Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Wellington Country Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > Berkshire > Site Reviews

Wellington Country Park
Odiham Road
Riseley
Reading
Berkshire   (Browse area)
RG7 1SP
Tel: 0118 932 6444
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 72
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 90 Reviews
                8/10 from 90 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  90 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Roaming Rover 1 review from this member

The pitches are large and set in a wooded area - if you are with friends you can choose to book adjacent pitches in an area isolated from others by trees.

Children can go off and play in the woods - and poor TV reception and WIFI limited to the area around the toilet block means that they are likely to play rather than spend time watching screens. Entry to the park is included, which is fantastic for little ones.

One disadvantage is having to unlock the gate on entry and exit, but understandable as you can gain entry to the park from the campsite. If you go out after the park is closed, you have to unlock and lock the main gate too, but it wasn't a problem.

The toilet block was nice and warm in the mornings.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Andy Bones H 2 reviews from this member

We booked here as a last minute weekend away, it's certainly different to any other site we've stayed at, all pitches are in the woods and individual.

Facilities were nice and clean and as a bonus your pitch fee also gives free access to the country park. As it's only 10 miles from home this will be a regular place for a chill out break.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Gamma 1 review from this member

Just a day visitor. Equidistant from family homes in rugby, Brighton and Christchurch. This place is fantastic. And cheap.

Everything poss has been thought of. And not a speck of litter. Iíd give it 20 stars.

Crikey I donít know what these people have for breakfast but Iíd like some.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vivebunny 3 reviews from this member

My 2 daughters and I had a great weekend at Wellington. Lovely facilities (although when they're being cleaned it's a bit of a walk to the alternative). Showers were nice and hot.

My daughters were a little too old to fully make use of the free park, but the walks are lovely which more than made up for the play equipment being too small! Fab if you have smaller kids.

The staff were really helpful (i paid extra for late departure). Shop was nice, I didn't use the cafe.

The site is really pretty. I was near my neighbours but secluded enough. Lovely to wake up to birdsong!

The closest Tescos was in Chineham.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Denisebr 7 reviews from this member

Have stayed here several times since April. Easy access off M4 and A33. Lovely wooded site, but even the hardstandings get muddy when wet. Shower block is modern and very clean and warm but three showers in both male and female blocks is not enough for a potential 87 pitches including tents.

Laundry room and covered dish washing area located next to shower block. Access to campsite via a locked gate for which you are given a key. Park cafe provides breakfast which we did not try.

Full motorhome waste disposal facilities provided, numerous water points throughout the site. Bus stop a few yards outside park for bus No7 once an hour to Reading. Great place for families as park's play facilities and walks included in pitch price.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Windflower 1 review from this member

. Easy to find

. Helpful check-in staff

. Nice and secluded wooded location

. Spacious pitches with lots of space between you and the neighbours.

. Well set up for water, lecky, waste.

. Warm and clean toilet block

. Dark as there are no lights.

Only niggle was the two gates to unlock/relock, perhaps a barrier would have been easier.

Easy access to Reading and Basingstoke both are worth a visit.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dave and Wendy 26 reviews from this member

Just had a 4 night break at this lovely wooded site, bring wellingtons boots because when it rains you'll need them. Most of the earlier reviews have said it all and not much I can add. But:-

Pitches are big and in little glades.

ROCK PEGS NEEDED !

If in a tent try to pitch on high ground.

The paths around get very muddy (I know it's a wood) however if the paths had a layer of gravel like the main path has then the shower/wc block would not get so muddy after a heavy down pour.

The warden did a good job trying to keep them clean, the problem in our opinion is that the block is not big enough for the site. The toilets in the park can be used up until 6pm when the park closes. The showers had hot water but cubicles a bit on the small side.

Without the 24/7 access to the park I would rate it lower

I don't want to come over negative about what is basically a reasonably good site but this site could be better.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Herewood 2 reviews from this member

Well, we camped there for easter. What can I say apart from it was wet. Not the campsites fault, but it was a very waterlogged site. We did receive a phone call from the site the day before warning us that the campsite was waterlogged and if we wished to have our booking or get a refund which I thought was nice.

Upon turning up we had booked two pitches together with another family, the pitches were very large so we managed to find the 'drier' spots on the pitches and in the end we (5 man tent and a campervan with awning) would have managed to fit on one pitch. Take rock pegs!

Yes it expensive, but it does include access into the park during your stay, so taking into account what the normal day tripper would pay, its not that bad. You also get access to the park after it has shut, so if the adventure playground is busy, wait till everyone goes home, then use it! Yes I did have a few goes on the zip wire myself :)

Customer service in the park was very good, the warden helpful when our car wouldn't start (had a jump pack which got us up and running in minutes). The toilets whilst small where very warm and clean - which considering the amount on mud on the site was a miracle.

Couple of little niggles, the nearest water supply to us wasn't working so had to walk a bit further, the road surface in the campsite had a lot of potholes, I imagine in the nice weather its a lovely site.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mr_jibbles 15 reviews from this member

Just back from a weekend here with extended family. The woodland setting of this site is fab. Look carefully at the site map before you book and choose what will suit you and your group then you will feel like you are the only campers here.

Take rock pegs.

The facilities block is modern but just too small. There are only 3 women's showers and 2 men's. We had to queue for showers, toilets, basins and even washing up sinks. It is a shame because what there are are of good standard but just not enough of them to cope with demand. They are also not checked and cleaned often enough so that by the evening they got a bit grim, especially when it had rained and mud was traipsed inside.

Entry to the country park is included in the pitch price which means that it can seem expensive, we paid £136 for 3 nights. The ages of our children ranged from nearly 10 to 6. There wasn't that much for the older ones in our group. We think it would feel much better value if the children had been younger and had enjoyed more of the activities in the park.

Country park would be great for younger kids. Little train (£1. 50 pp), jumping pillow, play areas, sand and water play area and animal area. Lots of themed weekends too. Crazy golf, ride on cars (extra cost) for older kids.

We have visited this site and country park once before but I doubt we'll be back due to the age of our kids and time spent queuing for facilities.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Free-range-children 3 reviews from this member

I can't give this site a full review yet as we only used the site as a stop over (arrived at 6pm and left at 7. 45am) however the fact that the kids and I can't wait to go back is in itself a good review.

There is a warden on site which is important for me and this, and the fact that entry to the country park is included, does reflect on the price. However despite not visiting the park the close proximity to Reading made this price worth paying.

The pitches are scattered through the forest and are a good size. It was quiet when we visited (hardly surprising in march) however there are lots of pitches and the toilet block may struggle in the height of summer.

Looking forward to a repeat visit this year to properly appreciate the site.

Previous     90 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Berkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2661 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019