Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Old Forge Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Banbury > The Old Forge Certificated Site Reviews

The Old Forge Certificated Site
Wroxton Lane
Horley
Banbury
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX15 6BD
Tel: 01295 738822
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 Vans + Tents
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 7 Reviews
                9/10 from 7 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Daveb123 1 review from this member

 Two words - Perfect & Peaceful !

Your own paddock with gate - electric hookup and water.

Richard the owner goes above and beyond to help with any problems or questions you may have, also goes round disinfecting all gate handles etc helping to keep you safe.

Excellent free wi-fi (best I have ever had on a site)

Great walks around outside of the site.

And we are booked in again as my wife and I felt so relaxed here. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jayne9 1 review from this member

 Fabulous site and excellent dog facilities!

Each pitch (or paddock) has its own fence and gate, so this means our 4 legged friends can run around and play causing no concerns for their humans! It’d be amazing if all sites were like this!

Also great walks nearby. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sarahn 1 review from this member

 Excellent site for dogs and relaxation.

No toilet facilities due to covid but we knew this before arrival and have our own. Electric and water and waste facilities available.

Everyone was extremely friendly

Will definitely go again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Jobosan 1 review from this member

 As this was my first trip and I am a solo caravaner I did expect a few problems. That a how it turned out!

The site has a pleasant location in pretty gentle Oxfordshire hills. Plenty of wonderful country pubs within walking distance.

All the five pitches are grass and as the weather was awful access and departure was a challenge.

The motor movers were useful but they failed to get the caravan off the pitch.

Richard, who runs the site, saved the day with his tractor which got me onto level land and poised ready to depart.

It was of course a steep learning curve for me and and Richard was always about to help. I will visit again but when the weather improves and it is dryer under foot. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Henryfox 12 reviews from this member

 This is a great site, the pitches are huge and each pitch has its very own large fenced garden. Absolutely perfect if you have a dog. We stayed here for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

It's a perfect base for walking with lots directly from the site, there is of course the battlefield walks that take in the Battle of Edgehill there is also an award winning pub in the village that serves amazing local ales. The site is basic but has everything you need including a luxury portaloo.

The site is close to Banbury if you are in need of retail therapy. There are some lovely pubs within walking distance, ours is the Dunn Cow. This pub serves amazing home made meals, really worth the walk. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Minerva14 24 reviews from this member

 My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights with our 4 dogs and we felt very welcome. Richard is a very nice host and we will return.

The facilities are basic, (fresh water, recycling bins, portaloo, hookup) yet adequate for our needs as we are self sufficient but it was lovely to have such a large pitch to ourselves so the dogs could be free and to have our own water tap on the pitch.

The area is excellent for walking with or without dogs and although nicely tucked away in the country, is within easy reach of town, shops etc.

No criticisms to make at all; this is exactly what we look for in a caravan site. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Frostyjack 3 reviews from this member

 What a gem of a site! Granted, not for those seeking swimming pools and clubhouses but if it is peace and quiet and a friendly atmosphere you desire then this is for you.

We were recommended, by word of mouth, to visit The Old Forge and it lived up to everything that was said about it. Richard – the owner – was friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for him to ensure that we (and everyone else) had a pleasant time.

Often we have visited sites that profess to be ‘dog friendly’ only to find that the dog has to be kept on a lead at all times and the dog walking facilities are all but non existent; the Old Forge is different: each caravan has its own secure and fenced off area where your ‘best friend’ can be safely left to play. Yes. We will be back. 10/10 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Old Forge Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Old Forge Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Old Forge Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Banbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3331 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement