Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Homestead Certificated Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Site Reviews

The Homestead Certificated Site
Ersham Road
Hailsham
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN27 3PN
Tel: 01323 840346
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5 Vans + Tents
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 9 Reviews
                9/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sdchomer 1 review from this member

First time here. Loved the peaceful site so much we have booked 5 more weekends through to the end of the year.

The owners are lovely. Friendly, helpful & keep the little orchard site in tip top condition. Just one toilet & shower, but with only 5 units pitched on site at any one time who needs more. Ample space for pitching, we chose to pitch in the centre of the field & was alone there & it was perfect for us. 4 other units were pitched along the hedge line which had superb views of the Downs. The site is adult only, which again all added to the overall peacefulness of the place. Dogs are positively welcomed & can even wander around off lead & have a little play with the owners lovely little dog Toby, who is never too far away. Hardstandings are also available for wet/muddy weather. The Cuckoo Trail is a few metres from the sites entrance. Here you can walk/cycle for miles. We stopped at the Cuckoo Shack Cafe for amazing Smoothies & doggy icecream & there are dog friendly pubs in walking/cycle distance too that also serve food. Just a short car journey away is the lovely seaside town of Eastbourne, the stunning views & walks of Beachy Head, Birling Gap & the South Downs. Country pubs with restaurants, or serving bar meals are plentiful in the area. You can even catch a bus right outside the site either into Eastbourne, or the opposite way to the small market Town of Hailsham (which is only a pleasant 25min walk along the Cuckoo Trail). Some people's reviews have commented on a Nursing home being next to the site, this really won't affect your stay at all. In fact if I hadn't read about it myself I would be none the wiser. The owners beautiful home is on the site, as basically you are pitched in their lovely orchard to the rear of their house. There is some traffic noise, depending on time of day, but not enough to outweigh the overall peaceful & relaxing atmosphere of this little site. We feel we have found a little gem & can't wait to return.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Cliff n Pat 22 reviews from this member

Just got back & considering it was the Eastbourne airshow weekend I couldn't believe how quiet the site was.

Only one toilet & shower but kept clean & had no problems.

This is a large field with a gentle slope & flat areas. We had no problem pitching our FC where we wanted & level.

2 minutes drive into town where there is all you need or you just flag the bus down at the gate & stops there as well on your return.

Lovely family run site & would recommend to anyone.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vic Allen 1 review from this member

We have visited this site many times with our motor home, this year we changed it to a 26ft caravan, I was worried I would not get it in the gate, fear not there was plenty of room, when I left I turned left with no problems, the cuckoo trail is a 2 min walk from the site, it is a tarmac walk so wet or fine you can walk it comfortably.

Ron & Jean are a lovely couple who welcome you warmly, they keep the place so clean & tidy its impressive. Dogs are welcome, & can be off the lead & play with there dog, who is a delight.

We cannot wait until we can go again.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mhancock 6 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a few nights after the feast of lanterns2017. What a gem of a site, I can only reflect what other users have said. We can't wait to come back here. We visited the Hellingly show which was just a few miles away.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bingowings 1 review from this member

Just returned home from having a 16 night stay on this site and what a lovely time we have had. A great location and the cuckoo trail is great for walking. It was about a mile into hailsham and 7 mile walk the opposite way to Eastbourne. You could also walk to polgate. Great for the dogs as they can be off the lead. The site was at the right price for what you got. There was one toilet and one shower which were kept clean and tidy. We were up in the top corner and the view of beachy head was great. The owl we heard on a few nights was an extra bonous. The owners were very helpful and friendly. I had a problem while we were there and needed a dentist, Ron was very helpful. There is a nursing home next door but we were pitched at the opposite side and we didn't find it a problem. Access to the site is good. Great location. Would definitely return if in the area. Julie and Matthew

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tiacat 5 reviews from this member

What a lovely site.

Firstly a prompt reply by email when booking and he remembered my queries when we turned up. A lovely couple with a lovely little dog called Toby. Toby made friends with our dog so that was nice and he often popped in to see us. The couple also came to check on us after the first night as it had been 3 degrees in the night!

The site is easy to find on the road, it is just before the lights which cross the cuckoo trail if you're coming from Hailsham. Everything is neatly laid out, fresh water on the hardstanding area, a toilet and shower in converted sheds nearby and recycling bins. The CDP is behind all that, I didn't see it but my partner said it was just a bit too open and couldn't seem to get the hose to work.

The site is mainly grassed. As you come in, to the left hand side are some set areas which are best suited to caravans and motorhomes, they have electric. But they have the best views right over the South Downs. The back hedge which faces West (we watched the setting sun) is where we pitched, we didn't need electric so could pitch anywhere. The site is lovely and tidy. I like to go barefoot when camping and walked around the site with no shoes on and didn't worry about stubbing my toe on something awful. There are clumps of flowers, small trees, short grass. There is another electric point in the middle of the field.

Looking north, there is a nursing home whose windows sort of face onto the site and I wasn't expecting that, it made me feel as if I was in a residential area rather than in the countryside.

The cuckoo trail is very nearby and we walked along the road and then walked to Polegate (don't bother), the trail itself is lovely, loads of wild flowers.

During the night I heard the owl and one day I heard a cuckoo.

Local pubs are good, we went to the 6 Bells at Chiddingly, really good home made food, but very lively. Then we went to the Sussex Ox at Milton Street, gorgeous food with outstanding views from their terrace, then the Ash Inn at Brownbread Street, massive portions and all home made again.

The first night we ordered from the local indian near the petrol station, it took ages so ring and order in advance before going to collect.

The only negatives for me was that I could hear road noise from (presumably) the A27 and I didn't like that it felt a bit overlooked. However the road noise didn't bother my partner, it was more a hum and I am noise sensitive. The local road is fairly quiet. So for those reasons I would say its about an 8/10.

Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 240 reviews from this member

A very nice site as others have said, but not quite the 10/10 for the following reasons:

There is a post to the left at the site entrance by the road, obviously to stop folks driving on the grass when leaving, but it will prevent us turning left to access the A22; we will have to turn right to get to the A27 which adds on a few miles.

There is no electricity in the loo or shower so make sure you only use them during daylight. We didn't use them for this reason, but they look fine.

Not the fault of the owner, but many of the local footpaths are too muddy to use at this time of year. Do go to Cuckmere Haven though which is lovely.

The owners are friendly as said and he is always working on something to keep things looking good. Lots of lovely daffodils but the owl has flown.

14 per night a little excessive we think.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Quoroll 10 reviews from this member

What a lovely site. Very easy to find off the B road coming out of Hailsham. Owner was very friendly and welcoming. It was probably an old orchard behind the owners house, now quite open with short cut grass very well maintained. I asked if she was busy and she replied that the site was full over the weekend. I've known many certificated sites take well more than the 5 vans they are supposed to. Not here, full meant 5 vans in a huge area. 6m didn't come into it - more like 30 to the nearest unit there was so much space.

We parked up along the Southern hedge which had wonderful views across the fields to the South Downs.

There were new facilities, a WC and shower in a shed. It sounds a bit basic but was clean and comfortable - what more do you need?

We took our bikes and cycled the Cuckoo trail which is about 100m from the site entrance. It took less than 10 minutes to cycle to the town centre. We also had our canoe and paddled the river Cuckmere.

We had a super meal at the Old Oak Inn Arlington - an unusually good vegetarian selection.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Coast walkers 17 reviews from this member

A lovely relaxing well kept, quite sheltered CS 'Adult' Campsite, which is situated right next to the 14 mile 'Cuckoo Trail' (an old railway route for walking and biking, )

Hailsham is a 20 minute meander along the Cuckoo Trail and has a variety of shops.

There is a bus stop right outside the campsite to Eastbourne.

Bus time table says every 7/8 minutes to Eastbourne and every 30 minutes to Hailsham, which is the campsites nearest town.

The Campsite owners were great hosts, friendly and helpful, their Campsite was spacious, well set out grass pitches with a couple of hard standings, the grass is kept short, lovely flowers and shrubs, the electric pitches were flat and well spaced out along a short height hedge.

There are no showers, the toilet, with wash basin is kept nice and clean, (hand wash and towel) and is inside the Owners 'out' house, we found it no problem to use.

The Campsite has mini recycling bins for glass, paper and tins etc.

Listen out for the Owl, we heard it most nights, we also spotted squirrel, rabbits and a few sheep.

13 for two adults plus Electric Hook Up.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1417 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019