Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of West Down Orchard Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Somerset > South Petherton > West Down Orchard Touring Park > Reviews

West Down Orchard Touring Park
Lopen Head Park
South Petherton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA13 5JH
Tel: 01460 241538
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 15 Reviews
                8/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: BC-Maidens 3 reviews from this member

 Short visit ideal for nearby Obedience Dog Show over the weekend.

Well organised site, congenial and courteous host.

Like the idea of Electric pay solely for what you use.

Plenty of dog walks, suits us fine.

Have previously been here and will use again. 


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 21 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Genieb 15 reviews from this member

 Not a site we would revisit, has a lot of potential if maintained and very much updated.

Our 1st. Week was the very hot one so the road ways were very dry and dusty although 5 mls per hr, was the norm in these conditions was too fast. Dust in the van, awning and when mentioned, shrug of the shoulders that said, so what.

The laundry, wash up section and the waste bin section was quite deplorable. Bins brimming over, very smelly and the toilet emptying point, a NO, NO.

The main bone of contention was, its mainly a commercial site which is not stated.

Ok, have your workers, no problem with that but they need to be in a designated area and not among the tents and caravans.

Ok for a stop over. We will not revisit. 


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Paulrice2976 1 review from this member

 Friendly staff, nice clean site with toilets showers and a basics shop

Although we only stayed one night to test a camper van with 2 young children I would definitely go back for longer as itís nice and quiet with plenty of space and Apple orchards to wander around,

Also next door is a very nice farm shop 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Festgranny 3 reviews from this member

 This is a beautiful site, with double avenues of apple trees left as corridors to separate the lines of pitches. The website calls the pitches spacious but I don't agree, we were closer than we'd have wished to our neighbours. The roadways are well paved and the pitches are pretty level, and the grass was nicely cut.

It's set in fabulous rolling countryside with pretty, interesting villages nearby. Pub within walking distance (though it's a busy road without pavements). The A303 is far enough away not to be heard, and the birdsong is very loud!

The beautiful setting is unfortunately let down badly by long-term lack of investment and poor maintenance. It's the sort of place that uses ultra-thin loo rolls just 3" wide, and the sort of paper towels you need four of five of just to half-dry your hands.

The purpose-built facilities block looks very tidy from outside but is really tired and dated inside, all seems to have been originally done on the cheap and it's really showing its age.

The website currently says the men's facilities are being upgraded and the women's are temporarily unisex, but this is out of date as two out of the three women's shower cubicles were closed with notices to use the men's, and one of the four loos was out of order. I hope the women's facilities are about to be upgraded but there was no information to say so. For such a large campsite we were very surprised how few loos, basins and showers there were.

The washing up area had two sinks with very small gas water heaters, one of which gave tepid water and the other cold.

Other caravanners had issues with the EHU cutting out completely, though we didn't encounter any problems.

The welcome was warm and the warden helpful and friendly, but not easy to locate later as the shop was not manned all the time it was supposed to be - think they were understaffed and had various problems (water leak, electricity issues) to deal with.

We'd want to see real improvements in the infrastructure before we would consider returning. To summarise, a very mixed bag, much is good but some important elements are currently definitely not up to scratch. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kevin smith 21 3 reviews from this member

 Arrived late Monday

Was made very welcome

Will be going there again

Disappointed no showers or toilets

We only used the site

Our friends moved to south petherton two weeks ago

Village is very nice 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: February 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Peter1967 1 review from this member

 Would have given 11 stars if I could, a truly fabulous caravan park situated within a cider apple orchard,

Very knowledgeable and helpful Wardens that couldnít help us enough,

We almost didnít stay here after reading previous reviews about electrical problems but so glad we did, we had no problems during are stay but we were using Lpg gas for the heating Of our caravan,

The wild life is fantastic during my morning coffee we spotted a group of deers just wondering the park,

Toilets / washrooms were clean, my only small criticism shower water temperature was a bit warm but I did report this and they were looking in to it.

To finish this was my favourite caravan park I have had the pleasure of visiting in 25 years of touring, see you again soon 
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paul wilson 1 review from this member

 We Were made to feel very welcome By the manager despite arriving late due bad weather, we Were shown to are pitch and he even helped us with are electrical hook up,

Site is very clean and well kept toilets and showers clean and plenty hot water and no coins needed which is nice

We will be returning again soon 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Rainy Day 1 review from this member

 I would like to confirm the previous comments of Lea and Yvette. The constant loss of electricity was very inconvenient and frustrating.

Also there was evidence that the toilets had not been cleaned in the 5 days we were there.

We were also told on the second day of our stay that the loss of electricity was due to all the rain. Before being told 2 days later it was due to everyone using electricity for their heating! I was really shocked at the belligerent response we received, not what I expected after reading previous good reviews before I booked.

This was a shame, as the site itself had an excellent location, with lovely views and it was easy to get to many interesting places. To be by the cider orchard was a real delight. 


Date of Visit: November 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Lea and Yvette 5 reviews from this member

 Without a doubt this is the worst site we have visited and that's going some as we've accidentally booked at some right holes before.

Positives, nice location for us visiting family and when our power lead failed the young chap on site obliged with a replacement to see us over our 3 night stay.

Negatives, the toilet block and the infuriating and temperamental metered electric hook up. The water pressure in the toilet block was intermittent at best in both men and womens cubicles, my wife gave up after 20 mins and rinsed her conditioner out at the van.

I went half hour later and the electric shower wasn't even a trickle so I used the only other cubicle on the site - had water pressure but was bloody freezing so we all had 1 shower for our entire stay. The toilet block was cold and really grimy, I've took photos if the site want to contest it.

The electric hook up was an absolute joke, the hook up points were miles from the pitches (ours didn't reach) and the fuses continually kept blowing. We only had the caravan heating on low and switched off everything else if we boiled the kettle so hardly over loading it. When we went out for the day we'd only power the fridge only to find the fuse had blown when we got back.

When I and another disgruntled caravanner (who said their power had dropped out every couple of hours) pointed it out to the warden he was massively defensive and stated there was nothing wrong with the supply as they'd had it checked and suggested it was because people were heating their vans - its November pal, people will heat their caravans and the site wasn't even particularly busy.

The warden became confrontational and stated if the shower wasn't working I should have found him as he'd managed to get it working 10 minutes later and despite me showing him the video of it not working called me a liar.

The other person complaining suggested we walk away as the warden was clearly not customer focused. When I told him I'd write a review he said he couldn't have cared less.

I lost my sense of humour when my kids woke me at 4am this morning to say they were cold as the power failed again and I had to get dressed to revisit the fuse box.

The site was neglected and poorly run which is a shame as it's in a lovely area 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Nick and Ella 1 review from this member

 My six year old daughter and I stayed here over the Air Day weekend for her first ever camping trip, and it was brilliant. We arrived out of hours, but that wasn't a problem as the owner was on site to meet us and show us our pitch.

Tent pitch was flat with very well maintained grass. We didn't need electric hook up, however it was available.

Toilet & shower blocks were always clean with plenty of hot water. Nice to not need a bag of 50p's or £1 coins for a shower too!

Overall a great site in a great location. Quiet and peaceful with great facilities. This will definitely be our "go to" site every time we're in the area. 


Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is West Down Orchard Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to West Down Orchard Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is West Down Orchard Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near South Petherton       Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3244 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement