Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Berry Wood Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Berry Wood Farm Reviews

Berry Wood Farm
Atlow Winn
Kniveton
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 1PY
Tel: 01335 343499  or  07762 831023
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 15 Reviews
                10/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Neil and Nikki 3 reviews from this member

 We've been hesitant to post a review on this site as we want to keep it to ourselves! But due to the kind nature of the host, thought it prudent to do so.

The site is down a short dirt track off a lane, there's a large field which populated over the weekend to include about a dozen well spaced out family tents - plenty of room here.

The facilities were all 'homemade' and thoughtfully organised with no frills - spot on. A compositing toilet as described, well kept, no odours, take a torch at night - although there was a lantern inside. Solar showers worked very well. Single sink and water supply for washing up. We never had to wait for any of the facilities due to the site remaining relatively quiet.

We (myself, wife and Springer Spaniel along with another couple) opted for the still quieter narrow strip of a field behind the large hedge, past the main field. This afforded a view down hill to Carsington Water and beyond.

It was so peaceful and relaxing there, we'll make every effort to visit inn the future. 


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Following a brief period closed during 2016 we're delighted to announce that as of 2017 this campsite is now reopen for business. Campers welcome, please see the main details page for opening dates and details of facilities and how to book. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Egregious 2 reviews from this member

 Spent two nights at this charming campsite and didn't want to leave. Very back to basics but at the same time you can tell the owners have put a lot of thought and care into it, especially from the lovely hand written wooden signs dotted about the place telling you how to get on.

There are 2 compost loos, although I only used one as our friend said the other one had a view ie no door. You do sometimes have to wait a little but you can see the queue from your tent. It was always clean and with plenty of loo roll. There is a sink outside which is used for washing hands, (soap provided) cleaning teeth and washing up. My only issue was that sometimes you couldn't wash your hands after using the loo as someone was doing their pots. A separate stand alone tap would solve this.

The field is spacious with plenty of room, but the grass is very long, wet and decorated with sheep poo so bring your wellies. Or flip flops.

We had a long hot walk around Carsington water, so I decided to brave the solar shower. It's an outdoor enclosure with an 'occupied' sign that you hang across the door. You have to hoist a bag up and then tie off. The water was cool, which was lovely but maybe not on a cold day. Apparently the solar bags can warm the water up to quite a high temp if it's sunny, but I suspect someone had recently used it and refilled so it hadn't had time to warm up.

There are a few pubs within walking distance (about 1 mile). We tried the Red Lion at Kniveton but they were booked up for tea so ended up at the other Red Lion at Hognaston. Lovely village with a gorgeous pub and good food.

If you like a site with all the mod cons, club houses and play areas then do yourself a favour and try this out because it's the absolute opposite of that, but if you have a soul, you can't not fall in love with it. We will definitely coming back. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Toam 1 review from this member

 What a lovely great site, great owners, compost toilets and solar shower, views over carsington water, camp fires with fire wood provided, freshly picked salads for sale on site, starry nights- all adds up to our favourite new local campsite. Overall we all found it awesome but our own small gripe was there were no mirrors. One owner is my school teacher! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Msmsms13 1 review from this member

 Visited this site with friends & 2 energetic 10 year olds for their first camping trip. We wanted a good old fashioned campsite with traditional outdoor lifestyle NOT fancy clubhouses/on site bars & power showers! This site was perfect; choice of good open fields, great views, good basic facilities with the bonus of having a real campfire! The location is ideal for touring round the Derbyshire area, with many interesting places within easy reach. Nearby Carsington Water visitor centre has a host of activities for all ages though the on site cafe is rather pricey so take a picnic with you.

The campsite owner was very kind & helpful & made us feel very welcome. We thoroughly support the permaculture ethics of the owners.

We will definitely return to this site for a longer visit.

Thoroughly recommend this campsite 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dekaylane 3 reviews from this member

 You know those sites you arrive at and think 'hmm, this isn't what I thought it was'. Well this ain't one of them! It is a proper camping field, with dug fire pits, cheap wood for sale and peace and quiet. Want a fast pacey camp site. Then move along, this is for 'chilled cats' who like proper camping with charm.

Two proper composting loos. That don't smell. Presently the solar showers are black bags who stand under and are great! I think owners are looking at fancier solar showers in the future.

Beautiful views over Grassington Water. One of the nicest campsites Ive ever stayed at. But not for woozes!

Site owners are just lovely people and a real inspiration.

We'll be back! 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Newell91 1 review from this member

 This campsite is the one that I've being looking out for since I began taking camping seriously.

No nonsense, back to basics camping truly capturing the essence of what sleeping in a tent should be all about.

The compost toilets are well looked after and cleaned regularly, the water containers easily make up for the lack of running water on the site.

And the site owners are really passionate about running the site the way that they do keeping everything as eco-friendly as possible.

20min walk to the pub and it's surrounded by cracking views and walks, really couldn't ask for much more. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scary3hair 1 review from this member

 We loved the unspoiled nature of this camp site. The owners were friendly and welcoming, and the fire pits were very convenient, being dug into the field, and saving us from taking our metal fire pit. The composting toilets were very clean, always had loo paper, and a better experience than many concrete blocks. The fresh water containers meant that we did not need to bring a water container either. There are good walks directly from the campsite which means that we did not need to use our car while we were staying. We went on a walk with young children to Carsington reservoir, which took about 1. 5 hours (we could have done it more quickly if we had taken a more direct route), and there was plenty to do for everyone at the reservoir. Even in early May, it was possible to have a warm solar shower.

We would highly recommend this campsite to people who are prepared to recycle their rubbish and enjoy a simple approach to camping with fantastic views. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Spanner1 4 reviews from this member

 Just spent the Easter weekend here and it was perfect! The owners are really friendly and gave us some good walks. Visited 2 pubs nearby both within walking distance even with a 2 and 4 year old! ( although being on a hill you got the steep bit in the trek home!) dogs were welcome and we're allowed off the lead which allowed us to give them a good run. All the facilities you need- composting toilets were great- didn't risk the showers but they were all set out. Recycling bins clearly labelled and it's of fresh water available. Fire pits were dug out and a nights fire cost 6.

Very quiet campsite- just one louder party but soon fell asleep!

A real gem of a find. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MrHarry 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for one night with a friend. This was just the sort of place we were looking for! The site owners were very friendly. It was clear they had really put thought into the site and that not disturbing the natural beauty of the site was important to them. A small example of this was the fact that they'd gone to the trouble of making the composting toilet 'earth-sheltered' (a layer of earth with grass growing on the roof). As I was only there one night I didn't bother with a shower. The showers if I'm not mistaken rely on solar heating, I'd be hesitant to try this until the weather was a bit warmer.

We bought some fire wood for the evening which we set going after we'd come back from the pub (about 1. 5km from the site).

The owners also sold us some duck eggs which they'd procured from one of the nearby farms, we cooked these for breakfast on our portable stove, absolutely delicious! There were only about 10 tents in what was quite a large field (with a nice view of a lake) so there was a pleasant feeling of spaciousness.

This is camping as it should be, very basic and peaceful.

I would definitely come back.  


Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Berry Wood Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Berry Wood Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Berry Wood Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2837 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement