Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Radwell Mill Lake Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Hertfordshire > Baldock > Radwell Mill Lake Campsite > Reviews

Radwell Mill Lake Campsite
Radwell Mill
Baldock
Hertfordshire   (Browse area)
SG7 5ET
Tel: 01462 834776  or  01462 730242
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/04/2024 to 30/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 43 Reviews
                8/10 from 43 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Ratty 312 reviews from this member

 Another quick one night at the site and booking was easy online and the owner came round to check us off the list and left us to it.

Same as before, no changes and a great flat site with plenty of space.

Despite the weather being awful and very wet, the ground held up well and we had n problems getting on and off

I will return time and again 


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gusja9 1 review from this member

 Very quiet and dark camp which we like.

Park in a field, pick your own spot. Good walking from camp.

No showers and toilets just ok.

Pay separately if you want electric which was fine.

Overall would recommend if you're not too worried about clean facilities. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ratty 312 reviews from this member

 As in previous years from the initial enquiry through this website, to the politeness and friendliness received, we had an excellent stay at this site. The reply was prompt and informed me of the cost, to book online, etc. The booking confirmation email contained the gate codes.

It was 9. 50 per adult per night for me in my campervan.

As previous years, nice and flat and you have the choice of the field or the Orchard. We used both the Field and the Orchard this time, and the orchard is lovely to sit among the trees however when the apples drop, you need to watch the wasps! The field is nice and flat, loads of space and this is where the electric points are.

Toilets and facilities as per previous stays, clean, stocked and key code entry. There is no hot water in the toilets, but they supply hand wash, hand san and towels. There is chemical disposal and fresh water. You have to take your own rubbish home though.

Nothing for children, except the huge places to run around and play, plus there are all the walks direct from the site and the lake itself is so peaceful and calming and a great place to sit and watch the sunset over it.

Located nicely for the A1 making trips to the local towns easy.

I still love this site probably due to it being quite basic, it is what camping is all about. 


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Hingy 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed in the orchard area of the campsite, this is a little quieter and definitely more picturesque. Lots of apple and pear trees and good areas of shade if needed.

The main field is a little less picturesque. Lots of caravans laid up permanently, a lot not in great condition. Unfortunately this is the area where the electric hook ups are.

The toilets are basic but clean. No showers or washing up area to speak of.

Good value site for a stop over or short stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ratty 312 reviews from this member

 After the initial enquiry through this website they replied and told me they had pitches and booked me in. As always the reply was prompt and informed me of the cost, etc.

It is now 8. 50 per adult per night for me in my campervan, electric was an extra 5. 50, so I passed on that.

As previous years, nice and flat and you have the choice of the field or the Orchard. We used both the Field and the Orchard this time, and the orchard is lovely to sit among the trees however when the apples drop, you need to watch the wasps! The field is nice and flat, loads of space and this is where the electric points are.

Toilets and facilities as per previous stays, clean, stocked and key code entry. There is no hot water in the toilets, but they supply hand wash, hand san and towels. There is chemical disposal and fresh water. You have to take your own rubbish home though.

Nothing for children, except the huge places to run around and play, plus there are all the walks direct from the site and the lake itself is so peaceful and calming and a great place to sit and watch the sunset over it.

Located nicely for the A1 making trips to the local towns easy.

I still love this site probably due to it being quite basic, it is what camping is all about. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kathfa 1 review from this member

 Beautiful setting and lovely quiet site. Plenty of hook ups in the field but none in the orchard.

No showers, just a toilet block with pot washing facilities.

Ideal for us as just up visiting relatives.

Food hall 5 minutes down the road, just off A1M and 10 minutes from the town of Baldock. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: VWBus 83 reviews from this member

 Lovely little site, pitched in the orchard field between the trees which was very pleasant.

Good clean facilities, accessed with a code.

Direct access to good walking on public footpaths.

8 a night, one adult, one dog, no EHU - great value. 


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ratty 312 reviews from this member

 After the initial enquiry through this website they replied and told me they had pitches and booked me in. As always the reply was prompt and informed me of the cost, etc.

It is 8 per adult per night including the dog. This did not include electric, but that is fine.

As previous years, nice and flat and you have the choice of the field or the Orchard. We use the Orchard as it is nicer to sit amongst the trees. Watch the wasps in summer though with all those apples.

Toilets and facilities as per previous stays, clean, stocked and key code entry. There is no hot water in the toilets, but they supply hand wash, hand san and towels. There is chemical disposal and fresh water. You have to take your own rubbish home though.

Located nicely for the A1 making trips to the local towns easy.

I love this site probably due to it being quite basic, it is what camping is all about. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ratty 312 reviews from this member

 Back again for 2020, I love this site and will always come back. It is perfect for my needs, basic, clean, flat and pretty relaxed.

They have changed the booking now, it used to be turn up and pay, but now they have introduced an online booking system, however the price is still 7 per night per adult, yep 7 and that includes the dog too. I am not sure how much electric is if you want it, I don't use it, so didn't look.

Once booked the confirmation email will confirm the gate and toilet codes and detail site information. The owner then comes round in the evening to tick you off the list.

There are two fields, but we always choose the Orchard, it feels more relaxed and less regimented than the other field. The danger is lots of apples fallen at this time of year, however we were not pestered by wasps at all.

The toilets for men consist of two cubicles and one sink with mirror. There is hand wash and paper towels now. Fresh water is outside of the toilet block and there is a chemical disposal point, however no tap, so it was quite grim when emptying the loo.

Some nice fields nearby to walk the dog and also Radwell Lake itself which is nice and has loads of ducks, so making it great if you have little ones with you.

Baldock not far for Tesco, takeaways, pubs, etc.

As said at the start, I love this site and will return year after year for a relaxing break with friends and family. 


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Green grass 1 review from this member

 Arrived at site was very disappointed,

We were going to stop a couple of nights but when we arrived it looked like a scrap yard so we only stopped one night as we were tired.

Think the price with electric is dear and you have to wait for owner to come round to give a swipe card for electric box,

Only cold water to wash your hands in the toilet and nothing to dry your hands on,

Will not be returning. 


Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Radwell Mill Lake Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Radwell Mill Lake Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Radwell Mill Lake Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Baldock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hertfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


44888 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Play our
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win an amazing 12V and 240V 21.5" Full HD Smart WiFi TV with Satellite Decoder worth £399 provided by outdoor superstore Towsure!

Play Here


Advertisement