Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Barnstones Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Oxfordshire > Great Bourton > Barnstones Caravan And Camping Site > Reviews

Barnstones Caravan And Camping Site
Main Street
Great Bourton
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX17 1QU
Tel: 01295750289
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 72 Reviews
                9/10 from 72 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  72 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Phil61 1 review from this member

 We stayed on this site for 5 nights.

Site is well kept and looked after.

Good clean toilet and shower block cleaned daily.

Highly recommended and would return at some point. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2024 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: DylanOES 31 reviews from this member

 This is a quiet, convenient little site on the edge of a village just to the north of Banbury. Unfortunately the village pub is currently closed, but there are options in Cropreddy just over a mile away.

It is all well maintained - the facilities are a little basic but have everything needed and were kept clean and tidy. There is a large rally field which was occupied for one weekend by the Land Rover CCC - no problem with access to facilities, but I understand they had power problems - it didn't affect us, but something to be aware of. There is a fenced dog walk and a children's playground.

The owner Dave is a great character - of advanced years but active and on top of everything. He is a mine of information and an avid sports fan - make a point of engaging him in conversation and ask him about the time he opened the batting in a charity match and faced Frank 'Typhoon' Tyson's bowling (this will have resonance with any older Northamptonshire and England cricket fans !). 


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Kareandsi 8 reviews from this member

 Really lovely campsite with super amenities.

Some of the best showers I have found on a campsite.

Pitched on the grass and it was pretty much flat and level.

Owners were very friendly and welcoming,

Only slight downside was the road could be noisy at times,

But wouldn't put me off going back. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Colin1956 2 reviews from this member

 What lovely well kept site

The owner was extremely welcoming and friendly

We stayed at the site for 2 nights

We were recommended the site from a local motor dealer who we are purchasing our next motor home from.

All site facilities were very clean

Site is well kept and tidy

We are going back in October when we pick up our new to us motor home so we can try it out

Already looking forward to it. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: 09Elaine 1 review from this member

 Lovely clean and well maintained site.

Childrenís play area is well stocked and safe.

Covid restrictionists were upheld with hand sanitiser everywhere

Showers were hot whenever you used them day or night, washing up and laundry areas were immaculate

Definitely will return. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: The Ref 12 reviews from this member

 Stayed here several times and always found it good value, good level of cleanliness and very welcoming.

The Bell across the road changed landlord just after Christmas and has a welcoming and helpful attitude.

Good place for relaxed weekends away.

The rally field is close to the road, but the main "field" is far enough away for the road noise not to be an issue.

David is great and a real gent. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Knobby1 11 reviews from this member

 Excellent site, owner is lovely, as is the warden. Facilities are spotless and very well kept. For £15 / night you get hardstanding pitch with electric hookup.

Give them a call to book and then pay cash on arrival at the warden's caravan. Nice little pub over the road, The Bell Inn, literally 2 mins walk !

Drive into Banbury takes less than 10 minutes an the village of Hanwell is 5 mins with a pub, Hanwell Arms and stunning Indian Restaurant Purple Mango, both highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: WWCH 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic. Such friendly and cooperative owner and staff. We were a bit late arriving due to ferry disembarkation and A34 delays but there wasn't a grimace from Dave (owner) when we actually got there.

We were offered a fully serviced pitch or electricity only on the rally field which was our preferred option. Peter was extremely helpful at the washing up area the following morning

Prices are ridiculously good value for the facilities on offer - other club sites please take note! 


Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BigErnie 32 reviews from this member

 We stopped off here for one night on our way up north, the site is ideally situated close to the motorway.

We arrived after dark and met by a very friendly warden who showed us to the rally field, there were a number of empty pitches on the touring site but due to the time were asked to use the rally field rather than disturb other residents. This was fine for us as we were also looking to make an early getaway!

The rally field is very thoughtfully laid out and flat so easy to park on the gravel with no need to get the chocks out, there is also a dog walk in one corner of the rally field but we preferred to take them off of the site to give them a longer stroll. The facilities block was clean and offered everything that we required for a one night stop.

Whilst the site is well enclosed by trees there was still a bit of road noise due to roads running down two sides, this didnít disturb us but may be quite loud if you're staying in a tent.

Overall we found this to be a great little site for our requirements, it is very well thought out and from extremely well kept. 


Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dubdogs 147 reviews from this member

 Used the site for a one night stopover. Arrived just before 7pm but were told we'd need to park in the front camping field rather than the main site. This was fine as it was a flat gravel track, so I didn't need to get the chocks out. The greeting was friendly.

The site was very well maintained and the facilities block was also very clean. There was road noise, but you couldn't hear this from inside the van and it didn't disturb our sleep.

Used the footpath along to the village and then off in to the countryside for giving the dogs a walk before setting off on our journey in the morning.

I'll definitely use this site again for a stopover as it's conveniently located and was nice and easy to park up. 


Previous     72 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Barnstones Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Barnstones Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Barnstones Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Great Bourton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3900 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement