Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Kirkfield Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Borders > Site Reviews

Kirkfield Caravan Site
Grafton Road
Town Yetholm
Kelso
Borders   (Browse area)
TD5 8SA
Tel: 07791 291956  or  01573 420346
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 16
Open: 01/04 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 6 Reviews
                9/10 from 6 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona W 174 reviews from this member

This site is firmly in the 'hidden gem' category. You must seek it out as it's well off the A roads, tucked in behind a disused church.

We stayed longer than planned, for many reasons: the beautiful views south to the Cheviot Hills from our pitch at the top of the site; the total peace & quiet, with barely any passing road traffic; the sweet sound of the church bells ringing the quarter hours from Kirk Yetholm on the other side of the valley; the villages of Town & Kirk Yetholm are both very interesting to walk around with their thatched roofs & pretty gardens & their strong sense of community (and their Romany history is worth reading about); the butcher sells excellent local meat but also egg & rolls etc; St Cuthbert's Way follows the valley floor so there are enjoyable walks in either direction - and everyone we met walking their dog was so friendly & wanted to chat.

The helpful Warden is also a gem, with a gentle wry humour; he's almost obsessive about keeping the site clean, spic & span: he was even raking grass clippings off the gravel one morning.

No Motorhome drain, you'll need a cannister for grey water if you're staying long. You might need levelling chocks but each hardstand has a water pipe. The one very minor quibble would be the ladies shower - it took a very delicate touch to get the temperature right, and another lady had to wait as there's only the one. But would it stop us coming back? No - there's something special about this site, which I can't describe, that makes me want to go back.

Nearby? Kelso has a Sainsbury, an Abbey, Kelso Races, Floors Castle & gardens, and the excellent Roxburghe Golf Course. Also worth going to The Hirsel at Coldstream for its craft centre, the many walks and the bird hide by the loch (an SSSI because of its birds).

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 76 reviews from this member

We stayed at Kirkfield Caravan Park for 5 nights in August 2018.

As others have said, it is a site with all the facilities that we require. It is sloping but you should be able to find a level pitches in most areas. There are a variety of pitches available Ė some on grass, some on hardstanding but those required tracking across the grass to gain access and 5 full hardstanding pitches at the bottom of the site adjacent to the toilet/shower block.

The site owners house is on site so he was normally about to answer any queries etc. Card payment canít be taken at the site, so you have to go to the village garage to make such payments. The village has a mini-market shop selling most essentials including newspapers. There is a pub but we didnít visit.

The Pennine Way finishes a Kirk Yetholm which is about a mile away, so we walked quite a bit of that, out & back, always calling in at The Borders Hotel for refreshment! St. Cuthbertís Way also passes close to the site.

Overall a good site with an excellent location to walk the myriad of routes in the area.

£18 per night in August 2018.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nomadicold 4 reviews from this member

Lovely little quiet site in super location. Just off the High Street where there is a village shop and post office plus a butcher. Friendly welcoming owner. Toilets and shower (one for each sex) cleaned daily but feel the shower could do with uprating from a domestic set up to something more robust. We did enjoy our stay and hope to return

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Deasey 1 review from this member

Stayed over the Easter Weekend, great little site very well looked after, toilet block is spotless cleaned daily. Perfect base for Walking the Pennine Way, St Cuthberts Way or the Cheviot Hills. The Borders Hotel does a great Sunday lunch and are most welcoming as is the pub in Town Yetholm.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: John+Brenda 13 reviews from this member

First time at this site what a gem, 3 nights over whit weekend.

The owner showed us to pitch asked which one we wanted with EHU.

We where with friends 6 tents in all adults & children.

Toilet block spotless only 1 shower in gents & ladies, it was not a problem never any queues.

The weather was perfect, the views where fantastic from around the site.

No play area for kids on site made own entertainment play area in village.

Pub 5 min walk into village good food & pint pub staff are very helpful.

The only complaint I have was no hot water for washing the dishes in the wash up sink, so we just boiled a kettle no problem.

The owner just came out of hospital, did not want to bother him he was a real gent.

What else can I say the site the area quiet and fantastic.

We wish the owner a fast recovery and we will be back.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 490 reviews from this member

Spent a few days on this site while touring Scotland.

Location

In the small village of Kirk Yetholm, a quiet spot surrounded by Borders countryside. Shop and pub in walking distance.

Facilities

Generally the site well maintained, though quite dated. It's a small, quiet site. Pitched have electric hook up.

Price

Around £16 per night for two people with electricity. Good value.

Great site!


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Borders

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3405 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!