Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Hannah Starkey

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Brecon > Hannah Starkey Reviews

Hannah Starkey
Cantref
Cantref
Brecon
Powys   (Browse area)
LD38LP
Tel: 07581467303


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 42 Reviews
                9/10 from 42 Reviews

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is currently closed because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking later in the season or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: March 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Crafty61278lam 1 review from this member

 Lovely quiet place to pitch a tent with beautiful surroundings and views with Path ways literally on your door step.

Clean basic but satisfactory facilities with a rustic charm, including some homely comforts.

Made to feel welcome by the friendly farm cat but also of course the farm owner who was very helpful and courteous.

Great to have some active farm life running in the background too.

Definitely planning to revisit.

Thank you for a pleasant stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Siebellis 11 reviews from this member

 Nice site this one. Quiet, no riff raff. Basic amenities but adequate. Only real queue was for washing up as only one sink, oh well just have another beer whilst waiting.

Owner was away whilst we stayed, the only gripe but didn't really bother us was the washing up sink got blocked and as the owner was away it didn't get sorted.

A bit expensive at 9 per head for the facilities offered. Don't do what we did, park up in the field, set up and then go look for the facilities to find there is another campsite next to them! Lol.

Just walked back chucked everything back in the van and drove up the very narrow hedged road. You would struggle in much bigger than a T5.

Would I stay again? Yes I would. 


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: MaggieW 1 review from this member

 Pearl of the campsites. Perfect place for a break. Fab view, the stream nailed it for the kids and it is close to Breacon Beacon with jazz music playing during the summer in most of the pubs.

Bone fire place just next to the stream when guitar and singing will not disturb anyone. Clean, specious facilities.

Most of all - great owner, friendly and honest character. We have been at many campaign sites, but this one has become The One.

Thank you 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Smallfry78 1 review from this member

 We absolutely loved this campsite. There are stunning views, a refreshing stream to take a dip in and it's so peaceful, with only the birds to listen to. Perfect location for exploring.

Thanks Thomas for being so welcoming and caring about the future of our planet! We hope to return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MC16 1 review from this member

 Great little campsite just tents. No caravans or camper vans in the same field Really enjoyed the extra facilities ie Toaster electric kettle and fridge. Also great views of the Black Mountains.

A nice quiet site just the owls and the sheep making any noise. And really easy access to the Brecon Beacons Just 10 minutes walk away before you are on the Fell 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 10086sunset 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely secluded and relaxed site with very good facilities for a more rustic type campsite. Fridge freezer, kettle & microwave were SO appreciated - especially during the heatwave.

Made it a more comfortable and convenient. It's just the shower that needs some attention, but Tom was very good in dealing with it. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campingfamily2018 6 reviews from this member

 Lovely little campsite, we pitched right next to the river which is stunning. Great location for walks up pen y fan and other mountains. Lovely owner Tom.

Large shower room big enough for whole family, plenty of water pressure but shower is coin operated. Only one shower so sometimes have to wait.

Decent toilet facilities and washing up. Steep climb if you pitch at the bottom of the hill! 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campingegg 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely quiet site, set in stunning surroundings above a narrow tree-lined stream / valley. Thomas is the friendly and helpful owner - he couldn't have been more charming if he tried!

The site has good basic, clean facilities including recycling facilities etc.

Fantastic walking direct from the site - either down the valley towards the Mon and Brec canal or up-hill towards the Beacons.

The campsite field is reasonably level and close to the facilities.

Great great place. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sarah Rowe 1 review from this member

 We visited Pentwyn Farm last summer, a family of five in a big family tent. It is a remote, rural site set on the upper slopes of a valley at the edges of the Brecon Beacons. The upper camping field where we pitched offered us plenty of privacy and a flat-enough pitch. This part of the site is nearest the farmhouse, toilet block, tap and barn for firewood/fire baskets.

The amenities were basic but passable, with two token-operated showers (or maybe 50p showers I can't remember exactly now), a toilet room, and a sink with hot(ish) water in the washing up room. There was also a fridge for your food which was useful, and a freezer for your ice blocks.

Nothing was fancy but it was clean and working which was more than good enough for us, and the farmer couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. The views from the top field are truly stunning and you can see weather rolling in from miles away or getting itself stuck in the glacial basins over the valley. I imagine you can get some pretty bad weather up on the side of the hill - in fact we did end up cutting our holiday short by one night as the rain set in - but if you are lucky with the weather then this is an wonderful campsite to stay at.

The lower camping field (which I think was possible to get to in your car via a steep, bumpy track - I am not sure) was by the stream which proved a fantastic play place for our children, and we would/could have swum in it if it has been warmer or if we had had our wetsuits.

There are little waterfalls all along and it is absolutely picturesque. There are glorious walks right from the site down tiny lanes and across fields and along the river. The nearby village of Llanfrynach is lovely, and Talybont has a canal and reservoir with cycle paths and of course there is the gorgeous River Usk.

There are lots of child-friendly 'mountains' to climb in the area before you even head into the Beacons proper and try Pen-y-Fan and all that. The campsite is in a brilliant place to explore the Brecons. We really loved our stay and will definitely return, soon hopefully, as there was so much more to see and do. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Emma R 1 review from this member

 Unfortunately we were only staying overnight, however, how lucky we were to find such a lovely place to stay.

We were unsure of our expected arrival time, but Thomas the owner said just to turn up whenever, how nice to not have to worry about arriving at a particular set time.

We were met by Thomas, who showed us the facilities and directed us to the camping field, he was very kind and accommodating.

The field we camped in looked out overe the beautiful mountains and we were fortunate to catch the raising sun as we were packing up early to leave.

The toilets were clean and the shower room was huge, with a lovely hot shower, and plenty of hooks for your clothes and towels.

Although sadly we had no time to use it, there was an area with a dart board and table and chairs, and also a really handy clean fridge, kettle and toaster you could use.

We did make use of the charging point overnight which was a god send, as my son was in a golf competition at a nearby club so charged his golf trolly battery.

We will definitely return as a family to enjoy the campsite and it's surroundings.

Thank you Thomas x 


Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hannah Starkey child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hannah Starkey?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Hannah Starkey dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brecon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Stratford Caravan & Motorhome Show 26/06 to 28/06
Over 350 new and used caravans and motorhomes, camp over with 3 nights of fantastic live entertainment, bar and food ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2200 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020