Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Kingsbridge > Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park
Bolberry
Malborough
Kingsbridge
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ7 3EN
Tel: 01548 561230
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/04/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 72 Reviews
                8/10 from 72 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  72 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jess2 3 reviews from this member

 A very difficult road to get to the site, extremely narrow, especially for larger outfits. Our pitch was facing a hedge so no view to speak of.

The toilet block was extremely clean and Covid rules very clear. Showers had to be paid for, which is unusual.

Food truck came some evenings and food was good.

The road to Hope Cove was again extremely narrow and not particularly conducive to walking as you had to often flatten against hedges to let traffic go by.

Lovely part of the world but not a site we would visit again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: AndreaLyons 3 reviews from this member

 We liked the privacy provided by the hedges.

We disliked being asked to pay for hot water to wash up and for showers as the price of the stay wasn't cheap. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Jtuton 1 review from this member

 Site friendly, and nice and quiet. The pitch was very spacious for small campervan and awning.

Well organised with safety precautions (covid 19)in place at toilet/shower block and keep clean throughout the day.

Owners very helpful nothing too much trouble.

Only problem fully booked and couldn't stay longer! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kookie Golds 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite in idyllic setting of south Devon, great pitches with nice privacy shrubbery. Clean & well maintained shower and toilet facilities and pleasant, friendly and helpful staff. Will definitely visit again :) 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kateandjames 52 reviews from this member

 A great site with stunning views across the valley or down to the sea at Hope Cove. Lovely helpful owner.

Pitches are very spacious and level with terraces cut into the hillside.

When I was there it was very windy and pitches at the bottom part of the field seemed more sheltered but no views. Take your pick!

Facilities all very clean, soap provided in showers (40p) and at sinks. Freezer and fridge available in kitchen area and laundry as well.

There's a well stocked shop with freshly baked pastries and bread. Coffee available too and shop sells beer, wine, bbq and all sorts of camping bits that you might need.

There's plenty of walking direct from site providing of course you don't mind hills. East Soar Walkers Hut (cafe) was a nice lovely suprise and there are bars / cafes in Hope Cove. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Doodlebugdil 5 reviews from this member

 We never book in advance but outside school holidays this is not usually a problem and this was the case at Karrageen. We arrived and pitched up in torrential rain (as forecast) on a Saturday evening. I explained to the site owner, Phil, that I didn't want to pay for a whole week in case the weather didn't improve. This was not a problem and Phil was happy for me to pay before departure for however many nights we had stayed. This proved to be a good thing as my partner badly injured her knee on the Tuesday, so we had to cut our holiday short.

The site can accommodate maybe 65 tents and tourers, plus there are a handful of statics.

Although the site is on a slope, it has been terraced so you are guaranteed a level pitch. The numbered pitches are very generously spaced. You will never feel overcrowded at Karrageen.

Well positioned hedging divides different areas are provides more privacy and wind protection, always handy on a coastal site!

There are sea views from pitches at the top end of the site, more wind protection at the lower pitches.

We were not allocated a particular pitch, which is a big plus point for me. The immaculate facilities block provides hot showers and indoor washing up points (20p for 2 mins hot water) plus loos, basins, washing machine, dryer, freezers for cool blocks and a chemical disposal point, all very modern. A bit of a hike from the bottom of the site but as this is a walkers paradise, I guess no-one is going to mind.

Reception is part of the owner's house and also incorporates a shop (open morning and evening) selling fresh bread, milk and all the usual camping essentials plus alcohol!(more brownie points)

Phil is out and about the site daily, ready and willing to field any queries or offer advice.

Hope Cove (food and beer) is an easy stroll (about a mile)

We didn't get to explore as much as we intended, due to A. Bad weather, B. My partner's knee injury.

Really can't fault the site, the owners or the area. We'll be back! 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bluevw 6 reviews from this member

 Quiet, but one of the cleanest nicest sites we have stayed at, will certainly visit again before the end of the summer.

A friendly greeting on arrival, a well stocked shop and a fantastic location with nearby Hope cove. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daveitalia 3 reviews from this member

 My wife, our 2 Spaniels and I stayed here in the middle of June, I have to say this is one of the best sites we have stayed on the owners actually thought about us and the dogs and gave us a fantastic pitch with loads of room and really private which was great for the dogs as no one could really walk past the front of our tent, the owners are very friendly and accommodating, the shower and toilet blocks are immaculate and there is a big family shower room which is great if your are disabled or have young children, the site is located in some fantastic countryside and only 3/4 a mile from the south west coastal path STUNNING!

Also it's a mile from Hope Cove with a great pub called the Hope and Anchor serves good food and sits right on sea front where you can watch the world go by with the sun beating down on the bay. One final point is the owners bread if you order by 5pm the day before at 8. 30am there will be fresh bread just out of the oven for you GREAT TOUCH 😀 will definitely be back in 2016 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Oompsy-daisy 9 reviews from this member

 My friend and I went to Karrageen in the May bank holiday weekend. We booked via the website and got an email with booking confirmation and how to pay. We had to make a bank transaction, was not possible to make a card transaction. Which in our case was fine.

I think this was probably the wettest camping we had been on. But this made it a little more challenging but also more fun!

It was an unusual campsite, that we had visited in that the reception was away from the campsite. As you come in along the very skinny lanes, if approaching from Malborough the reception was above the campsite on your left and the site was below on your right. We originally went into the site first as we weren't sure which way to go. But when we did find them they were very friendly and due to the weather that was due to come in we ashed for a sheltered spot, in which we were given 3 options.

The site is on quite a steep hill with a stony drive, which was a little slippery when wet. Most of the pitches though were relatively flat. We were are the bottom of the hill on the right, this meant that we were shielded from the wind, as we had some kind of shelter on all sides of us. Which was amazing considering the weather that weekend.

The sites facilities were all clean with cleaning taking place each and every day at 2pm. It was lovely to be able to wash up inside! The showers were 0. 40p for 4 minutes, which the site owner had a plentiful supply and was happy to give us some change. I am never particularly happy about paying for hot water, but on a plus side of this there was an on/off switch so you didn't waste any hot water when applying shampoo and body wash. On the three nights we stayed there we each had 1 tepid warm shower which we did report to the site owner was advised he would look at it as it seemed to be the same shower on both occasions, all the other showers were hot, but the temperature was unchangeable.

The trek to get to the toilets was certainly something, It was a bit of a walk up a hill for all amenities including water and the toilet, this is not fun in pouring rain! But on the plus side to this by the time you walked up to the toilet and back again you are warm :). Even if there was another water source a little way down the track for the campers towards the bottom of the site would be great, but I do know that this is not always possible.

They offered a small selection of food at their site shop but it all seemed locally sourced which is good, they also offer a service of fresh bread, croissants etc daily, just put in your order the day before. I have to say we didn't use this service. I think if we were staying longer we possibly would have done.

The area that they are based if very pretty and some of the lanes are very tight! Good driving skills I think are essential for negotiating the small twisty, turny, roads, including the road getting to Karrageen.

Hope Bay is a beautiful village with a great St Austell Brewery pub, with great food and service.

Karrageen, is a lovely, well kept place to camp and would thoroughly recommend it. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Honeysuckle123 11 reviews from this member

 A welcome return to Karrageen - I enjoyed my first visit in 2013 and it seemed even better on return. I was camping with another friend who was due to turn up later in the day with her tent, so when I checked in the owner recommended one of the smaller terraces where we would be the only ones. It was very thoughtful and the terrace was wonderful. It was great to have our own space.

I had a dog with me and was recommended the top field for walking him in. The views are great from up there and there was plenty of room for him to sniff around.

The shower and washing up areas were immaculate and I never had to queue for a shower. There was plenty of hot water too.

The site is ideally located for walking along the coast - we did plenty of walking over the weekend.

As it was late in the year, we asked whether we could leave our tents up on the final day while we went for a walk, giving them time to dry out from the night's dew. The owner couldn't have been more accommodating, telling us (and other campers) that there was no rush to leave the site. This was much appreciated, meaning that our tents were dry when we packed them away.

I would definitely return to this site. It is well-run, well-maintained and welcoming - and a great location. 


Previous     72 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kingsbridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4145 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement