Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Poolview Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Telford > Poolview Caravan Park Reviews

Poolview Caravan Park
Buildwas
Ironbridge
Telford
Shropshire   (Browse area)
TF8 7BS
Tel: 01952 433182
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 19 Reviews
                7/10 from 19 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mattyd 1 review from this member

 Nice quiet park, mainly residents rather than tourers.

Right by, I mean right by, the power station.

Good for Ironbridge, walk was lovely down the Severn Way.

No drinking water. Toilets and showers were very clean.

Wild deer roaming the site was pretty special! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Janiem 1 review from this member

 Very welcoming. Tidy & clean, immaculately kept grass. Beautiful lake. Value for money.

Nice little shop. Great walk through the woods to Ironbridge.

Would definitely re visit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: DianeJackman 1 review from this member

 Great site, very friendly happy staff and no time limits for coming and going to and from the park, even on the arriving and departing days.

The toilets were very clean, with nice toilet paper and showers were good too.

I cannot fault the place or people at all. Also close to everywhere. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wetwellies 13 reviews from this member

 Site is less than ten minutes by car from ironbridge - we have two kids under 5 and they loved the enginuity museum particularly, so this is a good base for that. There is a great pub called the Shakespeare inn with a good play area down the road a bit from ironbridge. Also recommend the steam railway about ten minutes away at horshays - staff were amazing with the kids.

There is a disused power station right next to the site - I mean right next to! This is not clear from photos you see online. Its disused so no noise or traffic. Other reviews mention the buzzing of the power lines - it was noticeable but did not really bother us. Site was quiet at all times.

Warden helpful, although a bit hard to locate, and other staff nice too. Shower block looks dated but clean and showers really nicely hot. Cost us less than forty quid for two nights, which is very reasonable - you do get what you pay for, so I wouldn't expect posher facilities for this price.

One thing that did annoy me was that people pitched right behind us - no gap at all really, could do with marked pitches.
There is a small shop on site, and I think they are about to build a proper play area?

Overall, we probably wouldn't go back as this seemed more of a community style site for permament statics and motorhomes, rather than a family camping site. Not that we didn't feel welcome, but it just didn't have the family camping vibe for us. 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Barryjgardner 7 reviews from this member

 Just spent 2 nights at this site. Where we pitched is little more than a gravel car park populated by workers caravans who arrived or departed at strange hours. Facilities supplied are some distance from the pitch / graveled area. It would appear the site is adapted for static or lodge semi retired and no consideration for motorhome or caravaners. On the plus side Andy, who directed us in was very friendly 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: SQUIGSUM 4 reviews from this member

 We have just spent a long weekend at Poolview campsite and from the moment we arrived to the moment we left we felt as though we were visiting old friends. We found Andy the warden very friendly and extremely hard working and knowledgeable.

The camp was very quiet and peaceful. It was nice to see the squirrels and pheasants running around carefree. Andy told us that they have deer that visit the site but we did not manage to see them. We live in a town so it was nice to hear and see lots of birds and to know that the residents on the site look after them.

The shower blocks were a bit old fashioned but the water was always hot and the units were kept clean and tidy. There was also washing machines available to use. Andy explained that the shower/toilet blocks are going to be updated with work due to start in September. The plans seem really good especially as they plan to have toilets and showers specifically designed for disabled campers.

We wished we could have stayed longer but we had other commitments to fulfil. We will definitely return when we get chance.

Thanks Andy you went above and beyond to make sure we had a pleasant stay. We look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lillntlworld 1 review from this member

 Very close to Ironbridge lovely site. Don't worry about other reviews that moan about the power cables, no problems not intrusive at all. The showers could have been cleaner but very hot & powerful. Recommend 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MEST 1 review from this member

 Just spent a week at Pool View, a lovely site. A walk of 3/4 of a mile down then a few steps to a spot where you hail the bus. One side for Ironbridge Gorge and Telford the other for Shrewsbury, . They run every Two hours and not on Sunday's.

The washrooms are to be replaced next year the current one will 'do'

The Site Warden Andy is great, so helpful nothing too much trouble, what a star.

Will we go back, yes. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bafackinlays 9 reviews from this member

 Friendly wardens and well kept drive.

The pylons are a bit spooky as they buzz all the time.

1 shower block - ladies had 3 showers I think (maybe 4).

Filthy.

Drains are blocked so you are in a few inches of goodness knows what after a couple of mins.

Dirty and mouldy.

Sinks were dirty - and it wasn't just from that day - it was old dirt - looks like nobody cleans regularly.

Big sink for washing up is in the shower/toilet block! That was dirty too.

We had to have a shower there on our first day but friends whom we were visiting let us use their shower the next day - we just couldn't face it. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: NicciMac 61 reviews from this member

 There is only one way to describe our experience at Poolview - totally surreal! Firstly, the sat nav takes you up a track to a farm yard on the wrong side of the hill. The farmer tells us this happens at least a couple of times a week. How have the owners not yet sorted this out?

Secondly, the power lines. We were shown to a pitch at the top of the site (next to loo disposal, LUSH). The pitch was slap bang between two huge pylons, the power lines were buzzing away above us. And then we had a powercut! You couldn't make it up. So we're sat there and we can't put a film on because there's no working EHU, we can only sit in the dark and listen to the hum of the power all around us. Hilarious.

I picked this place because it has a pool on site (hence the name), and I like getting in pools. We didn't even get to the pool, it should be renamed Pylonview.

Handy for Ironbridge. Bit of a trek back up the hill from toilet and shower block, but toilets were free and hot. Washing up areas are inside the ladies/ gents so you can't go and do the dishes together :(. 18 for EHU, plus dog. 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Poolview Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Poolview Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Poolview Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Telford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


9186 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement