Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Radwell Mill Lake Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Hertfordshire > Baldock > Radwell Mill Lake Campsite Reviews

Radwell Mill Lake Campsite
Radwell Mill
Baldock
Hertfordshire   (Browse area)
SG7 5ET
Tel: 01462 834776  or  01462 730242
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/04/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 38 Reviews
                8/10 from 38 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kathfa 1 review from this member

 Beautiful setting and lovely quiet site. Plenty of hook ups in the field but none in the orchard.

No showers, just a toilet block with pot washing facilities.

Ideal for us as just up visiting relatives.

Food hall 5 minutes down the road, just off A1M and 10 minutes from the town of Baldock. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: VWBus 83 reviews from this member

 Lovely little site, pitched in the orchard field between the trees which was very pleasant.

Good clean facilities, accessed with a code.

Direct access to good walking on public footpaths.

8 a night, one adult, one dog, no EHU - great value. 


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ratty 279 reviews from this member

 After the initial enquiry through this website they replied and told me they had pitches and booked me in. As always the reply was prompt and informed me of the cost, etc.

It is 8 per adult per night including the dog. This did not include electric, but that is fine.

As previous years, nice and flat and you have the choice of the field or the Orchard. We use the Orchard as it is nicer to sit amongst the trees. Watch the wasps in summer though with all those apples.

Toilets and facilities as per previous stays, clean, stocked and key code entry. There is no hot water in the toilets, but they supply hand wash, hand san and towels. There is chemical disposal and fresh water. You have to take your own rubbish home though.

Located nicely for the A1 making trips to the local towns easy.

I love this site probably due to it being quite basic, it is what camping is all about. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ratty 279 reviews from this member

 Back again for 2020, I love this site and will always come back. It is perfect for my needs, basic, clean, flat and pretty relaxed.

They have changed the booking now, it used to be turn up and pay, but now they have introduced an online booking system, however the price is still 7 per night per adult, yep 7 and that includes the dog too. I am not sure how much electric is if you want it, I don't use it, so didn't look.

Once booked the confirmation email will confirm the gate and toilet codes and detail site information. The owner then comes round in the evening to tick you off the list.

There are two fields, but we always choose the Orchard, it feels more relaxed and less regimented than the other field. The danger is lots of apples fallen at this time of year, however we were not pestered by wasps at all.

The toilets for men consist of two cubicles and one sink with mirror. There is hand wash and paper towels now. Fresh water is outside of the toilet block and there is a chemical disposal point, however no tap, so it was quite grim when emptying the loo.

Some nice fields nearby to walk the dog and also Radwell Lake itself which is nice and has loads of ducks, so making it great if you have little ones with you.

Baldock not far for Tesco, takeaways, pubs, etc.

As said at the start, I love this site and will return year after year for a relaxing break with friends and family. 


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Green grass 1 review from this member

 Arrived at site was very disappointed,

We were going to stop a couple of nights but when we arrived it looked like a scrap yard so we only stopped one night as we were tired.

Think the price with electric is dear and you have to wait for owner to come round to give a swipe card for electric box,

Only cold water to wash your hands in the toilet and nothing to dry your hands on,

Will not be returning. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Bint 3 reviews from this member

 I spent one night here with my friend and I tried to phone with no luck so just turned up.

The site has 2 fields and there was loads of space I both. We chose our spot and set up.

Around 6. 30 a lady came round in her gold cart and was lovely and chatty and took payment, this was 6 each for the night, including the dog.

Facilities are very basic and just a couple of cubicles and no hot water, but for one night it is ok. The toilets were well stocked and always had loo paper.

There are loads of things to do in the area and Baldock is a lovely town. Walking straight from the site too was great for the dog.

Easily accessed from the A1, but far enough away for it not be a nuisance.

A very well priced, flat site that caught the sun late into the evening and I will be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ratty 279 reviews from this member

 A return visit to this site, but the first one of the year.

I couldn't get hold of anyone, but later found the lady was on holiday, so we just turned up anyway, and pitched and the chap on his buggy came round and took our 6 per person per night fee. The dog was free.

Extremely friendly welcome from the owner and we had a good chat and made us feel comfortable.

This site is as was before, just simply a beautiful, peaceful setting with two toilets and sinks in each the ladies and gents.

They are installing barrier systems so this will increase security, however the site is safe and we have never experienced any problems.

Great walking from the site around the lake and wooded area and Baldock not too far away with pubs, main shops, takeaways, etc.

I will be back time and time again as I love it here. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Absinthe_boy 17 reviews from this member

 A group of four of us in two tents camped at Radwell Mill in mid May 2018. Two of us had been a few times before, but more than 10 years ago. The site hasn't changed much and is quite basic with clean, functional toilets and not much else.

We phoned in advance to check availability as the weather forecast was lovely, to be told just to turn up and someone would be along to take our payment in the evening. We arrived around 6pm and sure enough by 7pm a couple arrived on a golf buggy to take payments. They are able to deal with cash and cards.

We chose the orchard this time as it was quieter. There was no rally in the big field but it looked like a big family gathering. Both fields are well tended and offer pitches with some shade if you want it. The toilet block is between the two fields so nobody should be too far away.

Both the gents' and ladies' toilets have two cubicles each with a couple of sinks. One sink is a kitchen sink type so you can do your washing up here, just heat up some water at your unit first as there's no hot water. These facilities are basic but kept well and everything works.


There are a few EHUs in the bigger field at an additional cost of 4 per night. Otherwise the fee is 6 per adult, 1 per child per night. Very reasonable and reflects the basic nature of the site.

There are no showers but we were only staying a couple of nights so no problem. You can always use showers at the nearby Baldock services if necessary. There's a little bridge and a short woodland warlk (a minute or two max) to the lake to feed the ducks and swans.

A beautifully simple several centuries old church round the corner. Lots of places to walk, and the market town of Baldock is a couple of miles away. This also has rail and bus services.

Both nights were quiet, our friends up from London remarked it was the quietest night since they moved to London from Texas. The few other campers kept themselves to themselves and children were playing all around the site but well behaved. The owners visited periodically up to about 9pm to take fees and just have a quick look about.

All in all very pleasurable. In an age when most sites are offering an increasing variety of facilities such as individual water points, all EHU, playgrounds, bars, wi-fi. It was nice to go somewhere cheap and cheerful.

We have nothing against the more sophisticated sites and use them for longer visits. But for a couple of nights Radwell Mill offered a very good value getaway from the bustle of every day life. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bint 3 reviews from this member

 We only stayed the one night and were in the smaller of the 2 fields.

The site is very reasonably priced and easy to get to from the A1M.

You can walk into Baldock in around 15 minutes where there are some lovely pubs and a really nice Indian.

There are no showers here but as we only stayed the one night this was not a problem.

The toilets are clean and the women's have 2 toilets and sinks. 


Date of Visit: April 2017  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ratty 279 reviews from this member

 Another great visit at this site. The price is just 6 per adult and free dogs.

Nothing has really changed since last visit and the toilets were very clean and usable with washing up sinks available.

Great walking straight from site.

The owner is still very friendly and helpful.

This site was very quiet when we were here and I would definitely recommend and will be back again and again. 


Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Radwell Mill Lake Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Radwell Mill Lake Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Radwell Mill Lake Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Baldock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hertfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Lifestyle 2022 Show, Shropshire 06/05 to 08/05
Holiday homes, caravans, camping, holidays, garden rooms, hot tubs, garden furniture, gardening, health & fitness - 20% off tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3435 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement