Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Helford River Camping Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Helston > Helford River Camping Certificated Site Reviews

Helford River Camping Certificated Site
Site Located At: Tr12 6de
Correspondence To: Spring Tide
10, Tregarrick Close
Helston
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR13 8YA
Tel: 07971 540644  or  07971 540644
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 Vans + up to 10 Tents
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 8 Reviews
                10/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SamandRose 25 reviews from this member

 The first thing to say here is that if you like your sites to be easily accessible and perhaps within easy reach of public transport, this one is not for you. The most direct route from Helston or Falmouth (which is another way of saying 'civilisation') includes a very narrow bridge that anything larger than a VW-type camper van could not physically cross. The alternative route is signposted as being suitable for HGVs, and they can and indeed do use it. But you still wouldn't really want to meet one coming the other way.

Best then, especially if you have a large caravan or motorhome, is to get reasonably confident at towing/driving it before staying here.

The site's remoteness also means that, on a Sunday evening in particular, you can forget about finding a shop, pub or restaurant open any closer than Helston (about a 20 minute drive). Best then to bring some food with you to last at least the first couple of days of your stay.

It's worth the effort. Because the view that greets you as you drive through the gate - crikey, it's beautiful. And the surrounding area - narrow lanes, isolated coves and villages and the occasional pub - feels like Cornwall that time forgot. You really can imagine smugglers plotting inside the pub in Helford, only to have their dastardly plans foiled by Enid Blyton's Famous Five (if you don't know what I'm talking about, read the books and live the childhood you should have had).

The site itself is really a continuation of this. On-site shop? No. Play area? No. Wifi? No (we did get a 4G signal, but don't let us stop you from pretending that you can't in order that people don't bother you)! Designated dog walking area? Er. The whole site is one of those. Entertainment? Forget it.

What you do get is a sheltered, grass-covered field with drinking water taps, electric hook-up points and a chemical disposal area. And whilst there are basic toilet and shower facilities, the owners had decided to keep these closed during the Covid-19 pandemic and instead requested that all guests had their own facilities. Oh, and there's also a pasty shop on the opposite side of the road, that's open from 10am to 2. 30pm. It seemed to be very popular. One taste of the pasties and we knew why.

This site really is a place where you can escape, relax, unwind and feel any problems that had been bothering you before your holiday fade into insignificance. We loved it.

I do have one niggle though. I don't mind that the owners had decided to close the toilets and showers - that's their choice. However, in these circumstances I do think it was poor that the sink in the chemical disposal area was out of order and that no hand sanitiser had been supplied. It wasn't the end of the world, because we had our own, but surely in these times everyone - both owners and guests - should be expected to take reasonable precautions. And for that reason alone, I'm afraid the site loses a star from what would otherwise have been an easy 10/10. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rich Ta 5 reviews from this member

 Very friendly owners, quiet location overlooking a valley with a view of the river. Spotless facilities.

It had been raining a lot yet the grass pitches were fine.

A good find and thoroughly recommended. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Maggiemum 3 reviews from this member

 Just been staying here for the last 2 weeks, one couple in a campervan and one couple in a caravan. The views are to diŤ for overlooking the Helford river.

Has all you need for a good holiday immaculate showers and toilets, freezer for any one to use, plenty of info packs for the area. It's very central for so many places to visit in fact so much to do we have booked another 2 weeks as did not do all the things we wanted, dog walks galore a large wood just down the road.

The gear farm pasty shop across the road is to be thoroughly recommended not to be missed and their sausage rolls are pretty good as well. If you want a all singing all dancing site this is not for you, if you want a quiet very friendly no nonsense site give it a try.

Best of all Simon the site owner is very friendly and knowledgeable he will make sure you are happy and is about most days. Just loves it cant wait to return. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mid Life Crisis 19 reviews from this member

 Very nice site in a great location with a lovely view over the Helford River. The site is excellent for wildlife with buzzards regularly to be seen.

As is standard for these type of sites it is a field with lots of room for children to play.

The area is very nice with the Helford River close by and the beaches and coast path of the Lizard peninsular within easy reach.

The nearest village with pub/shop is about 20-30 mins walk with the supermarkets of Helston about 20 mins drive away.

There is a farm pasty shop across the road - the pasties are too nice!

If you are towing or in a large motorhome then make sure you follow the site's instructions for getting there - it will end in tears if you don't!

The toilet/shower block is nice and clean. There are two toilets and two showers for both male & female which is plenty for the size of the site. There is also a separate single toilet called 'Burma' - the owner will explain!.

Owner (Simon) is a very nice friendly chap who couldn't have been more helpful. Any problems would be immediately sorted (we didn't have any). We arrived in a serious downpour but he still came out to meet us and then returned after we had set up to check everything was ok.

He obviously takes personal pride in the site which is clearly justified.

All this for a bargain price - a definite site to return to. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bensgirl 6 reviews from this member

 We loved this campsite! We booked very late so unfortunately couldn't have a pitch with hook up, but we have a solar panel which kept us topped up! The facilities are excellent! Toilets and showers are immaculate, although having our own in our caravan meant we didn't need to use them. , the owner is absolutely lovely, he came to meet us when we arrived, gave us lots of info on places to eat and visit. He is setting up an information booth with leaflets etc, a very nice touch! There is a freezer for cool blocks and you can charge your mobile phone in a little shed again a very nice touch that you don't expect from a basic site!

The views are stunning, you can see the river and surrounding countryside from the pitches, and there is so much peace and tranquility, a real escape! There are recycling bins and 2 water points. We will definitely return to this site, the prices are very reasonable and it's very well placed for visiting the area, so many beautiful places! Sadly the pasty shop at the farm down the lane was closed for a while but I imagine once the summer holidays are over they will open again (sign said they were spending time with their children)

Can't wait to go again felt very sad leaving! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sue-Jane 3 reviews from this member

 We've been visiting this site for 26 years! Over the years the owners have always made us most welcome, and the views across the river are panoramic, & are just to die for! Even when Cornwall is frantically busy in High Season, it is always lovely and quiet at Helford River Campsite. The second generation now run it, and are bringing facilities even more up to date. They are very welcoming, and helpful. This is a superb base for families who want to go sailing or beaching - or for us who just love spending most of our time enjoying the site and the views - it's quiet during the day in High Season as most families go off for the day! 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Spookydoo 1 review from this member

 We arrived at site to a warm welcome by the new owners Simon and Lynda and Miggie the Border Terrier. We were very lucky with the weather so we're able to get out and about for some lovely walks. Lj is going to be putting together a few pamphlets, for other campers.

The new owners are now putting in larger toilet, washroom facilities and waste areas, all to make things easier for the campers.

It was exactly as we had hoped. Shops and pub a little distance, but it was the piece and beauty of the site which we wanted.

I would recommend this site no problems if you love countryside, coastal walks, being by the water and making your own fun. That's what life is for, to have fun. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Simonwill69 1 review from this member

 Love or Hate it? Secluded site with wonderful views over the Helford passage. Its camping as I remember it in the 1980's. And we loved it.

Run by retired farmers, this small (5 hook up) site enjoys level pitches at the top of a hay field (some of the bales were still there), which gently slopes toward the valley.

Facilities are basic (toilet in shed), but very clean. One communal shower (takes 20p coins), gents urinal with chemical toilet disposal, freezer for cold blocks.

Organic farm shop, selling pasties, icecream etc.

Ideal for; older couples, young outdoors couples, dog owners (on leads), walkers, river kyakists/boaters.

If you want a modern site with good child facilities, entertainment etc. , look elsewhere! You will be disappointed. If you want a traditional quiet getaway. This is the one!

We're coming back soon and we only live 15 miles away! 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Helford River Camping Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Helford River Camping Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Helford River Camping Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Helston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4210 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement