Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Waterclose Meadows Campsite National Trust

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Cambridgeshire > Houghton > Waterclose Meadows Campsite National Trust > Reviews

Waterclose Meadows Campsite National Trust
Houghton Mill
Mill St
Houghton
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE28 2AZ
Tel: 01480 499996
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 54
Open: 23/03/2024 to 28/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 63 Reviews
                9/10 from 63 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  63 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Shubs 12 reviews from this member

 Lovely historic location by the river. Plenty of space on the dog friendly site with ehu.

Houghton mill (National Trust) is a flower mill that has open days during the summer. The shower block on our visit was spotless.

Staff were very friendly and knowledgeable about the surrounding area.

Two good pubs in the village. Many good walks from your pitch. Kayak/canoe and row boats available to hire

Short distance from the mill.

If you have your own you can launch free of charge 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: TrishBish 6 reviews from this member

 We had a last minute visit after a problem with our caravan resulted in cancelling our original plans.

It is a nice site, all grass with electric hook up and a clean, modern toilet block. We usually go for serviced pitches these days but water points etc are positioned well, but at £36 per night you would get fully serviced on other sites!

The pitches are pre-allocated and a member of staff shows you to your pitch and makes sure you pitch correctly, offside of the caravan has to be against the peg, not a couple of inches away!

I was surprised that despite there being a designated tent area on the site map they put a tent next to us, which seemed a bit odd.

The village has a good shop and a couple of pubs and there are nice walks by the river. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Malcm2 1 review from this member

 Great little site, good shop and pub in the village nice walk into St Ives, (no traffic) facilities excellent.

Had to score for child friendliness though we did not have any, the ones we saw look liked they were enjoying themselves

Definitely going back next year. 


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Coverup 12 reviews from this member

 Lovely location and site, friendly staff welcomed us and shown us to our pitch, grass pitches on national trust site.

Great location to walk to neighbouring towns.

Lovely pub in village, well within walking distance

Highly recommend 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Leelac 1 review from this member

 Excellent campsite, very clean facilities and friendly and helpful staff. The location was superb.

Itís a shame the NT Houghton Mill was not open due to Covid but that canít be helped.

I will certainly be returning there 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Whitewards 1 review from this member

 This site is a real credit to the management and friendly, helpful staff. For my wife and I this wonderful site is in the top 3 sites that we have visited.

The facilities are modern and more importantly spotlessly clean. The location is ideal with many options for walking either to St Ives along a concrete traffic free path (2 miles)

Or into the lovely surrounding villages again traffic free. The local village pubs are very nice and the food at the nearby Jolly Butchers is recommended. 


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Thorganbyrose 4 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site wardens friendly and helpful.

Very clean well kept pitches easy walk to village great for light water sports. Good walks great if you have dogs.

Watching boats going through the locks very interesting.

Canít wait to come back to this site fully recommend waterclose site 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Countrylemon 12 reviews from this member

 This is a brilliant site. We stayed here in May 2018 as well as this year, as we meet up with friends who also caravan, and this site is mid way between.

The site is well run, quiet, well maintained, spacious pitches, tidy, and the ablutions block is very clean and modern. We found it so last year too, so the negative comments from other reviewers about the ablutions block puzzled me. We stayed over the Whitsun May bank holiday weekend, so the site was full, but the ablutions block was never busy and was perfectly able to accommodate campers demands!

There is a lovely off road dog walk along the river behind the site. The village has two pubs, we tried The Three Horseshoes for drinks at lunchtime and I believe they had a good selection of ales and ciders on tap.

The site is mid way between Huntingdon and St Ives. The local shop in the village has a community shop which was good, and there is a huge Tesco at the north end of Huntingdon. There is a Dobies Garden Centre on the main road close to the turn off for Houghton, which has quite a few other shops within it, which is worth a look if you fancy a spot of retail therapy.

If you're lucky with the weather, the grassy area by Houghton Mill itself, by the river, is a lovely spot to while away a few hours. The kids played on inflatable canoes in millpond area of the river, there are also canoes and punts to hire. There is a cafe at the Mill which sells ice creams etc too.

I cannot think of one negative aspect about this site, it's excellent. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mickblaylock 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for two nights. It is a wonderful site in a wonderful setting. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The facilities were very good and very clean. There are two pubs in walking distance providing excellent food and the village store just down the road stocks everything you could need.

I would highly recommend this site to my friends. The site is ideally situated for cycling and walking.

The warden provided us with information for walks of varying lengths and things to see in the surrounding area. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Funky 18 reviews from this member

 This is a gem of a site. We really enjoyed it here. The staff are exceptional. Very obliging to a pair of old dears.

The wardens need a special mention. So laid back and helpful.

A vast difference to a lot of the little dictators that haunt some sites I could tell a tale about.

I will be booking again tomorrow for a couple of nights next month 
via mobile


Previous     63 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Waterclose Meadows Campsite National Trust child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Waterclose Meadows Campsite National Trust?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Waterclose Meadows Campsite National Trust dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Houghton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


55987 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement