Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of California Chalet And Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Berkshire > Finchampstead > California Chalet And Touring Park > Reviews

California Chalet And Touring Park
Nine Mile Ride
Finchampstead
Berkshire   (Browse area)
RG40 4HU
Tel: 0118 973 3928
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 38
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 46 Reviews
                7/10 from 46 Reviews

Photos (30)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: December 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lisalisalisalisa 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely peaceful site.

Great facilities, showers were clean and warm.

Nice walks and local shops. Staff were very welcoming and helpful.

I think it was a little bit expensive at £35 a night. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sperf5 1 review from this member

 Well kept site, we enjoyed our stay and will defo come back in the future.

Good facilities and great size pitches.

Helpful staff.

Lovely and peaceful setting. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Johnan 1 review from this member

 This complex is beautiful, well maintained and relaxing. We stayed for one night however wish we had booked for longer.

We stayed in plot 20 which has easy access to all amenities.

The staff were friendly and helpful and the local walk paths were nice for families of all ages.

The pitches are a decent size and well maintained.

Will def go back as this is a lovely little get away where you can relax 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: TeamGray 12 reviews from this member

 Pleasantly surprised. After reading the other reviews I was expecting the worse and even bought my own anti bac wipes to clean facilities if necessary!

Arrival was great. Given fob for electric gate and made to feel welcome. Pitches were immaculate and grass was well kept. We were given a fully serviced pitch on shingle (most of them are). I wish we had asked to move to a different pitch though as ours was under a lovely oak tree. Wind, Autumn and acorns landing on roof all nigh was not the best.

There were other pitches free. So didn’t get a lot of sleep and had a grumpy husband! Tv reception good and local fish and chip shop great. Shower block a little dated but it was clean when we arrived. Anti bac gel available by the front door. Washing up areas were clean although timer on lights needed adjusting.

Very peaceful site surrounded by pine trees. I did feel like I was in California (minus the bears!). We took our bikes and there is great pathways around the country park and lake. Park was only 5 min walk away. Cafe in country park was a bonus. Our teenagers loved going off on their bikes to explore.

There were a few camping pitches with a view of the lake and the pods looked great. Will definitely come again. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ben.E 12 reviews from this member

 Great location next to country park All hard standing pitches have been relaid and of good size Friendly staff

Sadly the toilet facilities were not very clean and not cleaned regularly which is astounding as this was first week “open” after lockdown for tourers so we used our own “onboard”facilities 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Keiths 1 review from this member

 The site is beautifully laid out and is located next to a large lake ideal for a 30 minute dog walk and with a lovely cafeteria half way around.

The staff are helpful, friendly and approachable.

The only bad point is the state of the toilets and showers. They would benefit from a deep clean and a regular cleaning programme. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Camperman2112 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed there Easter weekend with my partner and child. Beautiful surrounding. Staff very helpful, in and out of hours.

Touring pitches very well serviced and fully maintained hard standing. Toilet facilities cleaned on a daily basis.

Overall stay excellent. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bushybushkins 1 review from this member

 Picturesque on the pictures and sound lovely but looks can be deceiving. Lovely place for camp vans and caravans (pitches very small and close together) but not very good for camping. This could be a lovely place if they made a few improvements.

They are doing a lot of building work on the pitches to make them better for caravans, more hardstanding pitches and better drainage. You may get disturbed by noise of wagons arriving on site with hardcore or diggers.

Our camping pitch was very small and in between two caravans as we needed a hook-up. Also noticed further down other tents right on top of each other literally enough room to put their guy ropes out. Luckily we got on with our neighbours as it's also not very clear where pitches start and finish and site owners leave place to itself most of the time so no one around to ask (we arrived bank holiday Monday).

Toilets and showers ok, and free. However, 2 days we were there, mud up the walls left by a selfish user and toilets and block not cleaned for these 2 days. There are 3 showers in ladies and 3 toilets. Nice to have a free hair dryer too. Easy to keep clean but didn't think it was always cleaned properly and not all toilets also not always topped up with loo paper regularly.

Showers are always very hot and no way of adjusting temperature, so watch out for your little ones. The showers would be nicer if you could have them on a longer timer as they are currently like a very short swimming pool button one, go off far too soon! There are hooks in cubicles but no seat or bench and nowhere to put your shower stuff in the shower. Would be nice if they thought of these little touches like other places!

Also there is only one drain in the showers so water from the other two showers runs into the third one, ok if you like sharing with other people’s dirty water! There is also a family room with a shower and this is restricted by a Digi lock.

There are two sinks for washing dishes with nice hot water, and a light at night, but no bowls or disk drainers to stack plates etc. There is also a laundry room with large washing machine (£3 per load) and tumble dryer (20p min load), ironing board/iron and a sink for hand washing (very useful). This is open 24 hours.

There is a small shop selling basic camping essentials but we didn't use this as there are shops and takeaways just up the road from the campsite with everything.

We did find being wooded and near the lake a lot of insects so take your repellent as we got bitten a bit. More worryingly we did see a lot of rats in the daytime hanging around the site. Also don't leave anything out and contain things in your tent to prevent rats - we left a plastic container out with hot chocolate one night and they gnawed through it. Also next door saw one in the day time lurking around the bbq. We did see traps but I don't think they are allowed to put poison down as someone said they were humane ones. I don't think these were working very well!

Around the site it was very quiet as nearly everyone in a caravan. However, with the building work going on you may get noise from wagons arriving with hard-core diggers starting in the morning. This didn't bother us as we get up at 8 am. Lots of people seem to have a pitch for the whole season and leave the caravans.

You seem to be left to your own devices as never met the owner, they don't come round at all or check to see if you are ok. They run a self-service system for arrivals out of normal working hours. They don't seem to be there much although when we arrived and rang the number on the gate to get in they did answer straight away, to let us know where to pick up our envelope.

Kids seemed happy with the site, and lots of woodland around for them to play in. They also went around the park on their bikes and played in the trees. (lots of places to make dens). Seemed fairly safe for them to roam. Although there is a lake there all around so be careful with young ones who can't swim - don't leave them !

The adjoining park had a lovely adventure play area with lots of things to climb on including a pirate ship. It is open all the time and we went one night after dinner. There is also a paddling pool but this is only open in summer months.

Overall it's a basic campsite, nice location but could do with more thought and a bit of warmth from the owners. We only wanted hot water and toilets and we paid £25 per night for 2 adults&2 kids with a hook-up for our tent during whit week.

Out and about there is an amazing park - Bracknall nearby which has tons of things to do. An amazing free play area, tons of cycle paths. Go Ape, café and lots more. Parking is £2 for 4 hours, but go early as its so popular you can't find a space! We went with our bikes and had a fun day out on the paths.

We’d go again if we had a caravan but wouldn't return with a tent. I'd more rather pay a bit more and go somewhere else with larger pitches and no rats. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Leonard71 6 reviews from this member

 Our group of six families have been camping together for several years now and usually stay as a big group in Wallingford, but we were a bit slow getting booked so needed another site. With California just up the road from a couple of of us and the other side of Reading from the rest it seemed the perfect spot. We have a mixture of large and medium sized tents and our old VW Camper to accommodate, so booked through the campsite giving all the sizes. We were assured that we'd all be together and have plenty of space.

On arrival the first of our group was told the site had made a mistake and only reserved four pitches together and not six. The fifth pitch for our camper would be on the other side of the site and the sixth was forgotten completely. They had also not taken the 10 children into account with our booking. So not a good start.

They moved our Camper next to the others and gave us space either side of the other pitches to attempt to fit us in. It was really difficult to figure out where the pitches actually were, letter boards were on the back fence but seemed to be crammed together a lot. Being stuck at the end of the site on the rough dirt under the trees it felt like the site didn't really want tents on site. The caravan plots had fresh gravel standings with lush green grass all around them with plenty of space to put the chairs out.

The facilities were a bit hit and miss. When we arrived I had to get out and find somebody in reception who didn't really seem interested and waved me in and told me to just head to the back of the site. Electric hook up was right by us and worked fine.

There was a hunt for fresh water, every caravan had its own mains water supply, but there was nothing for the tents, we eventually found a tap behind the fire point near us, but nothing was labelled or pointed out.

A map would have been nice. Bins were a fair walk from us and left open all the time, luckily it wasn't too hot. The toilet block was clean enough most of the time, but lacked paper on Saturday morning along with any hot water for the early risers.

With just four showers and two toilets in the gents there was usually a wait when ever you needed them. The family room looked promising for the evening teeth clean with the kids, but was locked and no code to be found.

During the day we opted to walk round to the country park next door and really enjoyed the tree lined walk and the playground and paddling pool for the kids. Lunch was from the cafe and we ended up spending most of the day round there.

Being local we knew of a good takeaway that would deliver to the campsite for Friday and the local farm shop provided meat for the BBQ on saturday.

We enjoyed our weekend, but there were too many compromises to be made. Its not geared up to what we need. The 10 children in our group had to play on the road way at the end of the site. The facilities lack compare to what we are used to from other sites. Its a shame, but we will not be returning to the site in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lucicrisp 1 review from this member

 We visited California Park in August this year intending to spend 2 nights over a weekend, ended up going home after one as the weather closed in. We had provided the size of our tent prior to booking and were advised that the right size pitch would be available.

On arrival, we were directed to a space with 3 pitches on, which on most other campsites would have been just one pitch. Had we not been camping with friends it really would have been too close for comfort and there wasn't enough room for the car in between.

The pitch itself was really boggy, and with the amount of rain we had, turned into a Glasto-esque mud patch after one night. The site itself is small and pretty and the California park and paddling pool nearby is lovely.

However, on the site there is no room for ball games or running around, so I wouldn't really describe it as child friendly. The toilets/showers were a bit limited (3 or 4 showers I think?) but were mostly kept clean.

Overall I don't think we would go back - it was very expensive considering the size of the pitch, and the space available. 


Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is California Chalet And Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to California Chalet And Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is California Chalet And Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Finchampstead      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Berkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3837 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement