Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of California Chalet And Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Berkshire > Finchampstead > California Chalet And Touring Park > Reviews

California Chalet And Touring Park
Nine Mile Ride
Finchampstead
Berkshire   (Browse area)
RG40 4HU
Tel: 0118 973 3928
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 38
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 51 Reviews
                7/10 from 51 Reviews

Photos (30)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  51 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: February 2024 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Doulajulie 57 reviews from this member

 Well maintained site in a lovely location. Most staff are friendly, reception staff very welcoming.

Loved walking around the country park. Shower temperature was warm, cold, warm, cold, changing almost every second!

Need a mat to wipe feet by door of bathrooms & more hooks on doors, there are none on the toilet doors.

The beauty of the woodland site is significantly marred by many old and poorly maintained caravans parked on random pitches with touring guests in between, most were covered in green, clearly been there a long time. Builders were swearing in the bathrooms.

Site is too expensive for what it offers, we paid £35 a pitch in February.

Not all pitches are big enough for a van, awning and car.

We enjoyed a visited Holme Grange craft village, the chocolate cafe was excellent. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrwhippy1954 45 reviews from this member

 This site is located next to a country park and lake which offers extensive walks.

The site is tidy with well appointed pitches of a good size.

So the site is fine and located in a good location.

But is it value for money? In my opinion for £39 a night the answer is no.

The facilities are fine but nothing special, no WiFi, these are things I would be expect for the money 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Myramc 1 review from this member

 There's no WIFI or TV signal, so take a DVD player.

Shower block was not cleaned very well and the female showers had mould on the tiles - good job we had our own shower.

There was no hot water to wash your hands in the gents toilets (pressed the tap 10 times, no joy).

Felt like being in a commune as there seemed to be quite a few permanent residents with vans and cars.

Not easy siting the caravan if you haven't got a mover - the 2 pitches opposite us had cars and trailers parked right up to the edge of the pitch, so not much room to manoeuvre.

It is close to a large playground and so can be very noisy, especially weekends.

On the positive side, there were nice walks near the campsite and it's not far from Windsor, Oxford, Henley on Thames and London. 


Date of Visit: December 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Thepea 1 review from this member

 Book online and confirmed by phone call to site.

They were so accommodating as we needed specific dates as we were attending a funeral having travelled down from the Highlands in Scotland.

Easy check in when we arrived

Pitch was really clean and tidy with waste disposal and electric on pitch.

Toilet/shower block was warm, cosy and clean

Washing up facilities available

Beautiful, clean, quiet site.

Really enjoyed our stay 


Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mikeh7 2 reviews from this member

 An absolute jewel of a site in a lovely location, an SSSI with woodland and heathland walks.

The campsite is nicely laid out along the side of a lake with water fowl everywhere.

There is a children's park, an outdoor swimming pool and a cafe within a short walk from the campsite. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: December 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lisalisalisalisa 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely peaceful site.

Great facilities, showers were clean and warm.

Nice walks and local shops. Staff were very welcoming and helpful.

I think it was a little bit expensive at £35 a night. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sperf5 1 review from this member

 Well kept site, we enjoyed our stay and will defo come back in the future.

Good facilities and great size pitches.

Helpful staff.

Lovely and peaceful setting. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Johnan 1 review from this member

 This complex is beautiful, well maintained and relaxing. We stayed for one night however wish we had booked for longer.

We stayed in plot 20 which has easy access to all amenities.

The staff were friendly and helpful and the local walk paths were nice for families of all ages.

The pitches are a decent size and well maintained.

Will def go back as this is a lovely little get away where you can relax 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: TeamGray 12 reviews from this member

 Pleasantly surprised. After reading the other reviews I was expecting the worse and even bought my own anti bac wipes to clean facilities if necessary!

Arrival was great. Given fob for electric gate and made to feel welcome. Pitches were immaculate and grass was well kept. We were given a fully serviced pitch on shingle (most of them are). I wish we had asked to move to a different pitch though as ours was under a lovely oak tree. Wind, Autumn and acorns landing on roof all nigh was not the best.

There were other pitches free. So didn’t get a lot of sleep and had a grumpy husband! Tv reception good and local fish and chip shop great. Shower block a little dated but it was clean when we arrived. Anti bac gel available by the front door. Washing up areas were clean although timer on lights needed adjusting.

Very peaceful site surrounded by pine trees. I did feel like I was in California (minus the bears!). We took our bikes and there is great pathways around the country park and lake. Park was only 5 min walk away. Cafe in country park was a bonus. Our teenagers loved going off on their bikes to explore.

There were a few camping pitches with a view of the lake and the pods looked great. Will definitely come again. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ben.E 13 reviews from this member

 Great location next to country park All hard standing pitches have been relaid and of good size Friendly staff

Sadly the toilet facilities were not very clean and not cleaned regularly which is astounding as this was first week “open” after lockdown for tourers so we used our own “onboard”facilities 
via mobile


Previous     51 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is California Chalet And Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to California Chalet And Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is California Chalet And Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Finchampstead      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Berkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3128 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement