Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ashridge Farm Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Hertfordshire > Baldock > Ashridge Farm Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Ashridge Farm Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Ashwell St
Ashwell
Baldock
Hertfordshire   (Browse area)
SG7 5QF
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 39
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 32 Reviews
                8/10 from 32 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pca1958 36 reviews from this member

 Our second time here, as we use it to visit family in Stevenage.

The site wardens were very helpful and pleasant, allowing us to move pitch the following day if we wanted, as there were only a handful left by the time we arrived.

Facilities on this intimate site are dated but always clean, however, don't expect to do much on your electronic devices as the Site Wifi is very poor and the 4G phone signal is not very good either.

That being said the site was well kept and most of the pitches look fairly level. As other people have written, Ashwell village is only a 10m walk away and is a delight, with a nice bakery, a butcher and even a chemist.

Spent some time enjoying the delights of the local pubs, although didn't eat in. Caught the train into Stevenage (£6. 60 for two of us return!), the station being a 30m walk away of a 5m taxi ride.

Once at Stevenage, connections can be made to go to London if wished.

Have booked to go back later in the year, so cant be all bad! 


Date of Visit: November 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Davidp 1 review from this member

 First time visiting this site and we enjoyed so much we stayed an extra night.

Site is so quiet, the facilities and grounds are really well looked after.

The village of Ashwell is within walking distance and is worth the effort as it is a lovely village. The mobile signal was a little intermittent.

Site wardens are very efficient and customer focused and friendly.

We shall certainly return for another visit in the future. 


Date of Visit: November 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: ALH1 28 reviews from this member

 Really couldnít find fault!

Lovely little CAMC site within half a mile of the village of Ashwell with a small selection of shops & 3 pubs.

There a lots of walks from the site and cycles.

Facilities were standard CAMC, very clean and amazing hot, powerful showers and kept immaculate.

2 miles from the local train station which takes you into London - there is a bus that takes you from the village to the station, if required. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kevin2 15 reviews from this member

 In the lovely Ashwell village, Herts, and a lovely small site. There's a great walk 6. 25 miles to Steeple Morden and back to Ashwell a lovely village. The Bushel and Strike pub is a welcome place to finish a walk, and enjoy Eagle DNA amber ale.

- Peacocks heard regularly from near the site

Great cycle to Guilden Morden, Hinxsworth, Wrestlungwort, Baldock and Bygrave, then back to Ashwell 24 miles

Another walk 8. 8 miles to Hinxsworth Place and village. Back via Ashwell End and church with ancient graffiti inc. Old st Paul's cathedral drawing. 


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Pca1958 36 reviews from this member

 So this is the third time we have tried to get to this site, twice coming unstuck due to Lockdowns in England and/or Wales.

Contrary to other members experience's, we found the Wardens very helpful and pleasant, and were rewarded also with a lovely quiet site.

Took a walk into the lovely village of Ashwell and found a lovely pub, The Bushell and Strike, which had a great garden to stop for a drink.

Didn't explore much else as we were visiting family, but for sure will be back 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: RichardJCB 17 reviews from this member

 A pleasant site about 1 mile from the centre of the attractive village.

There was 1 pub open when we stayed, which was only serving food at the weekend, 2 being closed due to the virus.

There is a nice bakers, and a butcher and small general dealer.

The site is very tidy, with very good facilities. Access was restricted during our visit due to the virus. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Crossfire 18 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a week in the summer holidays. Lovely kept site with hardstanding and grass pitches.

Toilets were well maintained and clean. Wardens on-site were pleasant and friendly.

Location was ideal for walking the dogs between the farmer's fields or walking to the 4 local pubs in the village. All seemed to be pet-friendly.

Not an ideal site for our teenage children as the WIFI wasn't great.

Aldi and Marks and Spencers supermarkets about 5 miles from the site. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Moggssue 24 reviews from this member

 Last minute decision to spend a sunny Easter weekend at Ashridge and what a great decision it was! A lovely, peaceful campsite - even though it was full for the bank holiday it was so relaxing.

Perfectly clean and comfortable washing up area, lovely hot water in the showers - no push button to content with just lashings of controlable water.

We were allowed to chose our own pitch out of the five remaining when we arrived which was greatly appreciated (though the last to arrive would have had no choice unfortunately, that's the way of the world hey), they all had plenty of room both on the hardstanding and the grassed parts.

The whole site is clearly very well cared for. A five minute walk into the village revealed two pubs with a third another few minutes up the road. All three were friendly and welcoming - we ate in the Bushel & Strike and don't recommend it for food.

We had booked for 8pm but they were apparently running a few minutes late - 40 minutes later we discovered our table had knowingly been given to another couple. An hour and a half later we actually got some food - though by then they had sold out of the things we would have preferred. Stick to the other two pubs if you want decent service!

We also visited Knebworth House, 20 minute drive away, for a very pleasant afternoon.

All in all a great stay on a really peaceful campsite - we will be back - there are still some walks from the village we want to tackle! (Not having children we can't comment on that aspect but there does seem to be plenty in the surrounding area to entertain them). 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sue Paul 80 reviews from this member

 Great little site with all thatís needed to hand. Staff were nice so all very pleasant and parking not an issue unlike some sites.

Facilities all good and pitches level.

Nearby village has a general shop, butchers, cake shop, chemist and general store so all to hand, plus 3 pubs which sadly were all closed for various reasons on the Monday we were there.

Some fantastic walks on the doorstep so happy to return one day. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sonygeezer 15 reviews from this member

 The good thing about this site is that it is so easy to get too, straight off the A1 onto the A505 and then on to Station road and turn onto Ashwell Street and you are there.

Nice quiet site close to the village of Ashwell which has three pubs which all serve food, a bakery a chemist and a small shop.

The downside for me was the hard standing was hard and a big struggle to even get rock pegs into it if I visit again I will chose to pitch on the grass. 


Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ashridge Farm Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Ashridge Farm Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Baldock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hertfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3462 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement