Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hawkrigg Camping And Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dalry, Castle Douglas > Hawkrigg Camping And Caravan Site Reviews

Hawkrigg Camping And Caravan Site
Hawkrigg
Carsphairn Road
Dalry
Dalry, Castle Douglas
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
dg73sy
Tel: 01644 460249  or  07743 154262


This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 15 Reviews
                8/10 from 15 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Cwizzz 1 review from this member

 Planned to stay up to three nights, but had to leave after the first night due to a double visit by a rather over-friendly local fox breaking onto our attached awning overnight and taking various food related items that "never happened before during ten years of operation". So a rather exciting story to tell.

Andrew & Jenny were most accommodating, understanding and assisted with the decontamination of recovered articles. Our reasons for leaving early were accepted.

Great with foul (geese & chicken) wandering around the campsite although one must watch where one steps. Eggs for sale - were delicious.

Single washroom, toilet and washing up room all functional, basic and clean.

Great dark night sky with little light pollution.

Payment method was accommodating. Thanks for a memorable stay.  


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Cathrobson 1 review from this member

 This site is pretty basic but the price reflects that. As a base it was perfect for our needs,

EHU and a shower were an upgrade on a ‘pop up’ (strip of farmland) we had stayed on a few weeks earlier and paid almost 3x the price. Friendly owner and chickens, also a rather too friendly fox who came rummaging in our rubbish!

We had the place to ourselves which made all the difference, I wouldn’t like to share the facilities with too many other people although they were cleaned every day.

The owner told us that he usually has around 10 tents/caravans which I wouldn’t have liked to experience.

The shower was a bit temperamental and I’d recommend bringing flip flops but it was fine for our needs.

Location was good, very dark skies so saw lots of stars, a meteor and a glimpse of the Northern Lights!

Campfires are allowed but no pits provided, we had a portable one but other people had scorched the grass in places which was a shame, but there are no bossy rules about anything!

Loch Ken is just down the road and lovely for a swim. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ces215 1 review from this member

 A very small and compact campsite located in the heart of the Galloway countryside. This is a basic but very clean and adequate site with 2 toilets, 1 shower, 1 wash up and free to use washing machine.

Owner is welcoming and approachable and on-site most of the time. Lovely rural views, with minimal road noise, the 5 caravan/ motorhome pitches are hard standing with EHU, tents can be pitched on level grass areas around the site.

The site has a relaxed feel, and is shared with 3 friendly chickens and 6 geese whose eggs can be purchased on site. If you want an away from it all campsite, this one is for you!

Located in the middle of the Galloway dark skies area the site is great for star gazing on a clear night.

We would stay again for sure! 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Louloumck 1 review from this member

 Disappointed with the site. Owner tried to cram too many tents in. The noise from the road on week days was loud from 6am.

Although we prefer a basic site the facilities were a little rough and the one shower only dribbled scalding hot water or freezing cold.

We made the most of it and the sky at night was fantastic.

Plus point you are allowed to have a camp fire. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Evil in Tent 7 reviews from this member

 I had just one night at Hawkrigg, testing out my motorcycle camping set-up and I received a warm, friendly welcome and the invitation to pitch wherever I wanted.

All the basic facilities are on hand for a tent camper - water, shower, toilet, washing up area, etc. If you’re after on site entertainment, bar, shop, etc. The this isn’t the site for you.

However, if you want a quiet, low key camping experience the site is great, it reminded my of camping experiences of 40 years ago. Situated just a few miles north of St. John’s Town of Dalry where there’s a pub and a shop attached to the local filling station.

Galloway is a great area for walking, cycling (or riding your motorcycle!) and Hawkrigg is ideally sited right on the edge of the forest park. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kp0619 1 review from this member

 This was our first trip out in the camper van and we loved this camp site, such an amazing location surrounded by forest and hills

Very peaceful, great walking country

We were made very welcome by the owner Andrew

On site facilities were more than adequate with proper hot water

Will definitely be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Lisao3 1 review from this member

 Andrew and Jenny were very helpful, friendly and welcoming upon arrival. The site description is accurate; the small size means it's quite quiet and relaxing.

The services are basic but the description is fairly clear about that, and the price reflects that. If you want more than a toilet, clean water, big skies and a field, you will want to camp somewhere else.

The signs on the road are small and the road fast so it's easy to miss but there are two entries / exits. Satnav / google maps is accurate so worth using to find the site at first. 


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Alienbabe 7 reviews from this member

 Owner was very welcoming and friendly. Grass on site waterlogged due to weather, hardstanding & road not good either - made accessing facilities very unpleasant.

Facilities clean but basic. Road can be noisy due to logging traffic but no problem - entrance could be signposted better though.

We didn't like the fact that it has so many caravans permanently sited, all with large gas cannisters sitting outside the caravans - we had four to one side of us and none of them were spaced correctly, all with gas outside.

Worst bit - used by workers leaving site at 4 AM - not acceptable under any circumstances! 


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nickb2 1 review from this member

 We had a friendly welcome at this small, quiet site near the end of the forest park.

Pleased that use of the washing machine was free.

The toilet and shower facilities are basic but clean. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: DukeSteve 1 review from this member

 Site location: 10/10. The night sky on a clear night is worth a stop over on it's own.

Site Facilities: 9/10. All good, hot water 24hrs a day. And it is hot water not just tepid. The lacked of a drying room my only niggle.

Value for Money: 10/10

Customer Service: 10/10. Owned and ran by a wonderfully friendly and helpful couple.

Overall Rating: 9/10. The tent camping area is a little on the wet/marshy side and no drying room. But plenty of positives for this site. 


Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hawkrigg Camping And Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hawkrigg Camping And Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Hawkrigg Camping And Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dalry, Castle Douglas      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3904 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement