Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Embers Camping Beaulieu

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Beaulieu > Embers Camping Beaulieu Reviews

CLOSED: Embers Camping Beaulieu
Hazel Copse Farm, Hatchet Lane
New Forest
Beaulieu
Hampshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 30 Reviews
                8/10 from 30 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DT-campers 2 reviews from this member

 Large field next to a busy road. This is NOT camping in the forest but camping in a field next to a very busy road which woke me at 3 a. M. As many HGVs use the B3054. If you are used to road noise this wont bother you!

The plus points

New clean shower and toilet block

10 minute walk to Beaulieu village

Friendly staff

The minus points

Next to a noisy road

2 small sinks to wash up

No shade at all

Conclusion

There are better site where you can have a camp fire for less money and further away from busy roads. Would not recommend 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Janetdrew 3 reviews from this member

 Just back from a lovely 4 night stay. The brand new shower block was amazing - seriously, the showers were much better than ours at home (no timed buttons to press, and you can adjust the temp to suit yourself). They are not finished though ie mirrors went up on day 2, there are no toilet roll holders, and no where dry apart from 1 hook to put your stuff whilst you shower. You can't adjust the temp of the sink taps though & they could really do with danger - boiling hot water signs! The staff were very friendly & helpful, although didn't seem to have a huge amount of local knowledge (couldn't recommend a beach etc). The field is very spacious and although cars were encouraged to be left in a car park near the toilets, no one told us off for taking ours in when it was too full of children and all their paraphernalia!. Don't bother using the carts to unload your entire life - just take the car in on the first day at least! (We dragged all our stuff across the field and then our friends arrived and were told they were allowed to drive in!) There is loads of space and the kids roamed about safely. We were disappointed that we couldn't book the farm tour as apparently no staff were available (during entire bank holiday weekend in half term!). It was quite a long walk to the toilets, and the camping field had loads of pot holes, so expect to repeatedly twist your ankle and fall over. Would not be ideal for anyone with mobility issues. The grass was quite long so wouldn't be suitable for kids to cycle on. The walk to Beaulieu is through fields, and whilst it was lovely, it could have been anywhere. Same goes for the site actually - great field / farm campsite, but it wasn't really what I was expecting from the New Forest (ie it was not forest camping, but field camping). The firepits were great - if you want to cook on them take a disposable BBQ or a grill shelf to put food on (propped up on logs) as it's literally a container to burn logs in. The farm shop sells great meat, cheese, bread etc ideal for making a BBQ or picnic, but not a great deal of practical camping essentials (eg pasta & sauce, cereal etc). In Brockenhurst there was a Sainsburys local & a small Tesco opposite each other though. We did day trips to Avon beach (lovely and sandy) and Mudeford Quay (just along the coast) where the older kids loved crabbing. Also did the Stickman trail at Bolderwood Arboretum which the kids enjoyed. We also enjoyed the Tall Trees Trail at Blackwater Arboretum (including 3 kids under 4 with no pushchair!). Using google maps with live traffic updates was brilliant at avoiding traffic jams in Lyndhurst for example! We took earplugs but weren't really bothered by noise, it was quite a small site with loads of families, and everyone seemed considerate of each other - I did hear some seagulls early this morning actually! Overall it was quite pricey in retrospect, but we enjoyed our stay & we're very lucky with the weather :-) PS All older reviews refer to a different field and the previous shower blocks which have now been replaced. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vangoforce10 2 reviews from this member

 Camping was in a field or in the adjacent orchard with a fire pit supplied. Very nice, with helpful friendly staff. However, for 65 a night for a family of 5 this is a very expensive site for what you get. There are 4 showers in a pretty shabby shower unit. Grubby and small. Only 2 pot washing sinks, again grubby and dated. These blocks were about 100m from the camping area. Seems to me I was fleeced for the privilege of having a fire and a few farm animals in a paddock. I have paid a lot less and still been able to enjoy a fire at other sites. Road noise from the very busy Beaulieu Road was very apparent and did distract a little 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Malleville 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for a weekend with two grandsons, to introduce them to camping, and to re-acquaint ourselves with a hobby from a lifetime ago. Embers was the ideal place for such an introduction. From the start, when the girl on reception remembered us from a site-checking visit six weeks before, right up to the end, when the same girl asked our views on the site, virtually everything was perfect.

The pitches were good - slightly sloping ground, each pitch with its own fire-basket, set between young fruit trees and sheltered by a belt of mature trees - and there was a huge field adjoining, where the boys could kick a football around.

The bags of logs were enough for an evening's fire, and the 'feed-the-animals' visit was well worth the 3. 00 a head charge: the boys learned the food-chain reality of life as a calf, lamb, piglet, chicken or goat, and they had hands-n experience of mucking out, collecting eggs and even milking a goat.

The site is handy enough for Beaulieu (shops, tearooms and the pricey Motor Museum), though the chip-shop, supermarket and roadside pub call for a car.

If there is one trivial minus, it would be the walk to the toilets: fair enough for a morning wash and shower, but a bit of a trek in the middle of the night!

Leaving the car in the car-park is a definite bonus: we had thought from other reviews that we would have to lug our heavy 4-6 man tent over several hundred yards, but we were able to take the car almost right up to the tent site. With no cars around, the pitches are 100% safe.

Embers is very much a family site. We were not only, perhaps the oldest people on site, but our foursome was one of the smallest groups.

Definitely recommended for a future return visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Darren27k 1 review from this member

 Bit of a mixed review from me. I really liked a lot of the elements of this campsite, but there were a few things that would put me off going again (may not bother you dear reader).

Firstly, things I liked and worked well. This is a very child friendly campsite with a great play area and garden that the kids can run around in. There were also lots of other children the days we were there so the atmosphere was very relaxed and friendly, also a few adult only groups who all seemed to be enjoying the weekend. Really helpful staff and the ability to feed the farm animals was a fun treat.

What I didn't like so much was the distance to walk to the toilets & showers, not too far in the daytime but the midnight loo dash was pretty uncomfortable. Also, intermittent hot water, at one point there was nothing coming out of the hot tap (not even cold water) and while the showers were clean and well maintained the lack of a tap to control the flow and temperature was really annoying, especially when washing with my son who isn't a fan of showers, in the end we gave up and went without a shower for the rest of our stay. This is the reason for the overall 7 out of 10 (still good on the NPS) 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Graemeho 6 reviews from this member

 A nice family friendly site. Especially excellent if you are fairly new to camping and looking for a civilised yet more natural camping experience.

The fire pits ( for each pitch ) were the highlight of the site, along with a good location for the New Forest on the entrance to Beaulieu.

Many folks were there for the minimum of 2 days. Most had young children. It was nice to see the excitement. Behaviour was all round excellent.

The young couple who run the site were good, efficient and very friendly and helpful. Farm was interesting, even for my teenager.

Beyond previously mentioned Tesco express a mile further on in Hyde is a Waitrose. Fish and chip shop near Tesco express is bit run down but food good. Pubs in the area were all OK / standard fare.

Downsides: for the premium price the site charges the facilities are minimal. Although were generally clean and water always hot.

The pitches were slightly sloped but not too bad, however a little close together in the orchard for family camping size tents. Was hoping for a bit more space given the premium nature of the marketing. Fine for normal trekking tents or small groups.

As stated no cars allowed onto the camp field, which I liked, especially with little ones around. Hand pull trolleys provided to transport camping gear. I can imagine ground gets very soft when it rains a lot.

Overall, camping delivers great memories when you have consistent good weather and a roaring fire pit to sit around with your family ! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mariageorgiou 1 review from this member

 We had high hopes for Embers considering the price we paid - much more than we've paid previously for a camping weekend (100 for the family for two nights). Overall we weren't disappointed. It's perfectly situated for stunning New Forest walks and cycle rides, the fact that it's on a working farm made it ideal for our animal loving kids who spent most of their time stroking the cows and horses and checking how many eggs the chicks had laid, and the fire pits really do add something special to the whole camping experience. In fact the fire pits were the main reason we booked it - there are so few campsites that allow open fires, and this seemed like a good one.

Negatives:

- the facilities were (for those of us with young children) far from the camping field - a good few minutes' walk. Having said that we never had to queue to use either the showers / washing up facilities or toilets, so even though others have commented on there not being enough showers etc. , we didn't experience any problems here.

- when we arrived at 12. 30 we were told we couldn't pitch our tents til 2pm - the allocated arrival time. This was frustrating and unnecessary as our pitch was empty.

- having to use trolleys to cart things from your car to and from your camp area was time consuming and exhausting. Not really sure why like other campsites they don't allow cars to drive to the camp area, unload, then park, like other campsites do.

Positives:

- The farm element was wonderful for the kids, and they LOVED feeding the animals. At 3 each for over an hour's entertainment it was a bargain! The lovely young farmer let the kids get as hands on as they liked from milking the goats to filling up food troughs and holding baby chicks. Thoroughly recommended.

- The secret gardens and little pathways were wonderful to walk around.

- The fact that the campsite is small and set on one field / orchard meant we felt safe allowing the children to wander off and play, knowing they couldn't go far.

- Sitting around the fire pits gazing into the campfire of an evening really did make the weekend. Firewood, marshmallows and other camping must haves were available from the on site shop and the owners kindly came round every evening to let us know when it was closing, to give everyone a chance to get what they needed.

Overall a lovely, friendly and safe campsite, very child friendly and a nice (small) size. Would recommend. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jct14 1 review from this member

 We had a lovely 2 night stay at Embers during school holidays. We are not experienced campers but I chose it due to location, being tent only and the fire pits were an added draw. I would recommend it for families and children and it felt secure and safe enough to allow the kids (12 and 7) to roam.

Positives:

The site is set in an orchard and field above a small working farm. In the orchard there was plenty of space between tents and larger tents were put in the field and there was masses of space. You can now drive your car up to the edge of the field for unloading. It's still a short walk with a wagon but wonderful to know no cars would be there at all. Lovely small farm.

My farm-mad 7 year old opted for the morning animal feeding and I thought at 3 a head it was good value, compared with other farm-type attractions. They had loads of time with the farmer and acting as goat-bait was a highlight for him!

The fire pits did give a magical atmosphere and it was very peaceful. People did respect the night time quiet time. Most other campers were families.

The showers and toilets were very clean and there was rarely a queue.

Although only 2 washing up sinks, there was never a queue for these either or maybe I just timed it right!

There are masses of things to do in the area. Beaulieu obviously, the New Forest, Lymington and fabulous walks and bike rides. We were sailing at Calshot, still 15 minutes away but lots of activities going on there too.

Slight negatives:

Shouldn't be a surprise as it is a working farm but the cockerel crowed at 4. 15am, waking up the geese and the turkeys and me so if you want complete quiet that would be something to be aware of.

The toilet and shower blocks were a good walk away. Not something the kids found a problem but in the middle of night I was glad it was warm summery weather for the walk down and back. Showers were small and it was hard to get dry feet.

These were minor criticisms for a really sweet campsite. I would go back. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peter Reeves 1 review from this member

 Very good site, good, clean facilities. Some shop run by very friendly young couple. We went so we could visit the national motor Museum which is just the other side of the village. A couple of miles away is a Tesco Express with fuel and opposite that is a very good fish and chip shop. We went to the coast as well and that was 5 miles away. Loads of pubs etc fairly local.

My only gripe was the car parking. The car park is small and if you leave your car anywhere else apparently the farming fines you 5. There is a fire pit at each pitch, you can get wood, fire lighters, marshmallows and sticks from the on site shop. 


Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4433 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement