Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Poolview Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Site Reviews

Poolview Caravan Park
Buildwas
Ironbridge
Telford
Shropshire   (Browse area)
TF8 7BS
Tel: 01952 433182
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 16 Reviews
                7/10 from 16 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Barryjgardner 5 reviews from this member

Unfortunately just spent 2 nights at this site

This is no more than a gravel car park populated by workers caravans who arrive or depart at strange hours. Our local dog pound kennels are more hygienic than than the facilities supplied which are some distance from the pitch / graveled area / car park allocated for travellers. It would appear the site is adapted for static or lodge semi retired and no consideration for motorhome or caravaners. On the plus side Andy, who directed us to the car park which we discovered was the camp site, was very friendly

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wetwellies 6 reviews from this member

Site is less than ten minutes by car from ironbridge - we have two kids under 5 and they loved the enginuity museum particularly, so this is a good base for that. There is a great pub called the Shakespeare inn with a good play area down the road a bit from ironbridge. Also recommend the steam railway about ten minutes away at horshays - staff were amazing with the kids.

There is a disused power station right next to the site - I mean right next to! This is not clear from photos you see online. Its disused so no noise or traffic. Other reviews mention the buzzing of the power lines - it was noticeable but did not really bother us. Site was quiet at all times.

Warden helpful, although a bit hard to locate, and other staff nice too. Shower block looks dated but clean and showers really nicely hot. Cost us less than forty quid for two nights, which is very reasonable - you do get what you pay for, so I wouldn't expect posher facilities for this price.

One thing that did annoy me was that people pitched right behind us - no gap at all really, could do with marked pitches.
There is a small shop on site, and I think they are about to build a proper play area?

Overall, we probably wouldn't go back as this seemed more of a community style site for permament statics and motorhomes, rather than a family camping site. Not that we didn't feel welcome, but it just didn't have the family camping vibe for us.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: SQUIGSUM 4 reviews from this member

We have just spent a long weekend at Poolview campsite and from the moment we arrived to the moment we left we felt as though we were visiting old friends. We found Andy the warden very friendly and extremely hard working and knowledgeable.

The camp was very quiet and peaceful. It was nice to see the squirrels and pheasants running around carefree. Andy told us that they have deer that visit the site but we did not manage to see them. We live in a town so it was nice to hear and see lots of birds and to know that the residents on the site look after them.

The shower blocks were a bit old fashioned but the water was always hot and the units were kept clean and tidy. There was also washing machines available to use. Andy explained that the shower/toilet blocks are going to be updated with work due to start in September. The plans seem really good especially as they plan to have toilets and showers specifically designed for disabled campers.

We wished we could have stayed longer but we had other commitments to fulfil. We will definitely return when we get chance.

Thanks Andy you went above and beyond to make sure we had a pleasant stay. We look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lillntlworld 1 review from this member

Very close to Ironbridge lovely site. Don't worry about other reviews that moan about the power cables, no problems not intrusive at all. The showers could have been cleaner but very hot & powerful. Recommend

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: MEST 1 review from this member

Just spent a week at Pool View, a lovely site. A walk of 3/4 of a mile down then a few steps to a spot where you hail the bus. One side for Ironbridge Gorge and Telford the other for Shrewsbury, . They run every Two hours and not on Sunday's.

The washrooms are to be replaced next year the current one will 'do'

The Site Warden Andy is great, so helpful nothing too much trouble, what a star.

Will we go back, yes.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bafackinlays 9 reviews from this member

Friendly wardens and well kept drive.

The pylons are a bit spooky as they buzz all the time.

1 shower block - ladies had 3 showers I think (maybe 4).

Filthy.

Drains are blocked so you are in a few inches of goodness knows what after a couple of mins.

Dirty and mouldy.

Sinks were dirty - and it wasn't just from that day - it was old dirt - looks like nobody cleans regularly.

Big sink for washing up is in the shower/toilet block! That was dirty too.

We had to have a shower there on our first day but friends whom we were visiting let us use their shower the next day - we just couldn't face it.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: NicciMac 46 reviews from this member

There is only one way to describe our experience at Poolview - totally surreal! Firstly, the sat nav takes you up a track to a farm yard on the wrong side of the hill. The farmer tells us this happens at least a couple of times a week. How have the owners not yet sorted this out?

Secondly, the power lines. We were shown to a pitch at the top of the site (next to loo disposal, LUSH). The pitch was slap bang between two huge pylons, the power lines were buzzing away above us. And then we had a powercut! You couldn't make it up. So we're sat there and we can't put a film on because there's no working EHU, we can only sit in the dark and listen to the hum of the power all around us. Hilarious.

I picked this place because it has a pool on site (hence the name), and I like getting in pools. We didn't even get to the pool, it should be renamed Pylonview.

Handy for Ironbridge. Bit of a trek back up the hill from toilet and shower block, but toilets were free and hot. Washing up areas are inside the ladies/ gents so you can't go and do the dishes together :(. £18 for EHU, plus dog.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DAVE J-W 3 reviews from this member

We were looking for a campsite in this area because we were attending a family reunion. After looking at several in the area we chose Pool View. Our decision was based on Cost, Location and Facilities. The cost was the cheapest in the area, the location was just about perfect and the facilities would do. (We are not 'fair weather campers'), and Glamping isn't in my vocabulary. The Warden and his wife were extremely helpful with any of our technical hiccups; lack of tent pegs being the main one! The views around were brilliant, ok I agree the power station is a bit of an eyesore but, if you look at it from a photographic view, it isn't there. There is abundant wildlife ranging from Canadian Geese to Red Deer.

The toilet block was perfectly adequate, with enough of everything.

The only downside of this site is that if it rains heavily for a couple of days, there is a possibility of floating away - tent and all! Other than that it's a great site.

We shall be returning and also we told everyone at the reunion of it.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Compgirl 6 reviews from this member

We picked this site for its close proximity to the attractions of Ironbridge, which are a 5min drive away. The current owners have only been there for 15 months and in that time have done some upgrades, with much more work to do. It is a peaceful, friendly site and is often visited by the local wildlife. There are some nice walks close by also.

As mentioned in other reviews, the site is directly behind the power station with overhead cables crossing the site. This was a little disconcerting in a thunderstorm but otherwise it was not a problem.

The toilet/shower block needs updating, which is high on the owners priority list, but is perfectly adequate.

All in all the site is well worth the cost as we have stayed on many others of much higher cost which are not as good.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Debsroly 4 reviews from this member

Stayed for one night, motorhome and 2 small dogs.

First the positives: the walks from the site were very good, with marked paths leading to the Shropshire Way and we found a very nice walk to the local National Trust property through the woods and across fields.

The TV ariel reception was very good and we picked up quite a few channels.

The local pub (which was in fact the bowling club) was ¾ mile down the road (no street lights) but had a very pleasant garden in the grounds of the abbey (nice when the weather was good) apparently the food was good (see not so positives)

The owners were helpful.

Not so positives:

Firstly, why no directions to the site on the website? The owner said a fair few people (coming from the South) ended up on a farmtrack instead of the site. Wouldn’t take much to rectify.

The site seemed to be in the middle of lots of building work, so it looked a bit desolate, with unfinished static caravan pitches and roads. The lovely view of the power station didn’t help, although views in other directions were quite pleasant. Trees obscured a lot though.

The toilet block- oh dear – clean but 2 steps down so no good for wheelchair users or those unsteady on their feet and the slabs on the mens steps were loose. Hardly any hooks for towels etc and the mirror in the mens room was fine if you were 4 foot high. Only ladies can do the washing up and there was no drainer.

The owners showed us the menu for the pub/club and gave us the opening hours Sunday lunchtime and 6. 30pm-8 pm on the evening. Unfortunately they neglected to mention NOT Sunday evenings – so we had to eat emergency rations. (the club told us they had informed the site of this?)

Pretty awfulls:

The touring area is placed at the top bit of the site (site is quite slopey) but directly underneath and very close to very high voltage power lines carrying maximum volts being so near the power station. You could hear them fizzing, I was extremely uncomfortable to be so close to them (we were directly underneath) and whether it was a coincidence? but both myself and my husband went home with headaches. I am glad neither of us had pacemakers or defibrillators!

The cost- £19 for off peak, Sunday night what I would expect to pay for a site with pretty good facilities. I am sorry to say that we were glad to drive away the following morning and no way will be returning, What a shame as the area around Ironbridge is really nice.

Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Shropshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2851 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0930