Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Burleigh Hill Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon > Burleigh Hill Farm Campsite Reviews

Burleigh Hill Farm Campsite
Somersham Road
St Ives
Huntingdon
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE27 3LY
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 22 Reviews
                9/10 from 22 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 25 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mandle 1 review from this member

 We needed somewhere to stay for 25 nights before embarking on a 3 month tour of France.

Burleigh Hill Campsite was perfect for our needs. A beautiful location just a little way out of the town, easily doable on our bikes.

Their shower and toilet facilities were not great, but we used our own. We pitched up close to the water and we had a hard standing pitch with EHU. Lovely and quiet.

We will be going back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2022 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 We're delighted to advise this site is reopening for 2022 onwards after being closed throughout the 2021 season due to the Coronavirus restrictions and issues arising from the pandemic. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Tofter 2 reviews from this member

 This is a working farm with a large grassed area for caravans and motorhomes. There are some hardstanding pitches in the first of the 3 fields.

All of the pitches have an electric and water supply. The grass surface is kept short and is well drained. Didi, the site manager, is always on hand to help and regularly walks around to check on everyone.

The site is only 2 miles from St Ives and 1. 5 miles from Woodhurst. Both have public footpaths which make them enjoyable walks.

The site is made secure and a key fob is issued on arrival.

A lovely site at £12 per night including ehu 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lynnj3 1 review from this member

 Lovely well kept site ideally located for visiting St. Ives, Cambridge and surrounding area.

The owner and Didi, the site manager are very friendly and helpful. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bikemerlin 3 reviews from this member

 Great site for the weekend, plenty of space, water points and electric. Nicely kept grass and rest of site clean and tidy and for the money I think you'd have a job to beat it.

Didn't use the toilet/shower facilities as we use our own so can't comment on these.

Great bike rides to st Ives, hemmingford and godmanchester.

Only slight negative is that the signage to the site could be better, especially from the pidley direction.

All in all well recommended. Give it a visit. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ian and Dee 4 reviews from this member

 Brilliant. Lots of space and peaceful even though lots of people there. Didi very welcoming and helpful. She made a comment that they would rather see families happy and having fun than make money. How often do we hear that?!

Easy to find and good access even for twin axle.

Walk through fields to pub.

Two toilets and three showers, both unisex. Yes could do with upgrading but for the price I wouldn't complain. Park and ride nearby, impressive guided bus service, not cheap but convenient. Would definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: August 2018  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Ratty 279 reviews from this member

 I had email communication before I arrived and always got a prompt and polite response.

I arrived and was meeting others, so I just drove straight in and went to the pitch. There is a sign to say to do this anyway, but I saw some people stopping at the farmhouse to check house. Either way seemed to work fine. The warden did come by and she was very chatty and friendly and took payment of £10 for the night for me in my campervan with one dog.

The site is very spacious with rally fields and normal camping too and there are plenty of electric hookup and non hookup pitches too. The fields are very flat and the ground was nice and soft for the pegs to go in. There is a small pond on site with ducks and fish.

There is a small unisex facilities block with two showers and two toilets and an outside washing up area. There is no hot water to the washing up area, but that is not really a problem. The two toilet cubicbles were very clean and well stocked and had their own sinks in the then. The showers are adjustable for the heat but the shower head cannot be moved, but this was not a problem and they had enough pressure and were clean with plenty of hooks and a good curtain to stop your shoes and clothes getting wet.

This is a working farm, so expect some noise, but it was never that noisy or disturbing, just a few bangs and the odd tractor driving around.

There is a lovely 4 mile walk from the site to hamlet of Woodhurst and detals are in the facilities block. You can also walk in St Ives from teh site and this is about 2 miles, but I did not do the walk.

The area has loads to offer including St Ives, Huntingdon, Cambridge, etc. There is a park and ride scheme nearby to save taking the car in to the major cities.

This is a great site at a great price and I will definitely return if in the area again. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Garethhowell 1 review from this member

 This is a new site for us and thus itís our first visit. It wonít be our last.

This is a big site in terms of space, with two big fields; though I think only one has hook-ups. The smaller field is ĎUí-shaped with mature trees to provide shade around the edges (and a few in the middle). Itís been sunny with temps in the upper 20s, so shade is a blessing.

Each of the hook-ups has electricity and water, so no trekking for water! Facilities are basic: two WCs and three showers: all unisex. This could be a problem if the site is really busy, but most visitors will probably have their own WC and shower anyway. We donít have either in our Romahome, but we found the site facilities more than adequate as we donít get up early anyway :-) They are clean: what more do you need?

There is also a wedding venue on the site. It was being used on Saturday night, but didnít bother us.

Mark and Didi are helpful and friendly and everything is very relaxed.

The site is an easy 30-40 minute walk from the centre of St Ives and only 10-15 minutes walk from a local hub on the nearby estate. This has a Co-Op, pub, newsagent and other shops. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Maltracie 2 reviews from this member

 This is a fantastic campsite. The owner Mark is so helpful and accommodating as is his site manager Didi.

Everyone is really friendly. Excellent value for money at only £12 a night. We were very sorry to leave but we will be returning for sure at the earliest opportunity.

Thank you for a lovely stay Mal and Tracie Jordan 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Beatsworking 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned home after spending 4 nights at this great rural campsite. Much has already been written about this site so some will already have been covered.

We stayed in the main 'campsite area' which is very close to the shower and toilet block and is surrounded by 3 enormous 'rally fields'. The campsite area has 7 pitches widely spaced apart but one can chose to pitch almost anywhere as long as it's not on top of another unit. Each pitch has an EHU and there are several water points. The rally fields have a great many EHUs so power is available almost everywhere and there are black and grey water emptying points.

Comments have been made about the facilities block being fairly basic and unisex but all the doors have locks so what is the problem? If the fees were horrendous one might expect more but for £12 per night with power and awning they are fine but I for one wouldn't be on an all dancing site anyway. The block was clean and the only mess was from people not wiping their feet on the way in or emptying the wash basins! It could, however, get rather busy if there was a large rally on as there are only 2 toilets with wash basins, 2 more basins, and 3 showers.

Comment was made in August 2016 about inadequate fencing surrounding the duck pond but this has now been replaced by a substantial fence and there is a viewing platform that goes over the edge of the water which is also protected by fencing and a lifebuoy is next to the fence should the worst happen. As with anywhere of this nature, an eye would need to be kept on young children.

A great site for country walks in the immediate area without worrying about transport but we also used the Park and Ride carpark in St. Ives which is only £1 for 18 hours and allows one to hop on the bus to Cambridge, Huntingdon and Peterborough, and further afield, at much cheaper fares than St. Albans buses charge. The carpark is only 5 minutes walk from St. Ives town centre and, at £1, is cheaper than other ones unless only parking for less than an hour.

All in all a great campsite to which I will be returning. 


Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Burleigh Hill Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Burleigh Hill Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Burleigh Hill Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Huntingdon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2995 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement