Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cambridge Cherry Hinton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge > Cambridge Cherry Hinton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Cambridge Cherry Hinton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Lime Kiln Rd
Cherry Hinton
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
CB1 8NQ
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 67
Open: 10/01/2024 to 04/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 69 Reviews
                8/10 from 69 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  69 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Crispy 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite, well maintained, quiet.

Very nice wash block, convenient for access to Cambridge. Lots to do in the area.

The quarry/nature reserve within 5 mins walk is also worth a visit.

Don't be deceived by the sat nav which will bring you through tiny residential roads, take the long way round to get there, it's much easier! 


Date of Visit: November 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: JJ100 30 reviews from this member

 Site well kept and facilities clean and warm. Had to drive over a pitch size area of grass, which was getting muddy, to get on to hardstanding.

I had estimated arrival time as 3-4pm on the booking form. The booking confirmation stated ring the site if you expect to arrive after 8pm. We were not going to be that late so my understanding was I had no need to ring them.

However about 4. 30 we got a call from a lady site warden which felt a bit like a telling off for not being there at estimated time and I was told the reception closed at 5pm! Perhaps they should get their paperwork in order and tell people ring before 5pm.

We finally arrived 6. 30pm after a dreadful journey and we were checked in efficiently by a man but not particularly in friendly manner. It did spoil the feel of the place for us.

However I did get a pleasant wave from a different warden on leaving the site. Donít think we will use again as this is the only CMC site that I have seen this kind of attitude. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Dk168 48 reviews from this member

 Returned to this CAMC Club Site for a 4-night work-related trip, and it was as lovely as my last stay.

The grounds of the site was very well-maintained, with very clean facilities, and the staff were very helpful and knowledgeable.

The disused chalk mine just around the corner from the site was great for dog walking.

The food and drink at the Robin Hood pub (Green King) were fine, however, service was a bit haphazard as it was busy on the night I went there with my colleagues and friends.

The site stocked very basic provisions (no milk for example) mainly due to having a number of shops just a short walk from the site. A large supermarket was only about a mile away where there was a 24h fuel station (card only pay at machine type). However, they did stock essential items for caravanning and motor-homing.

Groceries (Iceland for an impromptu get together meal with a couple of friends) could be delivered outside the gates by the Reception area, however, the vans would not be allowed to drive into the site which was understandable.

My friends were able to drive to my pitch and parked next to my van without any charge (thank you).

Club Wi-Fi had not reached this site yet, and there was a hot spot near the Reception area. However, EE appeared to have good coverage, and so was Smarty for my Mi-Fi.

All in all, a very pleasant stay, and I shall definitely return. 


Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Pandmg 4 reviews from this member

 A long site slightly narrower than most so no turning circle available with a caravan hooked up,

Usual well kept facilities, as with all C&MC sites,

Park and ride quickest in to the city, walking to the park and ride is possible but there is a lack of footpath and walking at night not recommended, so many bikes and e scooters in the city you have to keep alert, Traffic in the city is one of the worst I have seen. 


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Up10s 5 reviews from this member

 We have a VW Campervan and awning and our foot print is about 7m x 5m. This caused a bit of rearrangement when we arrived as we seem to be bigger than the average Campervan set up but it was quickly resolved and we ended up on a lovely grass pitch by the woods. We were able to watch deer and rabbits through our fly netting without being spotted by our subjects!

The facilities were excellent with several refuse areas, MSPs and water points (grey and potable water). The main block contained male, female and disabled shower, toilet and vanity units. The female block had 5 showers, 4 vanity cubicles, 2 hair dryers and 6 toilets (although 2 waiting spare parts so closed). Confusingly, this was accessed through the washing up area which concerned a few of the men or did the architect reckon washing up was for women? It so, I want a word! I believe the mens facilities were similar. There were laundry facilities too and an information hut located by the entrance barriers.

The Number 3 bus was a short walk away opposite the Robin Hood pub. For £2 each way, this gave access to Cambridge city which is about 3-4 miles away. We walked in one day but wanted to visit galleries along the route so it made sense to do it that way. Over the road is a disused chalk quarry which is accessible to the public and looks like a good place to exercise dogs and children.

We originally booked for 2 nights but thought the site was so good that we booked a third night on line and retained our pitch. There is plenty to do in Cambridge. We optimistically brought road bikes but didn't have time to use them. Hey ho, we will just have to come back another time!

Friendly staff and a friendly campsite. It is the largest we have stayed on so we were a little nervous about how it would go. Needless to say, it all went better than anticipated. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Coopertroopers 74 reviews from this member

 Well maintained site with friendly wardens.

It is a short walk to the town with a couple of pubs.

We cycled into Cambridge which was very easy going and cycle paths most of the way - lovely city and will most likely return to see it again. 


Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Crispy 2 reviews from this member

 What a delightful site. Staff very friendly, pitches clear and level, absolutely amazing wash block.

Lots of hot water, powerful showers and sparklingly clean. Ditto washing up area and laundry.

Surrounded by wonderful woods and walks, and easy access to Cambridge.

We will definitely stay again, and next time we'll stay longer. 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pca1958 76 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 4 nights in June. A lovely site staffed by helpful and cheerful wardens, on the site of an old chalk pit. This helps with the charm as there different levels and areas within the site where the pitches are placed.

Facilities were always clean and well kept. Only observation was that the pitches whilst mostly flat, were themselves a little untidy and unkempt, with bald patches of grass and hardstandings quite weedy and tatty.

Having said that, everything else was ok. 2 pubs near to site (both had nice gardens for evening drinks), bus service (No 3) to Cambridge every 20m from a stop 10m walk away, Tesco Express in Cherry Hinton, plenty of takeaways that delivered, Tv signal ok, 4g signal ok and wifi good.

Had a nice walk into Grantchester from Cambridge, and stopped at the Orchard tea rooms. Lovely setting, food and drink on the side of a high price.

Also went to IWM Duxford with MH. If you are into aviation definitely worth a visit.

Would I return, yes as the positives far outweigh the negative 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Roella 1 review from this member

 Nice clean site with a lovely warm toilet and shower block.

A short walk to the shops and pubs in Cherry Hinton.

We walked and cycled to the amazing Fens and Nature Reserves in the area! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Louiejr01 2 reviews from this member

 Super place to stay, great access for city, bus stop just outside.

Very helpful and knowledgeable staff,

Immaculate grounds and facilities

Would definitely come back

Thank you 
via mobile


Previous     69 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cambridge Cherry Hinton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cambridge Cherry Hinton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Cambridge Cherry Hinton Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cambridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


58654 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement