Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Highclere Farm Country Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Buckinghamshire > Beaconsfield > Highclere Farm Country Touring Park Reviews

Highclere Farm Country Touring Park
Newbarn Lane
Seer Green
Beaconsfield
Buckinghamshire   (Browse area)
HP9 2QZ
Tel: 01494 874505
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 45
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 82 Reviews
                8/10 from 82 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jeff261159 9 reviews from this member

Having booked a pitch in advance, we informed the lady on the phone that we would be arriving at 6pm. On route we called the site owner and informed them we were running late and wouldn't be arriving until 7. 30pm. We were told this was fine! On arrival we paid our £69 for three nights and we're then directed to a 'late arrivals pitch' but were not told that's what it was. The main site had a height restricted barrier which the owner could have raised for us!

At £23 a night it is very very expensive for what it is. The showers cost 20p a go, and the grey waste and chemical disposal point are the same! Meaning you have to lift a heavy great waste container up to empty it. It was far from quiet with commercial vehicle movements starting very early.

We will not be going here again

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: John+judy 101 reviews from this member

We have stayed here a couple of times as it is convenient for visiting relatives. As other reviews have said facilities are very good and well maintained. The majority of pitches are long term/semi-permanent, but are very tidy and well kept. However the site fees at £30 a night for two people are way too high - and then to charge 20 - 50p for a shower is really rubbing salt into the wound. In comparison, the site we used prior to Highclere was a caravan club CL in the New Forest which had super free showers and was £17 a night. Unfortunately, camp sites in the area are few and far between!

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fx63 1 review from this member

Friendly helpful staff! Spotlessly clean showers and toilet, generous pitches, easy access, reasonable prices, priceless little extras, freezers!ideal for longer stays. Lovely peaceful, great for young children(I don't have any but there is a well equipped playground). Great access to London via rail(with a short taxi first), would recommend especially if a clean shower block is a priority, you could eat off the floor! Only one very minor negative comment, showers could do to be a little more powerful, but hey who cares when they are so clean and pleasant to use

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Geoff48 23 reviews from this member

Had a one night stop here returning from Dover. Site was well signed and generally well maintained. It is split into 2 areas we were on the hardstandings on the right before the caravan height barrier for the larger field. Reception was friendly and helpful. Toilet blocks were clean and tidy although it’s a long time since I’ve seen coin operated showers. Large play area and field for children. Hard standings where we pitched did have a slope, no difficulties for a caravan but motorhomes will need risers. Supermarkets at Beaconsfield and Amersham very handy in ten minutes drive. Tesco at Amersham has fuel. The free range eggs sold at reception were very good (and large). There were a couple of unruly children on site but that shouldn’t reflect in an assessment. It was the first time we’d stopped with the caravan in this area and were impressed with the locally and places that were in the vicinity. We only had the one night, when I checked with reception for the time we had to depart I was told it would be Ok to 16:00. Would I visit again – yes.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bluedragon 1 review from this member

Visited this site for 6 nights - Sun to Fri, with family who had a caravan and we were able to site the tent and caravan together in the large camping field, which also had hard standing for caravans along one edge. It was my first experience of camping since doing D of E as a teenager in a small 3 man tent and I was very pleasantly surprised at how how different this experience was. Our usual holidays have been 4 star holiday cottages so I felt that the price for an area near London was extremely reasonable.

It was a very quiet site which was brilliant for the 4 children we had with us ages 2-11, as I was happy for them to run off to the play area (at one end of the camping field) with 2 climbing frames (suitable for the older and younger children) with swings, slide and a large sandpit. The site felt very safe, cars passing the area generally drove very slowly as they were on unpaved surfaces or grass and the play equipment was well maintained with cushioning chippings underneath.

There was very little noise at night after about 9:30/10:00 apart from the occasional low flying aeroplane, and some very distant traffic noise, but nothing which disturbed us.

I found the facilities to be very clean and always well supplied with toilet paper and soap (apart from a couple of hours 1 evening). In the outdoor washup (4 sinks with bowls), the water was sometimes only lukewarm, sometimes warm and there were only 2 toilets immediately next to the camping field. However a 10 second walk around to the other side of the building took me to an indoor washup/TV room with electric socket and microwave. I boiled my travel kettle in there a couple of times to get scalding hot water for really greasy cooking pots, but the water in there was generally hot enough anyway. There were also more toilets on that side and in an adjacent building, about 10 metres away, further indoor washing up sinks and more toilets with 20p showers, which were again lovely and clean and heated. I had a 50p shower in the closer area and it was plenty long enough to wash my hair and be halfway dressed before the coin ran out. There were several drinking water taps in various locations and electric hook up points for tents, as well as by all the hard standings. I was able to use an electric point as well as the one being used for my family in the caravan.

There were also freezers and a laundry room which we didn't use.

The site was really well placed for visiting Legoland, The Harry Potter Studio Tour and Windsor Castle as they were all about 30 mins away by car. Hampton Court was about 45 mins away but took longer due to traffic. The local chippy fed us all very well one night.

When we booked in, we were able to choose the pitch we wanted which suited us very well. The area which was for caravans only felt more cramped and less private and would not have suited us well. We were not pressured to check out and go on the last day and we left around 12 in the end, but probably could have left even later.

I would be happy to use this site again and am now planning to go camping again for my next holiday.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BishyBahBoos 3 reviews from this member

We spent the first week of the kids 6 week holiday at Highclere. We had a really great time despite the variable weather!

Facilities on site are really good. The kids loved the playground and large sand pit, which we could see from our tent. The toilets and showers were clean and there was plenty of choice. Showers were either 50p or 20p, always warm and we found if we used the family shower room then 50p was enough for a family of four. Indoor and outdoor washing up facilities with bowls provided. Free access to both fridge and freezer, a TV room, microwave and hair dryers.

The site location is great, Tesco, Sainsburys and Waitrose all just a 5 min drive away. We went into London on the tube (using the Chalfont & Latimer station which has lots of parking and only 10 mins from the site) this look about 40 minutes to get to central London. We also paid a visit to Legoland and took in the sights of Oxford and the stunning gardens at the Cliveden NT where we picnicked on the banks of the Thames and got lost in the maze!

Our pitch was quite expensive but the price included electric hook up at no extra cost, and given the location of the site and the excellent facilities I would say it was well worth it. Despite been high season the site was busy, but not overcrowded. The site is nice and flat so no rolling down hill.

All in all a great site in a fantastic location which we will definitely return to again.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Debsy 110 reviews from this member

Really nice site - you can walk to all the pubs but some are closer than others and the village is down a hill but no problem, it's not that far. The site has lots of amenities including a TV room! We stayed here when we went to Warner Bros Studies - absolutely fantastic if you are a Harry Potter fan.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Clueless 4 reviews from this member

Visited this site during May half term week with two young children (6 & 3).

Firstly, location was fantastic for us. Only 5 mins M40. We visited London twice, driving 10 mins to Chalfont & Latimer tube (plentiful parking around £4 per day, £11. 20 per adult for a day's tube/bus pass, 45 mins on the tube into central London). Also visited Cliveden NT which is fab, and Chessington (45 minutes, great for kids with rides and zoo).

The tent field is huge with a very marginal incline, tents arranged around the outside. There is plenty of space in the middle for ball games, indeed in the very centre are some goalposts. Pitches are spacious, and at one end of the field is a great playground (including a large sandpit) which our kids loved. A very safe feel to the site as you can see the playground from most pitches and the kids have so much space to run around.

Plenty of washing up sinks under shelter but the water was luke-warm at best.

Toilet facilities. Well. Modern enough, but two female toilets in the block nearest the tent field is just not enough. They were frequently out of toilet roll (probably because of the amount strewn on the floor) - granted this is due to the number of children using the facilities unsupervised. 50p for a shower which lasts plenty long enough, but was freezing cold one morning (I expect warm water at the very least if I'm paying extra!). DH didn't have a problem though so it may have been my timing. Disabled/family toilet and shower was the one we used the most often and this seemed to be cleaner.

Shop on site is very basic, but only 5 minutes from co-op, chippy (good) and other shops etc.

During the week it was fairly peaceful, settling down after 9pm and quiet by 10pm (how we like it with young kids!). However. Friday was a different story. Large groups arrived with dozens of pre-teen girls who raced bikes around, shrieking and screaming from one end of the field to the other past 11pm whilst the parents took absolutely no notice as they were too busy drinking to care about the impact on other campers. As my tired 6 year old cried as he couldn't sleep due to the noise, I did try to politely raise this with a few groups of girls passing by but to no avail. Such a shame to spoil our last night (we had planned to stay until sunday but the noise levels and change in weather meant we decided to return home on the Saturday rather than suffer another night).

Would we return? If revisiting the area or travelling into London, then yes as the space and location are great, but would avoid weekends where possible.

Date of Visit: January 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tim and Cary 60 reviews from this member

Cary and I stayed at Highclere Park for 6 nights in mid-January whilst visiting north London. We were attending a 40 year re-union at London School of Theology in Northwood and visiting Cary’s Dad in Ruislip. We usually stay at Wyatt’s Covert CC site when visiting this area, but it was closed for the refurbishment of the toilet block. There generally seems to be rather a dearth of sites in this area which are open all year – I had searched widely on the CCC, CC and other websites. This seems rather surprising given its proximity to London, Windsor, Legoland and other interesting places to visit.

This was the earliest in the year that we had ever caravanned and, unfortunately, coincided with some very poor weather, which included the coldest nights of the year, snow and a night of gales which really rocked the ‘van. We were fortunate in having an internal water tank as our aquaroll and the site water tap froze on several occasions. On our final night we ran out of gas in the middle of the night - I had been hoping it would just last until our departure. It meant that the ‘van’s interior temperature was 5oC when we had to get out of bed - phew!

There was a surprising large number of occupied ‘vans on site but I suspect some of them were folk who were working locally.

We had stayed at Highclere Park previously but it must be nearly 20 years ago! It is located near the tiny villages of Seer Green and Jordan, which have a pub, railway station, a Baptist and a C of E Church, and not much else. The pitches are arranged in a grid pattern either side of a main site road on a large flat site surrounded by hedges and with fields beyond. It was rather soul-less and regimented.

PROS

We received a very polite and friendly welcome from the chap on duty at Reception who led us in his car to a choice of 3 pitches. He, also, arrived, unbidden, to open the barrier when we were leaving.

The site is only about 3 miles from Junction 2 of the M40 and so good those travelling from the north and for visiting places like Windsor, Legoland, the Chilterns and central London. There is a railway station in the village with direct trains to London Marylebone.

The site has good play facilities with 2 children’s log-built playgrounds which our granddaughter would have loved. There is, also, a football pitch.

The site has a large heated toilet block, laundry and a very limited shop at Reception.

Free-range eggs are available to purchase at Reception, from the site’s own hens.

Site security for the ‘van was good as there was a high level barrier which allowed cars under but not caravans. The chap from reception opened this to allow ‘vans in and out.

There is a range of shops and small supermarkets in nearby Chalfont St Peter but they tended to be pretty expensive – CStP is, after all, supposed to be one the most expensive places to live in the UK! There is a Tesco supermarket in Amersham about 5 miles away.

The local villages of Seer Green and Jordans have some interesting old houses including the Mayflower Barn.

The village of Beaconsfield has a Bekonscot, a famous model village. We have visited this in the past but it was closed for the winter during our stay.

CONS

£20 a night for a hard standing pitch with ehu seemed very steep, particularly as the pitch was so small that we had to park the car on the adjacent grass.

It was a long walk from our pitch at the far end of the site to the toilet block and Reception.

The CDP and grey water disposal point near the gate was badly designed as it was a walled circular affair which entailed lifting the full wastemaster a couple of feet into the air – I found it a real struggle. I did, later, discover another CDP behind the toilet block but that, also, involved a lift, albeit slightly less.

It is important, if towing, to follow the site’s website directions and the tourist campsite signs as that route follows wider, more suitable roads. Some our satnav suggested were single lane with passing places.

Calor Lite exchange seemed very expensive at £27.

In conclusion, Highclere Park provided us with a reasonable, albeit expensive, place to stay which met most of our needs. Would we stay again? No probably not if Wyatt’s Covert CC site was open as that is a much more pleasant site and nearer to our usual destination of Cary’s Dad in Ruislip. Alternately during the main camping season we would consider one of the seasonal-opening CS/CL sites which tend to be cheaper!

In fairness the site might seem a little more attractive in warmer weather. Additionally, the lovely playgrounds and space might give Highclere Park an edge over Wyatt's Covert for families with children as the latter site, which, if memory serves me correctly, does not have any play facilities.

Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Freyasmum 35 reviews from this member

Fine. Very flat site with good hardstanding. Lacking character but ideally placed for a trip to London. Rather expensive (£20 per night off season), but pleasantly heated washrooms/showers, washup area, vending machine, TV room with microwave. Seems strange that you are asked to pay 20p for a shower, but perhaps it saves people leaving the hot water running. 20p was adequate for a long, hot shower. No road noise

Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Buckinghamshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3920 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019