Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Waterclose Meadows Campsite National Trust

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon > Waterclose Meadows Campsite National Trust Reviews

Waterclose Meadows Campsite National Trust
Houghton Mill
Mill St
Houghton
Huntingdon
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE28 2AZ
Tel: 01480 466716
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 54
Open: 23/03 To 28/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 55 Reviews
                9/10 from 55 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Countrylemon 12 reviews from this member

This is a brilliant site. We stayed here in May 2018 as well as this year, as we meet up with friends who also caravan, and this site is mid way between.

The site is well run, quiet, well maintained, spacious pitches, tidy, and the ablutions block is very clean and modern. We found it so last year too, so the negative comments from other reviewers about the ablutions block puzzled me. We stayed over the Whitsun May bank holiday weekend, so the site was full, but the ablutions block was never busy and was perfectly able to accommodate campers demands!

There is a lovely off road dog walk along the river behind the site. The village has two pubs, we tried The Three Horseshoes for drinks at lunchtime and I believe they had a good selection of ales and ciders on tap.

The site is mid way between Huntingdon and St Ives. The local shop in the village has a community shop which was good, and there is a huge Tesco at the north end of Huntingdon. There is a Dobies Garden Centre on the main road close to the turn off for Houghton, which has quite a few other shops within it, which is worth a look if you fancy a spot of retail therapy.

If you're lucky with the weather, the grassy area by Houghton Mill itself, by the river, is a lovely spot to while away a few hours. The kids played on inflatable canoes in millpond area of the river, there are also canoes and punts to hire. There is a cafe at the Mill which sells ice creams etc too.

I cannot think of one negative aspect about this site, it's excellent.

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mickblaylock 1 review from this member

Stayed here for two nights. It is a wonderful site in a wonderful setting. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The facilities were very good and very clean. There are two pubs in walking distance providing excellent food and the village store just down the road stocks everything you could need.

I would highly recommend this site to my friends. The site is ideally situated for cycling and walking.

The warden provided us with information for walks of varying lengths and things to see in the surrounding area.

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Funky 13 reviews from this member

This is a gem of a site. We really enjoyed it here. The staff are exceptional. Very obliging to a pair of old dears.

The wardens need a special mention. So laid back and helpful.

A vast difference to a lot of the little dictators that haunt some sites I could tell a tale about.

I will be booking again tomorrow for a couple of nights next month
via mobile

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Becboz 23 reviews from this member

We have stayed at this beautifully located site many times but haven't visited for two years. When it was a Caravan club sites only a few tents were allowed on one set part, however now the best flat pitches on the far side are now reserved as tent pitches only.

On the weekend we were there, I counted 14 tent outfits. Therefore, as tenters need to use the full site facilities I feel that only 3 showers for the ladies is just not enough. Add into that in that 2 of the showers were very poor to me the site is ready for a refurb.

The wardens were very pleasant but they are working at The Mill, the tea shop & on the car parks so working in reception for he site on a rotation shift basis. I did tell the wardens that I was disappointed by the falling standards of the toilet block facilities & was informed that they are to to be refurbished once the site closes at the he end of October - so hopefully it will get sorted.

The price for 2 adults & grass electric pitch was £24 per night in mid Sept so really still charging CMHC prices but not maintaining the facility - maybe NT should ask the CMHC to take it back on!

It is very peaceful site &!the village is lovely with brill cycle rides around the area.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Magmar 22 reviews from this member

Our first time on a National Trust Campsite and it was lovely. Nicely laid out with decent size pitches for all types of units & tents.

Several glamping pods dotted around, excellent WC/Shower etc facilities with Dish W/U sinks also available. Site is alongside Houghton Mill and the Great Ouse River with the mill pond to play in and lots of riverside walks etc.

Tea rooms at entrance and the village has 2 pubs, both serving food, and a very good village shop all within a few minutes walk of the campsite.

Very friendly wardens that were there to help in whatever way the could

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bodders2 1 review from this member

This used to be a Caravan Club run site with on-site wardens, immaculately kept.

It is now run by The National Trust with numerous volunteers who appear to be helping out on a rota system. Cleanliness in the toilets, showers and washing up areas is now very ‘hit and miss’ depending on who has been tasked with the chores of cleaning that day. But generally they are deteriorating.

A mop and bucket (with a little disinfectant solution) left for visitors to mop down the shower cubicle after their use seemed previously to be welcomed and used. However the bucket is now left with dirty water in it which is unlikely to encourage its use (Generally now, I no longer see or hear it being used)

Unless there is someone tasked with overseeing and maintaining a standard of cleanliness, standards in the hands of volunteers, will inevitably continue to slip further.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SantaFe RMK 6 reviews from this member

This is our second visit this year, the site is slightly uniformed, in as much that you can pitch up facing into or out from the pitch marker, the pitches can be slightly sloping and some are in shade, especially in the late afternoon.

But they drain well. Wardens are very nice and shower blocks are very clean with lots of hot water. The village is nice, lots of walks around.

Only draw back, if you have a long outfit the turn into the site can be tight, but do able.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Macarw 17 reviews from this member

Enjoyed our stay here, wardens were helpful and friendly, very accommodating when we asked for a late check out.

The access was a little awkward down a narrow lane with a tight bend before the site, which explains why they are strict with checking in/out times - they don't want two outfits meeting in opposite directions!

We had a nice pitch in the corner to the left of the toilet block, however it was really awkward to get the van level keeping to the rules of keeping the pitch marker in the centre of the van.

The toilet block had a keycode on (awkward to see the numbers at first without my glasses, but once I'd memorised the pattern it was ok!) The toilets were clean, and the showers hot.

We are NT members and our boys enjoyed exploring the mill, and they loved playing in the water in the millpond. The cream teas with scones in the NT cafe were delicious, but pricey. The Mill, tea shop and pond got a lot busier over the weekend with people there for the day.

Our puppy enjoyed the dog walks straight from the site in the meadow and along the canalside. We had a warm welcome in the pub in the village and had a good meal there.

A great stay, we will return.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Chicaguapa 9 reviews from this member

Really really pleased with this site. Nice and small with plenty of spaces between pitches and clean toilets and showers. Really friendly warden and happy, chatty folk staying on the site.

I can't add much to the other good reviews, other than to mention the proximity of the millpond and millstream for kayaking or swimming. You can launch a kayak from opposite the reception area and the millstream is calm enough for inexperienced kayakers or children to have a mess around in the water (other than when the mill is working on Sunday and Wednesday afternoons). More experienced kayakers can head out to the Ouse and up to St Ives.

Houghton itself is a pretty little village with 2 pubs, a village shop, a gallery and 2 cafes (including the NT one at the Mill). There are also lots of nice walks in the area.

We'll definitely be back.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lynm 83 reviews from this member

This is a very beautiful site and you just have to be careful of getting from road to pitch as it can undulate & we grounded our back feet. That said it was worth it as the pitches are lovely and they really are 6m apart. The facilities are clean & well maintained though 3 showers aren't really enough at busy times like this weekend. But it was all free.

It was kayak central with lots of people canoeing on the mill pond and the little river. Great walks too even coming a cross a field of Alpacas.

There are downsides, sadly, as I would love to have given this site a 10/10.

There is no time for quiet at night or until time in the morning and sadly there are some who abuse it. Both our nights there were disturbed with children running around and screaming & playing at 10:30 pm which was very unfair as everyone else on the site was so good because at 10pm they all went quiet. The children we were with were woken up by this both times.

Both mornings we were woken before 7am by people who wanted to talk very loudly especially on the Sunday with a chap who gave a blow by blow account of how he was packing up.

If there was a time stated & most sites say 8:00 am I am sure this wouldn't happen. We aren't all early risers.

Only other thing be aware of the approach road. It was beautiful weather this weekend & lots were coming to visit the mill so interesting getting out. Will we visit again? probably with our friends but not on our own.

Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3832 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019