Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ashridge Farm Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > Hertfordshire > Site Reviews

Ashridge Farm Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Ashwell St
Ashwell
Baldock
Hertfordshire   (Browse area)
SG7 5QF
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 39
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 24 Reviews
                8/10 from 24 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sue Paul 61 reviews from this member

Great little site with all thatís needed to hand. Staff were nice so all very pleasant and parking not an issue unlike some sites.

Facilities all good and pitches level.

Nearby village has a general shop, butchers, cake shop, chemist and general store so all to hand, plus 3 pubs which sadly were all closed for various reasons on the Monday we were there.

Some fantastic walks on the doorstep so happy to return one day.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sonygeezer 7 reviews from this member

The good thing about this site is that it is so easy to get too, straight off the A1 onto the A505 and then on to Station road and turn onto Ashwell Street and you are there. Nice quiet site close to the village of Ashwell which has three pubs which all serve food, a bakery a chemist and a small shop. The downside for me was the hard standing was hard and a big struggle to even get rock pegs into it if I visit again I will chose to pitch on the grass.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Iwalani 158 reviews from this member

This is the smallest C and MC site we have visited, with just 39 pitches, 8 of them on grass, the rest hard standing. Facilities were up to the usual excellent C and MC standards, but being such a small site the range of items available to buy from Reception is limited. A few of the pitches back onto a small housing estate, which means the occasional sound of lawn-mowing on summer evenings.

The village of Ashwell is only a 5-minute, level walk away. We had no idea what it would be like and were delighted by what we found. On the way into the village you pass The Spring, a large shallow pool and site of Special Scientific Interest where water wells up to form the source of the River Cam. There are some very pretty buildings from various periods, including thatched cottages, and a handful of rather smart little shops. There are three pubs, and we ate at the one nearest the camp site, the Three Tuns, which I would describe as a gastro pub - the meal we had was superb. The pub has a large garden and patio area, very pleasant on a warm day. The other two pubs looked good as well, the Rose and Crown perhaps more traditional, and the Bushel and Strike, opposite the church, very much gastro.

The church itself is well worth a visit. It was built in the 14th century and is made of 'clunch'! There's some interesting graffiti inside dating from the time of the Black Death.

We'll certainly be returning to this site as there are plenty of interesting places to visit in the vicinity.

Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jacqui K 2 reviews from this member

This small site is well maintained and situated in a peaceful, rural area. We visited with our 4 small dogs, who enjoyed the nearby walks through fields.

Electric hook up provided with level hard standing.

The shower block is quite small but is clean and, as well as showers and toilets, provides privacy wash cubicles, which is a must for us.

The nearby village has two pubs, a general store and bakers and is well worth a visit. There is a walk by a spring which is accessed via steps down from the high street.

The site wardens are very friendly and helpful and we would certainly visit again.

Date of Visit: January 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 211 reviews from this member

To Find Site:- Leave the A1M at Junction 9 and take A505 towards Royston. In about 6 miles watch out for the second sign on the left to Ashwell ( also signed for Steeple Morden Station), the site is about 2 miles from here. Once past the station and The Jester Inn watch out for a left turn signed to Ashwell. From the main road to Ashwell there are traffic calming measures in place so care is required. In Ashwell the site is signed to the right down a short narrow lane.

This small campsite on the edge of the village of Ashwell. This memberís only site is open all year. Attached to the site is a large storage area which is well screened from most campsite pitches. There are 39 pitches in total, 25 are on hardstanding and the rest on grass. Electric points are convenient to all pitches and are rated at 16amps using CEE17 blue connectors. There is a single, central, toilet block which is of a good standard, included in the complex is a laundry room and a covered washing up area with two sinks. The site has single water and waste service point plus a motorhome service point. There is site wide WiFi although signal strength is not that fast. Reception sells a few essentials and will order newspapers if required. Next door to reception is an information shed with details of local attractions and places to eat.

The village of Ashwell is only a short walk from the site. There are several pubs and restaurants plus an Indian takeaway. We have used the Three Tuns in the past and more recently The Rose and Crown for meal which was excellent. The Post Office seems to have closed but further up the main street is a General Store and a bakery. There are five daytime buses in each direction from Ashwell village to Baldock town centre and Steeple Morden Station and a more limited service to Royston.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stevemarv 3 reviews from this member

This is one of our favourite sites on the entire caravan club network. It is a small quiet and immaculately maintained site. Wardens are friendly and can't do enough for you. Pitches are level, mainly hard standings and easy to access. Welfare facilities are clean and well maintained and the showers hot and continuous. There are only two showers per side and they can get crowded at peak times but where are you rushing off to? The site does have poor facilities for young children but there are playing facilities in the local village which is a couple of minutes walk away. Personally I would not consider this site if I had young children. There is some low-flying aircraft noise although personally we do not find it an issue. There are large supermarkets within a 10 minute drive of the site and there are excellent pubs in the local village serving good value food. Walking and cycling is available adjacent to the site on the old Railway line and this takes you up to the local villages and a quiet B roads that surround them. The site is convenient for all local amenities and attractions and is particularly convenient for Duxford Aerodrome, London and Cambridge. All in all a real gem of a site.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wilsonjj 2 reviews from this member

This is a small but beautiful site. The toilet and shower facilities are spotless and the pitches are a good size. The site shop is very basic but we found supermarkets within a 5 minute drive so it wasn't a problem. The wardens were helpful and welcoming.

Cambridge is a short drive away and we had a lovely day out. The local village is very pretty with a couple of pubs that came highly recommended.

We loved the peace and quiet of the site and would not hesitate to recommend it. We hope to return soon.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wardley17 3 reviews from this member

Small site but well kept with clean facilities, only 2 showers in facilities but not a problem. The coming and going from storage facilities are only annoying if you are on site during the day. Plane noise can be annoying if clear skies as noise seems to travel more. Excellent butchers and bakers in village and 2 pubs plus Indian takeaway, menus for takeaway available on site. Handy for visiting duxford air museum, nt wimp ole hall, audley end and Cambridge. Plenty of cycling. And walking next to site.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mackeralman 9 reviews from this member

We booked this site as we wished to go into London, it is within 2 miles of a commuter line, only 40mins into the city.

The site itself is very well kept, yes it is small however that is not a problem if you are booked.

Ashwell is a Little gem worth the short walk shops, pubs abound this small village. News agent come provision shop, bakers, butchers, Indian take away, deli type shop are all close together.

We stayed a week and had a really good time. This site is upto the standards a CC member would expect and well worth a vist. Lack of play park caused me to wonder if this would be a problem, but a small play park is 2 minutes away in the village. SORTED

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Beccyandsteve 26 reviews from this member

This is quite a small site by my experience with Caravan Club sites, but everything was to the usual excellent caravan club standard.

The pitches are a good size and all the facilities are centrally located.

There was no road and minimal air noise ( I think it is close to he Luton flight path)

The Pretty village of Ashwell is very close by. There were a couple of pubs which were probably within 5 to 10 minutes walk. Both looked nice, but weren't tested by us. I also noticed an Indian restaurant which I think was a takeaway also within easy walking distance

My husband runs with our dog and easily found nice footpaths which would have made a nice circular walk.

We were visiting with children and although there is no play area, within a 5 minute walk is a great play area with climbing frame, swings and more and also a (very) small bmx / scateboard section.

Near the entrance to the site we found veg & eggs with an honesty box.

I would recommend this site

Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Hertfordshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1613 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019