Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Chittering Park (formerly The Travellers Rest)

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge > Chittering Park (formerly The Travellers Rest) Reviews

Chittering Park (formerly The Travellers Rest)
Ely Road
Chittering
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
CB25 9PH
Tel: 01223 861105
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 40
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 36 Reviews
                8/10 from 36 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Abbeyvan 5 reviews from this member

Very busy site even in February. Think a lot of seasonals already in place. We felt like the only holiday maker on the site. Its very close to the road so there is a lot of road noise, but very handy to get back in to Cambridge via car or the bus outside.

Facilities were clean enough although the bins in the ladies were not emptied in the 5 nights we stayed or the beeping smoke detector battery replaced ( very annoying when trying to relax in the very nice showers)

Staff were helpful

Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jim rookes 5 reviews from this member

This site is now called Chittering Park, and nothing to do with the pub The Travellers Rest pub next door which was closed on our visit. The park is a great place to visit, toilets and shower block is immaculate, all pitches are level, bus stops to either Ely or Cambridge are only 100 yards away which is a plus. Owners are very welcoming and obliging, would we return. Sure would more so if the pub was open.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Donnawis 1 review from this member

Stayed for one night a very clean and tidy site the facilities were very clean and well looked after

The owners were very friendly and helpful will definitely visit this site again!

We were meeting friends in Milton for a meal and the site was placed close enough for us to get a taxi and not have to drive. Would definitely recommend this site it's ideal if you're going out in Cambridge for the evening

Will be back again for sure

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jeffgame 26 reviews from this member

Small site conveniently situated between Cambridge and Ely. Hard standing pitches are very good. Level with hook ups and water. Other pitches on grass are ok. Some of the vans here look as if they haven't been moved for a while. Toilets and showers are modern and clean. Only 2 male and 3 female, might struggle to cope when site is busy. Entrance is quite impressive, but some areas are still work in progress. There are bus stops just outside the site. Handy service both ways. It took us about 20 mins on the bus to Ely, which is well worth a visit. Lucky to be there on market day, Thursday. There is a dog friendly pub in Fore Hill called the Draymans Son, but we didn't have time to visit. We did eat at the Travelers Rest, next to the site. It has an American theme. Menu is a bit limited if you don't like chips, but food was well presented and reasonably priced. There is no set dog exercise area, but there is plenty of open space in the field. This is a handy site that we would be happy to use again.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Sadiestu 1 review from this member

This site was not our first choice as we were a little put off by it's proximity to the main road and other reviews had mentioned this. However we were looking for a convenient quick stop over for 1 night. We were greeted by the friendly owner, given all the information we needed and then left to it. The pitch was perfect, the site all immaculate in every way. Neat lawns, spotlessly clean washing up area, toilets and showers. We did not hear traffic noise when we went to bed. We did not need any other facilities. Would stay again and definitely recommend.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Coyote kid 10 reviews from this member

The site is halfway between Cambrige and Ely which was why we chose it. There are buses to both towns but there is free parking in Ely.

The sat nav will take you to the main road but the campsite entrance is off School Lane, road next to the Travellers Rest pub. There are no signs for the camp site on the busy, fast moving main road. Look out for the pub which is painted white and turn down School lane which is on the same side as the pub.

The site has good hard standing pitches and the facilities are adequate.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Melann 5 reviews from this member

The young owners are really trying with this site good pitches well mown grass barrier on entrance. Good area for touring around Cambridgeshire, park and ride about 3 mile away and if you hold a buss pass only 1 to park all day. The towns of Ely and New Market are both well worth a visit. There is a bus stop outside the site but they do only run hourly. Meals at the public house that can be accessed by a gate from the site are very good value for money.

On the negative side the site is very close to a busy A road so is quite noisy. Also the showers need up dating and really deep cleaning needed and hand dryers are a must. We don't think a towel hung on a door is the most hygienic method of drying hands after using the toilet. We would visit this site again.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kevincastigers1509 1 review from this member

Pleasant, clean and tidy campsite with a pub serving decent bar meals at the site entrance. Stayed for 4 nights as a single tourist.

Campsite well located between Ely and Cambridge. It is however on a very busy road and is akin to camping by the side of the M62 with heavy traffic through the night.

There are two male and two female washrooms each with a shower, basin and toilet which are kept clean. However, there are no separate toilets leading to major issues at peak times when people are spending half an hour abluting. I needed to use the toilet and chose to use the disabled toilet/shower room and was chastised by the site manager in an extremely patronising manner. The disabled toilet itself was being used as a cycle/cleaning products storage room and would be difficult to access in a wheelchair if that was necessary.

The site seems to be used by several roadworkers who leave very early in the morning.

With a few of these issues addressed the site could be improved greatly.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Maxndel 1 review from this member

This is the only campsite that we use for a Newmarket get together and as its so good I though that it would be a good thing to leave a review.

My 5 sisters and I stayed at this campsite last weekend, it is the 2nd time we have stayed with the owner and her family and that's just what it feels like. They are so helpful and the campsite is basic but very clean and very well maintained for a stay to enjoy the area. The could not have been kinder and one of my sisters wanted to nip to a shop for some cigarettes and when she asked where it was as she fancied a walk the owner's husband insisted that it was too far and nipped her there and then drove her back to our motorhome.

Stay here and enjoy the pub at the front of the campsite, which is a victim of its own success as the food is wow and just enjoy.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Johnabacus 17 reviews from this member

Very clean and well kept site. Toilets and shower block are immaculate. Owners very friendly and informative. Disabled facilities were not finished on our visit but will complete the site for everyone once they are. There is a security pad to enter a code to enter and exit the site which is a slight problem if you can't find anyone on arrival. Convenient for Cambridge and Ely. Difficult to find a parking space in Cambridge but there is a Park and Ride not far from the site. As we have three dogs we didn't fancy taking them on a bus. The pub has recently reopened but we didn't try it.

Would recommend.

Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Cambridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4773 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019