskymac 11 reviews from this member

I recently stayed here for a week whilst walking the first stretch of the South West Coastal Path that runs right past the site.

The owners and staff are very friendly and welcoming and took time to explain everything on site and in the area. They were also very thoughtful when it came to choosing the spot for our tent because it was very hot and we had a dog with us. As for the plots themselves they are very generous - thus ensuring that you don't feel cramped or too close to your neighbours.

I loved the attention to detail - the rustic wooden hangers, hooks and toilet roll holders in the wash block - they are NOT twigs as described by a previous reviewer but solid lengths of coppiced hazel and they look great and work well. These are very in keeping with the rustic 'turtle friendly' bags that are thoughtfully hung on the back of shower doors for clothes. One suggestion - the shower cubicles are large enough to house a small chair (maybe fastened to the wall) and this may help older folk. I note that some previous reviewers have complained that the showers are push button - this is not a problem - they are free and warm so why complain?

The toilets and showers are spotless and cleaned twice a day - and there is a well organised recycling area (look out for the nesting swallows in the roof)! There is copious hot water in the washing up area - and a fantastic view across the Bristol Channel to boot!

Wifi is available - a real bonus - although if you want to stream films and TV from the internet I imagine that you will have to locate close to the reception area. It was, however, fine for me to collect emails and messages and the look at things online.

Fresh rolls and croissants can be ordered in the evening for the following breakfast - and I challenge anyone not to be tempted by this when you smell the fresh baking in the morning!

There is a freezer for ice blocks - with a no charge but a donation to the RNLI (a very worthwhile charity).

What more can I say - I can't wait to return.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gibgill 1 review from this member

Nicely kept site with lovely sea views. All facilities clean and working. Showers are fixed temperature which is only warm- could be a bit hotter.

Good recycling facilities. Plenty of brochures about local attractions.

Shop had essentials but limited opening.

Excellent Wi-Fi available all over the site so I could use it in my tent!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CUMBRIANS 3 reviews from this member

On a 9 week trip, taking in France, Germany, Switzerland, Austria, Devon and Cornwall, this has been the most expensive and disappointing site we have used.

The view is fabulous but the entrance is awkward even with a small caravan, and the suggestion by the owner to use the layby up the road to turn around is ridiculous. The showers are appalling. A press button that lasts about 20 seconds and constantly starts again with a trickle is the worst of the 15 sites used on this trip. The hooks are twigs, all two of them and they are cold and draughty even in July.

On a long trip it is important to be able to wash things like bedding. One machine and no dryer means unless you have very hot weather you can't get them dry quickly. The shop/reception hours aren't really acceptable, an hour in the morning and an hour late afternoon. If you arrive out of these hours, as we did, in the pouring rain you have to walk up a long steep drive to the farmhouse to book you in, especially for someone infirm.

You might say you are paying for the view but we had similar at St. Ives, Cornwall, and beautiful views of the Swiss Alps and also beautiful lakes in Switzerland and Austria, and didn't have to pay as much as here and had great facilities at all of them.

We are disappointed and will not be returning.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RosePearl1960 17 reviews from this member

Great basic site for a summer pitch.

I would strongly recommend approaching this site from the Ilfracombe direction, if you are either in a larger motor home or towing a caravan. The directions given by the owners do not mention that the route given encompasses many sharp turns and several stretches of narrow width, in addition to which, as previously stated the entrance is at a very obtuse angle and sloping up an incline when approaching from Combe Martin. When we left the site we followed the route back to the North Devon link road via Barnstaple and although further in mileage, it was a much pleasanter experience.

Little Meadow is a tranquil site with fantastic views. The tiered site gives all the opportunity to enjoy the view. Please ensure you bring chocks as no pitch is level. We had requested a hardstanding pitch but the small circle of pea gravel laid on top of grass was hardly adequate.

The shower and toilet block was very draughty and dark. The showers took some patience to get a decent shower. I found myself holding the button halfway in to gain a constant flow of water. The free hair dryers a nice touch but the length of cord meant That I at 5' 3' couldn't use one of them because it was too short. Not much use if you are trying to dry a child's hair.

I cannot comment on the stock in the shop as we didn't use it.

We did use the local bus service and it was good value and the bus stop is only a 5 minute walk from the site.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Littleivor 1 review from this member

After reading the many positive reviews about this site we booked our caravan in.

The entrance to the site is a very sharp left turn (if you are travelling in from Combe Martin) so you have to go on for a mile or so before coming to a very small parking area were you are advised to turn your caravan around. If you are not very confident reversing your van, I'd suggest you unhook it and turn it manually as it is a very small parking area that is used by other cars and motor homes.

When we arrived we were given our pitch and because it has rained heavily the night before the owner towed our van to our pitch which was very nice of him. We were on pitch 23 on the first tier next to the playground – which was handy for our little boy. The pitch was on a very bad slope as well and took us a while to get the van sort of level.

While the views across the Bristol Channel are amazing, ours was slight obscured by the tress. The tress would also obscure the sun from about 5 too, which meant we were in the shade while sitting out enjoying a drink and a BBQ in the evening.

The facilities are very basic. The showers are not that clean despite what other reviewers say. They are dark and full of spiders. The floor is concrete and doesn't slop to allow the water to drain away so you are often standing in cold water left over for the previous shower user so make sure you take flip flops with you! It would be handy to have a bucket and a mop so you could at least clean up after you've had a shower.

The shower cubicles are small with only a couple of wooden pegs to hang your clothes on and something called a turtle bag strung across the door (not sure what for). The showers are free and operate on a push button system which only last for about a 1 minute before going off. The water is hot which is the only plus point.

The disabled shower cubicle is much bigger so I’d use that one if you really need to shower.

The chemical toilet area is not great either with a toilet bowl to empty the waste in and no hose to help clean the cassette out with. At one point a member of staff turned the light off while we were in there and asked if we really need the light to be on!

The shop is only open from 9-10am and 5-6pm – I can’t comment on what they had to offer as I was never around when it opened.

There is free WIFI, but you have to be standing outside the shop to use it.

The play area for the children is basic as well with a couple of swings and round-about plus a broken climbing net but this didn't seem to bother any of them – my little boy loved it!

The view is amazing of the Bristol Channel and it is a very quiet site with no noisy neighbours or traffic.

All in all, this is a very nice site that could do with some better facilities. I’d suggest that if you find yourself given pitch 23 ask to be moved to a pitch higher up - especially if you have a motor home or caravan as the pitches are not so steep higher up.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Butterflydecal 1 review from this member

Fabulous site with amazing views over the Bristol Channel. We stayed for a week but didn't want to leave, you could never get tired of the view.

On arrival we were shown our pitch and given a run down of the site by a very friendly member of the team. All of the pitches are on tiered levels giving everyone a view and each tier only had a handful of vans making it very quiet.

This site is peaceful so don't expect music, parties, loud neighbours, it was just perfect for us to chill out for the week.

There is a small path down to the coastal path which you can walk down to either ilfracombe or combe Martin, both of which are beautiful walks but not for the elderly or very young! Our 7 year managed it fine though.

There are a couple of pubs nearby, the sawmill and the Ye olde Globe, we visited both but to be honest they are not very pleasant so wouldn't recommend.

The facilities on site were of a reasonable standard, the toilets great but showers were not much more than a trickle for 5 seconds at a time, made it difficult to wash my hair. But that said I wouldn't let that out you off! We will definitely return in the future.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Steve n Lareen 5 reviews from this member

Lovely, quiet site with a nice walk down the harbour and the local pub, which is no more than 10 minutes away.

On tiered site with beautiful views and some local friendly cows as neighbours. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Toilet block was nice and clean, we didn't use any of the other site facilities, but would definitely recommend.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jill and sid 17 reviews from this member

A sunny week spent at Little Meadow. A clean and well organised site. We had spent the previous week at the Lizzard, therefore busy in comparison. The owner doesn't stop cleaning and is very business like. The showers and toilet are immaculate. Only gripe was the press button showers are functional but joyless. The campsite is on a steep incline with a terrace design. Some of the terraces are more level than others, nevertheless plenty of space and a separate play area. Ye Olde Globe in Berrynarbor (2km) serves nice food and beer. The beer in the Saw Mill (1km)wasn't good. Great sea views

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: GarethandGaynor 1 review from this member

We loved the site the moment we got there. The pitch we had had fantastic views of the sea with beautiful sunsets and from what we could see most pitches had similar views to us. The facilities were fine and cleaned every day, a nice touch was that you could order fresh cooked baguettes and croissants each morning from the well stocked on site shop. The staff were friendly and helpful with advice for local attractions. We will definitely be going back time and time again.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tenttogo 4 reviews from this member

This charming terraced campsite came with a stunning view overlooking the North Devon Coast.

Facilities as the toilet and shower area were fine and kept clean. (Would have been nice to be regulate the temperature of the water yourself). Washing up area again overlooked the coast even after a week we were not bored with the view. Recycling is encouraged on site which was refreshing. Wi-Fi only worked around the lower part of the site. (in our case)

The shop had the basics, the freezer for ice and baking of croissants, petit pans etc every morning to order was a nice bonus.

General area was pleasant easy getting around although parking in all areas was expensive best bargain was the park and ride into Ilfracombe. We found not a great deal within easy walking distance of the campsite. (More for those with families)

Plenty National trust properties around including coves and beaches to view. Ilfracombe is worth a visit and perhaps sending time viewing the local aquarium and taking a local coastal boat trip.

The owners and staff were very helpful and overall this campsite was quiet and what we were looking for but did come at a Price.

Previous     95 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2785 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019