Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - California Chalet & Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Berkshire > Wokingham > California Chalet & Touring Park Reviews

California Chalet & Touring Park
Nine Mile Ride
Finchampstead
Wokingham
Berkshire   (Browse area)
RG40 4HU
Tel: 0118 973 3928
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 38
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 40 Reviews
                7/10 from 40 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 1 mile 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Camperman2112 2 reviews from this member

Stayed there Easter weekend with my partner and child. Beautiful surrounding. Staff very helpful, in and out of hours. Touring pitches very well serviced and fully maintained hard standing. Toilet facilities cleaned on a daily basis. Overall stay excellent.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bushybushkins 1 review from this member

Picturesque on the pictures and sound lovely but looks can be deceiving. Lovely place for camp vans and caravans (pitches very small and close together) but not very good for camping. This could be a lovely place if they made a few improvements.

They are doing a lot of building work on the pitches to make them better for caravans, more hardstanding pitches and better drainage. You may get disturbed by noise of wagons arriving on site with hardcore or diggers.

Our camping pitch was very small and in between two caravans as we needed a hook-up. Also noticed further down other tents right on top of each other literally enough room to put their guy ropes out. Luckily we got on with our neighbours as it's also not very clear where pitches start and finish and site owners leave place to itself most of the time so no one around to ask (we arrived bank holiday Monday).

Toilets and showers ok, and free. However, 2 days we were there, mud up the walls left by a selfish user and toilets and block not cleaned for these 2 days. There are 3 showers in ladies and 3 toilets. Nice to have a free hair dryer too. Easy to keep clean but didn't think it was always cleaned properly and not all toilets also not always topped up with loo paper regularly. Showers are always very hot and no way of adjusting temperature, so watch out for your little ones. The showers would be nicer if you could have them on a longer timer as they are currently like a very short swimming pool button one, go off far too soon! There are hooks in cubicles but no seat or bench and nowhere to put your shower stuff in the shower. Would be nice if they thought of these little touches like other places! Also there is only one drain in the showers so water from the other two showers runs into the third one, ok if you like sharing with other people’s dirty water! There is also a family room with a shower and this is restricted by a Digi lock.

There are two sinks for washing dishes with nice hot water, and a light at night, but no bowls or disk drainers to stack plates etc. There is also a laundry room with large washing machine (£3 per load) and tumble dryer (20p min load), ironing board/iron and a sink for hand washing (very useful). This is open 24 hours.

There is a small shop selling basic camping essentials but we didn't use this as there are shops and takeaways just up the road from the campsite with everything.

We did find being wooded and near the lake a lot of insects so take your repellent as we got bitten a bit. More worryingly we did see a lot of rats in the daytime hanging around the site. Also don't leave anything out and contain things in your tent to prevent rats - we left a plastic container out with hot chocolate one night and they gnawed through it. Also next door saw one in the day time lurking around the bbq. We did see traps but I don't think they are allowed to put poison down as someone said they were humane ones. I don't think these were working very well!

Around the site it was very quiet as nearly everyone in a caravan. However, with the building work going on you may get noise from wagons arriving with hard-core diggers starting in the morning. This didn't bother us as we get up at 8 am. Lots of people seem to have a pitch for the whole season and leave the caravans. You seem to be left to your own devices as never met the owner, they don't come round at all or check to see if you are ok. They run a self-service system for arrivals out of normal working hours. They don't seem to be there much although when we arrived and rang the number on the gate to get in they did answer straight away, to let us know where to pick up our envelope.

Kids seemed happy with the site, and lots of woodland around for them to play in. They also went around the park on their bikes and played in the trees. (lots of places to make dens). Seemed fairly safe for them to roam. Although there is a lake there all around so be careful with young ones who can't swim - don't leave them ! The adjoining park had a lovely adventure play area with lots of things to climb on including a pirate ship. It is open all the time and we went one night after dinner. There is also a paddling pool but this is only open in summer months.

Overall it's a basic campsite, nice location but could do with more thought and a bit of warmth from the owners. We only wanted hot water and toilets and we paid £25 per night for 2 adults&2 kids with a hook-up for our tent during whit week.

Out and about there is an amazing park - Bracknall nearby which has tons of things to do. An amazing free play area, tons of cycle paths. Go Ape, café and lots more. Parking is £2 for 4 hours, but go early as its so popular you can't find a space! We went with our bikes and had a fun day out on the paths.

We’d go again if we had a caravan but wouldn't return with a tent. I'd more rather pay a bit more and go somewhere else with larger pitches and no rats.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Leonard71 6 reviews from this member

Our group of six families have been camping together for several years now and usually stay as a big group in Wallingford, but we were a bit slow getting booked so needed another site. With California just up the road from a couple of of us and the other side of Reading from the rest it seemed the perfect spot. We have a mixture of large and medium sized tents and our old VW Camper to accommodate, so booked through the campsite giving all the sizes. We were assured that we'd all be together and have plenty of space.

On arrival the first of our group was told the site had made a mistake and only reserved four pitches together and not six. The fifth pitch for our camper would be on the other side of the site and the sixth was forgotten completely. They had also not taken the 10 children into account with our booking. So not a good start.

They moved our Camper next to the others and gave us space either side of the other pitches to attempt to fit us in. It was really difficult to figure out where the pitches actually were, letter boards were on the back fence but seemed to be crammed together a lot. Being stuck at the end of the site on the rough dirt under the trees it felt like the site didn't really want tents on site. The caravan plots had fresh gravel standings with lush green grass all around them with plenty of space to put the chairs out.

The facilities were a bit hit and miss. When we arrived I had to get out and find somebody in reception who didn't really seem interested and waved me in and told me to just head to the back of the site. Electric hook up was right by us and worked fine. There was a hunt for fresh water, every caravan had its own mains water supply, but there was nothing for the tents, we eventually found a tap behind the fire point near us, but nothing was labelled or pointed out. A map would have been nice. Bins were a fair walk from us and left open all the time, luckily it wasn't too hot. The toilet block was clean enough most of the time, but lacked paper on Saturday morning along with any hot water for the early risers. With just four showers and two toilets in the gents there was usually a wait when ever you needed them. The family room looked promising for the evening teeth clean with the kids, but was locked and no code to be found.

During the day we opted to walk round to the country park next door and really enjoyed the tree lined walk and the playground and paddling pool for the kids. Lunch was from the cafe and we ended up spending most of the day round there.

Being local we knew of a good takeaway that would deliver to the campsite for Friday and the local farm shop provided meat for the BBQ on saturday.

We enjoyed our weekend, but there were too many compromises to be made. Its not geared up to what we need. The 10 children in our group had to play on the road way at the end of the site. The facilities lack compare to what we are used to from other sites. Its a shame, but we will not be returning to the site in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lucicrisp 1 review from this member

We visited California Park in August this year intending to spend 2 nights over a weekend, ended up going home after one as the weather closed in. We had provided the size of our tent prior to booking and were advised that the right size pitch would be available. On arrival, we were directed to a space with 3 pitches on, which on most other campsites would have been just one pitch. Had we not been camping with friends it really would have been too close for comfort and there wasn't enough room for the car in between.

The pitch itself was really boggy, and with the amount of rain we had, turned into a Glasto-esque mud patch after one night. The site itself is small and pretty and the California park and paddling pool nearby is lovely. However, on the site there is no room for ball games or running around, so I wouldn't really describe it as child friendly. The toilets/showers were a bit limited (3 or 4 showers I think?) but were mostly kept clean.

Overall I don't think we would go back - it was very expensive considering the size of the pitch, and the space available.

Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: SecondLife 13 reviews from this member

We booked for 3 nights and had specifically asked if tv reception was ok and it was confirmed that it was. Arrived and had to ring for someone to come and let us in, waited an age for them to print off a map, asked for a bus timetable but told they did not have any. Found pitch which while hardstanding you had to drive over very boggy ground to get to it, water tap was taped together, drainage blocked. Absolutely no tv reception at all. We went to London for a day as there is an excellent train service from Wokingham, arrived but after dark, no lighting on the park, made for an interesting time reaching our motorhome. Only good point was the shower block which looked to be new but the toilets and showers are small (and I am not big). Came home after 2 nights, told reception and they didn't ask for any reason, not even said goodbye, just opened the gate.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Fish girl 2 reviews from this member

My family and I stayed here for a week. The first day was a nightmare first they tried to give me the chalet and then was sent to another site to get our fishing tickets which they would not sell to us however everything was sorted out and the staff were very helpful in sorting these things out for us and was allowed to fish the first day and night free of charge. The chalet was small but very accommodating and comfortable but lacks on cooking utensils. When it came to the fishing we blanked when it came to the carp but got about 200 perch over the week. The walks are amazing very beautiful a real haven for the wild life. The country park was a bit noisy during the day but didn't mind the sound of all the children having fun over there. There is something for everyone young or old. The toilet and shower block are very clean and well kept. The laundrette was ok but they could do with more than one machine. The shop was rarely open during the day though yet opening hours are 9 to 5 Monday to Friday. There are some local shops just down the road with friendly staff and the local town is just a 5 minute drive away. I had really enjoyable stay here and would recommend to anyone who likes camping or staying in a chalet and who wants a relaxing time.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Xl250alan 4 reviews from this member

The site was a little tight getting into with a big caravan and upon arrival had to find our own pitch as the one we were allocated had a caravan on it. The location itself was nice and the toilet block had recently been refurbished. There seemed to be a lot of working guys permanently sited and while we didn't have any problems it let the site down a little. Overall the site seemed a little tired. There were plenty of good supermarkets etc within a few miles of the site.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Raidarray 2 reviews from this member

We visited California Park for the Bank Holiday weekend and I must say, we weren't disappointed. The park has recently been refurbished and has excellent toilet facilities. Our pitch (No2) was a little tight to get the van into but was 'lakeside' and offered excellent views; albeit not suitable for travellers with toddlers due to the proximity to the water. The approach to the park is a little narrow leaving little room for larger vans. I would also recommend taking decent length EHC as the post was on the furthest opposite side of the pitch.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MotorhomeChris1958 1 review from this member

I recently stayed at California Park for a total of 18 days due to work commitments.

First I would like to thank them for the excellent customer service they provided and the help they provided in setting me up.

The park is a beautiful place to visit set within the woods. It was the most relaxing 18 days in a very long time (not including work).

The shower block has just been refurbished and looks amazing. The showers are free; although you can't adjust the temperature they are warm enough.

Overall I had a wonderful experience and will be visiting again in the future.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fleurcat 3 reviews from this member

Fantastic site, with really clean wash blocks. The staff, were really friendly and very helpful. There are pretty walks around the lake. The campsite is really well looked after, the dog was made very welcome, all the people staying there seemed to be enjoying their stay. Would love to come back very soon!

Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Berkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3104 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019