Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Waterclose Meadows Campsite National Trust

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon > Waterclose Meadows Campsite National Trust Reviews

Waterclose Meadows Campsite National Trust
Houghton Mill
Mill St
Houghton
Huntingdon
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE28 2AZ
Tel: 01480 499996
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 54
Open: 23/03 To 28/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 56 Reviews
                9/10 from 56 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  56 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Thorganbyrose 4 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site wardens friendly and helpful.

Very clean well kept pitches easy walk to village great for light water sports. Good walks great if you have dogs.

Watching boats going through the locks very interesting.

Can’t wait to come back to this site fully recommend waterclose site 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Countrylemon 12 reviews from this member

 This is a brilliant site. We stayed here in May 2018 as well as this year, as we meet up with friends who also caravan, and this site is mid way between.

The site is well run, quiet, well maintained, spacious pitches, tidy, and the ablutions block is very clean and modern. We found it so last year too, so the negative comments from other reviewers about the ablutions block puzzled me. We stayed over the Whitsun May bank holiday weekend, so the site was full, but the ablutions block was never busy and was perfectly able to accommodate campers demands!

There is a lovely off road dog walk along the river behind the site. The village has two pubs, we tried The Three Horseshoes for drinks at lunchtime and I believe they had a good selection of ales and ciders on tap.

The site is mid way between Huntingdon and St Ives. The local shop in the village has a community shop which was good, and there is a huge Tesco at the north end of Huntingdon. There is a Dobies Garden Centre on the main road close to the turn off for Houghton, which has quite a few other shops within it, which is worth a look if you fancy a spot of retail therapy.

If you're lucky with the weather, the grassy area by Houghton Mill itself, by the river, is a lovely spot to while away a few hours. The kids played on inflatable canoes in millpond area of the river, there are also canoes and punts to hire. There is a cafe at the Mill which sells ice creams etc too.

I cannot think of one negative aspect about this site, it's excellent. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mickblaylock 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for two nights. It is a wonderful site in a wonderful setting. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The facilities were very good and very clean. There are two pubs in walking distance providing excellent food and the village store just down the road stocks everything you could need.

I would highly recommend this site to my friends. The site is ideally situated for cycling and walking.

The warden provided us with information for walks of varying lengths and things to see in the surrounding area. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Funky 14 reviews from this member

 This is a gem of a site. We really enjoyed it here. The staff are exceptional. Very obliging to a pair of old dears.

The wardens need a special mention. So laid back and helpful.

A vast difference to a lot of the little dictators that haunt some sites I could tell a tale about.

I will be booking again tomorrow for a couple of nights next month 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Becboz 23 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at this beautifully located site many times but haven't visited for two years. When it was a Caravan club sites only a few tents were allowed on one set part, however now the best flat pitches on the far side are now reserved as tent pitches only.

On the weekend we were there, I counted 14 tent outfits. Therefore, as tenters need to use the full site facilities I feel that only 3 showers for the ladies is just not enough. Add into that in that 2 of the showers were very poor to me the site is ready for a refurb.

The wardens were very pleasant but they are working at The Mill, the tea shop & on the car parks so working in reception for he site on a rotation shift basis. I did tell the wardens that I was disappointed by the falling standards of the toilet block facilities & was informed that they are to to be refurbished once the site closes at the he end of October - so hopefully it will get sorted.

The price for 2 adults & grass electric pitch was £24 per night in mid Sept so really still charging CMHC prices but not maintaining the facility - maybe NT should ask the CMHC to take it back on!

It is very peaceful site &!the village is lovely with brill cycle rides around the area. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Magmar 28 reviews from this member

 Our first time on a National Trust Campsite and it was lovely. Nicely laid out with decent size pitches for all types of units & tents.

Several glamping pods dotted around, excellent WC/Shower etc facilities with Dish W/U sinks also available. Site is alongside Houghton Mill and the Great Ouse River with the mill pond to play in and lots of riverside walks etc.

Tea rooms at entrance and the village has 2 pubs, both serving food, and a very good village shop all within a few minutes walk of the campsite.

Very friendly wardens that were there to help in whatever way the could 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bodders2 1 review from this member

 This used to be a Caravan Club run site with on-site wardens, immaculately kept.

It is now run by The National Trust with numerous volunteers who appear to be helping out on a rota system. Cleanliness in the toilets, showers and washing up areas is now very ‘hit and miss’ depending on who has been tasked with the chores of cleaning that day. But generally they are deteriorating.

A mop and bucket (with a little disinfectant solution) left for visitors to mop down the shower cubicle after their use seemed previously to be welcomed and used. However the bucket is now left with dirty water in it which is unlikely to encourage its use (Generally now, I no longer see or hear it being used)

Unless there is someone tasked with overseeing and maintaining a standard of cleanliness, standards in the hands of volunteers, will inevitably continue to slip further. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SantaFe RMK 6 reviews from this member

 This is our second visit this year, the site is slightly uniformed, in as much that you can pitch up facing into or out from the pitch marker, the pitches can be slightly sloping and some are in shade, especially in the late afternoon.

But they drain well. Wardens are very nice and shower blocks are very clean with lots of hot water. The village is nice, lots of walks around.

Only draw back, if you have a long outfit the turn into the site can be tight, but do able. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Macarw 19 reviews from this member

 Enjoyed our stay here, wardens were helpful and friendly, very accommodating when we asked for a late check out.

The access was a little awkward down a narrow lane with a tight bend before the site, which explains why they are strict with checking in/out times - they don't want two outfits meeting in opposite directions!

We had a nice pitch in the corner to the left of the toilet block, however it was really awkward to get the van level keeping to the rules of keeping the pitch marker in the centre of the van.

The toilet block had a keycode on (awkward to see the numbers at first without my glasses, but once I'd memorised the pattern it was ok!) The toilets were clean, and the showers hot.

We are NT members and our boys enjoyed exploring the mill, and they loved playing in the water in the millpond. The cream teas with scones in the NT cafe were delicious, but pricey. The Mill, tea shop and pond got a lot busier over the weekend with people there for the day.

Our puppy enjoyed the dog walks straight from the site in the meadow and along the canalside. We had a warm welcome in the pub in the village and had a good meal there.

A great stay, we will return. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Chicaguapa 9 reviews from this member

 Really really pleased with this site. Nice and small with plenty of spaces between pitches and clean toilets and showers. Really friendly warden and happy, chatty folk staying on the site.

I can't add much to the other good reviews, other than to mention the proximity of the millpond and millstream for kayaking or swimming. You can launch a kayak from opposite the reception area and the millstream is calm enough for inexperienced kayakers or children to have a mess around in the water (other than when the mill is working on Sunday and Wednesday afternoons). More experienced kayakers can head out to the Ouse and up to St Ives.

Houghton itself is a pretty little village with 2 pubs, a village shop, a gallery and 2 cafes (including the NT one at the Mill). There are also lots of nice walks in the area.

We'll definitely be back.  


Previous     56 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Waterclose Meadows Campsite National Trust child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Waterclose Meadows Campsite National Trust?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Waterclose Meadows Campsite National Trust dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Huntingdon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5296 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement