Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Whitwell And Reepham Railway Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Whitwell And Reepham Railway Campsite Reviews

Whitwell And Reepham Railway Campsite
Whitwell Road
Reepham
Norwich
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR10 4GA
Tel: 01603 871694
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15 Vans + Tents
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 9 Reviews
                10/10 from 9 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Freckles63 66 reviews from this member

 THIS IS NOT A CERTIFIED SITE anymore, everyone welcome.

Great site, we paid £16 with ehu.

At moment only toilets are at station 5 minute walk through site to station buildings and no showers(plans have started for a toilet/shower building)

Mike at station and Mark at campsite very friendly, helpful guys.

We cycled into Norwich along 'The Marriotts way heritage trail' 13 miles each way, as site is about half way on the 26 mile route. The other direction is Reepham about 5 miles along trail or 1 mile by road, the station here has also been transformed into a cafe.

The campsite has about 25 pitches some with electric, statics are also available for hire, about 6 statics I think.

The steam trains are available for rides at weekends, every Friday is motorbike night and last Wednesday of month classic car show in carpark.

Great place to stay with so much to see and do, would def return. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Linda5 2 reviews from this member

 Owners responded rapidly to answer my emailed questions and we booked in at short notice.

Great site - just what we wanted - rural, our dogs welcomed, railway interest, the cafe bar an added bonus and there was almost direct access to the Marriott's way footpath that goes all the way to Norwich.

Thank you; we'd come again. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Wanderer 56 reviews from this member

 Nice site with some EHU pitches all on grass and is partly sloping but we choose a very flat nonEHU Pitch. We got a very friendly welcome.

It is next door to the steam museum where there is a newish toilet block open 24/7 plus a bar and cafe (maybe daytime only) with friendly staff/volunteers.

Worth checking web site for steam days etc.

The site is adjacent to Marriott’s Way, an old railway track which is now a cycle/walk way going from Norwich to Reepham and on to Wroxham plus there many footpaths and ‘Quite Lanes’ close by. Reepham, a picturesque Norfolk town is about a mile away.

Definitely going to return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mjcreed 4 reviews from this member

 Just a quick update, nothing has changed much on the actual site which is a bonus, but the new toilet block down near the station is complete and the Marquee has been replaced with a new brick built building in keeping with the style of the original station buildings.

Price has risen slightly to £7 per night but still probably one of the cheapest sites in Norfolk, oh they still host the Bikers nights on Fridays and are now also hosting Hot Rod /Classic car evenings two Saturdays per month details and can be found on their website 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Davidandrews 14 reviews from this member

 Top site, quiet, easy to find yet tucked out of the way. Good walking, cycling due to marriots way. Good sized pitches all you need for basic camping. No electric, don't need it although I believe they can hook you up for longer stays.

The station is great fun. Was in steam the weekend I was there well worth the money to go on. Friendly people who run it. Friday night is bikers night but they are a friendly lot. The 'Sidings' is a great place on site to have a few beers.

Cheapest site I have paid to stay on, fiver a night! Well worth it. My top site of the year so far. Well done girls and boys! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Artpeach 1 review from this member

 A lovely peaceful site most of the time. If there is a rally it might be busy and a bit noisier.

We stayed during their 40's weekend and it was brilliant.

Friday night is bikers night, well worth going down to 'The Sidings' to bike spot.

ALL the staff and I mean all the staff are so lovely and friendly and can't do enough for you to make you welcome.

No showers at present, there is limited EHU.

Free wifi in 'the Sidings' but not up on the site yet.

A bargain at £5 per night. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Francophile1947 17 reviews from this member

 What a friendly little site.

It's a bit of a trek to the toilets in the station, but planning permission has been granted for a new toilet block in the station and moving the existing block to the camping site.

It may not happen quickly, as the work is mainly done by the station volunteers (it's a registered charity), but it will get done.

There's no playground for the kids, but they'll probably be busy using the WiFi anyway.

Bar is well stocked, but is generally only open until about 10pm, as it is mainly staffed by volunteers as well.

There are no EHUs at present, but it's a lovely site for £5pn. 


Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Heidibear 9 reviews from this member

 Excellent site. Agree with everything Mjcreed has said and the poster has certainly done a great job advertising the site. Very peaceful as well. Friendly staff, lovely site and bargain at that! What more can you ask for??

We are definitely going to be using this site now we've found it and we can pay by paypal! Excellent. There are improvements on the agenda and as far as we are concerned this site is a gem. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mjcreed 4 reviews from this member

 This is a nice site set in a grassed field above and to one side of the old Whitwell & Reepham railway station, ideal if you are a railway enthusiast (see website) or if into cycling / walking it is right on Marriots Way.

There is a chemical disposal unit and several fresh water taps on site but no shower or toilet facilities although there is a toilet block with H&C water over near the station which is accessible from the camping field,

The station also houses a small café providing various cakes tea, coffee also bacon rolls and burgers etc. The Marquee which is permanent and heated houses a good bar with a very good selection of real ale as well as the usual beers, wines and spirits.

The market town of Reepham is only a short walk away roughly 1 mile with the usual shops, pubs, Chinese take away / chip shop and cafe etc. The site is located around 12 miles from the historical city of Norwich, and Fakenham around 12 miles in the opposite direction so not to far to travel to the North Norfolk coast.

Highly recommend the site and we will be using it as much as possible it has everything we require in a site but for some EHU would be handy which I believe there are plans to provide in the future 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Whitwell And Reepham Railway Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Whitwell And Reepham Railway Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Whitwell And Reepham Railway Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Norwich      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camp & Glamp Show, Hertfordshire 08/10 to 16/10
Join the Camp 'n' Glamp 2022 Tent Preview ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3092 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement