Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Hideout

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Hideout
Flitchetts Farm
Stawell Road
Stawell
Bridgwater
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA7 9AU
Tel: 0797 444 2190
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 8 Reviews
                9/10 from 8 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Strathdene 1 review from this member

We had a lovely week at 'The Hideout'. Jackie was very welcoming and helpful, she even text me a couple of times while we were there to check everything was ok with us - which it was. The facilities are really good. The toilets and showers are lovely and clean and nice and warm. The information room with microwave and washing machine also had a selection of leaflets and info on the local area and amenities. Thanks for an enjoyable week, we hope to return next year.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shelleyjustice 6 reviews from this member

Another fab night at the hideout. So friendly and helpful. The breakfast you recommended was lovely and journey smooth and pleasurable. Quiet clean site with lovely bathroom facilities. Level pitches with plenty of room. Wardens/owners are very knowledgeable, we asked about local amenities and were given info, then when we got up a note had been left on windscreen with extra info and suggested places to visit.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ratty 188 reviews from this member

We phoned up and booked a pitch in the morning and the owner was friendly both on the phone and on arrival. She also offered us a cup of tea on arrival, explained the facilities, etc.

Site is very very windy and very stony, so make sure you have your wind breaks and rock pegs. The site though is fairly flat making it easy to get a level pitch.

Near to main road so you do get the hum and this went on til late and started again early in the morning.

Pub is 1. 5 miles away, be careful as there are two Ring o' Bells in the local area and we ended up at the one 4 miles away by mistake, the nearer one is out of the site to the left, straight over the cross roads, follow that road to the end, turn left and then right. You will see the pub. It is a narrow lane and probably not that suitable for little ones to be walking along.

Handy for M5 stopovers.

Spotless toilet block two cubicles containing showers and toilets for both men and women. Outside washing up sink. Room with fridge, freezer and microwave. Also info on local area.

Whilst the toilet and showers are definitely 1st class, having them in the same room is just daft. All it takes, which happened a few times, is for two people to be going to the toilet at the same time, then taking a shower, this means the toilets are out of action for around half an hour a time, not great with kids bursting in the mornings. Of course this is worse once a queue builds up. There were only 13 units on site when we visited too.

Another really daft thing is the main gate, yes they need a huge gate for the vehicles to get through to the field, but why not put in a small pedestrian gate too? Everytime you need to use the facilities you have to open the huge gate, which is neither easy nor quiet and anyone pitching near the entrance is subjected to a banging and clicking of the gate everytime it is opened. Even with the best will in the world to keep quiet, this is virtually impossible with teh existing gate. A half hour job to fit a pedestrian swing gate in the fence is all it takes.

Paid 24 for the night with EHU which seems a lot for an area with nothing nearby, unless you have a car. Walking from site is plentiful, but not so easy with young children or dogs.

Overall a nice site with great views of rolling countryside, but windy as the whole area is so flat with no shelter, not the cheapest and not a lot in walking distance, so definitely a car site. I may visit again but unlikely as there are loads more in the area.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shelleyjustice 6 reviews from this member

First class site, we wanted a quiet location to start our holiday, The Hideout was very peaceful and some lovely views. I was glad I had taken directions from the warden when I booked as others had struggled to find it. When you turn off main road you can see the site but to get to it you have to go down a steep hill and along some narrow lanes. Met at the gate with two mugs of tea. Very friendly and helpful. They suggested a local pub and also places to visit nearby like clarks village and Glastonbury.

Toilets were the best we have seen, two private shower rooms with toilet, sink and shower in ladies, I assume gents was the same. Spotlessly clean, hand wash, air freshener and proper towel.

No shop or anything for kids, but we didn't need either.

Wouldn't hesitate to book in there again.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Yellowhippo 1 review from this member

We stayed at this site for the half term week in May and even though it was full for the weekend there was plenty of space on the site.

When we arrived it was raining and we had just had a very long journey, we were met with a cup of tea from the owners and help to get the tent up as quickly as possible.

The pitches are located in a small flat field and run down each side, there is no children's play area but plenty of space in the field to play.

The toilets and showers are fantastic, the best on any site we have been to. The only downside is that there are no toilets without showers in them so when it was busy there was occasionally a short wait but the owners said they were going to look at this and over the bank holiday we were they they had portable toilets on site to cope.

The owners of this site could not do enough to help us, they were happy to help with things to do locally and they also have an area where there is free access to a fridge, freezer, microwave and kettle.

The site is centrally located and we visited Somerset, Devon and Dorset easily. It is also easily accessible from the M5.

Overall this is a lovely small, quiet, well run site and we would definitely return.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HarryBear 14 reviews from this member

We spent one night here as we needed to test our new tent at a site local to us - this is about 20 minutes from home.

We were made to feel welcome from the moment we booked and were even offered a cup of coffee on arrival. The facilities are spotless and hotel quality; each is an individual shower room and clearly brand new. The washing up sink is under cover and has lighting (one fault on many other sites!). Unlike some sites, the fridge, freezer and kettle are free to use. The pitches are generous, flat and the soil is soft without any stones. There has been a lot of thought put into the campsite, including the tray to rest your washing up bowl on to open the gate.

Looking forward to returning very soon.

Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Robndenise 2 reviews from this member

This is a small grass site in an attractive location. Convenient for Glastonbury and Bridgwater. We stayed 2 days for the recent Guy Fawkes carnival. The site owners are very welcoming and friendly and the toilets/showers are superb. There are hookups and water taps at pitches. There is a local bus service into Bridgwater passing the site. For the festival the owners even offered a midnight pick up service back to the site to save moving vans and parking up in a very busy Bridgwater. (150000 people attended the carnival) We would thoroughly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Haydave123 1 review from this member

Excellent and very friendly campsite with great toilet and shower facilities. Very clean at all times and very well maintained. Close to GLastonbury, Wells, Burnham on sea and Cheddar for great days out. Owners are the most helpful and friendly we have met. And all campers were respectful and very friendly. Level, spacious grass pitches. Peaceful secure site, As two adults, two kids and two dogs we had a great time. Recommend highly.


Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2609 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0908