Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Barnstones Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Banbury > Barnstones Caravan Site Reviews

Barnstones Caravan Site
Barnstones
Main St
Great Bourton
Banbury
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX17 1QU
Tel: 01295 750289
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/01/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 67 Reviews
                9/10 from 67 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  67 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: The Ref 10 reviews from this member

 Stayed here several times and always found it good value, good level of cleanliness and very welcoming.

The Bell across the road changed landlord just after Christmas and has a welcoming and helpful attitude.

Good place for relaxed weekends away.

The rally field is close to the road, but the main "field" is far enough away for the road noise not to be an issue.

David is great and a real gent. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Knobby1 7 reviews from this member

 Excellent site, owner is lovely, as is the warden. Facilities are spotless and very well kept. For £15 / night you get hardstanding pitch with electric hookup.

Give them a call to book and then pay cash on arrival at the warden's caravan. Nice little pub over the road, The Bell Inn, literally 2 mins walk !

Drive into Banbury takes less than 10 minutes an the village of Hanwell is 5 mins with a pub, Hanwell Arms and stunning Indian Restaurant Purple Mango, both highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: WWCH 1 review from this member

 Fantastic. Such friendly and cooperative owner and staff. We were a bit late arriving due to ferry disembarkation and A34 delays but there wasn't a grimace from Dave (owner) when we actually got there.

We were offered a fully serviced pitch or electricity only on the rally field which was our preferred option. Peter was extremely helpful at the washing up area the following morning

Prices are ridiculously good value for the facilities on offer - other club sites please take note! 


Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BigErnie 32 reviews from this member

 We stopped off here for one night on our way up north, the site is ideally situated close to the motorway.

We arrived after dark and met by a very friendly warden who showed us to the rally field, there were a number of empty pitches on the touring site but due to the time were asked to use the rally field rather than disturb other residents. This was fine for us as we were also looking to make an early getaway!

The rally field is very thoughtfully laid out and flat so easy to park on the gravel with no need to get the chocks out, there is also a dog walk in one corner of the rally field but we preferred to take them off of the site to give them a longer stroll. The facilities block was clean and offered everything that we required for a one night stop.

Whilst the site is well enclosed by trees there was still a bit of road noise due to roads running down two sides, this didn’t disturb us but may be quite loud if you're staying in a tent.

Overall we found this to be a great little site for our requirements, it is very well thought out and from extremely well kept. 


Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dubdogs 147 reviews from this member

 Used the site for a one night stopover. Arrived just before 7pm but were told we'd need to park in the front camping field rather than the main site. This was fine as it was a flat gravel track, so I didn't need to get the chocks out. The greeting was friendly.

The site was very well maintained and the facilities block was also very clean. There was road noise, but you couldn't hear this from inside the van and it didn't disturb our sleep.

Used the footpath along to the village and then off in to the countryside for giving the dogs a walk before setting off on our journey in the morning.

I'll definitely use this site again for a stopover as it's conveniently located and was nice and easy to park up. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sunlighter 6 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 2 week stay at Barnstones. This is the second year we have used this site and are hoping to visit next year too. We were lucky this year because we had really good weather. The site remains the same with well kept pitches the owner wizzes around on his mobility scooter and ensures a friendly welcome to all. Very good value. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: 52santafe 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed here several years ago with the kids and pitched in the main campsite, this time just the two of us were in the outer field for two nights. The owner was very friendly and gave us the choice of where to pitch. The pitch we chose backed onto a hedge and was fairly large (possibly due to a picnic table placed on the next pitch so no-one next door to us!), however being in the field the road noise was definitely more obvious! Shower block was clean, a new 9kg washing machine and a dryer have been installed and were the cheapest we have ever found. In the past we have walked into Banbury via the canal tow path from Copredy (quite a hike) and got a taxi back. This time we dodged the rain, down the hill to Copredy and stopped for a beer in the Braesenose pub and back. Didn't make it to The Bell this time but in the past we had some cracking food there. The dog walking area is adequate for first and last thing in the day, we walked into Little Bourton with our pooch, very quiet back road so ideal. Would we return, of course we would, two adults, motorhome with EHU for £14 per night, great value. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: The Ref 10 reviews from this member

 We’ve stayed here twice now - once on a “normal” weekend and now on a bank holiday. This is a lovely site, well maintained with serviced pitches in the main stand, and EHU and water points in a rally field.

There clearly are regulars here if not permanent residents. We like it, but while the washrooms are always clean, there is a tendency for the hot water to run out quite early when the park is busy, which is the one thing that, imho, lets it down.

That said, this is as good a site as Anita’s, a mile up the road, but its a lot cheaper and great value for money. £16 a night for our caravan on a hard standing fully serviced pitch.

I’ll take a cool shower for that price.

Locally, Cropredy is a 20 minute walk across fields or down the road - the Brazenose Arms is nice and the village pub will re-open in a couple of weeks (6th June) which gives another option. Both do food and are welcoming places (in our experiences anyway). 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Nigel Rickard 31 reviews from this member

 All my comments should be read bearing in mind, a hard stand pitch with EHU, for campervan with awning two people was just £15 a night! Value.

The site is well maintained and in a useful location, Max of one hour to any Cotswold location, just minutes ro Banbury, close to Silverstone.

The wardens seemed friendly and helpful. There were a number of 'regulars' on site.

For my taste the pitches are narrow I felt overlooked by caravan next door.

There are just three unisex showers for whole site. Some campers on the grass field were getting up at 0630 to avoid a wait. A lot of regulars seemed to shower in the late afternoon. One day the hot water in the wash area was merely warm by 0945.

The local pub, within walking distance, used to do food but not at the moment. It is due for a refurb so perhaps this will change. This weekend there was at least one ale straight from the barrel. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sunlighter 6 reviews from this member

 Lovely site. Great welcome from owner Dave. Facilities Very clean and plenty of hot showers. Would definitely recommend site and if in area would definitely visit. Weather was very wet and windy. Dog walk adequate as was play area. 


Previous     67 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Barnstones Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Barnstones Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Barnstones Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Banbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2121 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December